Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 30-32 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 07/06/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of the restriction requirement in the reply filed on 07/06/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the restriction requirement is overcome because claim 1 is amended to overcome the prior art applied and therefore correspond to the same technical feature.
This is not found persuasive because claim 1 does not overcome the prior art Thellier and does not overcome that Group I may be used in a materially different method. The amended claim 1 below is rejected using Thellier below and therefore claim 1 does not include a special feature that overcomes the prior art. Additionally, the applicant does not dispute that group I may be used with a materially different method than group II in the response filed. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s argument that the prior art Thellier does not teach the third arm is fixed or locked relative to the first arm because of the passage “the support can be considered to be a universal support, that is to say, the contact zones of which automatically take the shape of the lower face of any object”. However, Thellier discloses “The positioning of the different branches (and therefore the pads) when the support is empty can be preset by springs or by the existence of friction in the pivot connections as already explained above for a mobile support element comprising only one single pivot link. In particular, the primary bearing branch can be positioned using one or two springs on which it takes support. In particular, the secondary pivot connections can be damped by friction” (Pg 4, last 2 lines to Pg 5, line 3). Thellier teaches that the third arm is locked relative to the first arm during use by friction when the glass is not in contact with the contact surfaces. Therefore, amended claim 1 is rejected below.
Additionally, the applicant argues that Thellier teaches away from fixing the arms relative to one another. However, Thellier merely discloses the reasoning for the design choice to use universal joints between the arms to allow the stand to automatically take the shape of the lower face of any object. Explanation of the reasoning for design choice made in the prior art does not surmount to teaching away alternative designs. Therefore, Thellier does not teach away from fixing the arms relative to one another.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation “the second arm is coupled to first end of the second arm” should read “the second arm is coupled to the first end of the second arm” (ln 2). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7-8, 10, 13, 14, 16, 18-19, 21, & 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thellier (FR 3063286 A1).
Regarding claim 1, the glass support of Thellier teaches a support for a sheet of glass (70, Fig 8), the support comprising:
a first support assembly and a second support assembly (Annotated Fig 7 below);
wherein the first support assembly comprises a first base and a first arm assembly, the first arm assembly comprising a first arm having a first end and a second end opposite the first end thereof, there being at least a first contact surface (52) at each of the first and second ends of the first arm for contacting a first major surface of the sheet of glass when the sheet of glass is supported on the support (Annotated Fig 6(A) below);
the first arm assembly being coupled to the first base by a first coupling for rotation about a first pivot axis, the first coupling being between the first and second ends of the first arm (Annotated Fig 6(A) below; Pg 6, last body);
further wherein the second support assembly comprises a second base and a second arm assembly, the second arm assembly comprising a second arm having a first end and a second end opposite the first end thereof, there being at least a first contact surface (52) at each of the first and second ends of the second arm for contacting the first major surface of the sheet of glass when the sheet of glass is supported on the support (Annotated Fig 6(B) below; Pg 6, last body);
the second arm assembly being coupled to the second base by a second coupling for rotation about a second pivot axis (Annotated Fig 6(B) below); and the second coupling being between the first and second ends of the second arm (Annotated Fig 6(B) below),
wherein the first arm comprises a first portion extending away from the first end of the first arm, and the first contact surface at the first end of the first arm is at an end of the first portion at the end of the first arm (Annotated Fig 6 (A) below);
wherein the first portion at the first end of the first arm comprises a third arm having a first end and an opposite second end (Annotated Fig 6 (A) below);
wherein the third arm is fixed relative to the first arm; or
wherein the third arm is coupled to the first end of the first arm for rotation about a third pivot axis by a coupling that is between the first and second ends of the third arm and in use the coupling is locked such rotation about the third pivot axis is prevented (Pg 7, body 4, ln 4-6; Pg 4, last 2 lines to Pg 5, ln 3; Pg 5, body 2). The third arm is locked relative to the first arm during use by friction when the glass is not in contact with the contact surfaces.
Regarding claim 5, Thellier teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Thellier further teaches the third pivot axis is orthogonal to the first pivot axis and/or wherein the first support assembly is arranged relative to the second support assembly such that the third pivot axis is orthogonal to the second pivot axis (Annotated Fig 6(A) above; Pg 7, body 2).
