DETAILED ACTION
I. This office action is in response to the correspondence filed on 08/11/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending and are being examined.
II. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
III. Claims 3, 7, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the second network device comprises an old AMF, an old SEAF, or a combination thereof; or a combination thereof” in lines 5-7. It is unclear what the phrase “or a combination thereof” in line 7 refers to. The limitation renders the claim indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
For purposes of examination, the examiner will treat the following quotation from claim 3, “the second network device comprises an old AMF, an old SEAF, or a combination thereof; or a combination thereof” as
“the second network device comprises an old AMF, an old SEAF, or a combination thereof”.
Claim 7 recites limitations similar to the ones recited above in claim 3. Therefore, claim 7 is rejected for indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasons given above in claim 3.
Claim 16 recites “a fourth network device” in lines 3-4 and “a request for the security context information to a fourth network device” in line 6. It is unclear whether the fourth network device in line 6 is the same fourth network device in lines 3-4 or some other fourth network device. The limitation renders the claim indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
For purposes of examination, the examiner will treat the following quotation from claim 16, “a request for the security context information to a fourth network device” as
“a request for the security context information to the fourth network device”.
Claims 17-20 are dependent on claim 1 and are rejected for indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasons given above regarding claim 16.
The following prior art rejection is based in the best possible interpretation of the claim language in light of the above rejection for indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
IV. Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP TR 33.864.
Regarding claim 16 3GPP TR 33.864 teaches receiving a request message; determining whether to obtain security context information from a fourth network device; and in response to determining to obtain the security context information, transmitting a request for the security context information to the fourth network device (see page 25 and Fig. 6.4.2-2, Step 7b; Step 8; Step 9, The NG-RAN forwards the received reroute message to the appropriate target AMF. After receiving the reroute NAS message, the target AMF determines to fetch the corresponding security context from a common network function (NF) to handle the received rerouted NAS message. This reads on receiving a request message; determining whether to obtain security context information from a fourth network device; and in response to determining to obtain the security context information, transmitting a request for the security context information to the fourth network device).
Regarding claim 17 3GPP TR 33.864 teaches causing the apparatus to determine whether to obtain the security context information from the fourth network device based on a local policy, receive authentication information, receive reroute information due to slicing, or a combination thereof (see page 25, Step 7b; Step 8; and Fig. 6.4.2-2, The received reroute NAS message is forwarded to the appropriate Target AMF. After receiving the reroute NAS message with the NAS_Sec_ID the determination to fetch the security context is made. This reads on causing the apparatus to determine whether to obtain the security context information from the fourth network device based on a local policy, receive authentication information, receive reroute information due to slicing, or a combination thereof).
Regarding claim 18 3GPP TR 33.864 teaches wherein a third network deice comprises a target access and mobility management function (AMF), a target security anchor function (SEAF), or a combination thereof (see page 25, Step 7b and Fig. 6.4.2-2, The NG-RAN forwards the received reroute NAS message to the appropriate Target AMF. This reads on wherein a third network deice comprises a target access and mobility management function (AMF), a target security anchor function (SEAF), or a combination thereof).
Regarding claim 19 3GPP TR 33.864 teaches wherein the request message comprises a reroute non-access stratum (NAS) message or a registration request message (see page 25, Step 7b and Fig. 6.4.2-2, The NG-RAN forwards the received NAS reroute message to the appropriate target AMF. This reads on wherein the request message comprises a reroute non-access stratum (NAS) message or a registration request message).
Regarding claim 20 3GPP TR 33.864 teaches wherein the fourth network device comprises an authentication server function (AUSF) or an old access and mobility management function (AMF) (see page 25, Step 8 and Fig. 6.4.2-2, After receiving the reroute NAS message, the Target AMF determines to fetch the corresponding security context from the common NF, i.e., C-SEAF/AUSF. This reads on wherein the fourth network device comprises an authentication server function (AUSF) or an old access and mobility management function (AMF)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
V. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TR 33.864 in view of 3GPP TS 23.502 and Baek et al. (US 2018/0317157 A1).
Regarding claim 1 3GPP TR 33.864 teaches an apparatus for performing a network function, the apparatus to: receive a registration request message (see page 24, Steps 1-3 and Fig. 6.4.2-2, The UE sends a registration Request to the initial AMF. This reads on receive a registration request message); and determine whether to transmit a reroute non-access stratum (NAS) message (see page 24, Step 4 and Fig. 6.4.2-2, The initial AMF determines to reroute the NAS message to the Target AMF. This reads on determine whether to transmit a reroute non-access stratum (NAS) message).
