DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed July 8th, 2026 has been entered. Claim 4 has been withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 & 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US 2022/0271293 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamada teaches a binder solution for an all-solid-state battery (Par. 0012), the binder solution comprising: a binder made of a vinylidene fluoride polymer (Par. 0015); and an organic solvent (Par. 0019-0022; the solvent is an aromatic or an ester, both organic compounds), wherein the organic solvent is an ester (Par. 0022), the organic solvent has a boiling point of 60°C or higher and 160°C or lower (Par. 0177; ethyl butyrate is a potential solvent, and Table 1 of the present application lists the boiling point of ethyl butyrate as 120°C), a residual moisture content of the organic solvent is 300 ppm or less (Par. 0180; water content of 500 ppm or less and 100 ppm or less), the vinylidene fluoride polymer is a copolymer including a structural unit derived from vinylidene fluoride and a structural unit derived from hexafluoropropylene (Par. 0016, “HFP”), and a content of the structural unit derived from hexafluoropropylene is 15 mass% or more and 35 mass% or less with respect to all structural units of the copolymer (Par. 0131; a mol% of HFP of 15-55% in the VDF-HFP copolymer corresponds to a mass% of 29.2-74.2%, which overlaps the claimed range). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 2, Yamada teaches the binder solution for an all-solid-state battery according to claim 1, wherein the organic solvent has a boiling point of 80°C or higher and 160°C or lower (Par. 0177; ethyl butyrate is a potential solvent, and Table 1 of the present application lists the boiling point of ethyl butyrate as 120°C).
Regarding claim 3, Yamada teaches the binder solution for an all-solid-state battery according to claim 1, wherein the organic solvent is ethyl butyrate (Par. 0177).
Regarding claim 5, Yamada teaches a slurry (Par. 0011) comprising: the binder solution described in claim 1 (Par. 0012; “a binder used in a slurry”); and a solid electrolyte (Par. 0012; “solid-based electrolyte particles”).
Regarding claim 6, Yamada teaches a solid electrolyte layer produced from the slurry described in claim 5, wherein the solid electrolyte layer has an ionic conductivity of 0.05 x 10-3 S/cm or more (Par. 0277; the solid electrolyte sheet has a conductivity of 4x10^-4 S/cm).
Regarding claim 7, Yamada teaches an electrode mixture comprising: the slurry described in claim 5; and an active material (Claims 11 & 13; an electrode comprises the slurry which further contains active material particles).
Regarding claim 8, Yamada teaches an electrode comprising the solid-state electrolyte layer described in claim 6 (Claims 8 & 13; an electrode contains the slurry which contains the solid electrolyte layer).
Regarding claim 9, Yamada teaches an all-solid-state battery comprising the solid electrolyte layer described in claim 6 (Claims 13 & 17; a lithium-ion solid-state battery comprises the electrode which contains the solid electrolyte layer, as stated above).
Regarding claim 10, Yamada teaches the binder solution for an all-solid-state battery according to claim 2, wherein the organic solvent is ethyl butyrate (Par. 0177).
Regarding claim 11, Yamada teaches the binder solution for an all-solid-state battery according to claim 1, wherein a content of the structural unit derived from vinylidene fluoride is 65 mass% or more and 85 mass% or less with respect to all structural units of the copolymer (Par. 0131; a mol% of VDF of 45-85% in the VDF-HFP copolymer corresponds to a mass% of 25.9-70.7%, which overlaps the claimed range). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed July 8th, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-11 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) in over Yamada et al. (US 2022/0271293 A1) have been fully considered. Applicant’s amendments, by narrowing the recited range, overcome the 102 rejection.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that the claimed invention is neither anticipated by nor obvious over Yamada, because Yamada only teaches a small overlap between the claimed mass% range of 15-35% and that of Yamada, and that it would not have been obvious to select the overlapping portion of the ranges. However, MPEP 2144.05(I) states that any overlap between a claimed range and a range disclosed by the prior art supports a prima facie case of obviousness. As Yamada teaches a mass% range of 29.2-74.2, mass% values between 29.2 and 35 meet the claimed limitations, and it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the overlapping portion of the claimed range, regardless of the size of the non-overlapping portion of the range.
Applicant also provided an Affidavit including a table (Table A), which shows the dissolution states of the binder in mass% ratios outside of the claimed range, which result in turbidity and precipitation. The affidavit and corresponding arguments are unpersuasive, because they are not commensurate in scope with the claims. In Comparative Experimental Examples 1-2 and Example 2, dioxane is used as an organic solvent. Thus, the data shown is silent regarding the solvent used and the full scope of amended claim 1. As stated above, Yamada teaches ethyl butyrate as an organic solvent, and does not mention dioxane as a possible solvent. As the selection of a solvent could alter the binder’s dissolution at different mass% ratios. As such, the scope of table A and the corresponding do not show criticality or unexpectedness for scope of amended claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments, filed July 8th, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Senga et al. (KR 20080041627 A), in view of Isojima et al. (US 2022/0344710 A1), and further in view of Makino et al. (US 11489163 B2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-11 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAMERON M BAIRD/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728