Amendments
In the reply filed 8/07/2026, Applicant has cancelled claims 1-20, and added new claims, Claims 21-35.
Claims 21-35 are under consideration.
Withdrawn Claim Objections and Rejections
All of the previous objections and rejection are moot in light of Applicant’s cancelling all of the examined claims.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 21-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 21 appears to be directed to a process comprising culturing ESPCs in a specific media until they reach at least 50% confluence, however, the claim has not clearly set forth positive/active steps for doing so. For example, no active culturing step is recited, and it is unclear if the term “implementing” or phrase “on condition that” are part of the method steps as these terms/phrases are not used in the specification, nor are they defined by the claim. Method claims need not recite all operating details but should at least recite positive, active steps so that the claims will set out and circumscribe a particular area with a reasonable degree of precision and particularity and make clear what subject matter that claims encompass as well as make clear the subject matter from which others would be precluded, Ex parte Erlich, 3 USPQ2d 1011 at 6. Claims 22-35 are included in the basis of the rejection because they too are silent to active culturing steps, and do not clarify the implementation or conditional steps of claim 21.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al., (US 11,028,369, filed 8/12/2016, patented 6/08/2021, prior art of record), in view of Yang et al. (Cell, 2017, 169:243-257) and Wu et a. (WO2014/078414, filed 11/13/2013, published 5/22/2014)
In regard to claim 21, Deng teaches methods of making EPSCs, and suggests their differentiation into somatic cells that can be used to replace damaged organs such as the heart and myocytes thereof (col 20, last two para.). Furthermore, in their non-patent literature publication of Yang (Cell, 2017), Deng et al. demonstrate EPSCs can differentiate into heart tissue vivo, and express the cardiomyocytes developmental marker GATA4 (Fig. 6). Thus, Deng et al. suggest the differentiation of EPSCs into cardiomyocytes, and go on to demonstrate the differentiation of EPSCs into cardiomyocytes in vivo.
However, Deng et al. are silent to a method of differentiating EPSCs into cardiomyocytes in vitro.
In regard to claim 21, Wu teaches method of differentiating pluripotent stem cells into cardiomyocytes with chemically defined media comprising the following steps:
culturing pluripotent cells in E8 media for 4 days (starting at day -4). Wu teaches the E8 maintenance media is serum free and comprises recombinant human insulin, recombinant human FGF2, and recombinant human TGF-beta1 ([0089], see Table 1);
inducing the cultured pluripotent stem cells to differentiate into cardiomyocytes through a small molecule-based phased regulation comprising the steps of adding the GSK-3beta inhibitor CHIR99021 at about 6 mM on day 0. Wu teaches the pluripotent stem cells were allowed to achieve confluence before being treated with the CHIR99021 in RPMI/B27-insulin at day 0 ([0020, 0146]).
adding a Wnt signaling inhibitor such as IWR-1 at about 5 mM on days 3-5 (see Fig 9A, excerpt below). Furthermore, Wu teaches a combination of Wnt inhibitors such as IWR-1 and IWP-2 can be used ([0135, 0155], see Claim 4 of Wu). Specifically, Wu teaches that while IWR-1 stabilized the beta-catenin destruction complex, IWP-2 inhibit the acyltransferase PROCN involved in Wnt production [0164]. MPEP 2144.06 states "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.".
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have practice the method of preparing cardiomyocytes from ESPCs as suggested by Deng, and choose the method of differentiation as taught by Wu with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so as taught by Wu because this method can achieve over 80% TNNT2+ cardiomyocytes (see Fig. 9D).
In regard to claims 22-24, as stated supra, We teaches the pluripotent stem cells were allowed to achieve confluence before treating with the CHIR99021 in RPMI/B27-insulin at day 0.
In regard to claim 25, as shown supra, Wu teaches 4 days culture time in the “transition and transformation” media. Note that Applicant’s specification has not provided a special definition of “transition and transformation”, thus the culturing in the E8 media of Wu has been interpreted as encompassing these processes.
In regard to claim 26, as stated supra, Wu teaches the concentration of CHIR99021 at about 6 mM (see also [0147]).
In regard to claim 27, Wu teaches a range of CHIR99021 can be used for the cardiac differentiation between 6-10 mM for 48 hrs, which triggers canonical Wnt/beta-catenin signaling that leads to the subsequent up-regulation of BMP4 and activin A [0153]. Furthermore, Wu goes on to optimize this range to between 6-8 mM for generating the maximal amount of TNNT2+ cardiomyocytes (see Fig. 10H). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to of about 7.5 mM CHIR99021 for cardiac differentiation of the EPSCs, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In regard to claims 28-29, as stated supra, Wu teaches IWR1 at 5 mM.
