DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kay (US PGPub 2009/0055024, cited in the IDS) in view of Pollack et al (US PGPub 2019/0299415, as cited in the IDS).
Regarding Claim 1, Kay teaches an apparatus for robotic arm alignment (see abstract and [0019]), comprising: a robotic arm (10) configured to hold and move a target object (20);
a carrier (referred to as a holding fixture 62) configured to hold the target (20);
a positioning tool (referred to as fiducials 14 or 64) configured to be held by the robotic arm (10), moved by the robotic arm, and held in the sample tube carrier ( i.e. holding fixture 62)(see [0019]-[0020], [0029]-[0030] and [0049]) ;
a plurality of optical components (shown as 3D camera 16 with a means for illuminating the target 30 in Figure 4 and/or 3D camera 90 and 92) (see Figures 4, 6, [0027]-[0028] and [0052]); and
a controller (24 or 94) operably coupled to the robotic arm and the plurality of optical components, the controller operable to: process images received from the plurality of optical components of the positioning tool held in the sample tube carrier to determine coordinates of a first point on the positioning tool; process images received from the plurality of optical components of the positioning tool held by the robotic arm to determine coordinates of a second point on the positioning tool; and cause movement of the positioning tool held by the robotic arm or held in the sample tube carrier in response to the coordinates of the second point exceeding a pre-determined deviation from the coordinates of the first point (wherein controller 24 receives output signals from 3D camera 16 and uses the spatial position data provided by 3D camera 16 as feedback to continuously guide the arm towards target object 20) (see [0022]).
In addition, Kay teaches that the 3D camera (or computations performed in controller 24) computes the spatial locations of the active fiducials and target object and that controller 24 computes the difference between the spatial location of target object 20 and the spatial location of end effector 26. Using this information, controller 24 produces command signals 12 which cause arm 10 to be guided towards target object 20 (see [0037]-[0038]). Furthermore, the characteristics of the positioning tool (i.e. the fiducials 14) are passed on to a fiducial cross-referencing and arm position computation module 44, which has access to a library 46 that includes of information on each fiducial and its corresponding characteristics. Then by identifying and knowing the spatial position of each fiducial, and combining this data with knowledge of where each fiducial is physically located on robotic arm 10, module 44 can compute the spatial location of the arm. Furthermore, image processing circuitry 32 is arranged to activate the scanning laser and determine the spatial location of target object 20. Data 36 representing the spatial locations of arm 10 and target object 20 is provided to servo processing circuitry 34, wherein the processing circuitry accepts the spatial position data and, based upon the sensed position of the arm, determines the required command signals 12 to output to the robotic arm drive system (see [0042]-[0044]).
Furthermore, Kay teaches that the positioning tool (such as fiducials 14 or 64) are positioned in the carrier (i.e. holding fixture 62) (see [0049] and Figure 4).
Kay fails to disclose the automated system is a sample analysis system; the robotic arm configured to hold and move a sample tube; or that the sample tube carrier is configured to hold the sample tube.
However, in the analogous art of robot grippers in sample analysis systems, teaches a similar automated system, which is a sample analysis system (see [0024]); and further teaches a robotic arm configured to hold and move a sample tube (a robot 105 that is useful for grasping a sample container, such as blood collection vessel, sample tube, or the like, at a first location (e.g., a staging location) and transferring the sample container to a second location, see [0024]); In addition, Pollack et al teaches a sample tube carrier (such as receptacles 112R of sample rack 112) configured to hold the sample tube , as well as a robot 105 that is useful for grasping a sample container (not shown in FIG. 1), such as blood collection vessel, sample tube, or the like, at a first location (e.g., a staging location) and transferring the sample container to a second location (see [0024]). The robot (105 or 510) may move the gripper 108 in the X, Y, and 7 coordinate system so that the gripper 108 may access receptacles 112R of the sample rack 112, and may also access a specimen container carrier 540 and a cold storage system 542 containing refrigerated specimen containers 502C (see [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kay to include the sample tube and carrier (taught by Pollack et al) for the purpose of using the invention to transport biological liquid containers while minimizing exposure to, or contact with, the biological liquid samples and increasing productivity (see [0002]-[0003] of Pollack et al).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Kay and Pollack et al teaches that the plurality of optical components comprises a plurality of cameras (since 3D camera 16, preferably comprises dual 2D cameras separated by a known distance, triangulates on the laser spot or line to generate a 3D image of the target object) (see [0028] of Kay).
