DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s reply and amendments have overcome the objections to the specification, drawings, claims, the rejection under 35 USC § 112(b), the written description rejection under 35 USC § 112(a), and the rejections under 35 USC § 102.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22, 24, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claims 22, 24 and 26 are drawn to a method of treating or preventing (any) infectious disease by administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising a genetically modified Clostridium strain expressing at least one recombinant antigen obtained from a pathogen that causes the infectious disease and presenting one or more additional genome modifications for deleting and/or to inactivating at least one Clostridium gene, wherein said strain is modified to inactivate or attenuate: a) at least one Clostridium gene encoding a haemolytic activity; and b) at least one Clostridium gene rendering the Clostridium a uracil auxotroph. Claim 27 requires that the administered composition is a vaccine. However, there is no working example provided in the disclosure demonstrating treating or preventing any infectious disease in any subject with the instant composition claimed.
The skilled artisan would not predict that the instant composition would be useful as a vaccine or efficacious in the method claimed. Paragraph [0059] of the instant published disclosure, USPgPub 2024/0254167 (of record), lists disease-causing viruses, including Epstein-Barr virus, cytomegalovirus, Dengue, and rabies, etc., that have no vaccine available. There is no evidence in the instant disclosure that the modified Clostridium expressing any “at least one recombinant antigen…obtained from a pathogen that causes the infectious disease” and a pharmaceutical adjuvant and/or excipient, would be efficacious to prevent or treat any infectious disease in any subject, as asserted by the claims. The state of the art does not recognize a vaccine or a method of treating or preventing any infectious disease in any subject by administering at least one antigen from a pathogen that causes the infectious disease and a carrier, such as Clostridium, presenting the antigen(s) from infectious pathogens that have no known therapeutic and/or prophylactic vaccine, including Epstein-Barr virus, cytomegalovirus, Dengue, and rabies, etc. See the review provided by Singh et al. (Current opinion in infectious diseases. 2024 Mar 26; 37(3): 201), for example, discussing strategies of prevention and convalescent therapies for tropical infections.
Instant claim 24 lists the infectious disease as COVID-19, but the “at least one recombinant antigen” recited in claim 22 does not require specific antigens from COVID-19 that are appreciated in the art as therapeutically and prophylactically effective against COVID-19. See the teachings of Low et al. (Viruses. 2022 Sep 8;14(9): 1991), discussing host immune evasion capabilities of SARS-CoV-2 non-structural proteins.
For these reasons, it is determined that the claims would require an undue quantity of experimentation to use the invention claimed.
Response to Arguments
In reply to the rejection of record, applicant points to the claim 22 amendment, requiring that the antigen be derived from the pathogen that causes infectious disease. Applicant asserts that the instant disclosure teaches how to make the claimed strains comprising SEQ ID NOs: 28-32 and how to use the Clostridium constructs in a prime-boost method against SARS-CoV-2.
Applicant’s arguments and the claim amendments have been fully considered, but are found unpersuasive because the Clostridium constructs expressing the SARSCoV-2 spike receptor binding domain (RBD) or nucleocapsid proteins (identified in paragraphs [0020 and 0035] of the instant published disclosure) corresponding to SEQ ID NOs: 28-32 are not recited in claims 22, 24, 26, and 27. Not all antigens from SARS-CoV-2 would be pharmaceutically efficacious, as evidenced by Low et al. supra. In addition, claims 22, 24, 26, and 27 encompass infectious diseases listed in instant paragraph [0059] for which no prophylactic and/or ameliorative antigens are appreciated in the current state of the art.
Incorporation of specific antigens, such as SEQ ID NOs: 28-32, discussed by applicant and free of the art, into claims 22 and 26, used in a vaccine and in a method to treat and prevent COVID-19, would cure this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (Virology. 2004; 329: 226–233), Nariya et al. (Applied and Environmental Microbiology. Feb 2011; 77 (4): 1375–1382), Heap et al. (Oncotarget. 2014 Jan 12; 5 (7): 1761-1769), and Lopez Ferreira et al. (USPgPub 2019/0367947). All references of record.
Chen et al. teach a non-toxigenic Clostridium strain, modified to remove the cpe toxicity region and expressing a SIV p27 as a fusion protein, CPE (enterotoxin/ adjuvant)-27, as a vaccine composition, see the title, abstract, and “Construction of a recombinant C. perfringens vaccine strain carrying SIV p27 gene”, as required in lines 1-2 of claim 1 and claims 8, 26, and 27. In “Detection of intact SIV p27 fusion protein in terminal ileum of mice following oral feeding”, Chen et al. teach delivery of C. perfringens to M cells, as required by instant claims 5 and 6.