Regarding claim 7, Thellier teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Thellier further teaches the first arm comprises a second portion extending away from the second end of the first arm, and the first contact surface (52) at the second end of the first arm is at an end of the second portion at the second end of the first arm (Annotated Fig 6(A) above).
Regarding claim 8, Thellier teaches the limitations of claim 7 as described above, Thellier further teaches the second portion at the second end of the first arm is coupled to the second end of the first arm for rotation about a fourth pivot axis (Annotated Fig 6(A) above; Pg 7, body 2).
Regarding claim 10, Thellier teaches the limitations of claim 7 as described above, Thellier further teaches the second portion at the second end of the first arm is coupled to the second end of the first arm for rotation about a fourth pivot axis and the first support assembly is arranged relative to the second support assembly such that the fourth pivot axis is orthogonal to the first pivot axis (Annotated Fig 6(A) above; Pg 7, body 2).
Regarding claim 13, Thellier teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Thellier further teaches the second arm comprises a first portion extending away from the first end of the second arm, and the first contact surface (52) at the first end of the second arm is at an end of the first portion at the first end of the second arm (Annotated Fig 6 (B) above).
Regarding claim 14, Thellier teaches the limitations of claim 13 as described above, Thellier further teaches the first portion at the first end of the second arm is coupled to first end of the second arm for rotation about a fifth pivot axis (Annotated Fig 6(B) above; Pg 7, body 2).
Regarding claim 16, Thellier teaches the limitations of claim 13 as described above, Thellier further teaches the first portion at the first end of the second arm is coupled to first end of the second arm for rotation about a fifth pivot axis (Annotated Fig 6(B) above; Pg 7, body 2) and wherein the fifth pivot axis is orthogonal to the second pivot axis (Annotated Fig 6(B) above; Pg 7, body 2).
Regarding claim 18, Thellier teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Thellier further teaches the second arm comprises a second portion extending away from the second end of the second arm (Annotated Fig 6(B) above), and
wherein the first contact surface (52) at the second end of the second arm is at an end of the second portion at the second end of the second arm (Annotated Fig 6(B) above).
Regarding claim 19, Thellier teaches the limitations of claim 18 as described above, Thellier further teaches wherein the second portion at the second end of the second arm is coupled to the second end of the second arm for rotation about a sixth pivot axis (Annotated Fig 6(B) above; Pg 7, body 2).
Regarding claim 21, Thellier teaches the limitations of claim 18 as described above, Thellier further teaches the second portion at the second end of the second arm is coupled to the second end of the second arm for rotation about a sixth pivot axis and wherein the sixth pivot axis is orthogonal to the second pivot axis (Annotated Fig 6(B) above; Pg 7, body 2).
Regarding claim 24, Thellier teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Thellier further teaches the first base and the second base are integrally formed or wherein the first base and the second base are in mechanical communication (Annotated Fig 7 above).
Regarding claim 25, Thellier teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Thellier further teaches the first and second support assembly comprises a whippletree arrangement (Annotated Fig 6(A) above, Annotated Fig 6 (B) above, Annotated Fig 7 above).
Regarding claim 26, Thellier teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Thellier further teaches the first support assembly and the second support assembly comprises
at least a first damper to reduce the time taken for the support to establish an equilibrium configuration (Pg 4, body 2, ln 19-31). The friction added to pivot connections of the glass holder acts as a damper to maintain a position so that minimal pivoting occurs when a new glass piece is placed, reducing the time for the support to establish an equilibrium configuration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thellier in view of Allen (US Patent 3,788,533 A).
Regarding claim 27, Thellier teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Thellier discloses a first contact surface at the first end of the first arm (Annotated Fig 6(A) above). Thellier does not disclose the first contact surface being provided by a wheel or ball castor. However, the glass plate mount of Allen teaches a first contact surface provided by a ball castor (105+106+107, Fig 12; Col. 2, ln 56-61). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to improve the first contact surface of Thellier with the ball castor of Allen to permit a supported piece of glass to shift freely horizontally with a minimum friction between the glass and the ball castor (Col. 2, ln 56-61).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent 2,890,077 A discloses a pickup device for sheets that utilizes pivoting arms.
EP 3339223 B1 discloses an adjustable workpiece with ball castors.
US Patent 7,628,434 B2 discloses a glass holder with rotatable arms and extended portions with contact surfaces.
EP 0393004 A1 discloses a glass lifting device using pivoting arms.
/RALPH D WILKINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654