DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Application Publication No. 2015/0136604, hereinafter Nielsen in view of United States Application Publication No. 2014/0255275, hereinafter Barry.
Regarding claim 1, Nielsen teaches a microfluidic cassette (item 3100) comprising: a microfluidic cassette body (figures 31 and 32), the microfluidic cassette body comprising: a fluid flow channel (item 3109); a first piercing member (one of item 3111a) comprising a wall extending out from the microfluidic cassette body (figure 9), the wall enclosing a first fluid aperture (figure 9, opening) that is in fluid communication with the fluid flow channel (figure 32); and a second piercing member (another one of item 3111a) comprising a wall extending out from the microfluidic cassette body (figure 9) and adjacent to the first piercing member (figure 32), the wall enclosing a second fluid aperture (figure 9, opening) that is in fluid communication with the fluid flow channel (figure 32).
Nielsen fails to teach the first piercing member comprises a further fluid aperture located on a portion of the wall of the first piercing member facing away from the second piercing member.
Barry teaches a liquid packaging system which has a puncturing element which has a fluid aperture located on a portion of the wall of the first piercing member (Barry, paragraph [0084] and figure 7A, the single split) to make the increase the sharpness of the piercing member (Barry, paragraph [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a further fluid aperture located on the wall of each of the piercing members which face away from each other because it would increase the sharpness of the piercing member (Barry, paragraph [0084]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Nielsen teaches the further fluid aperture is a slot in the wall of the first piercing member (Barry, figure 7A).
Regarding claim 3, modified Nielsen teaches the slot extends through the wall in a direction from a distal end of the wall towards a proximal end of the wall (Barry, figure 7A).
Regarding claim 4, modified Nielsen teaches the slot is substantially V-shaped and decreases in width in a direction from the distal end of the wall towards the proximal end of the wall (Barry, figure 7A).
Regarding claim 5, modified Nielsen teaches the further fluid aperture is located on the wall at or close to a portion of the wall that extends furthest from the microfluidic cassette body (Barry, figure 7A).
Regarding claim 6, Nielsen teaches wherein one or both of the wall of the first piercing member and the wall of the second piercing member are substantially annular (figure 9).
Regarding claim 7, Nielsen teaches one or both of a distal end of the wall of the first piercing member and a distal end of the wall of the second piercing member are substantially sloped (figure 9).
Regarding claim 8, Nielsen teaches an insert comprising a reagent-containing chamber (items 3102-2105), wherein the reagent-containing chamber comprises a seal (item 3113) pierceable by the first and second piercing members (paragraph [0138]).
Regarding claim 9, Nielsen teaches the insert is secured within the microfluidic cassette body (paragraph [0137]) and is movable from a first position within the microfluidic cassette body where the seal of the reagent-containing chamber is not in contact with the first and second piercing members to a second position within the microfluidic cassette body where the seal is in contact with the first and second piercing members (paragraph [0137]).
Regarding claim 10, Nielsen teaches he microfluidic cassette body further comprises an outer wall (item 3107) enclosing the first and second piercing members (figure 32), the outer wall shaped to guide movement of the insert between the first position and the second position (paragraph [0136]).
Regarding claim 11, Nielsen teaches a cover element (item 3112) arranged to provide a sealed chamber enclosing the first and second piercing members and the insert (paragraph [0138]).
Regarding claim 12, Nielsen teaches the insert is secured to an inner surface of the cover element (figure 32).
Regarding claim 13, Nielsen teaches wherein the second piercing member comprises a further fluid aperture located on a portion of the wall of the second piercing member facing away from the first piercing member (see supra).
Regarding claim 14, Nielsen teaches a microfluidic diagnostic system (abstract) comprising: a microfluidic cassette according claim 1 (see supra); and a microfluidic diagnostic device (item 100) adapted to receive the microfluidic cassette (figure 1-3), the microfluidic diagnostic device comprising one or more actuators (paragraph [0102], cam driven clamping system) adapted to break a seal of a reagent-containing chamber of an insert of the microfluidic cassette (paragraph [0102]).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796