Under “Expression of the CPE–SIV p27 fusion protein by the recombinant C. perfringens vaccine construct”, Chen et al. describe cpe promoter functions during sporulation in MDS to promote sporulation, as required by instant claim 4 and corresponding to a genetic modification of metabolic activity. However, Chen et al. do not teach inactivating or attenuating a gene encoding the toxic activity, haemolysis, as required by instant claim 1(a).
Nariya et al. teach recombinantly modifying Clostridium genes to remove or reduce hemolytic toxin activity, see the abstract, “Sextuple disruptant of strain HN13”, the “H1314” mutant, and Figure 6.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instant effective filing date would have been motivated to have deleted the hemolytic genes, taught by Nariva et al., in the Clostridium of Chen et al. to remove hemolytic toxicity and allow efficient counterselection, see the abstract and the first paragraph of the first column on page 1381. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instant effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success to have deleted the hemolytic genes, taught by Nariva et al., in the Clostridium of Chen et al. because both Nariva et al. and Chen et al. recombinantly modify C. perfringens to render it non-toxic, see “Construction of a recombinant C. perfringens vaccine strain carrying SIV p27 gene” of Chen et al. and the abstract, “Sextuple disruptant of strain HN13”, the “H1314” mutant, and Figure 6 of Nariya et al.
Neither Chen et al. nor Nariya et al. teach the Clostridium as defective in synthesizing uracil, recited in claim 1(b), by inactivating the pyrE gene, recited in claim 3.
Heap et al. teach making Clostridium a uracil autotroph by knocking out the pyrE gene, see the abstract, “Construction of recombinant C. sporogenes”, and the paragraph above “Strain characterization in vitro”.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instant effective filing date would have been motivated to have made the Clostridium of Chen et al. and Nariya et al. a uracil autotroph, as taught by Heap et al., to circumvent the need for a selective marker and disable the strain, see the paragraph above, “Strain characterization in vitro”. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instant effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success to have made the Clostridium of Chen et al. and Nariya et al. a uracil autotroph, as taught by Heap et al. because Lopez Ferreira et al. teach modification of the upp gene (identified as uracil phosphoribosyltransferase in paragraph [0049] of the instant published disclosure), is not essential and is successfully used in other Clostridium species, see Figure 19 and paragraphs [0307, 0343, and 0357].
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., Nariya et al., Heap et al., and Lopez Ferreira et al., as applied to claims 1, 3-6, 8, 26, and 27 and further in view of Gonzalez et al. (The Journal of Biological Chemistry. September 2010; 285 (36): 28220–28228).
See the teachings of Chen et al., Nariya et al., Heap et al., and Lopez Ferreira et al. None of the references teach or suggest inactivating or attenuating a gene of a sag operon in Clostridium sporogenes, as required.
Gonzalez et al. teach close resemblance between hemolytic toxin encoded by the streptolysin S (SLS)-associated genetic cluster (Sag) and SLS-like clostridiolysin S genetic cluster in C. sporogenes, see “ClosA–D Genetic Complementation Studies in Group A
Streptococcus” and Figure 1.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instant effective filing date would have been motivated to have abolished one or more of the SLS-sag operon genes in C. sporogenes to eliminate hemolysis. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instant effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success to have abolished hemolytic activity in C. sporogenes by inactivating one or more of the SLS-like genes because Gonzales et al. teach which genes within C. sporogenes are associated with hemolysis in the paragraph bridging pages 28223-28224 and Figure 1C. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instant effective filing date would have been motivated to have abolished SLS-like genes contributing to hemolysis in C. sporogenes because Gonzalez et al. teach C. sporogenes is a BSL1 level organism in the paragraph bridging pages 28223-28224. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instant effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success to have expressed a heterologous fusion protein, taught by Chen et al., Nariya et al., Heap et al., and Lopez Ferreira et al. in the hemolytic-disabled C. sporogenes of Gonzalez et al. because Heap et al. and Chen et al. teach stable expression of heterologous genes in C. sporogenes and C. perfringens spores, respectively, see “CDEPT treatment of tumors in vivo” and Figures 2 and 3 of Heap et al.; and Figure 1 and “Uptake of C. perfringens expressing SIV p27 antigen by cultured DCs and DCs in the PPs” on page 232 of Chen et al.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., Nariya et al., Heap et al., and Lopez Ferreira et al., as applied to claims 1, 3-6, 8, 26, and 27 and further in view of Burman et al. (WO 01/94599, of record).
See the teachings of Chen et al., Nariya et al., Heap et al., and Lopez Ferreira et al. above. None of the references teach expressing two or more antigens in one or more fusion proteins.
