DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeon (KR 100970546 B1).
Claim 1, Jeon discloses at least two sub-chambers (14a, 14b), each having an opening (16a, 16b) to a mixing chamber (21);
At least one outer covering (24) of said sub-chambers (14a, 14b); and
a removable cap (17) to cover the mixing chamber;
wherein said mixing chamber allows for contents of at least some sub-chambers to interact with at least some remaining sub-chambers (FIG 3-5)
wherein the storage device has an outer shape comprising a conventional tube (11);
wherein the storage device is adapted to allow the at least two sub-chambers to be unequal in volume (Page 2; the sub compartments can be filled separately and of different amounts);
wherein the outer covering of said sub-chambers is adapted to equalize pressure on the sub-chambers (24; [0045]).
Claim 5, Jeon discloses wherein said sub-chambers comprise a pressure-equalizing reversibly deformable material ([0061]; 11).
Claim 8, Jeon discloses wherein said cap (25a) includes an aperture to receive said mixing chamber (21; FIG 3)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon , as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Hatakeyama (JP H08164954 A).
Claim 6, Jeon substantially discloses the apparatus as claimed above but is silent on an additional covering substrate for both sub-chambers.
Hatakeyama teaches an additional covering substrate for both sub-chambers ([0013]; 1-4; FIG 1-3, 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jeon with covering as taught by Hatakeyama in order to securely hold the inner tubes while maintain the volume without having to be enlarged.
Claim(s) 2-4, 7, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Tsujita (JP 2001018997 A).
Claim 2, Jeon substantially discloses the apparatus as claimed above but is silent on comprising a mixing nozzle.
Tsujita teaches a mixing nozzle ([0015]; 2; FIG 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jeon with mixing nozzle as taught by Tsujita in order to provide good mixing efficiency of the fluidic contents.
Claim 3, the modified apparatus of Jeon teaches wherein the mixing nozzle comprises interior features to decrease velocity of liquid flow through the nozzle ([0021] to [0023]; FIG 3).
Claim 4, the modified apparatus of Jeon teaches wherein said mixing nozzle further comprises a helical mixing tool ([0021] to [0023]; 2; FIG 3).
Claim 7, the modified apparatus of Jeon teaches wherein said mixing nozzle is reversibly attached to the mixing chamber ([0024]; FIG 1).
Claim 9, the modified apparatus of Jeon teaches a box that receives the storage device and the nozzle ([0064]; 13; FIG 10).
Claim 10, the modified apparatus of Jeon teaches wherein said nozzle includes reversibly deformable internal structures to decrease velocity of flow of liquid traversing the nozzle ([0026]; 2; FIG 3).
Claim(s) 11, 13, 16, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of Tsujita.
Claim 11, Jeon discloses providing a first and a second sub-chamber (14a, 14b);
filling the first sub-chamber with a first solution (27);
filling the second sub-chamber with a second solution (278);
adding an external covering to the combined two sub-chambers (24);
adding an aperture in each sub chamber (16a, 16b)
covering said apertures (24);
attaching a mixing chamber (21) to the covered apertures; and
wherein each sub-chamber is reversibly deformable and said aperture covering is removable ([0061]; FIG 3-5);
wherein the storage device has an outer shape comprising a conventional tube (11);
wherein the storage device is adapted to allow the at least two sub-chambers to be unequal in volume (Page 2; the sub compartments can be filled separately and of different amounts);
wherein the outer covering of said sub-chambers is adapted to equalize pressure on the sub-chambers (24; [0045]).
But is silent on providing a mixing nozzle adapted to be reversibly fastened to the mixing chamber.
Tsujita teaches a mixing nozzle ([0015] to [0016]; [0021] to [0024]; 2; FIG 1-3) adapted to be reversibly fastened to the mixing chamber.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jeon with mixing nozzle as taught by Tsujita in order to provide good mixing efficiency of the fluidic contents.
Claim 13, the modified apparatus of Jeon teaches placing the container in a box (Tsujita: FIG 10; [0064]).
Claim 16, Jeon discloses attaching a cap (25a) wherein said cap covers said mixing chamber (21; FIG 3).
Claim 19, Jeon discloses wherein said sub-chambers (14a, 14b) comprise different volumes of corresponding solutions (27, 28; the chambers are inherently capable during normal use of holding differing volumes in order to achieve the desired mix ratio).
Claim(s) 12, 14-15, 17-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon and Tsujita as applied to claims 11 above, and further in view of Hatakeyama.
Claim 12, Jeon substantially discloses the apparatus as claimed above but is silent on adding an external covering to the combined two sub-chambers.
Hatakeyama teaches adding an external covering ([0013]; FIG 1-3, 6) to the combined two sub-chambers.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jeon with covering as taught by Hatakeyama in order to securely hold the inner tubes while maintaining the volume without having to be enlarged in addition to providing a display for product name, contents or label.
Claim 14, the modified apparatus of Jeon teaches wherein said external covering comprises printed indicia (Hatakeyama: [0024]).
Claim 15, the modified apparatus of Jeon teaches wherein said external covering distributes pressure between the sub-chambers (Hatakeyama: [0024]; 2-4; FIG 8).
Claim 17, the modified apparatus of Jeon teaches adding identifying indicia to said external covering (Hatakeyama: [0024]).
Claim 18, the modified apparatus of Jeon teaches wherein said identifying indicia includes a lot number and an expiration date (Hatakeyama: [0024]; Non-Functional Printed matter does not distinguish over the prior art, See MPEP 2111.05).
Claim 20, the modified apparatus of Jeon teaches wherein said external covering comprises a window ([Hatakeyama: 0013]; 2-4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Arguments regarding newly amended claims are addressed in the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JEREMY W. CARROLL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/Jeremy Carroll/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754