Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection based on DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133
Claims 1, 3, 5-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102013018652 A1, machine translation (hereinafter DE 652) in view of Li, S., Li, Y., Lu, Q., Zhu, J., Yao, Y. and Bao, S., 2014. Integrated drying and incineration of wet sewage sludge in combined bubbling and circulating fluidized bed units. Waste Management, 34(12), pp.2561-2566 (hereinafter Li) and WO2018096133A1, machine translation (hereinafter WO 133)
OR
in the alternative, DE 652 in view of Li, WO 133 and US 20120070359 A1 (US 359) OR WO 2008038740 A1, machine translation (WO 740).
Regarding claim 1, DE 652 discloses a process (1) for the combined recovery of phosphate and nitrogen from sewage sludge (DE 652 figure 2 and paragraphs 0001, 0010, 0034, 0051, 0057, 0078, 0083-0084).
DE 652 discloses Stage (1D2): Incinerating sewage sludge from stage (1A2) into sewage sludge ash (see WO 133 paragraph 0006, 0070, 0084, 0121). DE 652 does not disclose Stage (1A2): Drying of the sewage sludge, resulting in vapors rich in NH3 and dried sewage sludge, which occurs prior to the Stage (1D2) incinerating step and then the incinerating step is incinerating the dried sewage sludge.
Li discloses an integrated drying and incineration method and system (see Li abstract, figure 1 and section 2/page 2561-2562). Li discloses that “drying of sewage sludge before incineration can reduce the need for auxiliary fuel in the process of sewage sludge incineration and increase the heat efficiency of the system” (see Li section 1/page 2561). Further, Li discloses that the integrated drying and incineration technique and system for sewage sludge “combines a bubbling fluidized bed dryer and a circulating fluidized bed (CFB) incinerator. In this system, the dried sludge is transported directly into incineration by a screw. There is no dried sludge storage. The technique is compact and reliable as well (see Li section 1/page 2561). Li discloses that the “integrated drying and incineration technique for sewage sludge has the advantages of integrated incineration technology, high moisture content for self-sustaining combustion, direct–indirect indirect combined drying, combustion with high efficiency and low emission of pollutants, and low investment and operating costs” (see Li section 5/page 2565).
Li is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor, i.e. processing sewage sludge and/or dispose of sewage sludge.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify DE 652 by incorporating the integrated drying and incineration method and system, as disclosed in Li, because it would assist with “combustion with high efficiency and low emission of pollutants, and low investment and operating costs” (see Li section 5/page 2565), and/or because “drying of sewage sludge before incineration can reduce the need for auxiliary fuel in the process of sewage sludge incineration and increase the heat efficiency of the system” (see Li section 1/page 2561). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the resulting apparatus to work as the prior art intended, i.e. generate ash from sewage sludge (see Li section 3.2.3/page 2564) which DE 652 needs for stage 1 of the process (see DE 652 paragraph 0013).
Hence, DE 652 in view of Li is deemed to disclose a process (1) for the combined recovery of phosphate and nitrogen from sewage sludge, comprising the following process stages: Stage (1A2): Drying of the sewage sludge, resulting in vapors rich in NH3 and dried sewage sludge; and Stage (1D2): Incinerating the dried sewage sludge from stage (1A2) into sewage sludge ash.
It is noted that DE 652 discloses that nitrogen and phosphate are both known minerals contained in incinerated waste (see DE 652 paragraph 0001). DE 652 in view of Li does not disclose “resulting in vapors rich in NH3”. However, the material(s) and step(s) of DE 652 in view of Li will necessarily result in vapors rich in NH3. The material(s) and step(s) of DE 652 in view of Li appears to be substantially identical to the claimed material(s) and step(s) and thus inherently would possess the claimed functional properties—unless these properties arise from features not yet claimed.
DE 652 in view of Li discloses Stage (1B1): Optional condensing of the NH3-rich vapors from Stage (1A2) (see Li figure 1 and section 2.1/page 2562). Li discloses that after the incinerator, “fluidization gas with steam enters the condenser. …Then the fluidization gas flows into the steam separator” (see Li section 2.1/page 2562). The material(s) and step(s) of DE 652 in view of Li will necessarily result in condensing of the NH3-rich vapors since the material(s) and step(s) of DE 652 in view of Li appears to be substantially identical to the claimed material(s) and step(s). The material(s) and step(s) of DE 652 in view of Li appears to be substantially identical to the claimed material(s) and step(s) and thus inherently would possess the claimed functional properties—unless these properties arise from features not yet claimed. “There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.” See MPEP 2112, II. Thus, the gas entering the condenser will necessarily include the NH3-rich vapors and will result in condensing of said NH3-rich vapors.
