DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended claim 14 and added claims 19-28.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7 of the response, applicant indicates that Fig. 7A discloses “the resonator surface being arranged offset from the side faces extending in transverse direction of the semiconductor laser”. The Office notes that applicant points to element 11 in Fig. 7a which is also described as “side faces”. This cannot be the “side faces” discussed in the claim, because claim 14 requires “the semiconductor laser has a resonator surface at each of the side faces”. Fig. 7A shows elements 30, “a resonator surface”, and 31, “a side face”. Both 30 and 31 points to the same surface. Accordingly, side face (31) appears to be “the semiconductor laser has a resonator surface at each of the side faces”. Fig. 7a does not show element 31 to be offset from element 30. Since Fig. 7A does not show “the side faces” as claimed relative to the other limitations of the claim, the argument is not persuasive, and the objection is maintained.
On page 9, applicant contends “Fang’s disclosed widening is associated with etched end facets and window/alcove structures, not with a ridge waveguide having transversely widened portion within which a recess is arranged as now claimed”. The Office disagrees. For instance, Fig. 4 shows that the transversely widened portion extends passed the alcoves and the recess is within the extent of the transversely widened portion.
On page 10, applicant further contends that Fang does not disclose “the recess is adjacent to a semiconductor material that is at the same height at any location spaced apart from the side face extending in transverse direction”. Applicant supports this argument by contending Fang’s windows extend down through MQW layers to the substrate. While the Office does not disagree with applicant’s characterization of Fang, the claim does not support applicant’s interpretation. Applicant’s interpretation relies on the specification which uses different language to the claim. The specification states the “recess on the side opposite to the side face extending in transverse direction is surround along its circumference by semiconductor material which is at the same level”. Applicant claims, “the recess is adjacent to a semiconductor material that is at the same height at any location spaced apart from the side face extending in transverse direction”, which has a different scope. “Adjacent” is broader than side by side and does not require absolute contact and is different than “surround along its circumference”. The Office notes that applicant defines “a semiconductor material” and “a transversely widened portion” separately that supports an interpretation that “a semiconductor material” is not limited to the semiconductor material of “a transversely widened portion”. Furthermore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “at the same height” does not require “at the same height at the top surface of the semiconductor material”. Rather, “at the same height” merely each point is selected “at the same height” which can be any point in the semiconductor stack. At each point along the recess (27), Fang shows “a semiconductor material that is at the same height at any location spaced apart from the side face extending in transverse direction”
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/11/2023, 05/15/2024, and 06/17/2025 were filed on or after the filing date of this application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the resonator surface being arranged offset from the side faces extending in transverse direction of the semiconductor laser” of claim 141 and “the recess extends continuously from one of the two side faces extending in the longitudinal direction to the other of the two side faces extending in the longitudinal direction” of claim 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
New claim 27 depends from claim 14. The Office cannot find support for “the recess extends continuously from one of the two side faces extending in the longitudinal direction to the other of the two side faces extending in the longitudinal direction” in combination with “the resonator region is a ridge waveguide having a transversely widened portion”2.
Claims 14, 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites “the side face extending in transverse direction”. “The side face” lacks antecedent basis. Applicant previously “the side faces”. Accordingly, it is unclear what face applicant is referring to. For the purpose of this Office Action, the Office will interpret the claim as “the side faces extending in transverse direction”.
Claims 15 and 19-28 are indefinite at least based on their dependence from claim 14.
Claim 20 recites “the side face” that lacks antecedent basis. The claim is indefinite, because it is unclear if “the side face” refers to one of “the side faces” or “the side face of the recess”. For the purpose of this Office Action, the Office will interpret the claim as “the side face of the recess”.
Claim 14 recites “a first section of a side face of the recess and a second section of the side face of the recess enclose an angle of more than 180° in the recess.” “Enclose an angle” is best understood as an alternative definition of “subtended”3. However, there are no two rays that can be drawn between any points on a first section of a side face of the recess and a second section of the side face of the recess that result in an angle of more than 180°.
Since applicant has not clearly redefined the term and appears to be using the term contrary to its accepted ordinary meaning, the claim is indefinite. For the purpose of this Office Action, the Office will interpret the claim as “a first section of a side face of the recess and a second section of the side face of the recess form an angle in the recess of more than 180°.”
Claims 15 and 16 are indefinite at least based on their dependence from claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14, 15, 19-23, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fang et al. (US20140219305A1), hereafter Fang.
