Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Rejections of claims 8-10 as being indefinite are withdrawn in view of the present amendments,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202019101652 referred to as DE ‘652 herein after and cited in the machine translation provided herein and Soldera Microfabrication and Surface Functionalization of Soda Lime Glass through Direct Laser Interference Patterning provided by the Applicant and referred to as Soldera herein after.
Regarding claims 1, DE ‘652 discloses a method of improved direct laser interference processing DLIP (page 2 Background/ summary) comprising generating an interference pattern, that yields a plurality of furrows or grooves (page 2; summary, Page 4, paragraph 2) with laser radiation from a CO2 laser (Page 8; paragraph 7)
DE ‘652 discloses a surface being manipulated and suggests an optical element but does not specifically state the surface is a “glass surface” as required by claim 1.
In an analogous art of direct laser interference processing Soldera discloses a method of DLIP generating interference patterns on glass (Page 3; paragraphs 1-3), section 3.1 title. It would be obvious to pattern a glass surface as motivated for use as a microelectronic, photovolaics, optical components, biomedical devices as indicated in the Abstract of Soldera.
Regarding claims 2-3, DE ‘625 indicates the intensity maxima creates the furrows/grooves and thus it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the intensity maxima of the laser irradiation as motivated to achieve the desired patterning of the glass surface.
Regarding claims 4-5, Soldera clearly shows in Fig 1 and the description of Fig. 1 that DLIP has a moving glass in two directions (X, Y) (see arrows in Fig. 1a) and a beam path from the laser (Fig 1a) which eventually terminates on the glass surface Fig. 1 a
DE ‘625 further indicates the output radiation can be at an angle of 0-50 degrees with the surface thus moving the laser, radiation or surface relative to one another as motivated to achieve the desired application of radiation for the desired patterning.
Regarding claim 6, Soldera also suggests patterning borosilicate glass (Page 3; line 1). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to attempt a DLIP method on borosilicate glass as motivated to pattern the borosilicate glass.
Regarding claim 7, Soldera discloses Fig 1a of an apparatus with an XY stage capable of accommodating an object with a glass surface
And an optical arrangement of at least the DOE and/or prism and or lens being adapted to generate an interference pattern (Fig 1a and section 2.2) Soldera discloses the laser (Fig 1a) however does not specify the type.
DE ‘625 discloses a CO2 laser is suitable for DLIP processes thus it would be obvious for a skilled artisan to attempt a CO2 laser as the laser irradiation source in the apparatus of Soldera with obvious expectation of success of a functioning DLIP apparatus.
Regarding claims 8-9, the laser patterning taught by both DE ‘625 and Soldera are both considered to change the surface property of the glass by yielding dot or line like patterns (DE ‘625 citations in rejection of claim 1 and line-like or dot like textures Section 2.2 of Soldera). The patterning itself changes the friction, roughness, of the glass which are surface properties of the glass. Anti-fogging (an optical property), hydrophobic and hydrophilic by changing angle contact with liquid, self-cleaning and all of the other properties stated by Introduction in Soldera.
Regarding claim 10, at least patterning to yield microchannels (introduction Soldera) is considered an anisotropic change because they would yield different measurements from different angles, being a pattern of channels.
Claim(s) 1, 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EricT.daCosta et al. Fast production of microfluidic devices by CO2 laser engraving of wax-coated glass slides Electrophoresis 2016, 37, 1691–1695 as provided herein .
Regarding claim 1, da Costa discloses a method of generating an interference pattern of depression, or channels, on a glass surface with a CO2 laser:
channels of different dimensions can be fabricated without significantly cracking the surface of the glass (page 1692; column 2)
Regarding claims 7-8, Da costa necessarily provides something considered a receptacle, for supporting the glass and a CO2 laser with a lens system to put the laser beam on the surface of the glass as is known by a skilled artisan, to carryout the method of generating an interference pattern of depression, or channels, on a glass surface with a CO2 laser:
channels of different dimensions can be fabricated without significantly cracking the surface of the glass (page 1692; column 2)
it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a lens system to the laser as motivated to direct the beam with a desired power and spot size to the area desired on the glass as known by a skilled artisan.
Regarding claim 9, Da costa applies a liquid wax to a surface of the glass
The process is based on the use of paraffin wax, applied to dissipate the heat of the engraving process (page 1692; column 2)
Regarding claims 11-13, Da Costa discloses discloses straight channels or depressions and it would be obvious to modify the method of Da Costa as motivated to apply additional channels parallel to the method of creating a channel disclosed by Da Costa to yields the desired microfluid device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Examiner did not identify a reason why a skilled artisan would combine the teachings of DE ‘652 and Soldera would yield a predictable result.
Examiner disagrees.DE ‘652 disclosesDLIP on a surface of an optical element but does not specifically state the surface is a “glass surface” as required by claim 1.
Soldera discloses a method of DLIP generating interference patterns on glass (Page 3; paragraphs 1-3), section 3.1 title. It would be obvious to pattern a glass surface as motivated for use as an optical component as indicated by Soldera. Thus this above argument is moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JODI COHEN FRANKLIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JODI C FRANKLIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741