DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claim Objection: Application has amended claim 10 and the objections are withdrawn.
Rejections under 35 USC 102/103
Applicant’s Argument: Applicant argues that Suh as previously cited teaches rearranging resources for uplink DMRS and downlink but does not teach sending a rate matching pattern to be applied for the first signal.
Examiner’s Response: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant has amended the claim and changed the scope of the invention. An updated search was conducted and a new reference is applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 9, 11-12, 18, 20, 22-23, 25-28, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (“Yang”) (WO 2017146556 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches:
An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories including executable instructions and one or more processors configured to execute the executable instructions to cause the apparatus [page 18-19 UE operation] to
receive, from a network entity, a configuration for interference avoidance between a first signal and a second signal [page 18-19 “Alternatively, whether UL data signal mapping / transmission to the overlap resource (and the GP immediately after the static DL resource) may be directly indicated through the UL scheduling grant” thus the indication is configuration for avoidance of DL data and UL data], wherein, the first signal is scheduled for transmission in a same transmission occasion as the second signal is scheduled for reception [page 18-19 “when the UL data transmission resource (First signal) and the static DL resource (second signal) overlap”]; and the configuration includes at least a rate matching pattern for the first signal [page 18-19 “the UE applies the UL data signal (by applying rate-matching or puncturing) to the overlap resource” and subsequently “whether UL data signal mapping / transmission to the overlap resource (and the GP immediately after the static DL resource) may be directly indicated through the UL scheduling grant” Examiner notes that the first option specifies rate matching for the UL signal (first signal) on the overlap resource, and subsequently whether to do this is indicated through the UL scheduling grant, considered the indication to rate match thus a rate matching pattern]; transmit the first signal in the transmission occasion using the rate matching pattern and using resources configured based on the configuration [page 18-19 “the UE applies the UL data signal (by applying rate-matching or puncturing) to the overlap resource”]; and receive the second signal in the transmission occasion [“In this case, the overlap resource may be used as a static DL resource”].
Regarding claim 7, Yang teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the rate matching pattern comprises an indication of one or more frequency resources to rate match around in mapping frequency resources for the first signal [page 18-19 “the UE applies the UL data signal (by applying rate-matching or puncturing) to the overlap resource” and subsequently “whether UL data signal mapping / transmission to the overlap resource (and the GP immediately after the static DL resource) may be directly indicated through the UL scheduling grant” Examiner notes that the first option specifies rate matching for the UL signal (first signal) on the overlap resource, and subsequently whether to do this is indicated through the UL scheduling grant, considered the indication to rate match thus a rate matching pattern]; the one or more processors configured to configure the resources based at least in part on the indication [page 18-19 “the UE applies the UL data signal (by applying rate-matching or puncturing) to the overlap resource”]; and
transmit the first signal in the transmission occasion via the configured resources [page 18-19 “the UE applies the UL data signal (by applying rate-matching or puncturing) to the overlap resource”].
Regarding claim 9, Yang teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the rate matching pattern comprises an indication of a reference signal resource set to rate match around in mapping frequency resources for the first signal [page 18-19 “the UE applies the UL data signal (by applying rate-matching or puncturing) to the overlap resource […] In this case, the overlap resource may be used as a static DL resource” and subsequently “whether UL data signal mapping / transmission to the overlap resource (and the GP immediately after the static DL resource) may be directly indicated through the UL scheduling grant” Examiner notes that the first option specifies rate matching for the UL signal (first signal) on the overlap resource, and subsequently whether to do this is indicated through the UL scheduling grant, considered the indication to rate match thus a rate matching pattern, and the “static DL resource” is “the static resource includes a DL resource periodically configured for receiving a specific DL signal, the specific signal includes a tracking reference signal (TRS), channel state information RS (CSI-RS)” thus reference signal page 1-3]; the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: configure the resources based at least in part on the indication [[page 18-19 “the UE applies the UL data signal (by applying rate-matching or puncturing) to the overlap resource […] In this case, the overlap resource may be used as a static DL resource” and subsequently “whether UL data signal mapping / transmission to the overlap resource (and the GP immediately after the static DL resource) may be directly indicated through the UL scheduling grant”]; and transmit the first signal in the transmission occasion via the configured resources [page 18-19 “the UE applies the UL data signal (by applying rate-matching or puncturing) to the overlap resource”].
