NON-FINAL REJECTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
No argument was presented with RCE. Due to the new arts in recent IDS, previous Office Action (Allowance) is withdrawn, and new rejection is presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 65-67, 70-72 and 78-81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshi et al. (JPH 09178545A, cited by the applicants, “Hiroshi”) in view of Chien (US 2008/0230858 A1).
Regarding Claim 65, Hiroshi teaches a sensor package (Fig.1) comprising: a support structure (10, 12) configured to couple with a vibration source (40) by way of a stud (30); a cap (5) at least partially disposed over the support structure (10), the cap at least partially defining a cavity (shown in fig.1); and a vibration sensor module (13, 14) coupled to a portion of the support structure (via 12) and disposed in the cavity (shown in fgi.1), and wherein the support structure comprises a base (10) and a carrier (12), the base having an upper side and a lower side opposite to the upper side, the base configured to be coupled to the vibration source with the lower side facing the vibration source (shown in fig.1), and the carrier disposed on the upper side (shown in fig.1).
Hiroshi does not explicitly teach wherein the sensor package has a mechanical resonant frequency in a range of 0.1 Hz to 11 kHz.
However, Chein discloses that the acoustic microsensor utilized in real applications is easily to generate a resonant frequency in the hearing frequency range 20 Hz-20 KHz [0005]. Due to larger volume of the conventional package structure, the acoustic microsensor is easily to generate a resonant frequency in the hearing frequency range 20 Hz-20 KHz [0025].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set up a sensor package with a mechanical resonance frequency in the range of 0.1 Hz to 11 kHz since such choice of a resonance frequency of a sensor package in that wide range is well-known in the art as disclosed in Chein art. Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to design the sensor package with a mechanical resonant frequency in a range of 0.1 Hz to 11 kHz , since setting up the sensor package with the mechanical resonance frequency in that range is considered as the usual parameter choice for a person skilled in the art to improve the sensor detection range.
Regarding Claim 66, the sensor package of Claim 65 is taught by Hiroshi in view of Chein.
Hiroshi further teaches wherein the base (10) is configured to couple with the vibration source (40) by way of the stud (30) (shown in fig.1), the cap (5) is at least partially disposed over the upper side of the base (10) (shown in fig.1), the carrier (12) disposed in the cavity (shown in fig.1), and the vibration sensor module (13, 14) coupled to the carrier (12) (shown in fig.1).
Regarding Claim 67, the sensor package of Claim 66 is taught by Hiroshi in view of Chein.
Hiroshi further teaches wherein the cap (5) comprises a screw top, the upper side of the base comprises a threaded portion, and the screw top mates with the threaded portion to mechanically connect the cap and the base ([0016]: “metal case 15 is made of a highly corrosion-resistant metal material such as stainless steel and is screwed onto the outer threaded portion 10d of the base 10”).
Regarding Claim 70, the sensor package of Claim 66 is taught by Hiroshi in view of Chein.
Hiroshi further teaches wherein the stud (30) is configured to couple to the lower side of the base (10a) and extends vertically relative to the lower side of the base (shown in fig.1).
Regarding Claim 71, the sensor package of Claim 66 is taught by Hiroshi in view of Chein.
Hiroshi further teaches wherein the carrier (12) extends vertically from the upper side of the base (10) (shown in fig.1), and the vibration sensor module configured to sense vibration in a vertical direction ([0013], Fig.1).
Regarding Claim 72, the sensor package of Claim 65 is taught by Hiroshi in view of Chein.
Hiroshi further teaches wherein the support structure comprises a material that has a Young's modulus in a range of 60 GPa to 200 GPa (Hiroshi teaches that the metal base 10 is made of a highly corrosion-resistant metal material such as stainless steel [0013], and metal case 15 is made of a highly corrosion-resistant metal material such as stainless steel [0016]. It is known in the art that stainless steel has a Young's modulus in a range of 193 GPa to 200 GPa).
Regarding Claim 78, the sensor package of Claim 65 is taught by Hiroshi in view of Chein.
Hiroshi further teaches wherein the sensor package has a mechanical resonant frequency in a range of 5 kHz to 11 kHz.
