DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filled on 05/25/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 29, 57-59, 61, 62, 64-66, 69, 71, and 85 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments filed on 05/25/2026 have been fully considered and but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection(s)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,6,8-10,29-31,34,36-38,57-59,62,64-66,85-87,90,92-94 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over "Cooperative game-theoretic power allocation algorithm for target detection in radar network" in view of DUNWORTH to (US20190222326A1) further in view of Hope to (US 20150042505 A1)
Regarding claims 1,29,57,85 "Cooperative game-theoretic power allocation algorithm for target detection in radar network" teaches a method of generating a sensing headroom report (HR) by a first device in a wireless network, comprising: transmitting a radio detection and ranging (radar) wireless signal on a wireless medium (Section 2, page 1, lines 2-4, "The ith radar receives the echoes from the target due to its transmitted signals") at a first transmit power from one or more transmit chains of the first device; (section 2, page 2, formula “3” discloses transmission power of radar signal) sensing the radar wireless signal; (Section 2, page 1, lines 2-4, "The ith radar receives the echoes from the target due to its transmitted signals")
generating a sensing HR based on sensing the radar wireless signal; (Section 2,
page 2, left-hand column, formula “3” discloses calculating SINR received at ith radar, Section 2, page 2, left-hand column, lines 5-6, "Each radar can independently detect the
target and send its received signals to the fusion center which takes a
decision")
"Cooperative game-theoretic power allocation algorithm for target detection in radar network" does not explicitly teach providing the sensing HR to a network entity in the wireless network, wherein the sensing HR is generated based on a measurement obtained from sensing the radar wireless signal at the first device
However, DUNWORTH teaches providing the sensing HR to a network entity in the wireless network( [0106] discloses an MPE measurement may be made using a frequency modulated continuous wave radar measurement.. the radar signal may sweep the signal in frequency over a wide bandwidth and may radiate in the band in which the UE will communicate with a base station. [0089] discloses the UE transmits, to a base station, a request to perform a power amplifier characterization… This request may be indicated via power headroom (PHR) reporting by the UE)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of "Cooperative game-theoretic power allocation algorithm for target detection in radar network" include providing the sensing HR to a network entity in the wireless network, as suggested by DUNWORTH. This modification would benefit the system to reduce signal interference (see, DUNWORTH ,[0134]).
"Cooperative game-theoretic power allocation algorithm for target detection in radar network" and DUNWORTH does not explicitly teach wherein the sensing HR is generated based on a measurement obtained from sensing the radar wireless signal at the first device
However, Hope teaches wherein the sensing HR is generated based on a measurement obtained from sensing the radar wireless signal at the first device([0016] discloses receiving the sweeping radar signal, b) establishing successively signal vectors between the vessel and respective positions of the detector devices as the radar signal by its rotational sweep successively hit the respective detector units, ..angular distribution between signal vectors, mutual spacing between signal vectors, the signal quality of the received signals and the signal strength of the received signals,..)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of "Cooperative game-theoretic power allocation algorithm for target detection in radar network" and DUNWORTH include wherein the sensing HR is generated based on a measurement obtained from sensing the radar wireless signal at the first device, as suggested by. This modification would benefit the system as a design choice.
Regarding claims 2,30,58,86 "Cooperative game-theoretic power allocation algorithm for target detection in radar network" does not explicitly teach wherein sensing the radar wireless signal includes sensing the radar wireless signal directly from at least one of the one or more transmit chains of the first device, wherein a measured self-interference (SI) power of the sensed radar wireless signal corresponds to the radar wireless signal sensed directly from the at least one of the one or more transmit chains of the first device
However, DUNWORTH teaches wherein sensing the radar wireless signal includes sensing the radar wireless signal directly from at least one of the one or more transmit chains of the first device, wherein a measured self-interference (SI) power of the sensed radar wireless signal corresponds to the radar wireless signal sensed directly from the at least one of the one or more transmit chains of the first device([0134] discloses UEs to perform MPE measurement in a particular resource in order to reduce a level of interference to the MPE measurement of each UE)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of "Cooperative game-theoretic power allocation algorithm for target detection in radar network" include wherein sensing the radar wireless signal includes sensing the radar wireless signal directly from at least one of the one or more transmit chains of the first device, wherein a measured self-interference (SI) power of the sensed radar wireless signal corresponds to the radar wireless signal sensed directly from the at least one of the one or more transmit chains of the first device, as suggested by DUNWORTH. This modification would benefit the system to reduce signal interference (see, DUNWORTH, [0134]).
