DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dinan (2021/003672) in further view of Drysdale (2016/0050776).
Regarding Claim 1: Dinan teaches a strap for a wearable device, comprising: a printed circuit board (PCB) (114) on which is mounted electronic components (fig. 1) including a transmitter (108/109) for transmitting radio signals (paragraph [0077]) and a button (170) in electrical communication with said transmitter (paragraph [0083]), a chassis (160) attached to said button (fig. 2), a depressible button interface (171) mounted on said chassis (figs. 1-2), a membrane (116), but lacks a specific teaching of the membrane providing a waterproof seal for said button, wherein when said depressible button interface is pressed, said waterproof seal deforms and actuates said button.
Drysdale teaches a membrane (928) providing a waterproof seal (paragraph [0054]) for said button (926), wherein when said depressible button interface is pressed, said waterproof seal deforms and actuates said button (paragraph [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Dinan by having the membrane providing a waterproof seal for said button, wherein when said depressible button interface is pressed, said waterproof seal deforms and actuates said button as disclosed by Drysdale in order to allow for a more efficient way of providing waterproof protection to the switch of the button which in turn decreases the chances of damage to the electrical components of the device which would require replacement or repair of the damaged components.
Regarding Claim 2: Dinan teaches at least one battery (106) located within said strap (fig. 1) and in electronic communication with said PCB (paragraph [0078]).
Regarding Claim 3: Dinan teaches wherein said battery is a coin cell (paragraph [0055]).
Regarding Claim 4: Dinan lacks a specific teachings of wherein said strap comprises polyurethane.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Dinan by having said strap comprises polyurethane in order to allow for a more efficient and comfortable form of a band for the user to wear without degrading the abilities for the radio transmitters to properly function which in turn leads to a more suitable and reliable device wherein this would be accomplished merely by choosing the appropriate materials wherein it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 5: Dinan teaches wherein the strap comprises a watch housing (fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 6: Dinan lacks a specific teachings of wherein said waterproof layer is formed of silicone.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Dinan by having said waterproof layer being formed of silicone in order to allow for a more efficient and comfortable form of a band for the user to wear without degrading the abilities for the radio transmitters to properly function which in turn leads to a more suitable and reliable device wherein this would be accomplished merely by choosing the appropriate materials wherein it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 7: Dinan lacks a specific teachings of wherein said waterproof seal is compressed between said button and said chassis.
Drysdale teaches wherein said waterproof seal is compressed between said button and said chassis (paragraph [0054] and figs. 9b-9c).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Dinan by having wherein said waterproof seal is compressed between said button and said chassis as disclosed by Drysdale in order to allow for a more efficient way of providing waterproof protection to the switch of the button which in turn decreases the chances of damage to the electrical components of the device which would require replacement or repair of the damaged components.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dinan (2021/003672) in further view of Drysdale (2016/0050776) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Savoy (8,998,484).
Regarding Claim 8: Dinan lacks a specific teachings of wherein said chassis is attached to said PCB by a plurality of pins.
Savoy teaches said chassis is attached to said PCB by a plurality of pins (Col. 2 lines 49-65).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Dinan by having said chassis is attached to said PCB by a plurality of pins as disclosed by Savoy in order to allow for a more secure and reliable connection between the internal components of the apparatus decreasing the chances for damage to occur which would require repair or replacement of damaged components of the apparatus.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY M HAUGHTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841