DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-23 are pending, of which Claims 1, 11, & 21 are independent. All claims are examined on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited by applicants in the information disclosure statements filed from 8/15/2023 to 5/13/2025 have been made of record. Examiner has considered the voluminous references to the best of her ability.
While the statements filed do not comply with the guidelines set forth in MPEP 2004 regarding both the number of references cited and the elimination of clearly irrelevant art and marginally cumulative information, compliance with these guidelines is not mandatory. Furthermore, 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98 does not require that the information be material; rather, they allow for submission of information regardless of its pertinence to the claimed invention. Also, there is no requirement to explain the materiality of the submitted references. However, the cloaking of a clearly relevant reference by inclusion in a long list of citations may not comply with Applicant’s duty of disclosure. See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark boats Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, aff’d 479 F. 2d. 1338.
Applicant is advised that the MPEP states the following with respect to large information disclosure statements:
Although a concise explanation of the relevance of information is not required for English language information, applicants are encouraged to provide a concise explanation of why the English-language information is being submitted. Concise explanations (especially those that point out the relevant pages and lines) are helpful to the Office, particularly where documents are lengthy and complex and applicant is aware of a section that is highly relevant to patentability or where a large number of documents are submitted and applicant is aware that one or more is highly relevant to patentability. MPEP § 609.04(a)(III).
This statement is in accord with dicta from Molins PLC v. Textron, Inc., 48 F.3d 1172 (Fed. Cir. 1995), states that forcing the Examiner to find “a needle in a haystack” is “probative of bad faith.” Id. at 1888. This case presented a situation where the disclosure was in excess of 700 pages and contained more than fifty references. Id. 1888.
The MPEP provides more support for this position. In a subsection entitled “Aids to Compliance With Duty of Disclosure,” item thirteen states:
It is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. Eliminate clearly irrelevant information and marginally pertinent cumulative information. If a long list is submitted, highlight those documents which have been specifically brought to Applicant’s attention and/or are known to be of the most significance. See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F.Supp 948 (S.D. Fla. 1972) aff’d 479 F.2d 1338 (5th Cir 1974). See also MPEP § 2004.
Therefore, it is recommended that if any information that has been cited by Applicants in the previous disclosure statement is known to be material for patentability as defined by 37 CFR 1.56, Applicant should present a concise statement as to the relevance of that/those particular documents therein cited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glasroe et al. (US 2020/0405521) in view of Blott et al. (US 2014/0107595).
Re Claim 1, Glasroe discloses a fluid collection pad for use with a fluid collection device ([0061] “a catheter which is applied to a user”) for collecting fluid from a subject, the fluid collection pad comprising:
a cushion (envelope 3, [0066] “the envelope 3 in combination with the bladder 5 presents as a cushion for seating” & [0059] “The top layer 3a is suitable for contact with the user or a cushion may be placed over the top layer 3a as will be described.”);
a fluid collection container (bladder 5) including an absorbent portion ([0059] “absorbing substance such as sodium polyacrylate”) disposed therein, wherein the fluid collection container is configured to be disposed within the cushion ([0059] “the envelope 3 contains the removable bladder 5”, Figs. 2B-2C); and
a tube (manifold 6 and tubular connector 26, which includes 26a, 26b, or 26c) having a first portion (portion of tubular connector 26 that is outside of envelope 3, see e.g., Fig. 2B) configured to couple to the fluid collection device ([0061]) and a second portion (manifold 6) disposed within the fluid collection container (e.g., [0060]), wherein the second portion of the tube is perforated (exit holes 6a).
Glasroe does not disclose wherein the second portion of the tube is disposed in a serpentine arrangement throughout the fluid collection container. Blott discloses a would treatment system configured to deliver therapeutic liquid to a wound and remove liquid from the wound, the system comprising a fluid delivery tube (46 or 101, see Figs. 8A-8C) with one end portion disposed in a serpentine arrangement under the wound cover, said end portion also includes fluid exit holes (orifices 103 or 104, [0508]) such that fluid can be delivered evenly across a wide area through the holes. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Glasroe with Blott because this allows fluid to be more evenly distributed across a greater area within the fluid collection container, thus making full use of the absorbent material in the fluid collection container.
Re Claim 2, Glasroe and Blott combine to disclose claim 1, and Glasroe also discloses that the second portion of the tube is integrated into the absorbent portion (e.g., Fig. 2C).
Re Claim 3, Glasroe and Blott combine to disclose claim 1 and results in the second portion of the tube includes perforations (103 & 104 in Blott) distributed to disperse the fluid uniformly throughout the fluid collection container when the fluid flows through the second portion.
Re Claim 6, Glasroe and Blott combine to claim 1, and Glasroe further discloses a cushion cover (cover 2). While the Glasroe cushion cover is only on one side and therefore not designed to enclose the fluid collection pad, merely duplicating the material would only require routine skills in the art. One skilled in the art may be motivated to do so such that there’s a comfortable cover on the backside of the fluid collection pad in case the pad is flipped over. Alternatively, a covering layer on the backside may also make the pad more discreet or aesthetically appealing.