Regarding claim 11, Yang teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the rate matching pattern comprises an indication of a signal or a channel to rate match around in mapping frequency resources for the first signal [page 18-19 “the UE applies the UL data signal (by applying rate-matching or puncturing) to the overlap resource […] In this case, the overlap resource may be used as a static DL resource” and subsequently “whether UL data signal mapping / transmission to the overlap resource (and the GP immediately after the static DL resource) may be directly indicated through the UL scheduling grant” Examiner notes that the first option specifies rate matching for the UL signal (first signal) on the overlap resource, and subsequently whether to do this is indicated through the UL scheduling grant, considered the indication to rate match thus a rate matching pattern, and the “static DL resource” is the claimed “signal” to rate match around as it may be “channel state information RS (CSI-RS)” thus reference signal page 1-3]; the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: configure the resources based at least in part on the indication [[page 18-19 “the UE applies the UL data signal (by applying rate-matching or puncturing) to the overlap resource […] In this case, the overlap resource may be used as a static DL resource” and subsequently “whether UL data signal mapping / transmission to the overlap resource (and the GP immediately after the static DL resource) may be directly indicated through the UL scheduling grant”]; and transmit the first signal in the transmission occasion via the configured resources [page 18-19 “the UE applies the UL data signal (by applying rate-matching or puncturing) to the overlap resource”].
Regarding claim 12, Yang teaches:
An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories including executable instructions and one or more processors configured to execute the executable instructions to cause the apparatus [page 18-19 base station schedules UE] to
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for interference avoidance between a first signal and a second signal [page 18-19 “Alternatively, whether UL data signal mapping / transmission to the overlap resource (and the GP immediately after the static DL resource) may be directly indicated through the UL scheduling grant” thus the indication is configuration for avoidance of DL data and UL data], wherein, the first signal is scheduled for reception in a same transmission occasion as the second signal is scheduled for reception [page 18-19 “when the UL data transmission resource (First signal) and the static DL resource (second signal) overlap”]; and the configuration includes at least a rate matching pattern for the first signal [page 18-19 “the UE applies the UL data signal (by applying rate-matching or puncturing) to the overlap resource” and subsequently “whether UL data signal mapping / transmission to the overlap resource (and the GP immediately after the static DL resource) may be directly indicated through the UL scheduling grant” Examiner notes that the first option specifies rate matching for the UL signal (first signal) on the overlap resource, and subsequently whether to do this is indicated through the UL scheduling grant, considered the indication to rate match thus a rate matching pattern]; receive the first signal in the transmission occasion using the rate matching pattern and using resources configured based on the configuration [page 18-19 “the UE applies the UL data signal (by applying rate-matching or puncturing) to the overlap resource”]; and transmit the second signal in the transmission occasion [“In this case, the overlap resource may be used as a static DL resource”].
Regarding claim 18, Yang teaches:
The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the rate matching pattern comprises an indication of one or more frequency resources to rate match around in mapping frequency resources for the first signal [page 18-19 “the UE applies the UL data signal (by applying rate-matching or puncturing) to the overlap resource” and subsequently “whether UL data signal mapping / transmission to the overlap resource (and the GP immediately after the static DL resource) may be directly indicated through the UL scheduling grant” Examiner notes that the first option specifies rate matching for the UL signal (first signal) on the overlap resource, and subsequently whether to do this is indicated through the UL scheduling grant, considered the indication to rate match thus a rate matching pattern]; the one or more processors configured to configure the resources based at least in part on the indication [page 18-19 “the UE applies the UL data signal (by applying rate-matching or puncturing) to the overlap resource”]; and
receive the first signal in the transmission occasion via the configured resources [page 18-19 “the UE applies the UL data signal (by applying rate-matching or puncturing) to the overlap resource”].