Regarding claim 14, Fang discloses a semiconductor laser (Title; Abstract) comprising a semiconductor layer sequence (Fig. 6 elements 22 and 38) and a resonator region E (Fig. 5 elements 18 and 20; [0065]), wherein the resonator region is a ridge waveguide having a transversely widened portion (Fig. 4 element 24 is shown to be wider at element 26), the semiconductor laser extends along the resonator region between two side faces extending in transverse direction (See annotated Fig. 5 below); the semiconductor laser has a resonator surface at each of the side faces extending in transverse direction (See annotated Fig. 5 below), the resonator surface being arranged offset from the side faces extending in transverse direction of the semiconductor laser (See annotated Fig. 5 below), and the semiconductor laser has a recess along each of the side faces extending in transverse direction (See annotated Fig. 5 below), the recess is arranged within the transversely widened portion (Fig. 5 shows the recess, annotated below, within the transversely widened portion), the recess is adjacent to a semiconductor material that is at the same height at any location spaced apart from the side face extending in transverse direction (Fig. 4 shows the semiconductor material at the same height spaced apart from the side face), element the recess having at least one transition at which (See annotated inset in Fig. 5 below), in plan view of the semiconductor laser, a first section of a side face of the recess and a second section of the side face of the recess enclose an angle of more than 180° in the recess (See annotated inset in Fig. 5 below).
Regarding claim 15, Fang further discloses the recess extends into a substrate of the semiconductor laser on which the semiconductor layer sequence is arranged (Fig. 6 element 27 extends into element 22).
Regarding claim 19, Fang further discloses the side face of each recess is curved or kinked at the transition (Fig. 5 inset shows at least a kinked transition).
Regarding claim 20, Fang further discloses the transition, viewed from a resonator axis of the resonator region in the transverse direction, is the first point on the side face at which the side face deviates from a straight course (See annotated inset in Fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 21, Fang further disclose the transition is arranged between a first partial region of the recess and a second partial region of the recess, wherein the resonator surface is formed by means of the first partial region, and wherein the second partial region has, at least in places, a larger extension in the longitudinal direction than the first partial region (See annotated Fig. 4 below).
Regarding claim 22, Fang further discloses the angle at the transition is between 180.001 and 359, inclusive (See annotated inset in Fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 23, Fang further discloses a distance between the transition and the resonator region is at most 100 µm (See annotated Fig. 5 above. The transition is at the resonator face which is part of the resonator region resulting in a distance of 0 µm which is less than 100 µm).
Regarding claim 26, Fang further discloses the semiconductor laser comprises a side face extending in the longitudinal direction, and wherein the recess is spaced from the side face extending in the longitudinal direction (See annotated Fig. 4 below).
Regarding claim 27, Fang further discloses the semiconductor laser comprises two side faces extending in the longitudinal direction, and wherein the recess extends continuously from one of the two side faces extending in the longitudinal direction to the other of the two side faces extending in the longitudinal direction (See annotated Fig. 4 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang in view of Ishida (US20010030328A1), hereafter Ishida.
Regarding claim 24, Fang does not explicitly disclose the resonator surface is a crystal plane extending perpendicular to the resonator region. However, Ishida discloses the resonator surface is a crystal plane extending perpendicular to the resonator region (Fig. 9). An advantage is to help improve the yield ([0005]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fang with the resonator surface is a crystal plane extending perpendicular to the resonator region as disclosed by Ishida in order to help improve the yield.
Regarding claim 25, Fang does not explicitly disclose the semiconductor layer sequence is based on a nitride compound semiconductor material, and wherein the resonator surface is a (1-100) plane or a (10-10) plane of the semiconductor layer sequence. Ishida further discloses the semiconductor layer sequence is based on a nitride compound semiconductor material (Abstract), and wherein the resonator surface is a (1-100) plane or a (10-10) plane of the semiconductor layer sequence (Fig. 9). An advantage is to select a known material in order to provide the desired output wavelength based on the intended use of the device ([0001]) and to help improve the yield ([0005]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fang the semiconductor layer sequence is based on a nitride compound semiconductor material, and wherein the resonator surface is a (1-100) plane or a (10-10) plane of the semiconductor layer sequence as disclosed by Ishida in order to select a known material in order to provide the desired output wavelength based on the intended use of the device and to help improve the yield.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang in view of Kawada et al. (JP5347566B2), hereafter Kawada.
Regarding claim 28, Fang does not explicitly disclose the second section is curved at least in places. However, Kawada discloses the second section is curved at least in places (Fig. 4 element 33a). An advantage is to increase manufacturing efficiency and reduced manufacturing cost (Abstract). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fang with the second section is curved at least in places as disclosed by Kawada in order to increase manufacturing efficiency and reduced manufacturing cost.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Notice of References Cited. See, e.g., JP58178581A Figs. 12 and 13.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Joshua King/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828 09/30/2026
1 Fig. 7A of the application shows the resonator surface (30) and the side faces (31). However, Fig. 7A shows the portions 31 and 30 are not offset but instead occupy the same plane.
2 The Office notes that claim 27 appears to be inconsistent with applicant’s arguments regarding the interpretation of “the recess extends continuously from one of the two side faces extending in the longitudinal direction to the other of the two side faces extending in the longitudinal direction”.
3 As explained in the Wikipedia article regarding subtended angle, in some instances “the angle is said to subtend the segment” and “enclose” is an alternative to “subtend”.