DE 652 in view of Li discloses Stage (1D3): Treating the sewage sludge ash from stage (1D2) with phosphoric acid (see DE 652 figure 2, paragraphs 0015-0016, 0034, 0051, 0057, 0128).
DE 652 in view of Li discloses Stage (1D4): Separating the acid-insoluble portion of the treated sewage sludge ash from stage (1D3) to produce an acid-insoluble portion and a filtrate or supernatant in the form of a phosphoric acid-containing liquid (see DE 652 figure 2, paragraph 0017, 0034, 0051, 0057).
DE 652 in view of Li discloses Stage (1D6): Purifying the phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D4) by adding sulfuric acid to the phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D4) so that a calcium sulfate precipitate is recovered and separated, and/or by applying liquid-liquid extraction, resulting in a purified phosphoric acid-containing liquid (see DE 652 figure 2 and paragraphs 0010, 0018, 0020, 0039, 0051, 0057).
DE 652 in view of Li discloses condensed NH3-rich vapors from stage (1B1) (see Li figure 1 and section 2.1/page 2562).
DE 652 in view of Li does not disclose reacting condensed NH3-rich vapors from stage (1B1) with phosphoric acid [H3PO4] in the form of the phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D4), the purified phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D6) and/or the phosphoric acid from stage (1D7) to obtain ammonium phosphate compound and optional separating off of the ammonium phosphate compound obtained.
WO 133 discloses a process for the recovery of nitrogen and phosphorous from wastewater (see WO 133 figure 1, paragraphs 0003, 0013 (WO 133 discloses that it is “desirable to be able to dispose of biological waste … in an economical manner and at the same time to recover the valuable nutrients and valuable materials contained therein and to put them to advantageous and environmentally friendly use in order to close a material cycle for valuable nutrients and valuable materials” (see WO 133 paragraph 0013; see also WO 133 paragraphs 0042, 0058). WO 133 discloses that it is desirable to obtain ammonium phosphate compounds, such as diammonium hydrogen phosphate, to be used as a fertilizer (see WO 133 paragraphs 0022, 0023, 0038). WO 133 discloses the method solves issues of storage and/or disposal of waste, allows valuable nutrients, i.e. nitrogen and phosphate, to be recovered from the waste, produces fertilizer, a valuable product, from the waste, and that the “overall process according to the invention processes biological waste in an economically viable circular process and reduces environmental impacts compared to previous disposal and/or use of biological waste” (see WO 133 paragraphs 0007, 0046).
WO 133 discloses sewage sludge ash is obtained from incineration, (see WO 133 paragraphs 0011, 0023, 00423), discloses an introduction of CO2 gas step (see WO 133 paragraphs 0018-0019), discloses an acidification step (see WO 133 paragraph 0020, 0028), discloses an alkalizing step for the release of ammonia gas/ammonia (see WO 133 paragraph 0021, 0035, 0058 (WO 133 discloses “[A]lkalizing the liquid phase with the release of ammonia [NH3], preferably using CaO or Ca(OH)2 (lime milk)” … “driving off the ammonia [NH3] by heating and/or by applying a vacuum and/or with the aid of an air or steam stream (ammonia stripping)” (see WO 133 paragraph 0021).), discloses a precipitation and separation of calcium phosphate step as well as concentrating phosphoric acid (see WO 133 paragraph 0021, 0028, 0037, 0041-0042, 0044, 0058), discloses reacting the obtained ammonia with phosphoric acid to obtain ammonium phosphate, which is a fertilizer (see WO 133 paragraphs 0021-0023, 0028, 0038, 0044, 0058).
WO 133 is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor, i.e. processing of sewage and/or recovery of nitrogen and/or phosphorous from sewage/waste.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the alkalizing/ammonia stripping step, precipitation/separation & concentrating step and the reacting the obtained ammonia with phosphoric acid to obtain ammonium phosphate steps, as disclosed in WO 133, into the method of DE 652 in view of Li because it would assist with generating a valuable product, i.e. diammonium hydrogen phosphate, to be used as a fertilizer, phosphoric acid and calcium sulfate/gypsum. and/or because it would assist with further processing the condensed ammonia and/or repurposing the condensed gas into a valuable product, i.e. diammonium phosphate fertilizer.
