DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Seiss et al (US 2019/0083690 A1, hereinafter “Seiss”).
Regarding claim 1, Seiss discloses a catheter blood pump (figure 1), comprising: a blood conduit defining a lumen and having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end is at an inflow region of the blood conduit and the second end is at an outflow region of the blood conduit (par 0013); an impeller positioned at least partially within the lumen of the blood conduit and configured to move blood from the inflow region toward the outflow region (par 0013, see figure 1); a plurality of struts extending from the first end or the second end of the blood conduit (par 0016, see figures 2C-D); and a pressure transducer positioned between two adjacent struts in the inflow region or the outflow region of the blood conduit (see figure 2C, par 0017-0019).
Regarding claim 2, Seiss discloses the pressure sensor transducer has a pressure sensitive face facing outward relative to a long axis of catheter blood pump (see figure 2C, par 0017).
Regarding claim 3, Seiss discloses the pressure transducer has a pressure sensitive face oriented non-orthogonally relative to a long axis of the catheter pump (par 0017).
Regarding claim 4, Seiss discloses a pressure sensor housing in which the pressure transducer is securely disposed (par 0019).
Regarding claim 5, Seiss discloses the pressure sensor housing includes a proximal opening sized and configured to receive a pressure sensor wire coupled to the pressure transducer (par 0019).
Regarding claim 6, Seiss discloses a pressure sensor wire extending proximally from the pressure transducer (par 0019).
Regarding claim 7, Seiss discloses the outflow region is at a proximal end of the blood conduit, wherein the plurality of struts extend in a proximal direction relative to the blood conduit (par 0013, 0017-0019, see figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Seiss discloses proximal ends of the plurality of struts are coupled to a hub of the catheter blood pump (par 0013, 0017-0019, see figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Seiss discloses the inflow region is at a distal end of the blood conduit, wherein the plurality of struts extend in a distal direction relative to the blood conduit (par 0013, 0017-0019, see figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Seiss discloses distal ends of the plurality of struts are coupled to a central hub of the catheter blood pump (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Seiss discloses the catheter blood pump includes a proximal pressure transducer in the outflow region and a distal pressure transducer in the inflow region (see figure 2C, par 0017-0019).
Regarding claim 12, Seiss discloses a first wire electrically coupled to the proximal pressure transducer and a second wire electrically coupled to the distal pressure transducer (par 0017-0018).
Regarding claim 13, Seiss discloses the first wire and the second wire extend together at a junction region, wherein the junction region is proximally located with respect to the blood conduit (par 0013, as shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Seiss discloses the junction region is proximally located with respect to the proximal pressure sensor (par 0013, as shown in figures 1 and 2C/D).
Regarding claim 15, Seiss discloses the plurality of struts are expandable and collapsible (pars 0020-0021).
Regarding claim 16, Seiss discloses the blood conduit is expandable and collapsible (par 0013, figure 1; where Examiner interprets the blood conduit to be capable of expansion and collapsing).
Regarding claim 17, Seiss discloses the impeller is expandable and collapsible (par 0013, figure 1; where Examiner interprets the impeller to be capable of expansion and collapsing).
Regarding claim 19, Seiss discloses the inflow region includes a distal end of the blood conduit and the outflow region includes a proximal end of the blood conduit (par 0013, 0017-0019).
Regarding claim 20, Seiss discloses the pressure transducer is positioned circumferentially between the two adjacent struts of the plurality of struts, optionally circumferentially between feet (or axially extending regions) of the two adjacent struts (see figure 2C, par 0017-0019).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seiss in view of Salahieh et al (US 2019/0143018 A1, hereinafter “Salahieh”).
Regarding claim 18, Seiss discloses the claimed invention (see rejection of claim 1 above), but does not explicitly disclose a second impeller positioned at least partially within a blood conduit. Salahieh is analogous art in regard to known alternative intravascular pump arrangements (abstract). Salahieh discloses it was known in the art to provide a second impeller positioned at least partially within a blood conduit (par 0055, see figure 2 elements 1116 and 1118. Applied to the invention of Seiss, the features of Salahieh would provide means for including a second impeller positioned at least partially within the blood conduit as known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the features of Salahieh in the invention of Seiss, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of improved blood pumps for treating compromised cardiac blood flow while maintaining a smaller size to facilitate less invasive percutaneous delivery.
Conclusion
Lindsey G Wehrheim
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3799
/LINDSEY G WEHRHEIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 4/3/2026