Regarding claims 3,31,59,87 the combination of "Cooperative game-theoretic power allocation algorithm for target detection in radar network" and DUNWORTH and Hope teaches wherein the sensing HR includes an indication of a sensing headroom, wherein the sensing headroom is a difference between the SI power and a maximum SI power for sensing(DUNWORTH,[0089] discloses The UE may then request that the base station schedule a calibration gap for the UE to perform the power amplifier characterization. This request may be included in information transmitted to the base station, such as in a control message. This request may be indicated via power headroom (PHR) reporting by the UE as further described herein with respect to …[0091] discloses the UE may receive control information indicating to perform power amplifier characterization).
Regarding claims 6,34,62,90 the combination of "Cooperative game-theoretic power allocation algorithm for target detection in radar network" and DUNWORTH and Hope teaches wherein the sensing HR includes an indication of a power headroom (PH) for sensing, (DUNWORTH,[0089] …indicated via power headroom (PHR) reporting by the UE ) wherein the PH for sensing is a difference between a maximum transmit power for sensing and a desired transmit power for sensing; an aggregate report indicating a plurality of power measurements over multiple sensing attempts; or a combination thereof(DUNWORTH,[0167] discloses transmitting a rise-over-thermal threshold for the MPE measurement, means for transmitting a maximum receiving power at which an MPE use may be received at the base station, means for transmitting a scheduled period for the MPE measurement to a user equipment, and means for grouping a plurality of UEs to perform the MPE measurement in the system gap).
Regarding claims 8,36,64,92 the combination of "Cooperative game-theoretic power allocation algorithm for target detection in radar network" and DUNWORTH and Hope teaches The method of claim 6, wherein the desired transmit power for sensing is one of: a transmit power for sensing determined by the first device; or a requested transmit power, (DUNWORTH,[0089] discloses The UE may then request that the base station schedule a calibration gap for the UE to perform the power amplifier characterization. This request may be included in information transmitted to the base station, such as in a control message. This request may be indicated via power headroom (PHR) reporting by the UE as further described herein with respect to …[0091] discloses the UE may receive control information indicating to perform power amplifier characterization)wherein an indication of the requested transmit power is obtained from one of: a radar server of the wireless network, wherein the first device is a base station; a base station serving the first device, wherein the first device is a user equipment (UE); or a relay UE, wherein the first device is a UE within range of the relay UE(DUNWORTH,[0089] discloses The UE may then request that the base station schedule a calibration gap for the UE to perform the power amplifier characterization).
Regarding claims 9,37,65,93 the combination of "Cooperative game-theoretic power allocation algorithm for target detection in radar network" and DUNWORTH and Hope teaches obtaining a request by a radar server of the wireless network to adjust a present transmit power for sensing, wherein the adjustment is based on the sensing HR([0146] discloses the UE adjusts a transmission characteristic of the user equipment when the measurement meets the threshold. The UE may reduce a transmission power and/or switch antenna elements for transmission in order to comply with MPE limits. In another example, the threshold may indicate that there is no potential problematic exposure condition for a person. In this example, the UE may adjust the transmission characteristic at 1918 by increasing the transmission power and/or switching to a more preferred antenna element) .
Regarding claims 10,38,66,94 the combination of "Cooperative game-theoretic power allocation algorithm for target detection in radar network" and DUNWORTH and Hope teaches wherein providing the sensing HR to the network entity includes one of: unicasting the sensing HR to a second device in the wireless network; broadcasting the sensing HR to the second device; ([0126] Discloses a unicast RRC message may be used to indicate to MPE-measuring devices when the devices can or cannot make a measurement in the cell specific resource. In one example, the indication may limit, or otherwise reduce, the use of the resource for MPE measurement).
