DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
In claims 10 and 14, the recitations “fourth heat exchanger” and “third air flow path” and “sixth heat exchanger” are taken to not require the presence of second, third and fifth heat exchangers or a second air flow path in each of the claimed devices. Instead, these are understood to distinguish the embodiments of the independent claims and drawings from each other for clarity.
This refers to “blower means” in each of the independent claims, which is taken to mean a blower, fan or functional equivalent.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: dehumidification means and dehumidification means in claims 1, 10 and 14. This is because these means are already defined as a desiccant rotor or heat exchanger.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 10-13 and 18-21 are are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 7 and 10, “water-supply type” is indefinite because different readers may interpret this dehumidification device differently. Additionally, the specification does not use “water-supply type.” It is suggested the phrase be changed to “water-supply humification device placed downstream…”
Claims 12-13 and 18-21 are rejected for depending from an indefinite parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-9, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2007-327712.
JP ‘712 teaches a ventilator comprising a case (14) attached to the wall (46) of an indoor space, a first air flow path (16) with a blower (20) connecting two places of the indoor space, a second air flow path (18) connecting the indoor space and an outdoor space, a blower in the second flow path for flowing air from the indoor space to the outdoor space, a desiccant rotor (22) across the flow paths that dehumidifies air flowing through the first flow path while humidifying air flowing through the second flow path, an evaporator heat exchanger (36) upstream of the rotor in the first flow path, a vaporizing humidifier (26) downstream of the rotor for humidifying the air flow in the first path, and a second heat exchanger (32) upstream of the rotor in the second flow path (see figure 10, abstract, paragraphs 19, 20, 28-30 of the machine-generated English translation). It is noted that the description of figures 9 and 10 states that “the air intake port 16a of the first air path during the dehumidifying operation may be open to indoors instead of outdoors.”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14, 15, 22 and 23 are allowed.
Claims 10-13 and 18-21 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 10, the closest prior art to JP ‘712 discloses a ventilator as described above but fails to disclose or suggest a motivation for a first evaporator heat exchanger that acts as a dehumidification means to remove moisture in the first flow path, and another heat exchanger placed downstream of the first heat exchanger in the first flow path that acts as a condenser in the dehumidification operation, in combination with the other recited structural limitations. Regarding claim 14, JP ‘712 fails to disclose the second blower means in the third air flow path that draws in air of the outdoor space and blows air into the indoor space, in combination with the other recited structural limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references listed on the attached PTO-892 form disclose air dehumidification and humidification arrangements.
/FRANK M LAWRENCE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776
fl