However, Chein discloses that the acoustic microsensor utilized in real applications is easily to generate a resonant frequency in the hearing frequency range 20 Hz-20 KHz [0005]. Due to larger volume of the conventional package structure, the acoustic microsensor is easily to generate a resonant frequency in the hearing frequency range 20 Hz-20 KHz [0025].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set up a sensor package with a mechanical resonance frequency in the range of 5 kHz to 11 kHz since such choice of a resonance frequency of a sensor package in that wide range is well-known in the art as disclosed in Chein art. Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to design the sensor package with a mechanical resonant frequency in a range of 5 kHz to 11 kHz, since setting up the sensor package with the mechanical resonance frequency in that range is considered as the usual parameter choice for a person skilled in the art to improve the sensor detection range.
Regarding Claim 79, Hiroshi teaches a sensor package (Fig.1) comprising: a support structure (10, 12) configured to couple with a vibration source (40) by way of a stud (30); a cap (5) at least partially disposed over the support structure (10), the cap at least partially defining a cavity (shown in fig.1); a microelectromechanical systems (MEMs) vibration sensor module (13, 14) coupled to the support structure (via 12) and disposed in the cavity (shown in fig.1); and a connector (22) coupled to the support structure (via 10), the connector (22) configured to connect to a connection line (23) to electrically connect the vibration sensor module (13, 14) to an external substrate or system [0015],
Hiroshi does not explicitly teach wherein the sensor package has a mechanical resonant frequency in a range of 5 kHz to 11 kHz.
However, Chein discloses that the acoustic microsensor utilized in real applications is easily to generate a resonant frequency in the hearing frequency range 20 Hz-20 KHz [0005]. Due to larger volume of the conventional package structure, the acoustic microsensor is easily to generate a resonant frequency in the hearing frequency range 20 Hz-20 KHz [0025].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set up a sensor package with a mechanical resonance frequency in the range of 5 kHz to 11 kHz since such choice of a resonance frequency of a sensor package in that wide range is well-known in the art as disclosed in Chein art. Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to design the sensor package with a mechanical resonant frequency in a range of 5 kHz to 11 kHz, since setting up the sensor package with the mechanical resonance frequency in that range is considered as the usual parameter choice for a person skilled in the art to improve the sensor detection range.
Regarding Claim 80, the sensor package of Claim 79 is taught by Hiroshi in view of Chein.
Hiroshi further teaches wherein the connector has an integrated electronics piezoelectric (IEPE) interface (shown in fig.1 that the connector 22 has an integrated electronics piezoelectric (IEPE) interface at the junction with connection line 23).
Regarding Claim 81, the sensor package of Claim 79 is taught by Hiroshi in view of Chein.
Hiroshi further teaches wherein the support structure includes a base (10) and a carrier (12), the base having an upper side and a lower side (shown in fig.1), the carrier disposed on the upper side of the base (shown in fig.1), the base configured to couple with the vibration source by way of the stud (30) (shown in fig.1), the carrier (12) disposed in the cavity (shown in fig.1), the MEMs vibration sensor module coupled to the carrier (shown in fig.1), and the connector (22) coupled to the base (10) (shown in fig.1).
Claims 68-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshi in view of Chein, and further in view of Pedersen et al. (US 2020/0245053 A1, “Pedersen”).
Regarding Claim 68, the sensor package of Claim 66 is taught by Hiroshi in view of Chein.
Hiroshi does not explicitly teach wherein the vibration sensor module comprises a sensor die mounted to a substrate, and the substrate is positioned between the carrier and the sensor die.
However, Pedersen teaches a MEMS vibration sensor die can include a substrate having a top portion, a mounting surface, and an aperture extending at least partially through the substrate (“Abstract”, [0011], claim 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Pedersen’s sensor die with substrate in the package of Hiroshi and placing the substrate between the carrier and the sensor die since such die is known the art which would provide robustness to the sensing module.
Regarding Claim 69, the sensor package of Claim 68 is taught by Hiroshi in view of Chein and Pedersen.
Pedersen further teaches wherein the sensor die comprises a microelectromechanical systems (MEMs) sensor die (“Abstract”, [0011], claim 14).
Claims 73-74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshi in view of Chien, and further in view of Lupfer et al. (US 2020/0368600 A1, “Lupfer”).
Regarding Claim 73, the sensor package of Claim 72 is taught by Hiroshi in view of Chein.
Hiroshi does not teach wherein the material has a density in a range of 2000 kg/m3 to 3000 kg/m3.
However, Lupfer teaches a sensor system wherein the sensor system may be enclosed into a sensor housing that may be made of plastic (e.g., polycarbonate-ABS), metal (e.g., steel, aluminum (Known in the art that - Aluminum has a Young's modulus of approximately 69–77 GPa and a density around 2700 Kg/m³), among other like metals), graphite or some combination of these materials [0039].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hirosi’s housing with the teaching of Lupfer since Lupfer’s Aluminium is a known alternative to Hiroshi’s steel in the field of sensor housing.
