DETAILED ACTION
I. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
II. This action is in response to applicants amendment/arguments filed on June 3, 2026. This action is made FINAL.
Allowable Subject Matter
III. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 1 and 10 contain allowable subject matter based on the amendments (see Amendments to the Claims, pages 2-6) and for the reasons given in applicant arguments/remarks (see Remarks, pages 13-16) received in the June 3, 2026 response to the Non-Final Office action dated March 9, 2026.
Claims 2-9 contain allowable subject matter based on their dependence on independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
IV. Claims 11-12, 14-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2020/0163009 A1).
Regarding claim 11 3GPP TR 33.864 teaches an apparatus, of a third network device, for performing a network function, the apparatus comprising: at least one memory (60, Fig. 8); and at least one processor (58, Fig. 8) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause (645, Fig. 8) the apparatus to: receive a request message at a third network device comprising a target access and mobility function (AMF), a target security anchor function (SEAF), or a combination thereof (see paragraph [0080] and Fig. 6, The initial AMF determines to forward the NAS message to the target AMF, the initial AMF sends a Reroute NAS message to the target AMF. This reads on receive a request message at a third network device comprising a target access and mobility function (AMF), a target security anchor function (SEAF), or a combination thereof); determine, at the third device, whether to obtain security context information from a fourth network device; and in response to determining to obtain the security context information, transmitting a request for the security context information to the fourth network device (see paragraph [0082] and Fig. 6, The target AMF may decide to invoke an AUSF. In that case, the target AMF selects an AUSF and initiates authentication. The AMF passes security data back and forth so the AUSF can check the user's details with the Unified Data Management (UDM) (see step 414). This reads on determine, at the third device, whether to obtain security context information from a fourth network device; and in response to determining to obtain the security context information, transmitting a request for the security context information to the fourth network device).
Regarding claim 12 Chen teaches causing the apparatus to determine whether to obtain the security context information from the fourth network device based on a local policy, receive authentication information, receive reroute information due to slicing, or a combination thereof (see paragraphs [0081] & [0082] and Fig. 6, The RAN sends a message to the target AMF (see 410b, Fig. 6) indicating reroute due to slicing. The target AMF may thendecide to invoke an AUSF. In that case, the target AMF selects an AUSF and initiates authentication. The AMF passes security data back and forth so the AUSF can check the user's details with the Unified Data Management (UDM) (see step 414). This reads on causing the apparatus to determine whether to obtain the security context information from the fourth network device based on a local policy, receive authentication information, receive reroute information due to slicing, or a combination thereof).
Regarding claim 14 Chen teaches wherein the request message comprises a reroute non-access stratum (NAS) message or a registration request message (see paragraph [0080] and Fig. 6, The initial AMF sends a reroute NAS message to the target AMF in step 408a. This reads on wherein the request message comprises a reroute non-access stratum (NAS) message or a registration request message).
Regarding claim 15 Chen teaches wherein the fourth network device comprises an authentication server function (AUSF) or an old access and mobility management function (AMF) (see paragraph [0082] and Fig. 6, The target AMF may decide to invoke an AUSF. In that case, the target AMF selects an AUSF and initiates authentication. This reads on wherein the fourth network device comprises an authentication server function (AUSF) or an old access and mobility management function (AMF)).
Regarding claim 16 Chen teaches receiving a request message at a third network device comprising a target access and mobility function (AMF), a target security anchor function (SEAF), or a combination thereof (see paragraph [0080] and Fig. 6, The initial AMF determines to forward the NAS message to the target AMF, the initial AMF sends a Reroute NAS message to the target AMF. This reads on receiving a request message at a third network device comprising a target access and mobility function (AMF), a target security anchor function (SEAF), or a combination thereof); determining, at the third device, whether to obtain security context information from a fourth network device; and in response to determining to obtain the security context information, transmitting a request for the security context information to the fourth network device (see paragraph [0082] and Fig. 6, The target AMF may decide to invoke an AUSF. In that case, the target AMF selects an AUSF and initiates authentication. The AMF passes security data back and forth so the AUSF can check the user's details with the Unified Data Management (UDM) (see step 414). This reads on determining, at the third device, whether to obtain security context information from a fourth network device; and in response to determining to obtain the security context information, transmitting a request for the security context information to the fourth network device).
Regarding claim 17 Chen teaches causing the apparatus to determine whether to obtain the security context information from the fourth network device based on a local policy, receive authentication information, receive reroute information due to slicing, or a combination thereof (see paragraphs [0081] & [0082] and Fig. 6, The RAN sends a message to the target AMF (see 410b, Fig. 6) indicating reroute due to slicing. The target AMF may thendecide to invoke an AUSF. In that case, the target AMF selects an AUSF and initiates authentication. The AMF passes security data back and forth so the AUSF can check the user's details with the Unified Data Management (UDM) (see step 414). This reads on causing the apparatus to determine whether to obtain the security context information from the fourth network device based on a local policy, receive authentication information, receive reroute information due to slicing, or a combination thereof).
Regarding claim 19 3GPP TR 33.864 teaches wherein the request message comprises a reroute non-access stratum (NAS) message or a registration request message (see paragraph [0080] and Fig. 6, The initial AMF sends a reroute NAS message to the target AMF in step 408a. wherein the request message comprises a reroute non-access stratum (NAS) message or a registration request message).
Regarding claim 20 3GPP TR 33.864 teaches wherein the fourth network device comprises an authentication server function (AUSF) or an old access and mobility management function (AMF) (see paragraph [0082] and Fig. 6, The target AMF may decide to invoke an AUSF. In that case, the target AMF selects an AUSF and initiates authentication. This reads on wherein the fourth network device comprises an authentication server function (AUSF) or an old access and mobility management function (AMF)).
Response to Arguments
VI. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 11-12, 14-17, and 19-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
VII. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gan et al. Pub. NO.: US 2020/0260525 A1 discloses secondary authorization at PDU session establishment at home routed roaming including delaying an authentication procedure related to the PDU session (see paragraph [0232]).
Applicant's amendment “determine, at the third device whether to obtain security context information from a fourth network device” necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON J MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
August 19, 2026