Hence, DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133 is deemed to disclose a process (1) for the combined recovery of phosphate and nitrogen from sewage sludge, comprising the following process stages: Stage (1A2): Drying of the sewage sludge, resulting in vapors rich in NH3 and dried sewage sludge; Stage (1B1): condensing the NH3-rich vapors from Stage (1A2); Stage (1B2): alkalizing of the condensed NH3-rich vapors from stage (1B1) with release of ammonia [NH3], and driving out of the ammonia [NH3] with at least one of (a) heating and (b) by applying a reduced pressure and/or with the aid of an air or steam flow; Stage (1D2): Incinerating the dried sewage sludge from stage (1A2) into sewage sludge ash; Stage (1D3): Treating the sewage sludge ash from stage (1D2) with phosphoric acid; Stage (1D4): Separating the acid-insoluble portion of the treated sewage sludge ash from stage (1D3) to produce an acid-insoluble portion and a filtrate or supernatant in the form of a phosphoric acid-containing liquid; Stage (1D6): Purifying the phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D4) by adding sulfuric acid to the phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D4) so that a calcium sulfate precipitate is recovered and separated, followed by applying ion exchange or Liquid-liquid extraction, resulting in a purified phosphoric acid-containing liquid; and Stage (1E): Reacting at least one of (i) the condensed NH3-rich vapors from stage (1B1) and (ii) the ammonia [NH3] obtained in stage (1B2) with phosphoric acid [H3PO4] from at least one of (aa) the phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D4), (bb) the purified phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D6) and (cc) the phosphoric acid from stage (1D7), to obtain ammonium phosphate compound and optional separating off of the ammonium phosphate compound obtained.
Regarding the remaining steps, i.e. Stage (1A1): Optional disintegration of the sewage sludge; Stage (1D5): recycling of at least a part of the phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D4) for use in stage (1D3); and Stage (1D7): Optional concentrating of at least a part of the purified phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D6) so that phosphoric acid is recovered and separated, it is noted that DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133 is deemed to disclose these optional steps.
DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133 discloses Stage (1A1): Optional disintegration of the sewage sludge (see Li section 2.1/pages 2561-2562(Li discloses that sewage sludge is disintegrated and dried in the dryer component).
DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133 discloses Stage (1D5): recycling at least a part of the phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D4) for use in stage (1D3), wherein in stage (1D5) at least 10% of the phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D4) is recycled for use in stage (1D3), based on a total amount of the phosphoric acid-containing liquid obtained from stage (1D4) (see DE 652 paragraphs 0025, 0033, 0034, 0044, 0050, 0051, 0055, 0057, 0061-0062).
In the alternative, if DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133 does not disclose a “in stage (1D5) at least 10% of the phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D4) is recycled for use in stage (1D3), based on a total amount of the phosphoric acid-containing liquid obtained from stage (1D4)”, then this feature is nonetheless rendered obvious by DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133. There must necessarily be a value within the prior art.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recycle at least 10% of the phosphoric acid-containing liquid, based on a total amount of the phosphoric acid-containing liquid obtained from stage (1D4), in DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133, because it would assist with conserving resources, reduce cost and/or reduce waste. One of ordinary skill in the art would be encouraged to recycle as much of the phosphoric acid-containing liquid in DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133 as possible for at least the reasons of conserving resources, reduce cost and/or reduce waste.
DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133 discloses Stage (1D7): Optional concentrating of at least a part of the purified phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D6) so that phosphoric acid is recovered and separated (see DE 652 paragraph 0063, 0115; WO 133 paragraphs 0042, 0058).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to concentrate at least a part of the purified phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D6) so that phosphoric acid is recovered and separated in the method and system of DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133 because it would assist with recovering a valuable resource, i.e. phosphoric acid, which may be used in earlier steps of the process of DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133 or in another manner, and/or because “the phosphoric acid obtained from the reaction of calcium phosphate with sulfuric acid will be too dilute and will also not be stoichiometrically sufficient to convert the ammonia obtained in step (c) essentially completely to the desired ammonium phosphate compound. It is therefore advantageous according to the invention to increase the concentration of the phosphoric acid obtained in the reaction of calcium phosphate with sulfuric acid and the stoichiometric proportion of phosphoric acid before the reaction with the ammonia. … it is a cost-effective product obtained during the processing of sewage sludge” (see WO 133 paragraph 0042; see also WO 133 paragraph 0058).
