NON-FINAL REJECTION
Drawings Objection
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). Drawings are objected because all the elements mentioned in the claim are not shown. The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “a connector coupled to the support structure”, claimed in claim 79 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 79-81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim79 recites a limitation " a connector coupled to the support structure." The originally filed specification discloses “A connector 26 can be coupled to the cap 12.” (See Para. [0041]), not with the support structure, as claimed. Claimed invention must reflect in the specification. Therefore, the originally filed specification fails to meet the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 69 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 69 recites the limitation "the sensor die" which has not been previously defined. This limitation is first found in claim 68, but claim 69 does not depend on claim 68. Thus, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Further, Claim 69 is rejected as being indefinite as the recited limitation "the sensor package of Claim 70, wherein the sensor die comprises a microelectromechanical systems (MEMs) sensor die" is confusing. One of ordinary skill in the art fails to ascertain how a claim depends from another claim which is not cited yet. Further, the limitations are first introduced in claim 68, not in claim 70. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art cannot fully determine the scope of the claimed invention.
A suggestion for correction: Apparently, claim 69 should depend from claim 68 as the limitation “a sensor die” is first disclosed in claim 68.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 65 and 78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamine et al. (US 2023/0324345 Al, “Takamine”) in view of Michael (US 2017/0182258 A1) and Barger et al. (US 2013/0160556 A1, “Barger”).
Regarding Claim 65, Takamine teaches a sensor package (fig.1-10) comprising: a support structure (3) configured to couple with a vibration source (4) by way of an adhesive portion (3); a cap (6) at least partially disposed over the support structure (shown in fig.1-6), the cap at least partially defining a cavity (shown in fig.1-6); and a vibration sensor module (5) coupled to a portion of the support structure and disposed in the cavity (shown in fig.1-6 and discussed in [0021]).
Takamine does not teach – (i) a stud as support structure; and (ii) wherein the sensor package has a mechanical resonant frequency in a range of 0.1 Hz to 11 kHz.
As to (i), Michael teaches an adjunct device for tracks time and/or dosage of a medicine comprising one or more vibration sensors [Abstract] wherein attachment between the injector and/or device may include a stud and/or an adhesive [0129].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takamine’s attachment with the teaching of Michael and replacing Takamine’s adhesive with Michael’s stud since this is a known alternative in the field of attachment, as depicted in Michael art, which would provide more strength to the sensor package.
As to (ii), Barger teaches an acoustic sensor having piezoelectric material housed in a cartridge [Abstract] wherein the resonance frequency of the cartridge 202 having the sensor assembly to resonate at about 100 Hz [0043].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a sensor package that has a mechanical resonant frequency in a range of 0.1 Hz to 11 kHz because any sensor package has a resonant frequency and to have a sensor package with a resonant frequency in the wide range of 0.1 Hz to 11 kHz is well-known in the art, as depicted in Barger art where the sensor assembly to resonate at about 100 Hz. One having ordinary skill in the art would make a sensor assembly of any value within the range depending on the operational frequencies.
Regarding Claim 78, the sensor package of Claim 65 is taught by Takamine in view of Michael and Barger.
Barger teaches an acoustic sensor having piezoelectric material housed in a cartridge [Abstract] wherein the resonance frequency of the cartridge 202 having the sensor assembly to resonate at about 100 Hz [0043].
Modified Takamine discloses the claimed invention except for sensor package has a mechanical resonant frequency in a range of 5 kHz to 11 kHz. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a sensor package having a mechanical resonant frequency in a range of 5 kHz to 11 kHz, since it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, in this case to make a sensor assembly of any value within the range depending on the operational frequencies, with a reasonable expectation of success is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have a sensor package having a mechanical resonant frequency in a range of 5 kHz to 11 kHz., since applicant has not disclosed that such range solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the modified Takamine.
Claims 72-74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamine in view of Michael, Barger and Sakuma et al. (US 2012/0304765 A1, “Sakuma”).
Regarding Claim 72, the sensor package of Claim 65 is taught by Takamine in view of Michel and Barger.