Regarding claim 20, Yang teaches:
The apparatus of claim 12, wherein: the rate matching pattern comprises an indication of a reference signal resource set to rate match around in mapping frequency resources for the first signal [page 18-19 “the UE applies the UL data signal (by applying rate-matching or puncturing) to the overlap resource […] In this case, the overlap resource may be used as a static DL resource” and subsequently “whether UL data signal mapping / transmission to the overlap resource (and the GP immediately after the static DL resource) may be directly indicated through the UL scheduling grant” Examiner notes that the first option specifies rate matching for the UL signal (first signal) on the overlap resource, and subsequently whether to do this is indicated through the UL scheduling grant, considered the indication to rate match thus a rate matching pattern, and the “static DL resource” is “the static resource includes a DL resource periodically configured for receiving a specific DL signal, the specific signal includes a tracking reference signal (TRS), channel state information RS (CSI-RS)” thus reference signal page 1-3]; the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: configure the resources based at least in part on the indication [[page 18-19 “the UE applies the UL data signal (by applying rate-matching or puncturing) to the overlap resource […] In this case, the overlap resource may be used as a static DL resource” and subsequently “whether UL data signal mapping / transmission to the overlap resource (and the GP immediately after the static DL resource) may be directly indicated through the UL scheduling grant”]; and receive the first signal in the transmission occasion via the configured resources [page 18-19 “the UE applies the UL data signal (by applying rate-matching or puncturing) to the overlap resource”].
Regarding claim 22, Yang teaches:
The apparatus of claim 12, wherein: the rate matching pattern comprises an indication of a signal or a channel to rate match around in mapping frequency resources for the first signal [page 18-19 “the UE applies the UL data signal (by applying rate-matching or puncturing) to the overlap resource […] In this case, the overlap resource may be used as a static DL resource” and subsequently “whether UL data signal mapping / transmission to the overlap resource (and the GP immediately after the static DL resource) may be directly indicated through the UL scheduling grant” Examiner notes that the first option specifies rate matching for the UL signal (first signal) on the overlap resource, and subsequently whether to do this is indicated through the UL scheduling grant, considered the indication to rate match thus a rate matching pattern, and the “static DL resource” is the claimed “signal” to rate match around as it may be “channel state information RS (CSI-RS)” thus reference signal page 1-3]; the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: configure the resources based at least in part on the indication [[page 18-19 “the UE applies the UL data signal (by applying rate-matching or puncturing) to the overlap resource […] In this case, the overlap resource may be used as a static DL resource” and subsequently “whether UL data signal mapping / transmission to the overlap resource (and the GP immediately after the static DL resource) may be directly indicated through the UL scheduling grant”]; and receive the first signal in the transmission occasion via the configured resources [page 18-19 “the UE applies the UL data signal (by applying rate-matching or puncturing) to the overlap resource”].
Regarding claims 23, 25-28, 30, see similar rejections for claims 1, 7, 9, 11, 12, 18 respectively which teaches the physical structure performing the corresponding steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 6, 13-15, 24, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (“Yang”) (WO 2017146556 A1) in view of Suh et al. (“Suh”) (US 20220225124 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Yang teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1.
Yang teaches conflicting UL and DL transmissions but not a request.
Suh teaches to transmit, to a network entity, a request to provide a configuration for interference avoidance between a first signal and a second signal [Figure 19, ¶0263, “the UE performs the SIC in the analog domain based on an initial hybrid Rx signal and continues to measure the strength of a residual SI signal. If the residual SI signal reaches a specific level, the UE requests the gNB to change the arrangement (formation) of UL RS(s) to cancel the residual SI ” interfering with DL signal, UL RS being first signal, DL data being second signal, may also be UL data as first signal and DL DMRS as second signal],
wherein: the request indicates a time restriction to not schedule the first signal in the same transmission occasion with the second signal ¶0263, “the UE requests to arrange not only the UL DMRS and DL data but a DL DMRS and UL data to be orthogonal, that is, such that there are no overlap therebetween. Further, the UE may request additional RS(s). The UE performs operations for reducing the residual IS based on the arranged DMRSs” wherein no overlap considered not overlapping in time, ¶0266 reallocation corresponding to time and frequency resources].
Yang teaches configuration for interference but does not teach it indicates the another transmission occasion however Suh teaches the configuration indicates another transmission occasion for the first signal [Fig 19, gNB sends change_grant, ¶0263 “the gNB informs the UE that a change in the arrangement of the UL RS(s) is allowed for the next frame]; and the transmitter is further configured to transmit the first signal in the other transmission occasion [¶0263, “UE performs transmission in a state that a UL DMRS overlaps with DL data. When the residual SI of the UE reaches a certain level, the UE requests to arrange not only the UL DMRS and DL data but a DL DMRS and UL data to be orthogonal, that is, such that there are no overlap therebetween. Further, the UE may request additional RS(s). The UE performs operations for reducing the residual IS based on the arranged DMRSs. When the residual SI sufficiently decreases, the UE may remove the added DMRSs and request to release the orthogonal arrangement of the DMRSs.” Wherein ¶0266 this may include reallocating time resources thus in another time occasion].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the request for the configuration to not schedule first signals in the same transmission occasion as in Suh. Yang teaches configuration for rate matching signals on an overlapped signal between UL and DL and it would have been obvious to request the interference assistance information as in Suh who teaches this allows to overcome interference that may degrade transmission throughput ¶0006.