Regarding Claim 74, the sensor package of Claim 73 is taught by Hiroshi in view of Chein and Lupfer.
Lupfer further teaches wherein the material comprises aluminum [0039].
Claims 75-77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshi in view of Chein, and further in view of Mancini (US 2022/0074963 A1).
Regarding Claim 75, the sensor package of Claim 65 is taught by Hiroshi in view of Chein.
Hiroshi does not teach the sensor package further comprising a filler material disposed in the cavity.
However, Mancini teaches a sensor device comprising a filler material disposed in the cavity ([0028]; [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Mancini’s filler in the sensor package of Hiroshi since this would guarantees a degree of resistance to a water column or humidity [0030].
Regarding Claim 76, the sensor package of Claim 75 is taught by Hiroshi in view of Chein and Mancini.
Mancini further teaches wherein the filler material comprises a non-conductive epoxy [0115].
Regarding Claim 77, the sensor package of Claim 76 is taught by Hiroshi in view of Chein and Mancini.
Mancini further teaches wherein the support structure includes an injection hole (fig.2-3; element 4e) for injecting the filler material [0107].
Claims 82-84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshi in view of Lupfer.
Regarding Claim 82, Hiroshi teaches a sensor package (Fig.1) comprising: a support structure (10, 12) including a base (10) and a carrier (12), the base having an upper side and a lower side (shown in fig.1), the carrier disposed on the upper side of the base (shown in fig.1), the base configured couple with a vibration source (40) by way of a stud (30); a cap (5) at least partially disposed over the upper side of the base (shown in fig.1), the carrier disposed in a cavity (shown in fig.1) formed at least in part by the base and the cap (shown in fig.1); and a microelectromechanical systems (MEMs) vibration sensor module (13, 14) coupled to the carrier (via 12) and disposed in the cavity (shown in fig.1). As to housing material, Hiroshi teaches that the metal base 10 is made of a highly corrosion-resistant metal material such as stainless steel [0013], and metal case 15 is made of a highly corrosion-resistant metal material such as stainless steel [0016].
Hiroshi does not teach wherein the support structure comprises a material that has a Young's modulus of at least 60 GPa and a density less than 3000 kg/m3.
However, Lupfer teaches a sensor system wherein the sensor system may be enclosed into a sensor housing that may be made of plastic (e.g., polycarbonate-ABS), metal (e.g., steel, aluminum (Known in the art that - Aluminum has a Young's modulus of approximately 69–77 GPa and a density around 2700 Kg/m³), among other like metals), graphite or some combination of these materials [0039].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hirosi’s housing with the teaching of Lupfer since Lupfer’s Aluminium is a known alternative to Hiroshi’s steel in the field of sensor housing.
Regarding Claim 83, the sensor package of Claim 82 is taught by Hiroshi in view of Lupfer.
Hiroshi further teaches having an integrated electronics piezoelectric (IEPE) interface that includes a subminiature version A (SMA) connector coupled to the base and configured to electrically connect the MEMs vibration sensor module to an external substrate or system shown in fig.1 that the connector 22 has an integrated electronics piezoelectric (IEPE) interface at the junction with connection line 23).
Regarding Claim 84, the sensor package of Claim 83 is taught by Hiroshi in view of Lupfer.
Hiroshi further teaches wherein the vibration MEMs sensor module comprises a signal output terminal that is connected with the SMA connector by way of a signal line ([0015]: “A detection output connector (for example, a coaxial connector) 22 is fixed to one side of the lower part 10a of the base, and a lead wire 23 connected to one output end of each piezoelectric element 13 is connected to the output terminal 22a of the connector 22.”).
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon, are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Gooneratne et al. (US 2021/0189863 A1): Sensor compartment 24 can be formed of materials such as steel, titanium, silicon carbide, aluminum silicon carbide Inconel (Known in the art that - Aluminum–Silicon Carbide (Al–SiC) metal matrix composites: Density: ~2800–3000 Kg/m³ and Young’s modulus: ~115–150 GPa for common Al₇₅/SiC₂₅ to Al₆₀/SiC₄₀ compositions), and pyroflask to reduce the effect of high temperature encountered in downhole environments [0091].
Contact Information
/SUMAN K NATH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855