3GPP TR 33.864 does not teach delay primary authentication, security setup, or a combination thereof based at least partly on a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) from a second network device and subscription information.
3GPP TS 23.502 teaches delay primary authentication, security setup, or a combination thereof based at least partly on a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) from a second network device and subscription information (see page 41 and page 43, Step 2 & Step 7B. and Fig. 4.2.2.2.2-1 and Fig. 4.2.2.2.3-1, If the AMF needs the SUPI and/or UE’s subscription information to decide whether to reroute the Registration Request, then the AMF performs steps 4-9b of Fig. 4.2.2.2.2-1. The initial AMF may decide to send the Reroute NAS message to the UE (see 4.2.2.2.3-1, Step 7B.). After receiving the registration request from the UE the registration procedure including authentication can continue (see 4.2.2.2.3-1, Step 8). This indicates that primary authentication/security (e.g. Step 9, Fig. 4.2.2.2.2-1) is delayed during reroute and reads on delay primary authentication, security setup, or a combination thereof based at least partly on a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) from a second network device and subscription information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the apparatus in the 3GPP TR 33.864 adapt to include delay primary authentication, security setup, or a combination thereof based at least partly on a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) from a second network device and subscription information because it would allow for routing of the NAS message to the appropriate network function (see 3GPP TS 23.502 above).
3GPP TR 33.864 and 3GPP TS 23.502 does not specifically teach the apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at last one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to perform operations.
Baek teaches the apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at last one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to perform operations (see paragraphs [0216] - [0218], The network entities can include a controller and the controller with a memory device storing program codes control the overall operation of the network entity. This reads on the apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to perform operations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the apparatus in the 3GPP TR 33.864 adapt to include at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at last one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to perform operations because a processor coupled with a memory are well-known components used to carry-out operations.
Regarding claim 2 3GPP TS 23.502 teaches the apparatus comprises an initial access and mobility management function (AMF), an initial security anchor function (SEAF), or a combination thereof; the second network device comprises an old AMF, an old SEAF, or a combination thereof (see pages 41-42 and Fig. 4.2.2.2.2-1, Step 1 & Step 3a, The UE sends a Registration request message to an initial AMF. The initial AMF may obtain subscription information from the old AMF, This reads on the apparatus comprises an initial access and mobility management function (AMF), an initial security anchor function (SEAF), or a combination thereof; the second network device comprises an old AMF, an old SEAF, or a combination thereof).
Regarding claim 3 3GPP TS 23.502 teaches check an access and mobility management function (AMF) serving capability using the SUP and the subscription information (see page 42, Step 3b and 4a, The initial AMF requests and receives SUPI and subscription information. The initial AMF may be determined unable to serve all S-NSSAI(s) permitted by the subscription information. This reads on check an access and mobility management function (AMF) serving capability using the SUP and the subscription information).
Regarding claim 4 3GPP TS 23.502 teaches determine whether to transmit the reroute NAS message comprises causing the apparatus to determine to transmit the reroute NAS message in response to an indirect AMF allocation being used (see page 43, Step 7(A), If the initial AMF, based on local policy and subscription information, decides to forward the NAS message to the target AMF directly, then the initial AMF invokes the Namf Communication N1Message Notify to the target AMF, carrying the rerouted NAS message. This reads on determine whether to transmit the reroute NAS message comprises causing the apparatus to determine to transmit the reroute NAS message in response to an indirect AMF allocation being used).
Regarding claim 5 3GPP TS 23.502 teaches in response to the at least one processor being configured to cause the apparatus to determine to transmit the reroute NAS message, a NAS message is not transmitted to a user equipment (UE), a security context is not used, a NAS security mode command (SMC) is not initiated with the UE or a combination thereof (see page 43, Step 7(A) and Fig. 4.2.2.2.3-1, If the initial AMF, based on local policy and subscription information, decides to forward the NAS message to the target AMF directly, then the initial AMF invokes the Namf Communication N1Message Notify to the target AMF, carrying the rerouted NAS message. This reads on in response to the at least one processor being configured to cause the apparatus to determine to transmit the reroute NAS message, a NAS message is not transmitted to a user equipment (UE)).
Regarding claim 6 3GPP TR 33.864 teaches a Kamf from the second network device is not used, the Kamf is deleted, the Kamf is ignored, an NAS security mode command (SMC) is not initiated with a user equipment (U), or a combination thereof (see page 25, Step 10 and Fig. 6.4.2-2, The common NF generates the new NAS security context (Kamf) to be provided to the Target AMF. This indicates the Kamf from the old AMF is not used and reads on Kamf from the second network device is not used).
