DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments received 07/01/2026 have been entered. Claims 35-45 and 47-54 are pending. Any objection or rejection previously set forth in the Office Action mailed 04/01/2026 not maintained herein has been overcome and is withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 06/01/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered in full. A signed copy of list of references cited from the IDS is included with this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 35-45 and 47-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for administering a therapeutically effective (claim 44), does not reasonably provide enablement for administering a therapeutically effective amount of Formula I sufficient to prevent symptoms of Prader-Willi Syndrome or preventing one or more symptoms of Prader-Willi Syndrome. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
MPEP 2164.08 states, "The Federal Circuit has repeatedly held that "the specification must teach those skilled in the art how to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation." In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1561, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993)".
Pursuant to In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988), one considers the following factors to determine whether undue experimentation is required: (A) The breadth of the claims; (B) The nature of the invention; (C) The state of the prior art; (D) The level of one of ordinary skill; (E) The level of predictability in the art; (F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor; (G) The existence of working examples; and (H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
The specification (p. 8) defines “therapeutically effective amount” to include amounts sufficient to prevent one or more symptoms of the disorder being treated.
It is presumed “prevention” of the claimed disease would require a method of identifying those individuals who will develop the claimed diseases before they exhibit symptoms. There is no evidence of record that would guide the skilled clinician to identify those who have the potential of becoming afflicted or what symptoms they will exhibit.
The factors to be considered in making an enablement rejection were summarized above. 1) As discussed above, preventing diseases and symptoms requires identifying those patients who will acquire the disease or symptom before the Prader-Willi syndrome occurs. This would require extensive and potentially opened ended clinical research on healthy subjects. 2) Page 8 of the specification defines “therapeutically effective amount” to include an amount sufficient for prevention. 3) There is no working example of such a preventive procedure in man or animal in the specification. 4) The claims rejected are drawn to clinical pharmacology and are therefore physiological in nature. 5) The state of the art is that no general procedure is art-recognized for determining which patients generally will suffer from Prader-Willi syndrome, or symptoms thereof, before the fact. 6) The artisan using Applicants invention would be a Board-Certified physician in neurodevelopmental diseases with an MD degree. Despite intensive efforts, pharmaceutical science has been unable to find a way of getting a compound to be effective for the prevention of Prader-Willi syndrome and/or its symptoms. Under such circumstances, it is proper for the PTO to require evidence that such an unprecedented feat has actually been accomplished, In re Ferens, 163 USPQ 609. No such evidence has been presented in this case. The failure of skilled scientists to achieve a goal is substantial evidence that achieving such a goal is beyond the skill of practitioners in that art, Genentech vs. Novo Nordisk, 42 USPQ2nd 1001, 1006. 7) It is well established that "the scope of enablement varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability of the factors involved" and physiological activity is generally considered to be an unpredictable factor. See In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970). 8) The claims broadly read on all patients, not just those undergoing therapy for the claimed disorder.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 35-45 and 47-54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neuren Pharmaceuticals Limited (Annual Report 2018; hereinafter “Neuren”) in view of Heksch et al. (Translational Pediatrics; IDS filed 02/13/2025) and Brimble et al. (WO 2005023815 A2; previously cited by examiner).
Neuren discloses NNZ 2591, which has the following structure (p. 9).
Neuren discloses that NNZ 2591 has been developed for the treatment of neurodevelopmental disorders, such as Phelan-McDermid syndrome, and has been granted a United States patent for a method of using NNZ 2591 to treat neurodevelopmental disorders (p. 4, p. 8). Neuren also teaches that NNZ 2591 normalizes depressed levels of IGF-1 in mouse models of Phelan-McDermid syndrome (p. 8). Neuren further discloses that NNZ 2591 is a synthetic analog of cyclic glycine-proline which is related to IGF-1, wherein cyclic clycine-proline regulates binding of IGF-1 to IGF binding protein 3 and in turn regulates bioavailability of IGF-1 (p. 9). Neuren teaches that NNZ 2591 mimics the natural function of cyclic glycine-proline in the brain with enhanced half-life in circulation, better stability, and suitability for use as an oral medication compared to its naturally occurring counterpart and IGF-1 (p. 9). Neuren additionally discloses that NNZ 2591 reduces levels of inflammatory cytokines which results in improvement in symptoms such as post-traumatic seizures, anxiety, memory impairment, and hyperactivity (p. 10).
Neuren does not teach administering NNZ 2591 for treatment of Prader-Willi syndrome, combining NNZ 2591 with another therapeutic agent, a dose of NNZ 2591, or and aqueous oral solution of NNZ 2591. These limitations are obvious in view of Heksch et al. and Brimble et al.
Hekcsh et al. teaches that Prader-Willi syndrome (PWS) is characterized by deficient IGF-1 levels in almost 100% of patients studied (p. 274-275). Treatment for PWS includes growth hormone (GH) therapy, wherein administration of GH helps to increase and maintain IGF-1 levels (p. 275).
Brimble et al. teaches neuroprotective bicyclic compounds, including the compound cyclic G-2allylP (p. 38) which is identical to NNZ 2591 as above.