It is noted that WO 133 discloses Stage (1D6): Purifying the phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D4) by adding sulfuric acid to the phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D4) so that a calcium sulfate precipitate is recovered and separated, and/or by applying liquid-liquid extraction, resulting in a purified phosphoric acid-containing liquid (see WO 133 paragraphs 0023, 0041).
In the alternative, if DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133 does not disclose “applying ion exchange or Liquid-liquid extraction, resulting in a purified phosphoric acid-containing liquid”, then this feature is nonetheless rendered obvious by US 359.
US 359 discloses a method for producing ammonium phosphate, such as diammonium phosphate, from waste, such as sewage sludge/incinerated sewage sludge ash (see US 359 abstract, paragraphs 0019-0020, 0046). US 359 discloses that “To concentrate acids through evaporation is a very energy-intensive process” (see US 359 paragraph 0012; see also US 359 paragraph 0013). US 359 discloses “extract phosphoric acid into an organic solvent…. Solvents used for purification of phosphoric acid such as ketones, tri-alkyl phosphates and alcohols require high concentrations of phosphoric acid in the feed solution in order to obtain a sufficient high phosphoric acid loading in the organic phase for a liquid-liquid extraction process to be practical. The use of such solvents requires concentration of phosphoric acid by water evaporation prior to phosphoric acid extraction” (see US 359 paragraphs 0041-0042; see also US 359 paragraph 0048).
WO 740 discloses a method and system for recovering high-purity phosphoric acid (see WO 740 abstract). WO 740 discloses “subjecting phosphoric acid-containing water to both cation exchange and anion exchange, subjecting the resulting water to reverse osmosis under the condition of pH of 3 or below, preferably under the conditions of pH of 3 or below and a phosphoric acid concentration of 1 to 15wt%, to transmit acids (except phosphoric acid) and water to a permeating fluid chamber side with phosphoric acid concentrated on a concentrated fluid chamber side, desalting the permeating fluid with an ion exchanger to recover pure water, and evaporating the concentrated fluid with an evaporator to remove volatile components and water and recover a concentrated phosphoric acid solution” (see WO 740 abstract). WO 740 discloses that the method and system achieves high-purity phosphoric acid “at low cost and efficiently, which can be transported in a high concentration liquid state with a simple configuration and operation” (see WO 740 paragraph 0005).
US 359 is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor, i.e. recovery of nitrogen and/or phosphorous and/or processing of sewage and/or recovery of nitrogen and/or phosphorous from sewage/waste.
WO 740 is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor, i.e. processing wastewater to recover phosphorous/phosphoric acid.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the process of US 359, i.e. liquid-liquid extraction, or the process of WO 740, i.e. ion exchange, to purify phosphoric acid in the method of DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133, because it would assist with achieving purified phosphoric acid, because it would assist with achieving high-purity phosphoric acid “at low cost and efficiently, which can be transported in a high concentration liquid state with a simple configuration and operation” (see WO 740 paragraph 0005) and/or because it would assist with purifying and concentrating phosphoric acid at a low energy. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the resulting apparatus to work as the prior art intended, i.e. purify phosphoric acid.
Regarding claim 3, DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of Li, WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of Li, WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, discloses that in stage (1D5), the recycling of the phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D4) for use in stage (1D3) is carried out preferably with at least 20% of the phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D4) being recycled for use in stage (1D3) (see rejection of claim 1; see DE 652 paragraphs 0044, 0050, 0055, 0061-0062).
Regarding claim 5, DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of Li, WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of Li, WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, discloses wherein in stage (1B2), the alkalizing of the condensed NH3-rich vapors from stage (1B1), is carried out by means of addition of NaOH, with further addition of CaO or Ca(OH)2 (milk of lime), and/or with the aid of an air or steam stream (see DE 652 paragraphs 0022, 0109; see WO 133 paragraphs 0021, 0028, 0031).
Regarding claim 6, DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of Li, WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of Li, WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, wherein in stage (1D7), the concentrating of at least a part of the purified phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D6) so that phosphoric acid is recovered and separated is carried out by evaporation (see DE 652 paragraphs 0024, 0034, 0051, 0057, 0115; see WO 133 paragraph 0037, 0042).