Regarding Claim 4, Kay fails to disclose that the positioning tool is cylindrical and includes sections having different geometries or color contrast.
However, in the analogous art of robot grippers in sample analysis systems, Pollack et al teaches a positioning tool, which is cylindrical and includes sections having different geometries or color contrast (specifically, the positioning tool is encompassed by calibration tool 110, which may include a stylus 227 on a lower end thereof and stylus 227 may include a cylindrical end 227C of a known cylindrical dimension (see [0036] and; also see Fig. 2B, which shows that positioning tool 110 has different geometries).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kay to include the different geometries of the positioning tool as taught in Pollack et al, for the purpose of including a calibration tool and grippers (see [0036]).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Kay and Pollack et al teaches that the first point or the second point on the positioning tool is located at an intersection of two of the sections where a geometric change or a color contrast change occurs (see Fig. 1, which shows that marker/fiducial (14) is at the intersection of the two parts of the positioning gripper (see Figure 1 of Kay).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Kay and Pollack et al teaches the first point and the second point on the positioning tool (fiducial 14) are the same point (see Figure 1 of Kay),
Regarding Claim 7, Kay teaches an apparatus for robotic arm alignment (see abstract and [0019]), comprising: a robotic arm (10) configured to hold and move a target object (20),wherein robotic arm (10) includes an effector 26, such as a gripper (see [0023]).
a carrier (referred to as a holding fixture 62) configured to hold the target (20);
a plurality of optical components (shown as 3D camera 16 with a means for illuminating the target 30 in Figure 4 and/or 3D camera 90 and 92) (see Figures 4, 6, [0027]-[0028] and [0052]); and
a controller (24 or 94) operably coupled to the robotic arm and the plurality of optical components (3D camera 16), the controller operable to: process images received from the plurality of optical components of the sample tube carrier to determine coordinates of a first marker (which is fiducial 14); process images received from the plurality of optical components of the gripper to determine coordinates of a second marker (which is another one of fiducials 14); and cause movement of the gripper via the robotic arm in response to the coordinates of the second marker exceeding a pre-determined deviation from the coordinates of the first marker (see [0020], [0022] and [0029]).
In addition, Kay teaches that the 3D camera (or computations performed in controller 24) computes the spatial locations of the active fiducials and target object and that controller 24 computes the difference between the spatial location of target object 20 and the spatial location of end effector 26 (which includes a gripper). Using this information, controller 24 produces command signals 12 which cause arm 10 to be guided towards target object 20 (see [0037]-[0038]). Furthermore, the characteristics of the positioning tool (i.e. the fiducials 14) are passed on to a fiducial cross-referencing and arm position computation module 44, which has access to a library 46 that includes of information on each fiducial and its corresponding characteristics. Then by identifying and knowing the spatial position of each fiducial, and combining this data with knowledge of where each fiducial is physically located on robotic arm 10, module 44 can compute the spatial location of the arm. Furthermore, image processing circuitry 32 is arranged to activate the scanning laser and determine the spatial location of target object 20. Data 36 representing the spatial locations of arm 10 and target object 20 is provided to servo processing circuitry 34, wherein the processing circuitry accepts the spatial position data and, based upon the sensed position of the arm, determines the required command signals 12 to output to the robotic arm drive system (see [0042]-[0044]).
Furthermore, Kay teaches that the markers (such as fiducials 14 or 64) are positioned in the carrier (i.e. holding fixture 62) (see [0049] and Figure 4).
Kay fails to disclose the automated system is a sample analysis system; the robotic arm configured to hold and move a sample tube; or that the sample tube carrier is configured to hold the sample tube and that the sample tube carrier is moved via a movable track.
