DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-3 and 14 in the reply filed on 23 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-13 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected preparation method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 23 April 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations "on surface of the active substance" in line 2, “on surface of the active substance” in line 3, and “on surface of the buffer layer” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. In order to advance prosecution, the examiner is interpreting the limitations as "on a surface of the active substance", "on the surface of the active substance" and “on a surface of the buffer layer”, respectively.
Claims 2-3 and 14 are rejected as being dependent upon above rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuan CN112374482A (using machine English translation provided; cited in IDS filed 14 August 2023.
Regarding claim 1, Yuan discloses an anode material (Yuan, Fig. 1), comprising
an active substance (Yuan, Fig. 1, SiOx), and
a buffer layer (Yuan, Fig. 1, LiF) and a carbon layer (Yuan, Fig. 1, C) both on a surface of the active substance (Yuan, Fig. 1, SiOx, LiF, C),
wherein the buffer layer is formed on the surface of the active substance (Yuan, [0046], Fig. 1, SiOx, LiF),
and the carbon layer comprises an amorphous carbon material (Yuan, [0010]) on a surface of the buffer layer (Yuan, Fig. 1, LiF, C),
and a carbon nano-material extending in a direction toward and/or away from the buffer layer (Yuan, [0051], SWCNTs).
Regarding claim 2, Yuan also discloses comprising at least one of the following features (1) to (16): (1) the carbon nano-material extends to the buffer layer in a direction toward the buffer layer (Yuan, Fig. 1, LiF, C), (3) the carbon nano-material is connected to the amorphous carbon material and the buffer layer (Yuan, [0051]), (5) the carbon nano-material comprises at least one of carbon nanotube (Yuan, [0051]), (6) the carbon nano-material has at least one shape of a linear shape, a tubular shape (Yuan, [0051]), (10) the buffer layer comprises at least one of alkali metal halide (Yuan, Fig. 1, LiF), (11) the buffer layer comprises at least one of LiF (Yuan, Fig. 1, LiF), (16) the buffer layer comprises at least one of LiF (Yuan, Fig. 1, LiF).
Regarding claim 14, Yuan additionally discloses a lithium ion battery (Yuan, [0019-0020]), comprising the anode material according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan CN112374482A (using machine English translation provided; cited in IDS filed 14 August 2023.
Regarding claim 3, Yuan additionally discloses comprising at least one of the following features (1) to (12): (1) the active substance comprises a SiOx material, wherein 0<x<2 (Yuan, [0021], x < 1), which is rendered obvious over the range of at least 0 < x <1, (2) the active substance comprises a SiOx material, wherein 0.8<x<1.5 (Yuan, [0021], x < 1), which is rendered obvious over the range of at least 0.8 < x < 1, (5) the buffer layer accounts for 0.05% to 20% by mass of the anode material (Yuan, [0042], 0.5, 5 to 10% by mass), which is rendered obvious over the range of 0.5 to 10% by mass, at least. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yano US20100119949A1 (discloses an anode material, comprising an active substance, and a carbon layer both on surface of the active substance, and the carbon layer comprises an amorphous carbon material, and a carbon nano-material extending in a direction toward and/or away from the buffer layer),
Kim KR20150075207A (discloses an anode material, comprising an active substance, and a buffer layer and a carbon layer both on surface of the active substance, wherein the buffer layer is formed on surface of the active substance, and the carbon layer comprises an amorphous carbon material on surface of the buffer layer, and a carbon nano-material extending in a direction toward and/or away from the buffer layer),
Lee WO2017099456A1 (discloses an anode material, comprising an active substance, and a buffer layer and a carbon layer both on surface of the active substance, wherein the buffer layer is formed on surface of the active substance, and the carbon layer comprises an amorphous carbon material on surface of the buffer layer, and a carbon nano-material extending in a direction toward and/or away from the buffer layer),
Choi US20180342757A1 (discloses an anode material, comprising an active substance, and a buffer layer and a carbon layer both on surface of the active substance, wherein the buffer layer is formed on surface of the active substance, and the carbon layer comprises an amorphous carbon material on surface of the buffer layer, and a carbon nano-material extending in a direction toward and/or away from the buffer layer),
Choi US20200343544A1 (discloses an anode material, comprising an active substance, and a buffer layer and a carbon layer both on surface of the active substance, wherein the buffer layer is formed on surface of the active substance, and the carbon layer comprises an amorphous carbon material on surface of the buffer layer, and a carbon nano-material extending in a direction toward and/or away from the buffer layer).
/JARED HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723