DETAILED ACTION
REJECTIONS WITHDRAWN
All previous rejections have been withdrawn.
REJECTIONS REPEATED
There are no rejections repeated.
NEW REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because claim 1 recites the limitation, “wherein at least some of the layers within the protective packaging product have different 2D shapes allowing to obtain a final and specific 3D shape of the protective packaging product.” The final and specific 3D shape is not defined and it’s not clear what the relationship between the 2D shapes and the 3D shape are? For purposes of examination, any reference that discloses a packaging material wherein at least some of the layers have different 2D shapes and has any final 3D shape reads on said limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (US 6,083,586) in view of Wu et al. (US 5,757418).
Andersen discloses a protective packaging product (see inter alia column 42, lines 31-33), comprising a plurality of stacked layers (see from column 40, line 56 to column 42, line 3; see also column 42, lines 21-31), at least some layers being adhered to an adjacent layer, at least some layers are made of a polysaccharide material (starch, paper, cellophane, see column 41, lines 5-17), and that adjacent polysaccharide layers are adhered to each other by means of a polysaccharide bonding material (see column 41, lines 41-42: vegetable starch-based adhesives).
Andersen also discloses that some layers may be a foamed polysaccharide material (see column 26, lines 4-36), corrugated layers (see figure 7, see column 42, line 4 to 51), and paper layers (column 41, lines 14-15). Andersen also discloses the bonding of the polysaccharide layers by dissolving a surface area of at least one polysaccharide material layer (see column 41, lines 25-31) and wherein at least two of the layers (12) are different in density (since all of the materials disclosed have different densities, column 41, lines 5-17), wherein at least two of the layers (12) have orthotropic properties with an orthotropic axis (22), the layers (12) preferably being arranged such that the orthotropic axis (22) are parallel, at an angle of 45°, or at an angle of 90° (since fiber reinforced composites are disclosed).
Andersen does not disclose wherein at least some of the layers within the protective packaging product have different 2D shapes allowing to obtain a final and specific 3D shape of the protective packaging product.
Wu discloses wherein at least some of the layers within the protective packaging product have different 2D shapes allowing to obtain a final and specific 3D shape of the protective packaging product, since Wu discloses a packaging material wherein at least some of the layers have different 2D shapes and has any final 3D shape (Fig. 1d, column 6, lines 52-63) in a package for the purpose of providing improved shelf life (column 1, lines 10-17).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided wherein at least some of the layers within the protective packaging product have different 2D shapes allowing to obtain a final and specific 3D shape of the protective packaging product in Andersen in order to provide improved shelf life as taught or suggested by Wu.
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andersen et al. (US 6,083,586) in view of Wu et al. (US 5,757418), as applied to claims 1-6 and 8-10 above, and further in view of Eitermoser et al. (US 2016/0264279).
Modified Andersen does not disclose wherein it comprises at least one solid insert made from wood.
Eitermoser discloses at least one solid insert made from wood (paragraph [0040]) in cardboard food packaging (paragraph [0001]) for the purpose of providing improved stiffening (paragraph [0040]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided at least one solid insert made from wood in modified Andersen in order to provide improved stiffening as taught or suggested by Eitermoser.
ANSWERS TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments of 4/2/26 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds for rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL C MIGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
MCM
May 3, 2026