Burman et al. teach Clostridium expressing a heterologous polypeptide fused to an S-layer protein and fusion polypeptides, see page 5, lines 19-23; page 7, lines 21-23; page 8, lines 3-21; claims 1, 9, 12, 18, and 21.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instant effective filing date would have been motivated to have expressed multiple fusion proteins, as taught by Burman et al., in the Clostridium of Chen et al., Nariya et al., Heap et al., and Lopez Ferreira et al. to induce an immune response against multiple antigens, see page 8, lines 3-21 and Figure 6. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instant effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success to have expressed multiple fusion proteins, as taught by Burman et al., in the Clostridium of Chen et al., Nariya et al., Heap et al., and Lopez Ferreira et al. because Burman et al. teach any Clostridium strain, including C. perfringens, is encompassed on page 21, lines 18-20 and page 22, lines 3-33.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., Nariya et al., Heap et al., and Lopez Ferreira et al., as applied to claims 1, 3-6, 8, 26, and 27, and further in view of instant SEQ ID NO: 11 alignment with Geneseq database access no: BHU92053 Jul 2020, and Lee et al. (Journal of Virology. April 2006; 80 (8): 4079-4087). All references of record.
See the teachings of Chen et al., Nariya et al., Heap et al., and Lopez Ferreira et al., above. None of the references teach or suggest expressing an antigen from SARS-CoV-2 spike RBD1 protein comprising SEQ ID NO: 11.
Geneseq database access no: BHU92053 shares 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 11, see the alignment provided.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instant effective filing date to have replaced the SIV p27 portion of Chen et al., Nariya et al., Heap et al., and Lopez Ferreira et al., with Geneseq db access no BHU92053 to induce an immune response against SARS-CoV-2, see the description accompanying the alignment. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instant effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success to have replaced the SIV p27 portion of Chen et al., Nariya et al., Heap et al., and Lopez Ferreira et al., with Geneseq db access no BHU92053 to induce an immune response against SARS because Lee et al. teach mucosal immunization with a surface-displayed SARS spike protein on Lactobacillus, also a gram-positive anaerobic rod-shaped bacteria common to the mammalian gastrointestinal tract.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., Nariya et al., Heap et al., Lopez Ferreira et al., Burman et al., Geneseq database access no: BHU92053, and Lee et al., as applied to claims 1, 3-11, 26, and 27 above, and further in view of instant SEQ ID NO: 17 alignment with Geneseq db access no BIS89424 4-Feb-2021, cited previously.
See the teachings of Chen et al., Nariya et al., Heap et al., Lopez Ferreira et al., Burman et al., Geneseq database access no: BHU92053, and Lee et al. above. None of the references teach or suggest expressing a nucleocapsid from SARS-CoV-2 comprising SEQ ID NO: 17.
Geneseq db access no BIS89424 shares 100% sequence identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 17.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instant effective filing date would have been motivated to have expressed Geneseq db access no BIS89424 as an additional antigen in the recombinant Clostridium of Chen et al., Nariya et al., Heap et al., Lopez Ferreira et al., Burman et al., Geneseq database access no: BHU92053, and Lee et al. to induce an immune response against the nucleocapsid of SARS-CoV-2. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instant effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success to have included Geneseq db access no BIS89424 as an additional antigen in the recombinant Clostridium of Chen et al., Nariya et al., Heap et al., Lopez Ferreira et al., Burman et al., Geneseq database access no: BHU92053, and Lee et al. because Burman et al. teach Clostridium expressing multiple antigens, see page 5, lines 19-23; page 7, lines 21-23; page 8, lines 3-21; claims 1, 9, 12, 18, and 21-25.
Response to Arguments
With regards to the teachings of Chen et al., applicant points out that the Clostridium of Chen et al. is not a uracil auxotroph or a hemolysis-disabled strain.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive because these limitations are satisfied by Nariya et al., Heap et al., and Lopez Ferreira et al., with inspirations to modify the Clostridium of Chen et al. with a reasonable expectation of success.
Applicant disagrees with the obvious-type reasoning provided because Naryia et al. Heap et al., and Lopez Ferreira et al. do not teach a mucosal vaccine and do not concern C. butyricum or C. sporogenes. Applicant also states that neither Chen et al. nor Nariya et al. inactivate a haemolysis-associated gene.
Applicant’s arguments and a review of Chen et al., Nariya et al., Heap et al., and Lopez-Ferreira et al. have been fully considered, but are found unpersuasive. Chen et al. teach mucosal administration of modified Clostridium in “Detection of intact SIV p27 fusion protein in terminal ileum of mice following oral feeding”. Subsequent teachings provided by Nariya et al., Heap et al., and Lopez-Ferreira et al. are not required to teach limitations already satisfied by Chen et al. Nariya et al. teach deleting six Clostridium genes to remove or reduce hemolytic toxin activity to generate “HN1314”, see the abstract, “Sextuple disruptant of strain HN13” and Figure 6. Therefore, Nariya et al. do teach disruption of genes associated with hemolysis. Instant limitations requiring C. butyricum or C. sporogenes and deletion of the sag operon to abolish hemolysis are not recited in claims 1, 3-6, 8, 26, and 27.