Modified Takamine does not explicitly teach that the support structure comprises a material that has a Young's modulus in a range of 60 GPa to 200 GPa.
However, Sakuma teaches a module includes a sensor device, a mounting substrate that has a plurality of mounting faces, a portion between the mounting faces adjacent to each other being foldable, a supporting member having fixing faces, wherein the sensor device is mounted on at least one of the mounting faces, each of the mounting faces is disposed along each of the fixing faces, and the sensor device is disposed on the supporting member side [Abstract]. A constituent material of the supporting member comprising aluminum, or alloys or intermetallic compounds containing at least one kind among these kinds of metal, or oxides of these kinds of metal may be exemplified. For example, as the alloys, stainless steel, inconel, and in addition to these, for example, various aluminum-based alloys such as duralumin may be exemplified [0092].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takamine’s supporting member with the teaching of Sakuma since such support structure is known in the art and it is well-known that aluminium alloy has a Young's modulus in a range of 60 GPa to 200 GPa.
Regarding Claim 73, the sensor package of Claim 72 is taught by Takamine in view of Michel, Barger and Sakuma.
Modified Takamine further teaches wherein the material has a density in a range of 2000 kg/m3 to 3000 kg/m3 (Sakuma teaches a module includes a sensor device, a mounting substrate that has a plurality of mounting faces, a portion between the mounting faces adjacent to each other being foldable, a supporting member having fixing faces, wherein the sensor device is mounted on at least one of the mounting faces, each of the mounting faces is disposed along each of the fixing faces, and the sensor device is disposed on the supporting member side [Abstract]. A constituent material of the supporting member comprising aluminum, or alloys or intermetallic compounds containing at least one kind among these kinds of metal, or oxides of these kinds of metal may be exemplified. For example, as the alloys, stainless steel, inconel, and in addition to these, for example, various aluminum-based alloys such as duralumin may be exemplified [0092]. It is well-known that aluminium alloy has a density in a range of 2000 kg/m3 to 3000 kg/m3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takamine’s supporting member with the teaching of Sakuma since such support structure is known in the art and it is well-known that aluminium alloy has a density in a range of 2000 kg/m3 to 3000 kg/m3).
Regarding Claim 74, the sensor package of Claim 73 is taught by Takamine in view of Michel, Barger and Sakuma.
Modified Takamine further teaches wherein the material comprises aluminum (Sakuma teaches a module includes a sensor device, a mounting substrate that has a plurality of mounting faces, a portion between the mounting faces adjacent to each other being foldable, a supporting member having fixing faces, wherein the sensor device is mounted on at least one of the mounting faces, each of the mounting faces is disposed along each of the fixing faces, and the sensor device is disposed on the supporting member side [Abstract]. A constituent material of the supporting member comprising aluminum, or alloys or intermetallic compounds containing at least one kind among these kinds of metal, or oxides of these kinds of metal may be exemplified. For example, as the alloys, stainless steel, inconel, and in addition to these, for example, various aluminum-based alloys such as duralumin may be exemplified [0092]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takamine’s supporting member with the teaching of Sakuma since such support structure is known in the art).
Claims 75-77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamine in view of Michael, Barger and Morita et al. (US 2006/0110086 A1, “Morita”).
Regarding Claim 75, the sensor package of Claim 65 is taught by Takamine in view of Michael and Barger.
Modified Takamina does not teach the sensor package further comprising a filler material disposed in the cavity.
However, Morita teaches the sensor package further comprising a filler material disposed in the cavity [0254].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the filler material such as epoxy resin in Takamine’s cavity in order to provide a sealant and to provide strength.
Regarding Claim 76, the sensor package of Claim 75 is taught by Takamine in view of Michael, Barger and Morita.
Morita further teaches wherein the filler material comprises a non-conductive epoxy [0254].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the filler material such as epoxy resin in Takamine’s cavity in order to provide a sealant and to provide strength.
Regarding Claim 77, the sensor package of Claim 76 is taught by Takamine in view of Michael, Barger and Morita.