Regarding claim 3, Yang teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1.
Yang teaches conflicting UL and DL transmissions but not a request.
Suh teaches transmit, to a network entity, a request to provide a configuration for interference avoidance between a first signal and the second signal [Figure 19, ¶0263, “the UE performs the SIC in the analog domain based on an initial hybrid Rx signal and continues to measure the strength of a residual SI signal. If the residual SI signal reaches a specific level, the UE requests the gNB to change the arrangement (formation) of UL RS(s) to cancel the residual SI ” interfering with DL signal, UL RS being first signal, DL data being second signal, may also be UL data as first signal and DL DMRS as second signal],
wherein: the request indicates to provide separation between the first signal and the second signal [¶0263, “the UE requests to arrange not only the UL DMRS and DL data but a DL DMRS and UL data to be orthogonal, that is, such that there are no overlap therebetween. Further, the UE may request additional RS(s). The UE performs operations for reducing the residual IS based on the arranged DMRSs” the request for orthogonality results in frequency separation as in Figure 23a].
Yang teaches configuration for interference but does not teach it indicates the frequency separation however Suh teaches the configuration indicates the separation between the first signal and the second signal [Fig 19, gNB sends change_grant, ¶0263 “the gNB informs the UE that a change in the arrangement of the UL RS(s) is allowed for the next frame by sending a FullDuplex_RS_formation_changegrant message to the UE, and at the same time, the gNB transmits the arrangement of related UL signals over a PDCCH” wherein UL DMRS first signal and DL data second signal are rearranged with orthogonality e.g. Figure 23a with frequency separation]; and the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to transmit the first signal in the transmission occasion with the separation indicated in the configuration [¶0263, “the UE requests to arrange not only the UL DMRS and DL data but a DL DMRS and UL data to be orthogonal, that is, such that there are no overlap therebetween. Further, the UE may request additional RS(s). The UE performs operations for reducing the residual IS based on the arranged DMRSs” wherein UL DMRS corresponds to first signal].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the request for the configuration to provide frequency separation in the same transmission occasion as in Suh. Yang teaches configuration for rate matching signals on an overlapped signal between UL and DL and it would have been obvious to request the interference assistance information as in Suh who teaches this allows to overcome interference that may degrade transmission throughput ¶0006.
Regarding claim 4, Yang-Suh teaches:
The apparatus of claim 3, wherein: the request indicates to provide frequency separation between the first signal and the second signal [Suh ¶0263, “the UE requests to arrange not only the UL DMRS and DL data but a DL DMRS and UL data to be orthogonal, that is, such that there are no overlap therebetween. Further, the UE may request additional RS(s). The UE performs operations for reducing the residual IS based on the arranged DMRSs” the request for orthogonality results in frequency separation as in Figure 23a, see rationale for combination as in claim 3]; the configuration indicates the frequency separation between the first signal and the second signal [Suh Fig 19, gNB sends change_grant, ¶0263 “the gNB informs the UE that a change in the arrangement of the UL RS(s) is allowed for the next frame by sending a FullDuplex_RS_formation_changegrant message to the UE, and at the same time, the gNB transmits the arrangement of related UL signals over a PDCCH” wherein UL DMRS first signal and DL data second signal are rearranged with orthogonality e.g. Figure 23a with frequency separation, see rationale for combination as in claim 3]; and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to transmit the first signal in the transmission occasion with the frequency separation indicated in the configuration [Yang page 18-19 apply the uplink to the overlapped resource based on rate matching, and Suh ¶0263, “the UE requests to arrange not only the UL DMRS and DL data but a DL DMRS and UL data to be orthogonal, that is, such that there are no overlap therebetween. Further, the UE may request additional RS(s). The UE performs operations for reducing the residual IS based on the arranged DMRSs” wherein UL DMRS corresponds to first signal, see rationale for combination as in claim 3].