Applicant criticizes the teachings of Burman et al. because the heterologous fusions are not associated with a microfold-cell-targeting architecture.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are unpersuasive because Chen et al. satisfy these requirements. In “Detection of intact SIV p27 fusion protein in terminal ileum of mice following oral feeding”, Chen et al. teach delivery of a heterologous fusion protein expressed from C. perfringens to M cells, as required.
Applicant points out that the Lactobacillus of Lee et al. is not a spore-forming Clostridium.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. Chen et al. teach M-cell presentation of a fusion protein comprising SIV p27 expressed from C. perfringens, detected by anti-p27 antibodies, see Figure 3. Therefore, Chen et al. teach a spore-forming Clostridium presenting SIV p27 to M-cells. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instant effective filing date would have been motivated to have replaced the SIV p27 expressed from a spore-forming Clostridium of Chen et al. with Geneseq db access no BHU92053 to induce an immune response against SARS. The point of Lee et al. demonstrates a reasonable expectation of success to induce a mucosal immune response with a bacterial surface-displayed SARS spike protein. Therefore, whether the Lactobacillus of Lee et al. is not a spore-forming bacterium, is immaterial since the SIV p27 of Chen et al. can be replaced with a SARS spike protein by routine techniques.
Applicant asserts that the availability of an isolated antigen sequence, i.e., Geneseq BHU92053 and BIS89424, does not make it obvious to install that sequence, as a Pptb- or Pfdx-driven nprM3 fusion of SEQ ID NOs: 28-32.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are found unpersuasive because SEQ ID NOs: 28-32 are not recited limitations in claims 9-11 and 13. It would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan prior to the instant effective filing date to have exchanged the SIV p27 antigen of Chen et al. with Geneseq BHU92053 or BIS89424, respectively, to induce an immune response against SARS-CoV-2. Each of the corresponding sequences in the alignment describes the sequences as effective for inducing an immune response against SARS-CoV-2.
Therefore, the instant rejection satisfies the criteria required by KSR Int'/ Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007) and MPEP § 2143.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 8, 15, 26, and 27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, 8-10, 13-15, 17, 21, and 26 of Application No. 17/787,381, allowed June 30, 2026 and issue fee paid September 30, 2026. Therefore, this double patenting rejection is no longer provisional. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 2, and 8-10 of ‘381 anticipate a genetically modified Clostridium strain expressing at least one recombinant viral or bacterial antigen and presenting one or more additional genome modifications for deleting and/or to inactivating at least one Clostridium Sag operon gene encoding hemolysis proteins; at least one Clostridium PyrE sequences, creating a uracil auxotroph; and inducible or repressible sporulation phenotype, required in instant claims 1-4 and 8. Claim 5 of ‘381 states that the Clostridium strain is a derivative from C. butyricum or C. sporogenes, anticipating instant claim 15. Claims 13-15, 17, 21, and 26 of ‘381 anticipate the composition as therapeutic to induce an immune response against viral or bacterial antigens, anticipating instant claims 26 and 27.
Applicant traverses the rejection on the grounds that the instant claims and those of ‘381 are patentably distinct because the claims of ‘381 do not require a recombinant-antigen-expressing Clostridium strain comprising:
(i) at least one Clostridium gene encoding a toxic activity, wherein the toxic activity is haemolysis; and
(ii) at least one Clostridium gene required for uracil biosynthesis, thereby rendering the strain a uracil auxotroph.
Applicant points out that the sporulation-phenotype chassis, heterologous-sequence expression and/or a further genome modification, with haemolysis-related modification and uracil auxotrophy are recited in separate dependent claims of ‘381.
Applicant’s traversal is appreciated, but is not persuasive. According to MPEP §§ 804(B)(2) and 822, a double patenting rejection applies specifically to conflicting individual claims between a pending application and a reference patent or application. A requirement to restrict between instant claims 1-4, 8, 15, 26, and 27 and claims 1, 2, 5, 8-10, 13-15, 17, 21, and 26 of ‘381, if presented in the same application, would be improper because the claims are not patentably distinct.
Applicant points out that the presently pending claims additionally recite materially different and narrowing subject matter, including fusion-protein antigen-expression architectures; secretion and microfold-cell targeting; expression of two or more recombinant antigens; viral or bacterial antigens; coronavirus or influenza antigens; SARS-CoV-2 Spike and Nucleocapsid antigens; the sequence-identity limitations of SEQ ID NOs: 11-20; and the specific expression sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 28-32. However, none of these materially different and narrowing subject matter limitations are recited in instant claims 1-4, 8, 15, 26, and 27.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach or suggest SEQ ID NOs: 28-32.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Shanon A. Foley/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1671