Regarding claim 7 Baek teaches an apparatus determining not to transmit the reroute NAS message in response to determining that the apparatus is capable of serving a user equipment (UE), determining not to perform access and mobility management function (AMF) reallocation with reroute, determining not to perform AMF reallocation, determining that AMF reallocation is not required, determining that the apparatus can serve all slices returned by a network slice selection function (NSSF) for the UE based on UE slice selection subscription data, or a combination thereof (see Baek, paragraph [0060] and Fig. 3B, In option 3 RAN transfers the registration request message through selection of the related AMF that can provide the corresponding slice in view of the requested NSSAI included in the message. In this case, the AMF2 is selected. The AMF2 having received the registration request message requests terminal related information from the AMF1 allocated to the corresponding terminal . The AMF1 provides the terminal related information (UE context, MM context, and SM context) to the AMF2 . The AMF2 determines the allowed NSSAI which is slice information that can be provided to the terminal based on the requested NSSAI included in the registration request message, subscription information of the terminal. The NAS reroute message is not required (see Baek. Fig. 3A & 3B, Option 1 and Option 2). This reads on determining not to transmit the reroute NAS message in response to determining that the apparatus is capable of serving a user equipment (UE)); and 3GPP TR 33.864 teaches causing the apparatus to determine to use a security context, initiate an NAS SMC with the UE, or a combination thereof; cause the apparatus to determine to use a Kamf, initiate an NAS SMC with the UE, or a combination thereof (see 3GPP TR 33.864, page 25 and Fig. 6.4.2-2, Step 12 and Step 13, The AMF initiates a NAS security mode command with the UE to align the new NAS security content with the UE. The AMF sends the NAS security mode command message to the UE. This reads on causing the apparatus to determine to use a security context, initiate an NAS SMC with the UE, or a combination thereof; cause the apparatus to determine to use a Kamf, initiate an NAS SMC with the UE, or a combination thereof).
Regarding claim 8 3GPP TR 33.864 teaches causing the apparatus to determine to initiate NAS security mode command (SMC) with a user equipment (UE) or determine to use a fetched security context in response to the at least one processor being configured to cause the apparatus to determine that the apparatus is capable of serving a UE, determine not to perform access and mobility management function (AMF) reallocation with reroute, determine not to perform AMF reallocation, determine that AMF reallocation is not required, determine that the apparatus can service all slices returned by a NSSF or the UE based on UE slice selection subscription data, or a combination thereof (see 3GPP TR 33.864, page 25 and Fig. 6.4.2-2, Step 12 and Step 13, The AMF initiates a NAS security mode command with the UE to align the new NAS security content with the UE. The AMF sends the NAS security mode command message to the UE. The AMF is the appropriate AMF to service the UE (see Step 7b.). This reads on causing the apparatus to determine to initiate NAS security mode command (SMC) with a user equipment (UE) in response to the at least one processor being configured to cause the apparatus to determine that the apparatus is capable of serving a UE).
Regarding claim 9 3GPP TS 23.502 taches wherein causing the apparatus to delay primary authentication, security setup, or the combination thereof by the at least one processor being configured to cause the apparatus to skip primary authentication (see page 41 and page 43, Step 2 & Step 7B. and Fig. 4.2.2.2.2-1 and Fig. 4.2.2.2.3-1, If the AMF needs the SUPI and/or UE’s subscription information to decide whether to reroute the Registration Request, then the AMF performs steps 4-9b of Fig. 4.2.2.2.2-1. The initial AMF may decide to send the Reroute NAS message to the UE (see 4.2.2.2.3-1, Step 7B.). After receiving the registration request from the UE the registration procedure including authentication can continue (see 4.2.2.2.3-1, Step 8). This indicates that primary authentication/security (e.g. Step 9, Fig. 4.2.2.2.2-1) was skipped during reroute and reads on wherein causing the apparatus to delay primary authentication, security setup, or the combination thereof by the at least one processor being configured to cause the apparatus to skip primary authentication).
VI. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TR 33.864 in view of 3GPP TS 23.502.
Regarding claim 10 3GPP TR 33.864 teaches a method of performing a network function, the method comprising: receiving, at a first network device, a registration request message (see page 24, Steps 1-3 and Fig. 6.4.2-2, The UE sends a registration Request to the initial AMF. This reads on receiving, at a first network device, a registration request message); and determining, at the first network device, whether to transmit a reroute non-access stratum (NAS) message (see page 24, Step 4 and Fig. 6.4.2-2, The initial AMF determines to reroute the NAS message to the Target AMF. This reads on determining, at the first network device, whether to transmit a reroute non-access stratum (NAS) message).
3GPP TR 33.864 does not teach delaying, by the first network device, primary authentication, security setup, or a combination thereof based at least partly on a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) from a second network device and subscription information.