In regard to claims 30-31, as stated supra, Wu teaches the Wnt signaling inhibitor IWR1 can be combined with IWP2. In regard to the concentration, Wu teaches an effective does of the Wnt antagonist is about 2 mM [0078]. In regard to claim 31, MPEP 2144.05(I) states that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. In instant case, the concentrations of 2 mM vs 2.5 mM are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.
In regard to claim 32, as stated supra, Wu teaches the treating with CHIR99021 in RPMI/B27-insulin.
In regard to claim 33, as stated and shown supra, Wu suggests GSK-3beta inhibitor CHIR99021 at about 7.5 mM for 2 days, removing the CHRI99021 for 1 day, followed by Wnt antagonists IWR1 at 5 mM and IWP2 at about 2.5 mM for 2 days.
In regard to claims 34 and 35, as shown supra, Wu teaches the culture time during the small molecule-based phased regulation is about 5 days.
Hence, the claimed invention as a whole was prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicants’ arguments filed on 8/07/2026 are acknowledged.
Applicant argues that although Deng teaches EPSCs and suggests that they may be differentiated into cells of the heart, they provide no protocol for doing so.
Furthermore, Applicant argues that although the cited prior art uses a two-step cardiomyocyte differentiation process using CHIR99021 and Wnt antagonists IWR and/or IWP, these are under different contexts, at different concentrations, with different timing, without a confluence requirement, and without an EPSC-specific transition.
Finally, Applicant argues that there would not have been a reasonable expectation of success in applying prior art protocols for the differentiation of standard pluripotent stem cells (hiPSC) to EPSCs. Applicant argues that directed comparison of the standard hiPSC cardiac-differentiation schemes to EPSCs yields cardiomyocyte efficiencies below 10%. By contrast, the claimed transition step, elevated confluence threshold, and dual use of IWR and IWP2 yielded unexpected advantages for EPSC differentiation into cardiomyocytes. Specifically, Applicant argues that Applicant’s specification demonstrates that the claimed method yielded cTnT+ cardiomyocytes with at least 80% efficiency and up to 96.6% efficiency, with enhanced early proliferation ability and maturation compared to hiPSC-derived cardiomyocytes.
Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's arguments, contrary to Applicant’s assertions, the prior art of Wu establishes that the differentiation scheme claimed by Applicant was well-known or at least an obvious variation of cardiac differentiation schemes used in the prior art with stem cells. Specifically, the claimed “transition and transformation” step is not defined by Applicant’s specification, and was conducted in a routine and conventional serum-free media for a well-established period of time. In regard to the density of cells before differentiation, Wu teaches that seeding density was critical for optimizing cardiac differentiation and states “the most efficient differentiations are obtained when cells are seeded at the lowest initial densities that still achieve near confluence after 4 days of culture” ….”Cells must be grown at this rate for successful differentiation” [0146]. Thus, it was known that cells culture conditions “must result in confluence in 4 days”. Finally, in regard to the use of dual IWR and IWP inhibition, as stated supra, Wu teaches and claims a combination of Wnt inhibitors such as IWR-1 and IWP-2 can be used ([0135, 0155], see Claim 4 of Wu). Furthermore, Wu goes on to explain that the use of dual inhibitors function not only to stabilize the beta-catenin destruction complex (i.e., IWR-1), but also inhibit the acyltransferase PROCN involved in Wnt production (i.e., IWP2) [0164]. Thus, the combinations of these two Wnt antagonists together was obvious for a more complete inhibition of Wnt signaling, see MPEP 2144.06 references to In reKerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In reCrockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (Claims directed to a method and material for treating cast iron using a mixture comprising calcium carbide and magnesium oxide were held unpatentable over prior art disclosures that the aforementioned components individually promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron.); Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious); and In re Couvaras, 70 F.4th 1374, 1378-79, 2023 USPQ2d 697 (Fed. Cir. 2023) (That the two claimed types of active agents, GABA-a agonists and ARBs, were known to be useful for the same purpose—alleviating hypertension—alone can serve as a motivation to combine).
Finally, in regard to Applicant’s comparisons between EPSCs vs. standard iPSCs and H9-EPSCs vs. parental H9-ESCs, as a first matter, Applicant has demonstrated that this obvious protocol can be used with both EPSCs and conventional ESCs thereby evidencing that there is nothing particularly critical to Applicant’s method of differentiation with respect to the scope of the rejected claims. In other words, the breadth of the claimed method encompasses any time of EPSCs generated by any method, and the resulting cardiomyocyte can be achieved with any degree of efficiency as measured by any marker. As such any objective evidence of nonobviousness is commensurate in scope with the claims.
In view of the foregoing, when all of the evidence is considered, the totality of the rebuttal evidence of nonobviousness fails to outweigh the evidence of obviousness.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
No claims are allowed.
Examiner Contact Information
/ARTHUR S LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1631