DETAILED ACTION
Citation to the Specification will be in the following format: (S. # : ¶) where # denotes the page number and ¶ denotes the paragraph number of the pre-grant publication corresponding to this application, US 2024/0132359. Citation to patent literature will be in the form (Inventor # : LL) where # is the column number and LL is the line number. Citation to the pre-grant publication literature will be in the following format (Inventor # : ¶) where # denotes the page number and ¶ denotes the paragraph number.
Status of Application; Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 5/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are pending.
Claims 10-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected compositions and methods, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/27/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on:
8/05/2025
10/28/2024
9/07/2023
8/11/2023
are is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
As understood, Claims 2-4 (which depend directly or indirectly upon Claim 1) recite multiple high shear mixing and oxidation steps, apparently carried out in series. As understood, this embodiment is not described in the Specification. The Specification should be amended to provide support for the language of Claims 1-4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
I. Claims 4 and 7 – or as stated below – is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 refers to “said graphite.” Claim 4 depends from Claim 3 (which recites a graphite), which depends from Claim 1 (which recites another graphite). It is unclear to which graphite Claim 4 is referring. Stated differently, this language lacks antecedent basis. MPEP 2173.05(e) (“Similarly, if two different levers are recited earlier in the claim, the recitation of "said lever" in the same or subsequent claim would be unclear where it is uncertain which of the two levers was intended.”).
Claim 7 refers to “said graphite” followed by details related to the surface area. It is unclear whether this refers to the starting graphite or the graphite that has been exfoliated in Claim 1. Stated differently, this language lacks antecedent basis. MPEP 2173.05(e) (“Similarly, if two different levers are recited earlier in the claim, the recitation of "said lever" in the same or subsequent claim would be unclear where it is uncertain which of the two levers was intended.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
I. Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 6 – or as stated below - is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paton, et al., Scalable production of large quantities of defect-free few-layer graphene by shear exfoliation in liquids, Nature Materials 2014: 624-630 with Supplementary Information (hereinafter “Paton at __”) in view of:
(i) Kumar, et al., Tunable degree of oxidation through variation of H2O2 concentration and its effect on structural, optical and supercapacitive properties of graphene oxide powders synthesized using improved method, Materials Today Communications 2017; 13: 26-35 (hereinafter “Kumar at __”).
With respect to Claim 1, this claim requires “subjecting an aqueous dispersion of a graphite to an exfoliation step by high shear mixing at a mixing speed equal to or greater than 3000 rpm and to an oxidation step with an oxidizing agent selected from hydrogen peroxide, optionally mixed with acetic acid, potassium hydroxide and mixtures thereof.” Paton teaches subjecting an aqueous dispersion of graphite in a Silversson mixer at 4500 rpm. (Paton at 625, col. 1). Note the Specification similarly employs a Silverson mixer. (S. 5: [0118]-[0119]). Paton would not appear to teach the oxidation step. This is discussed below.
Claim 1 further requires “the graphite exfoliation step can precede, follow or be conducted together with the oxidation step.” To the extent Paton may not teach the oxidation step employing hydrogen peroxide, this is common. This is the modified or improved Hummer’s method, described extensively in the prior art. Any number of references could be applied (and others are made of record below). Kumar is chosen as it describes control of the degree of oxidation by varying the amount hydrogen peroxide. (Kumar at 27, col. 2 et seq. – 2. Experimental). The combination reflects application of known techniques (high shear mixing and Paton; improved/modified Hummers oxidation and Kumar) to achieve predictable results, namely exfoliated and oxidized graphene (i.e. graphene oxide). This does not impart patentability. MPEP 2143; KSR.
As to Claim 2, this claim largely repeats the language of Claim 1. The discussion above is relied upon. Aqueous solutions with oxidizing agents are taught. (Kumar at 27, col. 2). Repeating steps is an obvious expedient to achieve the desired levels of exfoliation and oxidation. Reversing them to get the desired result (oxidized the exfoliated, vice versa) is an obvious expedient, and well within the skill in the art.
As to Claim 3, this claim largely repeats the language of Claim 1. The discussion above is relied upon. Aqueous solutions with oxidizing agents are taught. (Kumar at 27, col. 2). Repeating steps is an obvious expedient to achieve the desired levels of exfoliation and oxidation. Reversing them to get the desired result (oxidized the exfoliated, vice versa) is an obvious expedient, and well within the skill in the art.
As to Claim 5, hydrogen peroxide is taught. (Kumar at 27, col. 2 et seq. – 2. Experimental).
As to Claim 6, 4500 rpm are taught. (Paton at 625, col. 1).
II. Claim(s) 8-9 – or as stated below - is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paton, et al., Scalable production of large quantities of defect-free few-layer graphene by shear exfoliation in liquids, Nature Materials 2014: 624-630 with Supplementary Information (hereinafter “Paton at __”) in view of:
(i) Kumar, et al., Tunable degree of oxidation through variation of H2O2 concentration and its effect on structural, optical and supercapacitive properties of graphene oxide powders synthesized using improved method, Materials Today Communications 2017; 13: 26-35 (hereinafter “Kumar at __”), and further in view of:
(ii) Zhou, et al., Evaluation of antithrombogenic and antibacterial activities of a graphite oxide/heparin-benzalkonium chloride composite, Carbon 2009; 47: 1343-1350 (hereinafter “Zhou at __”).
The discussion accompanying “Rejection I” is incorporated herein by reference.
As to Claim 8, to the extent neither Paton nor Kumar teach the treatment with the quarternary ammonium salt, Zhou does. Zhou adds GO and NaOH (alkaline ions), then contacts that mixture with benzalkoniuym chloride (C12), a quarternary ammonium salt, to make the disclosed composite. (Zhou at 1344, col. 2). One of skill in the art would be motivated to do so to create a material with antithrombogenic function. (Zhou at 1344, col. 1).
As to Claim 9, benzalkoniuym chloride is taught. (Zhou at 1344, col. 2; passim).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chong, et al., Simplified production of graphene oxide assisted by high shear exfoliation of graphite with controlled oxidation, New J. Chem. 2018; 42: 4507-4512 (cited by Applicants, hereinafter “Chong at __”) is noted. Chong is very similar to the claimed subject matter, and a rejection over Chong could have been formulated. However, the Paton reference discussed above was chose for its recitation of the claimed rotational velocity.
Yoo, et al., Effect of hydrogen peroxide on properties of graphene oxide in Hummers method, Carbon 2019; 141: 515-522 (cited by Applicants, hereinafter “Yoo at __”) is relevant for teaching the effects of hydrogen peroxide on graphene oxide. Note the teaching that water and hydrogen peroxide are used in all Hummers methods for removing residual manganese ions. (Yoo “Abstract”).
Xing, et al., Degradation of Graphene by Hydrogen Peroxide, Part. Part. Syst. Charact. 2014: 1-6 (hereinafter “Xing at __”) teaches oxidation/degradation of graphene by hydrogen peroxide.
/DANIEL C. MCCRACKEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736