Claim(s) 13, 15,41,43,69,71,97, and 99 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over "Cooperative game-theoretic power allocation algorithm for target detection in radar network" in view of DUNWORTH to (US 20190222326 A1) and Hope further in view of Yi to (US20210045070)
Regarding claims 13,41,69,97 the combination of "Cooperative game-theoretic power allocation algorithm for target detection in radar network" and DUNWORTH and Hope does not explicitly teach further comprising obtaining a trigger to provide the sensing HR, wherein: the trigger is obtained in one of: downlink control information (DCI) on a NR-Uu interface to a base station serving the first device; or sidelink control information (SCI) on a NR-based sidelink; the sensing HR is provided to the network entity in response to obtaining the trigger; and the trigger is based on a request from a radar server of the wireless network for the sensing HR from the first device
However, Yi teaches obtaining a trigger to provide the sensing HR, wherein: the trigger is obtained in one of: downlink control information (DCI) on a NR-Uu interface to a base station serving the first device; ([0351] Discloses when a wireless device supports more than one power control processes for a cell, the wireless device may report an actual PH value of the cell based on a power control process determined based on a scheduling DCI or parameters of a configured grant) the sensing HR is provided to the network entity in response to obtaining the trigger; ([0358] discloses …in response to a triggering of a power headroom report (PHR), a wireless device may determine a PH value for each activated cell of both a first CG and a second CG ) and the trigger is based on a request from a radar server of the wireless network for the sensing HR from the first device([0333] discloses … if a PHR procedure determines that at least one PHR has been triggered and not cancelled and/or if allocated UL resources accommodate at least one PHR (e.g., a MAC CE for the PHR which the MAC entity is configured to transmit, plus its subheader, as a result of logical channel prioritization), at least one PHR to a base station)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of "Cooperative game-theoretic power allocation algorithm for target detection in radar network" and DUNWORTH and Hope include obtaining a trigger to provide the sensing HR, wherein: the trigger is obtained in one of: downlink control information (DCI) on a NR-Uu interface to a base station serving the first device; or sidelink control information (SCI) on a NR-based sidelink; the sensing HR is provided to the network entity in response to obtaining the trigger; and the trigger is based on a request from a radar server of the wireless network for the sensing HR from the first device, as suggested by Yi. This modification would benefit the system to reduce signal interference.
Regarding claims 15,43,71,99 the combination of "Cooperative game-theoretic power allocation algorithm for target detection in radar network" and DUNWORTH and Hope does not explicitly teach further comprising obtaining an indication of one or more parameters for generating the sensing HR; wherein: the indication is obtained in a media access control layer control element (MAC-CE) on a NR-Uu interface to a base station serving the first device or on a NR-based sidelink; and configuration of the one or more parameters is persisted for one or more sensing HRs until another indication of the one or more parameters is obtained
However, Yi teaches obtaining an indication of one or more parameters for generating the sensing HR; ([0368] discloses based on slot formation information and/or other configuration parameters, a wireless device may transmit a PUSCH to the second cell at a same time where a PUSCH with the PHR to the first base station may overlap. Fifth, a previous PUSCH may occur with a certain duration from a time u (e.g., within twice of a duration D). The wireless device may utilize a previous PUSCH of the second cell in determining an actual PH value) wherein: the indication is obtained in a media access control layer control element (MAC-CE) on a NR-Uu interface to a base station serving the first device ([0333] discloses … if a PHR procedure determines that at least one PHR has been triggered and not cancelled and/or if allocated UL resources accommodate at least one PHR (e.g., a MAC CE for the PHR which the MAC entity is configured to transmit, plus its subheader, as a result of logical channel prioritization), at least one PHR to a base station) and configuration of the one or more parameters is persisted for one or more sensing HRs until another indication of the one or more parameters is obtained([0370] discloses a wireless device may provide additional information to a first base station (for a first CG) in response to transmission of a PHR reporting, to the first base station, comprising one or more PH values of one or more cells of a second CG associated with a second base station)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of "Cooperative game-theoretic power allocation algorithm for target detection in radar network" and DUNWORTH and Hope include obtaining an indication of one or more parameters for generating the sensing HR; wherein: the indication is obtained in a media access control layer control element (MAC-CE) on a NR-Uu interface to a base station serving the first device or on a NR-based sidelink; and configuration of the one or more parameters is persisted for one or more sensing HRs until another indication of the one or more parameters is obtained, as suggested by Yi. This modification would benefit the system to reduce signal interference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5,33,61,89 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461