3GPP TS 23.502 teaches delaying, by the first network device, primary authentication, security setup, or a combination thereof based at least partly on a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) from a second network device and subscription information (see page 41 and page 43, Step 2 & Step 7B. and Fig. 4.2.2.2.2-1 and Fig. 4.2.2.2.3-1, If the AMF needs the SUPI and/or UE’s subscription information to decide whether to reroute the Registration Request, then the AMF performs steps 4-9b of Fig. 4.2.2.2.2-1. The initial AMF may decide to send the Reroute NAS message to the UE (see 4.2.2.2.3-1, Step 7B.). After receiving the registration request from the UE the registration procedure including authentication can continue (see 4.2.2.2.3-1, Step 8). This indicates that primary authentication/security (e.g. Step 9, Fig. 4.2.2.2.2-1) is delayed during reroute and reads on delaying primary authentication, security setup, or a combination thereof based at least partly on a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) from a second network device and subscription information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the apparatus in the 3GPP TR 33.864 adapt to include delaying, by the first network device, primary authentication, security setup, or a combination thereof based at least partly on a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) from a second network device and subscription information because it would allow for routing of the NAS message to the appropriate network function (see 3GPP TS 23.502 above).
VII. Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TR 33.864 in view of Baek et al. (US 2018/0317157 A1).
Regarding claim 11 3GPP TR 33.864 teaches an apparatus for performing a network function, the apparatus to: receive a request message; determine whether to obtain security context information from a fourth network device; and in response to determining to obtain the security context information, transmit a request for the security context information to the fourth network device (see page 25, Step 7b; Step 8; Step 9 and Fig. 6.4.2-2, The NG-RAN forwards the received NAS reroute message to the appropriate target AMF. After receiving the reroute NAS message, the target AMF determines to fetch the corresponding security context from a common network function (NF) to handle the received rerouted NAS message. This reads on receive a request message; determine whether to obtain security context information from a fourth network device; and in response to determining to obtain the security context information, transmit a request for the security context information to the fourth network device).
3GPP TR 33.864 does not specifically teach the apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at last one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to perform operations.
Baek teaches the apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at last one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to perform operations (see paragraphs [0216] - [0218], The network entities can include a controller and the controller with a memory device storing program codes control the overall operation of the network entity. This reads on the apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to perform operations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the apparatus in the 3GPP TR 33.864 adapt to include at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at last one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to perform operations because a processor coupled with a memory are well-known components used to carry-out operations.
Regarding claim 12 3GPP TR 33.864 teaches causing the apparatus to determine whether to obtain the security context information from the fourth network device based on a local policy, receive authentication information, receive reroute information due to slicing, or a combination thereof (see page 25, Step 7b; Step 8; and Fig. 6.4.2-2, The received reroute NAS message is forwarded to the appropriate Target AMF. After receiving the reroute NAS message with the NAS_Sec_ID the determination to fetch the security context is made. This reads on causing the apparatus to determine whether to obtain the security context information from the fourth network device based on a local policy, receive authentication information, receive reroute information due to slicing, or a combination thereof).
Regarding claim 13 3GPP TR 33.864 teaches wherein a third network deice comprises a target access and mobility management function (AMF), a target security anchor function (SEAF), or a combination thereof (see page 25, Step 7b and Fig. 6.4.2-2, The NG-RAN forwards the received reroute NAS message to the appropriate Target AMF. This reads on wherein a third network deice comprises a target access and mobility management function (AMF), a target security anchor function (SEAF), or a combination thereof).
Regarding claim 14 3GPP TR 33.864 teaches wherein the request message comprises a reroute non-access stratum (NAS) message or a registration request message (see page 25, Step 7b and Fig. 6.4.2-2, The NG-RAN forwards the received NAS reroute message to the appropriate target AMF. This reads on wherein the request message comprises a reroute non-access stratum (NAS) message or a registration request message).
Regarding claim 15 3GPP TR 33.864 teaches wherein the fourth network device comprises an authentication server function (AUSF) or an old access and mobility management function (AMF) (see page 25, Step 8 and Fig. 6.4.2-2, After receiving the reroute NAS message, the Target AMF determines to fetch the corresponding security context from the common NF, i.e., C-SEAF/AUSF. This reads on wherein the fourth network device comprises an authentication server function (AUSF) or an old access and mobility management function (AMF)).
Conclusion
VIII. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Faccin et al. Pub. No.: US 2020/0267554 A1 discloses systems and methods of supporting device triggered re-authentication of slice specific secondary authentication and authorization (see abstract).
/BRANDON J MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
March 3, 2026