DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the surface treatment layer" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 9 should depend on claim 2, rather than claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshihisa (JP 2001/202932 A, published 27 Jul. 2001, hereinafter Yoshihisa) in view of Ishizuka et al. (US Patent Application 2015/0037684 A1, published 05 Feb. 2015, hereinafter Ishizuka).
Regarding claims 1-12, Yoshihisa teaches a package for an enclosed type battery comprising an iron alloy as a core material on which a synthetic resin is disposed (Abstract). Yoshihisa teaches the metal foil has a thickness of 50 µm or less (claim 3). Yoshihisa teaches his sealed battery package is formed in a bag (pouch) shape (claim 6).
Yoshihisa does not disclose the claimed steel foil.
Ishizuka teaches a steel foil, in which the steel comprises 0.0001 – 0.02 mass% carbon, 0.01 to 0.3 mass% manganese, 0.001 to 0.02 mass% phosphorus, 0.0001 to 0.01 mass% sulfur, 0.0005 to 0.1 mass% aluminum, 0.0001 to 0.004 mass% nitrogen, and the balance iron and impurities, wherein the thickness of the steel foil is 5 to 15 µm (Abstract). Ishizuka teaches his steel foil further includes 0.1 mass% or less of titanium and 0.1 mass% or less of niobium (paragraph 0036). Ishizuka teaches the steel foil is cold rolled, nickel and chromium plated, and then annealed (paragraphs 0045, 0082, and 0086 and Figure 1). Ishizuka teaches a surface treatment comprising a nickel plating amount of 1 g/m2 or more and a chromium plating amount of 0.01 g/m2 or more (paragraphs 0088-0089). Ishizuka teaches his steel foil is used as a component in a secondary battery (paragraph 0113).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected amounts of carbon, manganese, phosphorus, sulfur, aluminum, titanium, and niobium, amounts of nickel and chromium plating, and thickness of the steel foil from the overlapping portions of the ranges taught by Ishizuka because overlapping ranges have been held to be prima facie obviousness.
Ishizuka does not disclose maximum principal strains in uniaxial deformation, planar deformation, nor equal biaxial deformation. However, given that the steel foil taught by Ishizuka has the same composition, thickness, and processing steps, within the overlapping ranges, the steel foil of Ishizuka would inherently have the same maximum principal strains in uniaxial deformation, planar deformation, and equal biaxial deformation as the claimed invention, and therefore, would fall within the claimed ranges for maximum principal strains in uniaxial deformation, planar deformation, nor equal biaxial deformation.
Given that Yoshihisa and Ishizuka are drawn to steel foils for battery components, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the steel foil taught by Ishizuka as the steel foil in the battery container taught by Yoshihisa. Since Yoshihisa and Ishizuka are both drawn to steel foils for battery components, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in incorporating the steel foil taught by Ishizuka as the steel foil in the battery container taught by Yoshihisa. Further, Ishizuka teaches his steel foil has both strength and electrical resistance, which are normally in a trade-off relationship, and his steel foil is thin, lightweight, and economical (paragraph 033).
Claims 1, 3-8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshihisa (JP 2001/202932 A, published 27 Jul. 2001, hereinafter Yoshihisa) in view of Unno et al. (US Patent Application 2018/0237882 A1, published 23 Aug. 2018).
Regarding claims 1, 3-8, and 10-12, Yoshihisa teaches a package for an enclosed type battery comprising an iron alloy as a core material on which a synthetic resin is disposed (Abstract). Yoshihisa teaches the metal foil has a thickness of 50 µm or less (claim 3). Yoshihisa teaches his sealed battery package is formed in a bag (pouch) shape (claim 6).
Yoshihisa does not disclose the claimed steel foil.
Unno teaches an austenitic stainless steel foil for use in a battery case (Abstract and paragraphs 0036). Unno teaches his steel comprises 0.080 mass% or less of carbon, 2.0 mass% or less of silicon, 2.0 mass% or less of manganese, 0.045 mass% or less of phosphorus, 0.030 mass% or less of sulfur, 5.0 to 11.0 mass% of nickel, 15.0 to 20.0 mass% of chromium, 0.30 mass% or less of molybdenum, 0.05 mass% or less of sulfur, 0.05 mass% nitrogen, 0.50 to 2.50 mass% of copper, with the balance consisting of iron and unavoidable impurities (paragraph 0040). Unno teaches his steel foil has a thickness of 60 µm or less (Abstract). Unno teaches his steel foil is cold rolled before a final annealing (paragraph 0093).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected amounts of carbon, molybdenum, phosphorus, and sulfur and a thickness of the steel foil from the overlapping portions of the ranges taught by Unno because overlapping ranges have been held to be prima facie obviousness.
Unno does not disclose maximum principal strains in uniaxial deformation, planar deformation, nor equal biaxial deformation. However, given that the steel foil taught by Unno has the same composition, thickness, and processing steps, within the overlapping ranges, the steel foil of Unno would inherently have the same maximum principal strains in uniaxial deformation, planar deformation, and equal biaxial deformation as the claimed invention, and therefore, would fall within the claimed ranges for maximum principal strains in uniaxial deformation, planar deformation, nor equal biaxial deformation.
Given that Yoshihisa and Unno are drawn to steel foils for battery packaging, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the steel foil taught by Unno as the steel foil in the battery container taught by Yoshihisa. Since Yoshihisa and Unno are both drawn to steel foils for battery packaging, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in incorporating the steel foil taught by Unno as the steel foil in the battery container taught by Yoshihisa. Further, Unno teaches his steel foil has excellent stretch formability and little deformation anisotropy with respect to stretch forming despite having a sheet thickness of 60 µm or less, and the use of his steel foil results in a reduction is size and weight (paragraph 0036).
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshihisa (JP 2001/202932 A, published 27 Jul. 2001, hereinafter Yoshihisa) in view of Unno et al. (US Patent Application 2018/0237882 A1, published 23 Aug. 2018) and further in view of Ishizuka et al. (US Patent Application 2015/0037684 A1, published 05 Feb. 2015, hereinafter Ishizuka).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Yoshihisa in view of Unno teaches the elements of claim 1.
Yoshihisa in view of Unno do not disclose a surface treatment layer.
Ishizuka teaches a surface treatment comprising a nickel plating amount of 1 g/m2 or more and a chromium plating amount of 0.01 g/m2 or more (paragraphs 0088-0089).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected amounts of nickel and chromium plating from the overlapping portions of the ranges taught by Ishizuka because overlapping ranges have been held to be prima facie obviousness.
Given that Yoshihisa and Ishizuka are drawn to steel foils for battery components, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use nickel and chromium plating as taught by Ishizuka on the steel foil for the battery packaging taught by Yoshihisa in view of Unno. Since Yoshihisa and Ishizuka are both drawn to steel foils for battery components, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in incorporating nickel and chromium plating onto the steel foil in the battery container taught by Yoshihisa in view of Unno. Further, Ishizuka teaches his nickel and chromium plating metal improves metal elution in over-discharge (paragraph 0083).
Conclusion
/JOHN VINCENT LAWLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1787