Regarding claim 6, Yang-Suh teaches:
The apparatus of claim 3, wherein: the request indicates to enable rate matching in a frequency domain for the first signal around the second signal [Suh ¶0263, “the UE requests to arrange not only the UL DMRS and DL data but a DL DMRS and UL data to be orthogonal, that is, such that there are no overlap therebetween. Further, the UE may request additional RS(s). The UE performs operations for reducing the residual IS based on the arranged DMRSs” considered a request for rate matching, as rate matching in 5G involves scheduling to avoid overlap of resources, see rationale for combination as in claim 3]; the configuration indicates that rate matching is enabled for the first signal [Suh Fig 19, gNB sends change_grant, ¶0263 “the gNB informs the UE that a change in the arrangement of the UL RS(s) is allowed for the next frame by sending a FullDuplex_RS_formation_changegrant message to the UE, and at the same time, the gNB transmits the arrangement of related UL signals over a PDCCH” considered rate matching enabled as the resources are modified to not be overlapping, see rationale for combination as in claim 3]; and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to transmit the first signal in the transmission occasion via one or more frequency resources rate matched around the second signal [Yang page 18-19 apply the uplink to the overlapped resource based on rate matching, Suh ¶0263, “the UE requests to arrange not only the UL DMRS and DL data but a DL DMRS and UL data to be orthogonal, that is, such that there are no overlap therebetween. Further, the UE may request additional RS(s). The UE performs operations for reducing the residual IS based on the arranged DMRSs” wherein UL DMRS corresponds to first signal].
Regarding claim 13, Yang teaches:
The apparatus of claim 12.
Yang teaches conflicting UL and DL transmissions but not a request.
Suh teaches one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to receive, from the UE, a request to provide a configuration for interference avoidance between a first signal and a second signal [Figure 19, ¶0263, “the UE performs the SIC in the analog domain based on an initial hybrid Rx signal and continues to measure the strength of a residual SI signal. If the residual SI signal reaches a specific level, the UE requests the gNB to change the arrangement (formation) of UL RS(s) to cancel the residual SI ” interfering with DL signal, UL RS being first signal, DL data being second signal, may also be UL data as first signal and DL DMRS as second signal],
wherein: the request indicates a time restriction to not schedule the first signal in the same transmission occasion with the second signal ¶0263, “the UE requests to arrange not only the UL DMRS and DL data but a DL DMRS and UL data to be orthogonal, that is, such that there are no overlap therebetween. Further, the UE may request additional RS(s). The UE performs operations for reducing the residual IS based on the arranged DMRSs” wherein no overlap considered not overlapping in time, ¶0266 reallocation corresponding to time and frequency resources].
Yang teaches configuration for interference but does not teach it indicates the another transmission occasion however Suh teaches the configuration indicates another transmission occasion for the first signal [Fig 19, gNB sends change_grant, ¶0263 “the gNB informs the UE that a change in the arrangement of the UL RS(s) is allowed for the next frame]; and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to receive the first signal in the other transmission occasion [¶0263, “UE performs transmission in a state that a UL DMRS overlaps with DL data. When the residual SI of the UE reaches a certain level, the UE requests to arrange not only the UL DMRS and DL data but a DL DMRS and UL data to be orthogonal, that is, such that there are no overlap therebetween. Further, the UE may request additional RS(s). The UE performs operations for reducing the residual IS based on the arranged DMRSs. When the residual SI sufficiently decreases, the UE may remove the added DMRSs and request to release the orthogonal arrangement of the DMRSs.” Wherein ¶0266 this may include reallocating time resources thus in another time occasion].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the request for the configuration to not schedule first signals in the same transmission occasion as in Suh. Yang teaches configuration for rate matching signals on an overlapped signal between UL and DL and it would have been obvious to request the interference assistance information as in Suh who teaches this allows to overcome interference that may degrade transmission throughput ¶0006.
Regarding claim 14, Yang teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1.
Yang teaches conflicting UL and DL transmissions but not a request.
Suh teaches one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to receive, from the UE, a request to provide a configuration for interference avoidance between a first signal and a second signal [Figure 19, ¶0263, “the UE performs the SIC in the analog domain based on an initial hybrid Rx signal and continues to measure the strength of a residual SI signal. If the residual SI signal reaches a specific level, the UE requests the gNB to change the arrangement (formation) of UL RS(s) to cancel the residual SI ” interfering with DL signal, UL RS being first signal, DL data being second signal, may also be UL data as first signal and DL DMRS as second signal],
wherein: the request indicates to provide separation between the first signal and the second signal [[¶0263, “the UE requests to arrange not only the UL DMRS and DL data but a DL DMRS and UL data to be orthogonal, that is, such that there are no overlap therebetween. Further, the UE may request additional RS(s). The UE performs operations for reducing the residual IS based on the arranged DMRSs” the request for orthogonality results in frequency separation as in Figure 23a].