Takamine further teaches wherein the support structure includes an injection hole (fig.1-3; element 611h) for injecting the filler material (hole 611h could be used as an injection hole).
Claim 79 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamine in view of Michael and Matsumoto et al. (US 2021/0368625 A1, “Matsumoto”).
Regarding Claim 79, Takamine teaches a sensor package (fig.1-10) comprising: a support structure (3) configured to couple with a vibration source (4) by way of an adhesive portion (3); a cap (6) at least partially disposed over the support structure (shown in fig.1-6), the cap at least partially defining a cavity (shown in fig.1-6); a vibration sensor module (5) coupled to the support structure and disposed in the cavity (shown in fig.1-6 and discussed in [0021]); and a connector (a cable/connector is shown in fig.1-3) coupled to the support structure, the connector configured to connect to a connection line to electrically connect the vibration sensor module to an external substrate or system ([0055]; [0068] disclose power cable to/from the sensor housing).
Takamine does not teach – (i) a stud as support structure; and (ii) the vibration sensor being a microelectromechanical systems (MEMs) vibration sensor module.
As to (i), As to (i), Michael teaches an adjunct device for tracks time and/or dosage of a medicine comprising one or more vibration sensors [Abstract] wherein attachment between the injector and/or device may include a stud and/or an adhesive [0129].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takamine’s attachment with the teaching of Michael and replacing Takamine’s adhesive with Michael’s stud since this is a known alternative in the field of attachment, as depicted in Michael art, which would provide more strength to the sensor package.
As to (ii), Matsumoto teaches a device includes an enclosure assembly and a printed circuit board (PCB) assembly. The enclosure assembly includes a cap, a base mechanically coupled with the cap, and a support bracket mechanically coupled with the base. The PCB assembly includes a processor, a memory coupled with the processor, a first sensor electrically coupled with the processor, a second sensor electrically coupled with the processor, and a communication interface electrically coupled with the processor [Abstract]. The sensor being vibration sensors [0075]. The vibration sensor is a precision triaxial micro-electro-mechanical system (MEMS) accelerometer [0085].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takamine’s vibration sensor with the teaching of Matsumoto since this is a known vibration sensor which is operated with ultra-low power [0086].
Claim 80 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamine in view of Michael, Barger and Hynd et al. (US 8,179,121 B2, “Hynd”).
Regarding Claim 80, the sensor package of Claim 79 is taught by Takamine in view of Michael and Matsumoto.
Modified Takamine does not teach wherein the connector has an integrated electronics piezoelectric (IEPE) interface.
However, Hynd teaches a measuring device comprising a MEMS transducer, an amplification and filtering stage, and a two-wire interface of the IEPE type wherein the connector has an integrated electronics piezoelectric (IEPE) interface (col.8; lines11-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Hynd’s IEPE interface in Takamine’s system since it ensures the static voltage operation point not varying analogously to the parameter to be measured, even if that parameter had significant static value.
Allowable Subject Matter
(i) Claim 66 and Claims 67-68 and 70-71 that are depended on claim 66, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
(ii) Claim 69 would be allowable if amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
(iii) Claim 81 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Limitations of claims 66, 81 are the reasons for allowability.
(iv) Claims 82-84 are allowed.
With regard to Claim 82, the prior arts of the record do not teach or fairly suggest a sensor package comprising, in combination with the other recited elements, a support structure including a base and a carrier, the base having an upper side and a lower side, the carrier disposed on the upper side of the base, the base configured couple with a vibration source by way of a stud; a cap at least partially disposed over the upper side of the base, the carrier disposed in a cavity formed at least in part by the base and the cap.
Claims 83-84 are allowed by virtue of their dependence from Claim 82.
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon, are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ivaska et al. (US 2021/0184385 A1) teaches an electronics assembly which includes a grounding connection, having a housing, a connector, a portion of the connector formed around the housing, a recess portion integrally formed as part of the connector, a substrate located in proximity to the connector, and circuitry mounted to the substrate such that the circuitry is at least partially disposed in a cavity formed as part of the connector [Abstract].
Contact Information
/SUMAN K NATH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855