Regarding claim 9, DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of Li, WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of Li, WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, wherein in stage (1E) the ammonia obtained in stage (1B2) is reacted with the phosphoric acid, the phosphoric acid used being in the form of the purified phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D6) and/or the phosphoric acid from stage (1D7) (see rejection of claim 1).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102013018652 A1, machine translation (hereinafter DE 652) in view of Li, S., Li, Y., Lu, Q., Zhu, J., Yao, Y. and Bao, S., 2014. Integrated drying and incineration of wet sewage sludge in combined bubbling and circulating fluidized bed units. Waste Management, 34(12), pp.2561-2566 (hereinafter Li) and WO2018096133A1, machine translation (hereinafter WO 133) and WO 2008038740 A1, machine translation (WO 740).
Regarding claim 8, DE 652 in view of Li, WO 133 and WO 740, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, DE 652 in view of Li, WO 133 and WO 740 discloses that in stage (1D6), the purification of the phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D4) by adding the sulfuric acid is followed by a further purification by applying the ion exchange (see rejection of claim 1).
Rejection based on DE 652 in view of CN 061 and WO 133
Claims 1, 3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102013018652 A1 (hereinafter DE 652) in view of CN 107417061 A, machine translation (hereinafter CN 061) and WO2018096133A1 (hereinafter WO 133)
OR
in the alternative, DE 652 in view of CN 061, WO 133 and US 20120070359 A1 (US 359) OR WO 2008038740 A1 (WO 740).
Regarding claim 1, DE 652 in view of WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, discloses all elements of the claimed process (see rejection of claim 1 above) except DE 652 in view of WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, does not disclose Stage (1A2): Drying of the sewage sludge, resulting in vapors rich in NH3 and dried sewage sludge, which occurs prior to the Stage (1D2) incinerating step and then the incinerating step is incinerating the dried sewage sludge.
CN 061 discloses a sewage sludge treatment method and system that makes the sewage sludge harmless, reduce its volume, recover resources and generate energy (see CN 061 paragraph 0004; see also CN 061 paragraph 0019, 0056, 0057 (CN 061 discloses “process involves drying, grinding, and then incinerating the sludge to minimize the adverse effects of sludge moisture or exhaust gas on the safe operation of the cement kiln system, reduce secondary pollution, and ensure the harmless, low-cost, and low-investment treatment of the sludge, which aligns with the direction of sustainable development and circular economy” (see CN 061 paragraph 0056).). CN 061 discloses that the process comprises drying and grinding followed by incineration (see CN 061 paragraphs 0024-0025). CN 061 discloses that the drying and grinding step comprises drying, followed by grinding large pieces into smaller pieces which then undergoes a repeated drying step (see CN 061 paragraphs 0024, 0094 (CN 061 discloses that the “large particles are further ground and then re-enter the vertical sleeve-type dispersing and classifying dryer, repeating the dispersing, classifying, drying, and grinding process until all the sludge is turned into small particles” (see CN 061 paragraph 0094).). CN 061 discloses that the small dried particles then undergo an incineration process to achieve clean discharge (see CN 0025, 0034, 0056, 0095, 0097, 0117).
CN 061 is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor, i.e. processing sewage sludge and/or dispose of sewage sludge.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify DE 652 in view of WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, by incorporating the drying, grinding, drying and incineration process, as discloses in CN 061, because it would assist with processing sewage sludge into ash, which can then be utilized to form valuable products such as fertilizer (see DE 652 paragraphs 0002, 0005, 0008; WO 133 paragraph 0007) or cement (see CN 061 paragraphs 0002, 0004)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify DE 652 in view of WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, by incorporating the drying, grinding, drying and incineration process, as discloses in CN 061, because DE 652 requires ashes resulting from the incineration of sewage sludge (see DE 652 paragraph 0006) but does not provide any guidance on forming said ash and CN 061 provides guidance on forming ashes from the incineration of sewage sludge, wherein the sewage sludge becomes harmless, reduce its volume, recover resources and generate energy (see CN 061 paragraph 0004; see also CN 061 paragraph 0019, 0056, 0057 (CN 061 discloses “process involves drying, grinding, and then incinerating the sludge to minimize the adverse effects of sludge moisture or exhaust gas on the safe operation of the cement kiln system, reduce secondary pollution, and ensure the harmless, low-cost, and low-investment treatment of the sludge, which aligns with the direction of sustainable development and circular economy” (see CN 061 paragraph 0056).).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify DE 652 in view of WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, by incorporating the drying, grinding, drying and incineration process, as discloses in CN 061, and reasonably expect the resulting apparatus to work as the prior art intended, i.e. generate ashes from the incineration of sewage sludge.
