Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 16 objected to because of the following informalities:
Within claim 1, line 11: “storing the contact device into a contact” should be “storing the contact device, into a contact”. This objection also apples to claim 16, line 11 to prevent confusion of pivoting device configurations.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5, 10-12 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 contains the indefinite pronoun “it” within line 5. Please replace with the noun to which it refers. Examiner recommends amending “it” to “the contact device”.
Claim 3 recites, “a contact situation in the retracted position” within lines 6-7. This limitation is unclear to Examiner since according to claim 1, the contact situation is in the contact position with the storage situation being a retracted position. It is unclear if the retracted position is the same limitation as claimed in claim 1, or is referring to a securing device retracted position. This rejection likewise applies to claim 4, line 7.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “another pivot axis” which makes the limitation unclear. Examiner recommends positively reciting “a second pivot axis”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “another adjustment drive” within line 3 followed by “the other adjustment drive” within claims 11 and 12 making the limitation unclear. Examiner recommends positively reciting “a second adjustment drive”.
Claim 17 recites “the vertical contact situation” within line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner recommends amending to “the contact situation” as previously recited within claim 16. This rejection also applies to claim 18.
Claim 5 is rejected due to its dependency upon claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weigel et al. (US 20160185239 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Weigel discloses a positioning unit for electrically driven vehicles for forming an electrically conductive connection between a vehicle and a stationary charging station (10; Fig.1), the positioning unit being configured to be disposed on a vehicle roof (Para.[0057], lines 5-6), a contact device (14; Fig.1) of the positioning unit being configured to be moved relative to a charging contact device (12; Fig.1) of the charging station and to make electrical contact therewith in a contact position (Fig.13), the positioning unit having an articulated arm device (15; Fig.1) for positioning the contact device (14; Fig.1) and a drive device for driving the articulated arm device (Para.[0015], lines 7-9 and Para.[0057], lines 12-13), the articulated arm device having a pivoting device (20; Fig.1) with a pivoting arm (19; Fig.1) configured to rotate on a pivot axis (axis shown at 20; Fig.1), the pivoting device being configured to pivot the contact device from a storage situation of a retracted position of the positioning unit for storing the contact device, into a contact situation in the contact position and vice versa, wherein the positioning unit comprises a securing device configured to secure the pivoting arm in the storage situation in a form-fitting manner (all positions shown in Fig.16).
Regarding claim 2: Weigel further discloses the positioning unit according to claim 1, wherein the articulated arm device is configured to position the contact device in the vertical direction (Fig.16) and in the horizontal direction relative to the charging contact device (Para.[0062], lines 15-17) and to move it into the contact position (Fig.13).
Regarding claim 3: Weigel further discloses the positioning unit according to claim 1, wherein the securing device (101; Fig.16) is coupled to the drive device in such a manner that the securing device is capable of securing the contact device in the storage situation when the contact device is pivoted into the storage situation, and the securing device is capable of releasing the contact device when the contact device is pivoted into a contact situation in the retracted position (storage and contact situations shown in Fig.16).
Regarding claim 4: Weigel further discloses the positioning unit according to claim 1, wherein the contact device is disposed on an end of the pivoting arm opposite the pivot axis (apparent from Fig.2) and configured to rotate on another pivot axis (upper axis on 27; Fig.1), the pivoting device being configured to pivot the contact device from the storage situation of the retracted position into a vertical contact situation in the retracted position and vice versa (Fig.16).
Regarding claim 5: Weigel further discloses the positioning unit according to claim 4, wherein the contact device is pivoted in a direction of the pivot axis of the pivoting arm and is in contact with the pivoting arm (contact device is pivoted more toward pivot axis and is connected to pivot arm; Fig.16) or is pivoted in a direction opposite the pivoting arm when in the storage situation (contact device is pivoted in the opposite direction on upper pivot axis than the pivot arm on the lower axis shown in Fig.16).
Regarding claim 6: Weigel further discloses the positioning unit according to claim 1, wherein the positioning unit comprises a frame for mounting the positioning unit on a roof of a vehicle, the pivoting arm with the pivot axis being disposed and configured to pivot on the frame (21; Fig.1).
Regarding claim 9: Weigel further discloses the positioning unit according to claim 1, wherein the drive device has an adjustment drive for generating an adjusting force acting on the pivoting arm and a spring element mechanically interacting with the adjustment drive (Para.[0015]).
Regarding claim 13: Weigel further discloses the positioning unit according to claim 1, wherein the contact device has a charging contact element carrier with contact elements, the contact elements being configured to make electrical contact with charging contact elements of the charging contact device when in the contact position so as to form respective contact pairs (Fig.13).