Yang teaches configuration for interference but does not teach it indicates the frequency separation however Suh teaches the configuration indicates the separation between the first signal and the second signal Fig 19, gNB sends change_grant, ¶0263 “the gNB informs the UE that a change in the arrangement of the UL RS(s) is allowed for the next frame by sending a FullDuplex_RS_formation_changegrant message to the UE, and at the same time, the gNB transmits the arrangement of related UL signals over a PDCCH” wherein UL DMRS first signal and DL data second signal are rearranged with orthogonality e.g. Figure 23a with frequency separation]; and the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive the first signal in the transmission occasion with the separation indicated in the configuration [¶0263, “the UE requests to arrange not only the UL DMRS and DL data but a DL DMRS and UL data to be orthogonal, that is, such that there are no overlap therebetween. Further, the UE may request additional RS(s). The UE performs operations for reducing the residual IS based on the arranged DMRSs” wherein UL DMRS corresponds to first signal].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the request for the configuration to provide frequency separation in the same transmission occasion as in Suh. Yang teaches configuration for rate matching signals on an overlapped signal between UL and DL and it would have been obvious to request the interference assistance information as in Suh who teaches this allows to overcome interference that may degrade transmission throughput ¶0006.
Regarding claim 15, Yang-Suh teaches:
The apparatus of claim 14, wherein: the request indicates to provide frequency separation between the first signal and the second signal [Suh ¶0263, “the UE requests to arrange not only the UL DMRS and DL data but a DL DMRS and UL data to be orthogonal, that is, such that there are no overlap therebetween. Further, the UE may request additional RS(s). The UE performs operations for reducing the residual IS based on the arranged DMRSs” the request for orthogonality results in frequency separation as in Figure 23a, see rationale for combination as in claim 14]; the configuration indicates the frequency separation between the first signal and the second signal [Suh Fig 19, gNB sends change_grant, ¶0263 “the gNB informs the UE that a change in the arrangement of the UL RS(s) is allowed for the next frame by sending a FullDuplex_RS_formation_changegrant message to the UE, and at the same time, the gNB transmits the arrangement of related UL signals over a PDCCH” wherein UL DMRS first signal and DL data second signal are rearranged with orthogonality e.g. Figure 23a with frequency separation, see rationale for combination as in claim 14]; and the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive the first signal in the transmission occasion with the frequency separation indicated in the configuration [Yang page 18-19 apply the uplink to the overlapped resource based on rate matching, and Suh ¶0263, “the UE requests to arrange not only the UL DMRS and DL data but a DL DMRS and UL data to be orthogonal, that is, such that there are no overlap therebetween. Further, the UE may request additional RS(s). The UE performs operations for reducing the residual IS based on the arranged DMRSs” wherein UL DMRS corresponds to first signal, see rationale for combination as in claim 14].
Regarding claim 17, Yang-Suh teaches:
The apparatus of claim 14, wherein: the request indicates to enable rate matching in a frequency domain for the first signal around the second signal [Suh ¶0263, “the UE requests to arrange not only the UL DMRS and DL data but a DL DMRS and UL data to be orthogonal, that is, such that there are no overlap therebetween. Further, the UE may request additional RS(s). The UE performs operations for reducing the residual IS based on the arranged DMRSs” considered a request for rate matching, as rate matching in 5G involves scheduling to avoid overlap of resources, see rationale for combination as in claim 14]; the configuration indicates that rate matching is enabled for the first signal [Suh Fig 19, gNB sends change_grant, ¶0263 “the gNB informs the UE that a change in the arrangement of the UL RS(s) is allowed for the next frame by sending a FullDuplex_RS_formation_changegrant message to the UE, and at the same time, the gNB transmits the arrangement of related UL signals over a PDCCH” considered rate matching enabled as the resources are modified to not be overlapping, see rationale for combination as in claim 14]; and the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive the first signal in the transmission occasion via one or more frequency resources rate matched around the second signal [Yang page 18-19 apply the uplink to the overlapped resource based on rate matching, Suh ¶0263, “the UE requests to arrange not only the UL DMRS and DL data but a DL DMRS and UL data to be orthogonal, that is, such that there are no overlap therebetween. Further, the UE may request additional RS(s). The UE performs operations for reducing the residual IS based on the arranged DMRSs” wherein UL DMRS corresponds to first signal].