Regarding claim 3, DE 652 in view of CN 061 and WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of CN 061, WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, DE 652 in view of CN 061 and WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of CN 061, WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, discloses that in stage (1D5), the recycling of the phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D4) for use in stage (1D3) is carried out preferably with at least 20% of the phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D4) being recycled for use in stage (1D3) (see rejection of claim 1; see DE 652 paragraphs 0044, 0050, 0055, 0061-0062).
Regarding claim 4, DE 652 in view of CN 061 and WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of CN 061, WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, DE 652 in view of CN 061 and WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of CN 061, WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, discloses that the stage (1A1), the disintegration of the sewage sludge is carried out before stage (1A2) (see rejection of claim 1 above; see CN 061 paragraphs 0024, 0036, 0041).
Regarding claim 5, DE 652 in view of CN 061 and WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of CN 061, WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, DE 652 in view of CN 061 and WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of CN 061,WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, discloses wherein in stage (1B2), the alkalizing of the condensed NH3-rich vapors from stage (1B1), is carried out by means of addition of NaOH, with further addition of CaO or Ca(OH)2 (milk of lime), and/or with the aid of an air or steam stream (see DE 652 paragraphs 0022, 0109; see WO 133 paragraphs 0021, 0028, 0031).
Regarding claim 6, DE 652 in view of CN 061 and WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of CN 061, WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, DE 652 in view of CN 061 and WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of CN 061, WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, wherein in stage (1D7), the concentrating at least a part of the purified phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D6) so that phosphoric acid is recovered and separated is carried out by evaporation (see DE 652 paragraphs 0024, 0034, 0051, 0057, 0115; see WO 133 paragraph 0037, 0042).
Regarding claim 9, DE 652 in view of CN 061 and WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of CN 061, WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, DE 652 in view of CN 061 and WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of CN 061, WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, wherein in stage (1E) the ammonia obtained in stage (1B2) is reacted with the phosphoric acid, the phosphoric acid used being in the form of the purified phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D6) and/or the phosphoric acid from stage (1D7) (see rejection of claim 1).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 652 in view of CN 061, WO 133 and WO 2008038740 A1 (WO 740).
Regarding claim 8, DE 652 in view of CN 061 and WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of CN 061, WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, DE 652 in view of CN 061 and WO 133, or in the alternative DE 652 in view of CN 061, WO 133 and US 359 or WO 740, wherein in stage (1D6), the purification of the phosphoric acid-containing liquid from stage (1D4) by adding the sulfuric acid is followed by a further purification by the applying ion exchange (see rejection of claim 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed May 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner's remarks to Applicants' arguments are herein incorporated into the rejections presented above. Additional remarks are represented below.
All but one indefiniteness rejection has been withdrawn.
The obviousness rejections have been maintained.
In the response, it was argued that the cited prior art does not render obvious the claimed “drying the sewage sludge or the disintegrated sewage sludge, resulting in vapors rich in NH3 ... , nor does the combination suggest" ... condensing the NH3-rich vapors from Stage (1A2) ...” (emphasis maintained) (see Response page 9). In the response, it was argued that “Applicant does not find reference in Li (including figure I and section 2.1 thereof) to vapors rich in NH3, much less that drying the sewage sludge in the process of Li results in vapors rich in NH3” (see Response page 9). These arguments are deemed unpersuasive. The Examiner has established that the secondary reference, Li, in combination with the primary reference, DE 652, would necessarily achieve the limitation “resulting in vapors rich in NH3” in stage (1A2) and would necessarily achieve “condensing the NH3-rich vapors” in stage (1B1). The combination of prior art references would necessarily achieve the advantages of the process steps using substantially similar materials. “There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.” See MPEP 2112, II. The materials and steps of DE 652 in view of Li appears to be substantially identical to the claimed materials and steps and thus inherently would possess the claimed functional properties—unless these properties arise from features not yet claimed.