However, in the analogous art of robot grippers in sample analysis systems, teaches a similar automated system, which is a sample analysis system (see [0024]); and further teaches a robotic arm configured to hold and move a sample tube (a robot 105 that is useful for grasping a sample container, such as blood collection vessel, sample tube, or the like, at a first location (e.g., a staging location) and transferring the sample container to a second location, see [0024]); In addition, Pollack et al teaches a sample tube carrier (such as receptacles 112R of sample rack 112) configured to hold the sample tube , as well as a robot 105 that is useful for grasping a sample container (not shown in FIG. 1), such as blood collection vessel, sample tube, or the like, at a first location (e.g., a staging location) and transferring the sample container to a second location (see [0024]). The robot (105 or 510) may move the gripper 108 in the X, Y, and 7 coordinate system so that the gripper 108 may access receptacles 112R of the sample rack 112, and may also access a specimen container carrier 540 and a cold storage system 542 containing refrigerated specimen containers 502C (see [0050]). In addition, Pollack et al teaches that the specimen container carrier 540 is moved by travelling on a track 541 (see [0050] and [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kay to include the sample tube and carrier, along with a movable track (as taught by Pollack et al) for the purpose of enabling the invention to transport biological liquid containers while minimizing exposure to, or contact with, the biological liquid samples and increasing productivity (see [0002]-[0003] of Pollack et al).
Regarding Claims 8-9, the combination of Kay and Pollack et al teaches that the first marker is a physical item attached to the sample tube carrier or the second marker is a physical item attached to the gripper, wherein the physical item is a point light source (wherein the markers are least one "active" fiducial 14 located on robotic arm 10, and an "active" fiducial is one that emits its own light-i.e. it is self-illuminating (such as light-emitting diodes, incandescent lamps, and/or optical fibers) (see [0019] and [0026] of Kay).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Kay and Pollack et al teaches that the first marker (i.e. fiducial 14) is located at a point where a geometric change or a color contrast change occurs on the gripper (see Fig. 1 of Kay, which illustrates that the marker/fiducial is at the intersection of the two parts of the positioning gripper).
Regarding claim 11, Kay discloses a method of aligning a robotic arm in an automated system (wherein robotic arm and control system includes a robotic arm which moves in response to one or more command signals, see Abstract), the method comprising:
identifying a first marker (i.e. fiducial 14) location relative to a first component (where active fiducials 14 might also be located on the target object [first component]. This is illustrated in FIG. 4, which illustrates that the one or more active fiducials are positioned on target object 20, see [0048];
identifying a second marker (i.e. fiducial 14) location relative to a robotic arm (There is at least one "active" fiducial 14 located on robotic arm 10. As used herein, an "active" fiducial is one that emits its own light-i.e., it is self-illuminating., see [0019]);
determining coordinates of the first marker location using a plurality of optical components and a controller (where a 3D camera 16 (which is the optical component) can determine the spatial location of target object 20 in the same way that it determines the spatial location of robotic arm 10, by imaging the object while its fiducials are activated, see [0036] and [0048]);
In addition, Kay teaches that the 3D camera (or computations performed in controller 24) computes the spatial locations of the active fiducials; and determining coordinates of the second marker location using the plurality of optical components and the controller (where 3D camera 16 detects the active fiducial(s), and the 3D camera (or computations performed in controller 24) computes the spatial locations of the active fiducials (see [0036]-[0037]); and adjusting a position of the robotic arm or the first component via the controller in response to the coordinates of the second marker location exceeding a pre-determined deviation from the coordinates of the first marker location (by moving said arm so as to reduce the difference between the spatial locations of said at least one fiducial and said target object (where controller 24 computes the difference between the spatial location of target object 20 and the spatial location of end effector 26. Using this information, controller 24 produces command signals 12 which cause arm 10 to be guided towards target object 20. See [0038].
Kay fails to disclose the automated system is a sample analysis system; or that the first component is a sample tube carrier.
