DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
REJECTIONS WITHDRAWN
All previous rejections have been withdrawn.
REJECTIONS REPEATED
There are no rejections repeated.
NEW REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because claim 1 recites the limitation, “wherein each of the layers, when seen orthogonally to a plane of the layer, has a 2D shape, at least some of the layers within the protective packaging product have different 2D shapes allowing to obtain a final and specific 3D shape of the protective packaging product by means of stacking the layers one above the other.” The final and specific 3D shape is not defined and it is not clear how a shape can be specific if the shape is not defined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (US 6,083,586) in view of Wu et al. (US 5,757418).
Andersen discloses a protective packaging product (see inter alia column 42, lines 31-33), comprising a plurality of stacked layers (see from column 40, line 56 to column 42, line 3; see also column 42, lines 21-31), at least some layers being adhered to an adjacent layer, at least some layers are made of a polysaccharide material (starch, paper, cellophane, see column 41, lines 5-17), and that adjacent polysaccharide layers are adhered to each other by means of a polysaccharide bonding material (see column 41, lines 41-42: vegetable starch-based adhesives).
Andersen also discloses that some layers may be a foamed polysaccharide material (see column 26, lines 4-36), corrugated layers (see figure 7, see column 42, line 4 to 51), and paper layers (column 41, lines 14-15). Andersen also discloses the bonding of the polysaccharide layers by dissolving a surface area of at least one polysaccharide material layer (see column 41, lines 25-31) and wherein at least two of the layers (12) are different in density (since all of the materials disclosed have different densities, column 41, lines 5-17), wherein at least two of the layers (12) have orthotropic properties with an orthotropic axis (22), the layers (12) preferably being arranged such that the orthotropic axis (22) are parallel, at an angle of 45°, or at an angle of 90° (since fiber reinforced composites are disclosed).
Andersen does not disclose wherein each of the layers, when seen orthogonally to a plane of the layer, has a 2D shape, at least some of the layers within the protective packaging product have different 2D shapes allowing to obtain a final and specific 3D shape of the protective packaging product by means of stacking the layers one above the other.
Wu discloses wherein each of the layers, when seen orthogonally to a plane of the layer, has a 2D shape, at least some of the layers within the protective packaging product have different 2D shapes allowing to obtain a final and specific 3D shape of the protective packaging product by means of stacking the layers one above the other, since Wu discloses a packaging material wherein at least some of the layers have different 2D shapes and has a final 3D shape (Fig. 1d, column 6, lines 52-63) in a package for the purpose of providing improved shelf life (column 1, lines 10-17).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided wherein at least some of the layers within the protective packaging product have different 2D shapes allowing to obtain a final and specific 3D shape of the protective packaging product in Andersen in order to provide improved shelf life as taught or suggested by Wu.
9. Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andersen et al. (US 6,083,586) in view of Wu et al. (US 5,757418), as applied to claims 1-6 and 8-10 above, and further in view of Eitermoser et al. (US 2016/0264279).
Modified Andersen does not disclose wherein it comprises at least one solid insert made from wood.
Eitermoser discloses at least one solid insert made from wood (paragraph [0040]) in cardboard food packaging (paragraph [0001]) for the purpose of providing improved stiffening (paragraph [0040]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided at least one solid insert made from wood in modified Andersen in order to provide improved stiffening as taught or suggested by Eitermoser.
ANSWERS TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
10. Applicant’s arguments of 7/6/26 have been carefully considered but are deemed unpersuasive.
Applicant has argued, “The indefiniteness rejection is respectfully traversed. It is respectfully submitted that the Examiner's analysis fails to take into account the overall context defined in claim 1. Claim 1 covers a packaging product made up of stacked layers. Layers are typically relatively thin and therefore have an overall two-dimensional shape. By stacking multiple two-dimensional layers with different two-dimensional shapes, one then obtains a specific shape of the three-dimensional product formed therefrom. No lack of clarity has been found in claim 1.”
However, it is not clear how a shape can be specific if the shape is not defined.
Applicant has argued, “Wu relates to a corrugated cardboard packaging box. A gas-impermeable polymer layer is incorporated into the corrugated cardboard. Apparently, the Examiner is of the view that the corrugated cardboard is made of layers that have different 2D shapes, namely the flat outer layers and the corrugated inner layer. It is respectfully submitted, however, that the different types of layers in the corrugated cardboard do not influence the specific 3D shape of the protective packaging product, i.e., the packaging carton.
Furthermore, it is respectfully submitted that one of ordinary skill in the art would have no reason to apply Wu's technology to Andersen's corrugated starch layers. A key element of Wu's invention is the use of a more or less gas-impermeable film. Applying this technology would compromise the material purity of the starch in Andersen's technology.
This applies even more to claim 1 as amended, which clarifies that the layers have different 2D shapes in the top view, and that the specific 3D shape of the final product is created by stacking these layers. In the top view, the corrugated cardboard layers of Wu's invention do not have different 2D shapes, and the specific 3D shape of Wu's packaging carton is not achieved by stacking the corrugated cardboard layers.”
However, the individual layers of Wu influence the specific 3D shape of the protective packaging product because the final shape is flat just like some of the stacked layers of Wu. Furthermore, the modification is not include or exclude the materials of Wu in Andersen but is to include the shapes of the layers of Wu in Andersen for the purpose of providing improved shelf life.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL C MIGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
MCM
September 3, 2026