In the response, it was argued that “Office Action fails to state any support for the conclusory statement ( on page 7 of the Office Action) that ‘... the material(s) and (step(s) of DE 652 in view of Li will necessarily result in vapors rich in NH3” and that “Figure 1 and section 2.1 of Li, contrary to the contention ( on page 8) in the Office Action, does not refer at all to vapors rich in NH3, or NH3-rich vapors” (emphasis removed) (see Response pages 9-10). This argument is deemed unpersuasive. As noted above, the materials, as disclosed in DE 652, are substantially identical to the claimed materials. As noted above, the steps, as disclosed in Li, are substantially identical to the claimed steps. Thus, the materials and steps of DE 652 in view of Li will necessarily result in achieving the resulting in vapors rich in NH3 and condensing the NH3-rich vapors. DE 652 in view of Li inherently would possess the claimed functional properties of the claimed process steps, i.e. Stage (1A2): drying the sewage sludge or the disintegrated sewage sludge, resulting in vapors rich in NH3 and dried sewage sludge; and Stage (1B1): condensing the NH3-rich vapors from Stage (1A2)—unless these properties arise from features not yet claimed. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
In the response, it was argued that “Applicant does not find suggestion in Schnee of … a process for the combined recovery of phosphate and nitrogen from sewage sludge, comprising the following process stages: ... Stage (1A2): drying the sewage sludge or the disintegrated sewage sludge, resulting in vapors rich in NH3 ... ; Stage (1B1): condensing the NH3-rich vapors from Stage (1A2); Stage (1B2): alkalizing the condensed NH3-rich vapors from stage (1B1) with release of ammonia [NH3] ...” (see Response pages 10-11). This argument is deemed unpersuasive. The argument incorrectly cites WO 133 as being relied upon to render obvious stages (1A2) and (1B1). As noted above, the materials and steps of DE 652 in view of Li will necessarily result in achieving the resulting in vapors rich in NH3 and condensing the NH3-rich vapors. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art, such as a chemical engineer with a Bachelors of Science, would have the capacity to modify DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133, as established above, to achieve a process (1) for the combined recovery of phosphate and nitrogen from sewage sludge, comprising the following process stages: Stage (1A2): Drying of the sewage sludge, resulting in vapors rich in NH3 and dried sewage sludge; Stage (1B1): condensing the NH3-rich vapors from Stage (1A2); Stage (1B2): alkalizing of the condensed NH3-rich vapors from stage (1B1) with release of ammonia [NH3], and driving out of the ammonia [NH3] with at least one of (a) heating and (b) by applying a reduced pressure and/or with the aid of an air or steam flow.
In the response, it was argued that “Schnee, paragraph [0021 ], as understood, merely proposes ... Step ( c ): alkalinizing the liquid phase with liberation of ammonia [NH3], preferably by means of CaO or Ca(OH)2 (milk of lime), optionally in a mixture with NaOH, and expelling the ammonia [NH3] with heating and/or by applying a reduced pressure and/or with the aid of an air or vapor stream (ammonia stripping)” (see Response page 11). This argument is deemed unpersuasive. WO 133 discloses a process of recovery and discloses the process step for achieving the release of ammonia [NH3] via the alkalizing step. Thus, DE 652 in view of Li and WO 133 would necessarily achieve alkalizing the condensed NH3-rich vapors from stage (1B 1) with release of ammonia [NH3], and driving out of the ammonia [NH3] with at least one of (a) heating and (b) by applying a reduced pressure with or without the aid of an air or steam flow.
In the response, it was argued that the presently claimed process achieves various advantages (see Response page 12). This argument is deemed unpersuasive because evidence of unexpected results, an explanation of how the evidenced offered is unexpected from the prior art and/or criticality of the claimed parameters has not been established. Evidence of unexpected result must establish that “the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance”, “commensurate in scope with the claims” and “applicant must identify the cause of the unexpectedly superior activity or property (compared to the prior art) in the end product and establish a nexus” between the unexpected results and the claimed features (see MPEP 716.02(b)). The evidence offered does not establish that the results disclosed in Applicant’s specification are unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance and is not commensurate in scope with the claims. Further, the “arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record” (see MPEP 716.01, C, II).
Other Applicable Prior Art
All other art cited not detailed above in a rejection is considered relevant to at least some portion or feature of the current application and is cited for possible future use for reference. Applicant may find it useful to be familiar with all cited art for possible future rejections or discussion.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BERNADETTE KAREN MCGANN/Examiner, Art Unit 1773
/BENJAMIN L LEBRON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1773