However, in the analogous art of robot grippers in sample analysis systems, Pollack et al teaches that the automated system is a sample analysis system (see [0024]). In addition, Pollack et al teaches a sample tube carrier (such as receptacles 112R of sample rack 112) configured to hold the sample tube , as well as a robot 105 that is useful for grasping a sample container (not shown in FIG. 1), such as blood collection vessel, sample tube, or the like, at a first location (e.g., a staging location) and transferring the sample container to a second location (see [0024]). The robot (105 or 510) may move the gripper 108 in the X, Y, and 7 coordinate system so that the gripper 108 may access receptacles 112R of the sample rack 112, and may also access a specimen container carrier 540 and a cold storage system 542 containing refrigerated specimen containers 502C (see [0050]). In addition, Pollack et al teaches that the specimen container carrier 540 is moved by travelling on a track 541 (see [0050] and [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kay to include the sample tube and carrier, along with a movable track (as taught by Pollack et al) for the purpose of enabling the invention to transport biological liquid containers while minimizing exposure to, or contact with, the biological liquid samples and increasing productivity (see [0002]-[0003] of Pollack et al).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Kay and Pollack et al teaches that the plurality of optical components comprises a plurality of cameras (since 3D camera 16, preferably comprises dual 2D cameras separated by a known distance, triangulates on the laser spot or line to generate a 3D image of the target object) (see [0028] of Kay).
Regarding Claims 14 and 16, Kay discloses the method of claim 11 wherein the identifying the first marker location comprises identifying the first (or second) marker location on a positioning tool (There is at least one "active" fiducial 14 located on robotic arm 10. As used herein, an "active" fiducial is one that emits its own light-i.e., it is self-illuminating., see [0019]; and 3D camera 16 detects the active fiducial(s), see [0036]).
In addition, Kay teaches that the 3D camera (or computations performed in controller 24) computes the spatial locations of the active fiducials (see [0037]).
Kay fails to explicitly disclose the positioning tool held in the sample tube carrier.
However, in the analogous art of robot grippers in sample analysis systems, Pollack et al teaches that the positioning tool held in the sample tube carrier (a robot 105 that is useful for grasping a sample container (not shown in FIG. 1), such as blood collection vessel, sample tube, or the like, at a first location (e.g., a staging location) and transferring the sample container to a second location. See [0024].
In addition, Pollack et al teaches that the robot 510 may move the gripper 108 in the X, Y, and Z coordinate system so that the gripper 108 may access receptacles 112R of the sample rack 112, and may also access a specimen container carrier 540 and a cold storage system 542 containing refrigerated specimen containers 502C. See [0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kay to include the sample tube and carrier as taught in Pollack et al for the purpose of using the invention to transport biological liquid containers while minimizing exposure to, or contact with, the biological liquid samples and increasing productivity (see [0002]-[0003] of Pollack et al).
Regarding Claims 15 and 17, the combination of Kay and Pollack et al teaches the identifying the first (or second) marker location comprises identifying
the first (or second) marker location at a point on a positioning tool where the positioning tool has a change in geometry or color contrast (see Fig. 1 of Kay , which shows that the marker/fiducial 14 is at the intersection of the two parts of the positioning gripper).
Furthermore, Kay teaches that the positioning tool (such as fiducials 14 or 64) are positioned in the carrier (i.e. holding fixture 62) (see [0049] and Figure 4).
Regarding Claim 18, Kay teaches that the positioning tool (such as fiducials 14 or 64) are positioned in the carrier (i.e. holding fixture 62) (see [0049] and Figure 4).
Kay does not disclose that the positioning tool includes sections having different geometries or color contrast.
However, in the analogous art of robot grippers in sample analysis systems, Pollack et al teaches a positioning tool, which is cylindrical and includes sections having different geometries or color contrast (specifically, the positioning tool is encompassed by calibration tool 110, which may include a stylus 227 on a lower end thereof and stylus 227 may include a cylindrical end 227C of a known cylindrical dimension (see [0036] and; also see Fig. 2B, which shows that positioning tool 110 has different geometries).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kay to include the different geometries of the positioning tool as taught in Pollack et al, for the purpose of including a calibration tool and grippers (see [0036]).
Regarding Claim 19, Kay discloses the method of claim 11 wherein the identifying the first marker location comprises identifying the first marker location on the first component (3D camera 16 can determine the spatial location of target object 20 in the same way that it determines the spatial location of robotic arm 10-by imaging the object while its fiducials are activated, see [0048]); Furthermore, Kay teaches that 3D camera 16 detects the active fiducial(s), and the 3D camera (or computations performed in controller 24) computes the spatial locations of the active fiducials (see [0036]-[0037]).
Kay fails to disclose the first component is a sample tube carrier.
