DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 22-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03 August 2026 .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minshull et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2002/0127623, hereinafter Minshull) in view of Kunwar et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2004/0023253, hereinafter Kunwar.
With respect to Claim 16, Minshull discloses an electronic apparatus comprising a sensor unit, wherein the sensor unit includes:
a substrate [para 12];
a plurality of biosensors disposed on the substrate [para 16 shows multiple biosensors], wherein each of the plurality of biosensors includes a first electrode [para 60 shows each biosensor has an electrode], a second electrode [para 60 shows each biosensor has an electrode], and a coating layer [para 60 and 61 coats the sensor with biopolymer with desired specificity] connecting the first electrode to the second electrode; and wherein the coating layer includes an M13 bacteriophage [para 251 shows using M13 vector], and when the sensor unit is exposed to a target material, electrical resistance of the plurality of biosensors changes [para 69 shows resistance based sensing].
Minshull does not disclose having an organic insulating layer defining a plurality of openings therein, which expose the plurality of biosensors to an outside.
Kunwar discloses a similar bacteriophage [para 322] biosensor that has an organic insulating layer defining a plurality of openings therein, which expose the plurality of biosensors to an outside [fig 86 has substrate 102, insulator 104, cavity 8602 and electrode 106; para 291 has polyamide layer which is an organic insulator].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add to Minshull an organic insulating layer defining a plurality of openings therein, which expose the plurality of biosensors to an outside for the benefit of preventing shorting between electrodes [Kunwar para 265].
With respect to Claim 17, Minshull discloses, further comprising a display panel [para 16, 155 and 355], wherein the sensor unit is a separable external module electrically connected to the display panel for displaying an image, and the sensor unit is detachable from the display panel [fig 4 shows the analyzer as a handheld platform that wirelessly transfers to a monitor].
With respect to Claim 18, Minshull discloses further comprising a display panel for displaying an image, wherein a sensor area and a display area are defined in the display panel, and the sensor unit is arranged in the sensor area. [para 16 shows an example where the sensor has a display].
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication 2020/0072833 show another example of a bacteriophage biosensor.
U.S. Publication 2013/0216996 shows another M13 bacteriophage biosensor connected to a display, see fig 10 and para 57.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-15 are allowed.
Claims 19-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 1 and 19 disclose details regarding a plurality of first and second through portions in the display and sensor. Minshull’s cavities can be through holes in the sensor. Note that through holes in a completely separate display would not be allowable. Claims 2-15 are allowed and claims 20 and 21 are objected to due to dependency.
/ALEX T DEVITO/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/SUMAN K NATH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855