Brimble et al. teaches that the compound can be administered in combination with another neuroprotective agent, selected from growth factors and associated derivatives (insulin-like growth factor-I [IGF-I], insulin-like growth factor-II [IGF-II], transforming growth factor-/31, activin, growth hormone, nerve growth factor, growth hormone binding protein, IGF-binding proteins [especially IGFBP-3], basic fibroblast growth factor, acidic fibroblast growth factor, the hst/Kfgk gene product, FGF-3, FGF-4, FGF-6, keratinocyte growth factor, androgen-induced growth factor. Additional members of the FGF family include, for example, int-2, fibroblast growth factor homologous factor- 1 (FHF-1), FHF-2, FHF-3 and FHF-4, keratinocyte growth factor 2, glial-activating factor, FGF- 10 and FGF- 16, ciliary neurotrophic factor, brain derived growth factor, neurotrophin 3, neurotrophin 4, bone morphogenetic protein 2 [BMP-2], glial-cell line derived neurotrophic factor, activity-dependent neurotrophic factor, cytokine leukemia inhibiting factor, oncostatin M, interleukin), α-, β-, γ-, or consensus interferon, and TNF-α (p. 21). Brimble et al. additionally discloses that the compound may be administered orally at a suitable dose of 0.001 to 100 mg/kg (p. 19-2020) and suitable liquid carriers include water, saline, Ringer's solution, a buffered solution, and dextrose solution (p. 22). Brimble further states, “A person of ordinary skill in the art will be able without undue experimentation, having regard to that skill and this disclosure, to determine a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of this invention for a given disease or injury” (p. 19).
It would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to administer NNZ 2591 for the treatment of Prader-Willi syndrome. One would be motivated to do so, with reasonable expectation of success, as NNZ 2591 is a neuroprotective compound that normalizes depressed levels of IGF-1, which is also a target in the treatment of Prader-Willi syndrome. One of ordinary skill in the art would be apprised that amelioration of low IGF-1 in patients would be beneficial in ameliorating Prader-Willi syndrome and its symptoms. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would be apprised that combination of NNZ 2591 with another agent, such as growth hormone or IGF-1, would be expected to yield additive results by further improving IGF-1 levels.
It would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to formulate a composition comprising NNZ 2591 as an aqueous oral solution, and/or to arrive at a dose of from about 0.001 mg/kg to about 600 mg/kg. One would have been motivated to do so, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine the optimal form of administration and/or dose. Moreover, an aqueous solution would be a pharmaceutically acceptable form for oral administration as suggested by Brimble et al., and the dose set forth by Brimble et al. of 0.001 to 100 mg/kg falls within the claimed range.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
35 U.S.C. 112(a)
In the remarks filed 07/01/2026, Applicant states that the claims have been amended to delete the word “preventing” (Remarks, p. 7-8). However, as in the above rejection, the claims are additionally not enabled in view of the specification, which defines a “therapeutically effective amount” to include preventative amounts. Thus, while Applicants amendments address the issue particularly pointed out in claim 44, the issues with claims 35-45 and 47-54 as a whole have not been addressed. The rejection is maintained.
35 U.S.C. 103
In the remarks filed 07/01/2026, Applicant argues that the claimed invention results in unexpected effects, such that the invention would be nonobvious in view of the cited prior art. This is not persuasive.
First, Applicant argues that targeting the IGF-1 axis would be redundant and unlikely to ameliorate neurobehavioral phenotypes of PWS. However, the instant claims are not particularly drawn to treating the neurobehavioral symptoms of PWS and are in fact much broader, reciting “A method of treating Prader-Willi Syndrome in a subject, comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of Formula I”. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims would thus include amelioration of a symptom of PWS, not just those that are neurobehavioral in nature. Nevertheless, the expectation that some neurobehavioral benefit would be obtained from administering NNZ-2591 would not be unreasonable, as evidenced by Neuren, which does not credit the neurobehavioral benefits of NNZ 2591 to IGF-1 levels but to reduction of inflammatory cytokines (see above rejection). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would not only be motivated to use NNZ-2591 for treatment of Prader-Willi for its effects on IGF-1, but also for its anti-inflammatory properties that improve anxiety and hyperactivity.
Applicant further argues that NNZ-2591 yields an unexpected therapeutic effect in treating a broad range of symptoms presumably independent from the IGF-1 mechanism, as supported by the working examples of the instant specification. While surprising and unexpected results can be used to rebut a prim facie case of obviousness, per MPEP Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980).” In the instant case, the scope of the claimed invention is substantially broader than the showing of unexpected results. Whereas the claims are drawn to a method of treating Prader-Willi Syndrome by administering a compound of Formula I (below, left), the working examples and effects thereof are limited to administration of a compound of Formula II (below, right).
Furthermore, the claimed invention is not limited to treatment of any particular symptoms of Prader-Willi syndrome. The unexpected results argued by applicant cannot be reasonably extrapolated to the entire scope of the claimed invention. It would not be apparent that any compound within the scope of Formula I would yield the effects and/or resolve the same symptoms as the compound of Formula II. This conclusion is further supported in that Applicant has provided no particular mechanism by which the unexpected results are obtained, nor have any other compounds of Formula I been tested in order to ascertain their activity to any degree. As such, Applicant’s argument that the unexpected results set forth in the specification outweigh Examiner’s case of prima facie obviousness is not deemed persuasive. The rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.E.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1624 07/23/2026
/BRENDA L COLEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1624