This action is responsive to Applicant’s amendment/remarks filed 24 July 2026.
The rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as an improper Markush grouping is withdrawn in view of arguments.
The rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vyver (WO-2020058193-A1, located in Information Disclosure Statement) in view of Zucca (US-7884130-B2) and Sigma-Aldrich et al. “Application Guide” is withdrawn in view of amendments/arguments.
Response to Amendment & Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 15-22, filed July 24 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-6 and 8-10 under Vyer (WO-2020058193-A1) in view of Zucca (US-7884130-B2) and Sigma-Aldrich et al. “Application Guide” have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Warr (US-20100168251-A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warr (US-20100168251-A1).
With regard to claim 1, Warr teaches a fragrance composition comprising component A (e.g. coumarin, claimed formula IIH, para [0035]) at a concentration of 40 to 100 wt.%, component B (e.g. gamma decalactone, claimed formula IIA, para [0036]) at a concentration of 0 to 80wt.%, and component C (e.g. sucrose diacetate hexaisobutyrate, claimed Formula IF, para [0037]) at a concentration of 0 to 50 wt.% (paras [0027-0029]), which reads on the claimed formulas IF, IIA, and IIH, concentration ranges, and co-fragrance component different from one another.
With regard to the component selections, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to formulate Warr’s composition to comprise coumarin, gamma decalactone, and sucrose diacetate hexaisobutyrate. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in achieving the claimed invention, as Vyver’s composition can be provided with coumarin, gamma decalactone, and sucrose diacetate hexaisobutyrate. Therefore, given the overlapping components disclosed in a single composition, a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect the modification to be obvious.
With regard to claim 2, Warr does not explicitly teach the stereochemistry of the following structure that reads on formula IF1 (paras. [0099-0100]):
Wherein R1 and R2, identical or different represent a —CO—R group in which R is a linear or branched (C1-C6)alkyl group. However, Warr teaches component C comprising sucrose hexaeisobutyrate diacetate (component C, para [0037]), which reads on the claimed stereochemistry of formula IF1 containing an R1 isopropyl. This compound also correspond to the suitable fixative compounds listed in [instant specification located on page 12, line 13-16].
With regard to claim 3, Warr teaches component A (e.g. coumarin) at a concentration of 40 to 100 wt.%, component B (e.g. gamma decalactone) at a concentration of 0 to 80wt.%, and component C (e.g. sucrose diacetate hexaisobutyrate) at a concentration of 0 to 50 wt.% (paras [0027-0029 and 0035-0037]), which yields a weight range of 0:100 to 50:50 and overlaps the claimed weight ratio range of 0.24:1 to 26:1.
With regard to claim 4, Warr teaches coumarin (i.e., component A), and gamma decalactone (i.e., component B) (paras. [0035-0036]), which read on the claimed formula IIA1-1 and Formula IIH1.
With regard to claim 5, Warr teaches coumarin (i.e., component A), and gamma decalactone (i.e., component B) (paras. [0035-0036]), which read on the claimed formula IIA1-1f and Formula IIH1-1.
With regard to claim 6, Warr teaches coumarin (i.e., component A), and gamma decalactone (i.e., component B) (paras. [0035-0036]), which read on the claimed formula IIA1-1f and Formula IIH1-1.
With regard to claim 7, Warr teaches component A (e.g. coumarin) at a concentration of 40 to 100 wt.%, and component B (e.g. gamma decalactone) at a concentration of 0 to 80wt.% (paras. [0027-0028 and 0035-0036]), which overlaps the claimed range.
With regard to claims 8-10, Warr teaches the use of solvents, including propylene glycol and dipropylene glycol (component D, para [0071]), which reads on the claimed alcohol limitation. Warr further teaches that the solvent concentration of 0 to 50 wt.%, wherein the sum of component C (i.e., sucrose diacetate hexaisobutyrate) and D is 50 wt.% or less (para [0039]), which reads on the claimed limitation of a weight ratio 1 to 17 as it falls within the range of Warr.
Conclusion
/A.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/TANISHA DIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
September 21, 2026