DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN200610002772A (herein “Han”).
Regarding claim 1, Han discloses a vaporizer (Fig. 3) comprising:
a vaporization chamber (inside of pipe housing 24) in which a liquid material can be heated and vaporized; and
a heat exchange element (rotary guiding part 27) arranged in the vaporization chamber,
wherein the vaporization chamber has a groove in an inner surface thereof (guide grooves 26),
the groove in the inner surface of the vaporization chamber is disposed along a center axis along which the vaporization chamber extends (shown in Fig. 3, the spiral grooves extend through the chamber along the longitudinal center axis), and
the heat exchange element is configured as a static mixer (mixer 27) with a plurality of fins coupled together along the center axis (fins 28 seen in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Han discloses the vaporizer according to claim 2, wherein, the groove in the inner surface of the vaporization chamber comprises grooves arrayed at intervals in a circumferential direction as seen along the center axis (shown in Fig. 4, the grooves 26 are arrayed in the circumferential direction).
Regarding claim 12, Han discloses a liquid material vaporizing device comprising: the vaporizer according to claim 1; and a liquid material feeding portion (open end of the vaporizer receiving fluid in the system shown in Fig. 1) that can feed the vaporizer with a liquid material (intended use).
Regarding claim 13, Han discloses the liquid material vaporizing device according to claim 12, wherein the liquid material feeding portion is capable of feeding the vaporizer with a gas/liquid mixture in which the liquid material is mixed with a carrier gas (intended use).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of CA2831755C (herein “Wang”).
Regarding claims 10-11, Han does not disclose that at least one of the plurality of fins has an opening.
Wang discloses a heat transfer tube (Figs. 1 and 2) including a twisted static mixer (11) located in an interior chamber (12), wherein the static mixer may be formed with opening (Fig. 2) or without openings (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the mixer of Han with the opening teachings of Wang because Wang states that the openings reduce resistance in fluid flow to decrease pressure loss (top of p. 12).
Regarding claim 14, Han discloses a vaporizer (Han: Fig. 3) comprising:
a vaporization chamber (Han: inside of pipe housing 24) in which a liquid material can be heated and vaporized; and
a heat exchange element (Han: rotary guiding part 27) arranged in the vaporization chamber,
wherein the heat exchange element is configured as a static mixer (Han: mixer 27) with a plurality of fins (Han: fins 28 seen in Fig. 3) coupled together along the center axis.
Han does not disclose that at least one of the plurality of fins has a cut.
Wang discloses a heat transfer tube (Figs. 1 and 2) including a twisted static mixer (11) located in an interior chamber (12), wherein the static mixer may be formed with cuts/openings (Fig. 2) or without openings (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the mixer of Han with the opening teachings of Wang because Wang states that the openings reduce resistance in fluid flow to decrease pressure loss (top of p. 12).
Regarding claim 15, see rejection of claim 12.
Regarding claim 16, see rejection of claim 13.
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of US 3,704,006 A (herein “Grout”).
Han does not disclose a first fin twisted in one direction and a second fin twisted in an opposite direction.
Grout discloses a fluid transporting tube (Fig. 1) including a static mixer (11) located in a chamber (inside 10), wherein the static mixer includes a plurality of fins, wherein the plurality of fins include a first fin twisted in one direction along a circumferential direction as seen along the center axis and a second fin twisted in an opposite direction along the circumferential direction as seen along the center axis (shown in Figs. 1 and 2, a first set of the fins twists in a first direction and a second set of the fins twists in the opposite direction along the center axis), and the first and second fins are coupled together alternately along the center axis (shown in Figs. 1 and 2, the first and second fins alternate).
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Grout and Wang.
Regarding claims 6 and 9, see rejection of claim 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JON T. SCHERMERHORN JR./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763