Pollack et al teaches the first component is a sample tube carrier (a robot 105 that is useful for grasping a sample container (not shown in FIG. 1), such as blood collection vessel, sample tube, or the like, at a first location (e.g., a staging location) and transferring the sample container to a second location, and also teaches that the robot 510 may move the gripper 108 in the X, Y, and Z coordinate system so that the gripper 108 may access receptacles 112R of the sample rack 112, and may also access a specimen container carrier 540 and a cold storage system 542 containing refrigerated specimen containers 502C (see [0024] and [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kay to include the sample tube and carrier as taught in Pollack et al for the purpose of using the invention to transport biological liquid containers while minimizing exposure to, or contact with, the biological liquid samples and increasing productivity (see Pollack et al, [0002]-[0003]).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Kay and Pollack et al discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the identifying the second marker location comprises identifying the second marker location on the robotic arm (There is at least one "active" fiducial 14 located on robotic arm 10. As used herein, an "active" fiducial is one that emits its own light-i.e., it is self-illuminating., and 3D camera 16 detects the active fiducial(s), and the 3D camera (or computations performed in controller 24) computes the spatial locations of the active fiducials. See [0019] and [0036]-[0037]).
Claim(s) 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kay and Pollack et al as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Fradkin et al (US PGPub 2021/0213486).
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, the combination of Kay and Pollack et al teaches that the plurality of optical components may include only one camera (such as 3D camera 16) (see [0028] and [0049] of Kay).
The combination of Kay and Pollack et al does not disclose that the plurality of optical components further includes one or more prisms or mirrors.
However, in the analogous art of robotic inspection systems, Fradkin et al teaches a robotic inspection platform 100, which also includes an imaging system 106, which is generally configured to illuminate containers such as containers 104, and to capture images of the illuminated containers. To this end, imaging system 106 may include a light source, an imager, and possibly one or more mirrors and/or other optical elements to redirect light from the light source and/or light scattered by samples (and/or the container itself) in a suitable manner (see [0015]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of the previous combination (of Kay and Pollack et al) by incorporating one or more mirrors along with a single camera (as taught by Fradkin et al) for the benefit of effectively redirecting light from the light source and/or light scattered by samples.
Claim(s) 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kay and Pollack et al as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Konolige et al (US 9,227,323), as cited in the IDS.
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, the combination of Kay and Pollack et al teaches that the plurality of optical components may include only one camera (such as 3D camera 16) (see [0028] and [0049] of Kay).
The combination of Kay and Pollack et al does not disclose that the plurality of optical components further includes one or more prisms or mirrors.
However, in the analogous art of methods and systems for recognizing machine-readable information on three-dimensional (3D) objects including a robotic manipulator, Konolige et al teaches that the system may include a reader, which may alternatively comprise a single camera and four mirrors so that a wide angle lens with a high resolution mono or depth camera can view and scan five surfaces of the box (see abstract and Col. 4, line 65 – Col. 5, line 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of the previous combination (of Kay and Pollack et al) by incorporating a plurality (such as 4) mirrors along with a single camera (as taught by Konolige et al) for the benefit of allowing a wide angle lens with a high resolution mono or depth camera can view and scan five surfaces of the box.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sun et al (US PGPub 20210122046) discloses a robotic system simulation to control a robotic system. In various embodiments, a communication indicating an action to be performed by a robotic element is received from a robotic control system. Performance of the action by the robotic element is simulated. A state tracking data is updated to reflect a virtual change to one or more state variables as a result of simulated performance of the action. Successful completion of the action by the robotic element is reported to the robotic control system (see abstract).
LAPCZYNA et al (US PGPub 20200408788) discloses a measuring apparatus for detecting the relative position of an end portion of a pipetting container by an interaction between a measurement support section of the pipetting container and the measuring apparatus (see abstract). Furthermore, In a preferred embodiment, a second measuring device comprises a light source, in particular an LED, in particular an infrared LED, which provides the light to illuminate the portion of the space which, for the purpose of measurement, contains the second end portion or the mouth region of the pipetting container at least temporarily. Preferably, the light is directed uniformly onto this area of space, in particular, by irradiation with collimated light. This is guided, in particular by means of beam guidance measures, e.g. lens(es), mirror(s) etc., in such a way that it passes through the portion of the space from two directions and then falls on at least one optical sensor (see [0034]).
/JENNIFER WECKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797