Detailed Action
Claims 1-26 are currently pending.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-19, drawn to compounds of formula (I)) and the elected species compound 16:
in the reply filed on 2/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-8, 10-16, and 20-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Groups II-III or unelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Thus, Claims 1-5, 9, and 17-19 are being examined on the merits herein.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made final.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. See Para 257. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frackenpohl (US20150173359).
Frackenpohl teaches the following compound as an anti-abiotic stress agent for plants on Page 54:
or
; G13 =
. Both Claims 5 and 9 teach the same compound (Compound 17 on Page 46 of the specification).
Regarding Claim 17, Applicant teaches the IC50 of the Frackenpohl compound is 0.87 uM (Spec: Page 46, Table 2). "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. See MPEP 2112 (I)-(II).
Claims 1-2 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gouliaev (WO9942456).
Gouliaev teaches AMPA receptor modulators including the following compound on Page 29 or in Claim 23 as 2-Phenyl-4-oxo-1,2,3,4-tetrahydroquinazoline:
. The compound is described as a most preferred embodiment. Page 40 extensively details pharmaceutical compositions comprising the invention with carriers for oral use/oral dosage forms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frackenpohl (US20150173359).
Frackenpohl teaches the following compound as an anti-abiotic stress agent for plants on Page 54:
or
; G-13 =
. Both Claims 5 and 9 teach the same compound (Compound 17 on Page 46 of the specification).
Frackenpohl, while not teaching the elected species
explicitly, teaches that the R7 of the above compound may instead be G-159
(Para 66 and Page 18). Further, compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09. Therefore, one of skill in the art seeking to form a compound to reduce abiotic stress in plants would find it obvious to form the isomer as elected before the filing of the instant application because Frackenpohl teaches variability in the structure and such a modification is known in the art to produce compounds of similar properties.
Regarding Claim 17, Applicant teaches the IC50 of the Frackenpohl compound is 0.87 uM (Spec: Page 46, Table 2). Further, Claim 16, the obvious isomer of the Frackenpohl compound has a comparable IC50 value. "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. See MPEP 2112 (I)-(II).
Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Inquiries
/RICHARD GRANT PECKHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627