Regarding claim 14: Weigel further discloses the positioning unit according to claim 1, wherein the pivoting device has a transverse guide configured to position the contact device in the direction perpendicular to the charging contact device, the transverse guide being disposed on an end of the pivoting arm opposite the pivot axis (25; Fig.2).
Regarding claim 15: Weigel further discloses a fast charging system comprising a charging contact device (Para.[0001], lines 1-6) and a positioning unit according to claim 1 (see corresponding rejection above).
Regarding claim 16: Weigel discloses a method for forming an electrically conductive connection between an electrically driven vehicle and a stationary charging station using a positioning unit, a contact device of the positioning unit being moved relative to a charging contact device of the charging station and making electrical contact therewith in a contact position (Para.[0001]), an articulated arm device (15; Fig.1) of the positioning unit positioning the contact device (Fig.16) and a drive device of the positioning unit driving the articulated arm device (Para.[0015], lines 7-9 and Para.[0057], lines 12-13), the articulated arm device having a pivoting device (20; Fig.1) with a pivoting arm (19; Fig.1) configured to rotate on a pivot axis (axis shown at 20; Fig.1), the pivoting device pivoting the contact device from a storage situation of a retracted position of the positioning unit for storing the contact device into a contact situation of the contact position and vice versa, wherein a securing device of the positioning unit secures the pivoting arm in the storage situation in a form-fitting manner (all positions shown in Fig.16).
Regarding claim 17: Weigel further discloses the method according to claim 16, wherein the contact device is first pivoted from the storage situation into a vertical contact situation and then into the contact position in the vertical contact situation and vice versa (Fig.16).
Regarding claim 18: Weigel further discloses the method according to claim 16, wherein the pivoting device always positions the contact device in the vertical contact situation while the pivoting arm is pivoting the contact device (Fig.16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weigel in view of Dietrich (US 20160090008 A1).
Regarding claim 7: Weigel does not teach wherein the securing device is formed by a latch and a recess, the latch engaging the recess in the storage situation and firmly securing the pivoting arm, the latch being disposed on the pivoting arm and the recess being disposed on the frame or vice versa.
However, Dietrich teaches a securing device formed by a latch (11,19; Fig.2) and a recess (18; Fig.2), the latch engaging the recess in the storage situation and firmly securing the pivoting arm (Fig.1 and Para.[0033]), the latch being disposed on the pivoting arm and the recess being disposed on the frame (Fig.2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the positioning unit of Weigel with a latch and recess securing device as in Weigel to provide a secure lock of the positioning unit to prevent component damage when not in use with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 8: Weigel does not teach wherein the latch is a profile bar configured to move in a linear guide of the securing device, a catch or a pivoting hook, and the recess is formed by a protrusion, an edge, a hook, an eye or a bracket.
However, Dietrich teaches wherein the latch (11,19; Fig.2) is a profile bar configured to move in a linear guide of the securing device (Para.[0033]) and the recess is formed by a bracket (18; Fig.1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the positioning unit of Weigel with the latch and recess securing device as in Weigel to provide a secure lock of the positioning unit to prevent component damage when not in use with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weigel in view of Vahle et al. (US 20170001524 A1).
Regarding claim 10: Weigel does not teach wherein the drive device has another adjustment drive for generating an adjusting force acting on the contact device.
However, Vahle teaches the use of another adjustment drive for generating an adjusting force acting on the contact device (additional drives, Para.[0017], lines 7-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the positioning unit of Weigel to include additional drives to provide more controlled adjustments of the positioning unit position relative to the charging contacts with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 11: Weigel does not teach wherein the adjustment drive and/or the other adjustment drive has an electric motor, a cable drive, and/or a chain drive configured to rotate the pivoting arm on the pivot axis and/or to rotate the contact device on another pivot axis.
However, Vahle teaches wherein the adjustment drive has an electric motor and a chain drive to adjust positions of a contact device (Para.[0019]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the positioning unit of Weigel to utilize electric motors and chain drives as adjustment drives to provide accurate positioning unit movements with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 12: Weigel does not teach wherein the securing device is coupled to the cable drive or the chain drive of the adjustment drive or the other adjustment drive for operation.
However, Vahle teaches wherein the securing device is coupled to the cable drive or the chain drive of the adjustment drive or the other adjustment drive for operation (Para.[0014], lines 10-18). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the positioning unit of Weigel to include a securing device operated dependent upon the drive to provide a secure lock of the positioning unit to prevent component damage when not in use with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/HEAVEN R BUFFINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615