Regarding claims 24, 29, see similar rejections for claims 3, 15 which teach the physical structure performing the corresponding steps.
Claim(s) 5, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (“Yang”) (WO 2017146556 A1) in view of Suh et al. (“Suh”) (US 20220225124 A1)and Ryu et al. (“Ryu”) (US 20200358500 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Yang-Suh teaches:
The apparatus of claim 3.
Yang-Suh teaches rearranging FD signals to reduce interference but does not teach SDM methods.
Ryu teaches wherein: the request indicates to adjust a space division multiplexing (SDM) associated with the first signal and the second signal [¶011 request to change beam pair]; the configuration indicates a spatial parameter for at least the first signal [¶011 receive configuration of beam]; and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to transmit the first signal in the transmission occasion based at least in part on the spatial parameter indicated in the configuration [¶0011 transmit on new beam pair].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify separation via SDM. Yang-Suh teaches non-overlap and it would have been obvious to include SDM as in Ry to manage self-interference ¶0011.
Regarding claim 16, Yang-Suh teaches:
The apparatus of claim 14.
Yang-Suh teaches rearranging FD signals to reduce interference but does not teach SDM methods.
Ryu teaches wherein: the request indicates to adjust a space division multiplexing (SDM) associated with the first signal and the second signal [¶011 request to change beam pair]; the configuration indicates a spatial parameter for at least the first signal [¶011 receive configuration of beam]; and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to receive the first signal in the transmission occasion based at least in part on the spatial parameter indicated in the configuration [¶0011 transmit on new beam pair].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify separation via SDM. Suh teaches non-overlap and it would have been obvious to include SDM as in Ry to manage self-interference ¶0011.
Claim(s) 8, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (“Yang”) (WO 2017146556 A1) in view of Jeon et al. (“Jeon”) (US 20180368157 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Yang teaches:
The apparatus of claim 7.
Yang teaches a rate matching indication but not a periodicity.
Jeon teaches wherein the indication further indicates a periodicity in time associated with the one or more frequency resources [¶0224, periodicity associated with uplink grant allocating transmission resources and indicated].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify a periodicity associated with frequency resources as in Jeon who teaches this allows the wireless device to determine symbols of the uplink grant and transmit transport blocks employing demodulation reference signal parameters ¶0224.
Regarding claim 19, Yang teaches:
The apparatus of claim 24.
Yang teaches a rate matching indication but not a periodicity.
Jeon teaches wherein the indication further indicates a periodicity in time associated with the one or more frequency resources [¶0224, periodicity associated with uplink grant allocating transmission resources and indicated].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify a periodicity associated with frequency resources as in Jeon who teaches this allows the wireless device to determine symbols of the uplink grant and transmit transport blocks employing demodulation reference signal parameters ¶0224.
Claim(s) 10, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (“Yang”) (WO 2017146556 A1) in view of Taghizadeh et al. (US 20240163058 A1, hereinafter ‘058, effective filing date of provisional application 63159923 filed March 11, 2021).
Regarding claim 10, Yang teaches:
The method of claim 9.
Suh teaches CSI but not specifically ZP-CSI.
‘058 teaches wherein the reference signal resource set includes at least one of a zero-power channel state information reference signal (ZP-CSI-RS) resource or a non-zero power channel state information reference signal (NZP-CSI-RS) resource [¶0101 rate matching UL around ZP CSI-RS].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the reference signals are ZP CSI-RS. Suh teaches reference signals being DL RSs and it would have been obvious to specify ZP CSI-RS to avoid overlap with the ZP CSI-RS in measuring interference ¶0101 in ‘058.
Regarding claim 21, Suh teaches:
The apparatus of claim 20
Suh teaches rate matching around DL DMRS but not CSI.
‘058 teaches wherein the reference signal resource set includes at least one of a zero-power channel state information reference signal (ZP-CSI-RS) resource or a non-zero power channel state information reference signal (NZP-CSI-RS) resource [¶0101 rate matching UL around CP CSI-RS].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the reference signals are ZP CSI-RS. Suh teaches reference signals being DL RSs and it would have been obvious to specify ZP CSI-RS to avoid overlap with the ZP CSI-RS in measuring interference ¶0101 in ‘058.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478