Re Claim 7, Glasroe and Blott combine to disclose claim 1, and Glasroe also discloses wherein the cushion (envelope 3) includes a pocket (through slit 7a, Fig. 1, [0059]), wherein the pocket is sized and dimensioned to hold at least a portion of the fluid collection container.
Re Claim 9, Glasroe and Blott combine to disclose claim 1, and Glasroe also discloses wherein the fluid collection container is constructed of a leak-proof material (implied because bladder 5 is designed to receive urine) and is removable from the cushion and replaceable ([0059]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glasroe and Blott as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Marinas (US 2005/0273920).
Re Claim 8, Glasroe and Blott combine to disclose claim 1 but they do not expressly disclose wherein the cushion cover includes one or more straps configured to secure the cushion to one or more structural components of at least one of a chair, a wheelchair, or a bed. Marinas discloses a wheelchair configured to allow a patient to discharge bodily waste while seated on the wheelchair, wherein a cushion can be attached via straps ([0022]) to the wheelchair. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to add straps to the Glasroe cushion such that it would not shift around on a wheelchair while in use.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glasroe and Blott as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Harvie (US 2004/0243075).
Re Claim 10, Glasroe and Blott combine to disclose claim 1 but they do not disclose an odor neutralizer configured to at least partially neutralize an odor of the fluid. Harvie discloses a urine drainage system comprising a receptacle that contains a deodorizer (63, Fig. 8). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify with Harvie such that it reduces the likelihood of foul smell as the user moves around.
Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glasroe in view of Blott and Easter (US 2004/0143229).
Re Claim 11, Glasroe discloses a portable fluid collection system, comprising: a fluid collection device configured to be positioned at least proximate to a urethra of a user;
a fluid collection pad including:
a cushion (envelope 3, [0059] & [0066]);
a fluid collection container (bladder 5) including an absorbent portion ([0059]) disposed therein, wherein the container is disposed within the cushion ([0059]); and
a tube having a first portion (connector 26) configured to couple to the fluid collection device and a second portion (manifold 6) disposed within the fluid collection container, wherein the second portion of the tube is perforated (exit holes 6a).
Glasroe does not disclose wherein the second portion of the tube is disposed in a serpentine arrangement throughout the fluid collection container. Blott discloses a would treatment system configured to deliver therapeutic liquid to a wound and remove liquid from the wound, the system comprising a fluid delivery tube (46 or 101, see Figs. 8A-8C) with one end portion disposed in a serpentine arrangement under the wound cover, said end portion also includes fluid exit holes (orifices 103 or 104, [0508]) such that fluid can be delivered evenly across a wide area through the holes. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Glasroe with Blott because this allows fluid to be more evenly distributed across a greater area within the fluid collection container, thus making full use of the absorbent material in the fluid collection container.
Glasroe also does not teach a pump in fluid communication with the fluid collection pad and the fluid collection device, wherein the pump is configured to draw fluid from the fluid collection device through the tube and into the fluid collection container. Easter discloses a urine-removal system for use by a person who may be wheelchair-bound ([0019]), the system comprises a peristaltic pump (110, [0037]) that directs urine collected from a person to a collection receptacle (containment bag 150). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Glasroe with Easter to quickly drain urine away from the user.
Re Claim 12, Glasroe, Blott and Easter combine to disclose claim 11, and in the combination, the second portion of the tube is disposed in a serpentine arrangement throughout the fluid collection container and/or integrated into the absorbent portion (e.g., Fig. 2C).
Re Claim 13, Glasroe, Blott & Easter combine to disclose claim 11, and in the combination, the second portion of the tube includes perforations (103 & 104 in Blott) distributed to disperse the fluid uniformly throughout the fluid collection container when the fluid flows through the second portion.
Re Claim 14, Glasroe, Blott & Easter combine to disclose claim 11, and Glasroe further discloses a cushion cover (cover 2). While the Glasroe cushion cover is only on one side and therefore not designed to enclose the fluid collection pad, merely duplicating the material would only require routine skills in the art. One skilled in the art may be motivated to do so such that there’s a comfortable cover on the backside of the fluid collection pad in case the pad is flipped over. Alternatively, a covering layer on the backside may also make the pad more discreet or aesthetically appealing.
Re Claim 15, Glasroe, Blott and Easter combine to disclose claim 11, and Easter further discloses wherein the pump includes a peristaltic pump ([0037]).
Re Claim 16, Glasroe, Blott and Easter combine to disclose claim 11, and Easter further discloses wherein the pump is coupled to the tube between the fluid collection device and the fluid collection container (Fig. 2 in Easter).
Re Claim 17, Glasroe, Blott and Easter combine to disclose claim 11. While none of the reference explicitly discloses wherein the pump is configured to be detachably mounted to one or more structural components of at least one of a chair, a wheelchair, or a bed, Easter discloses that the pump would be carried by the user of the system, thus establishing that it is desirable to make the pump portable such that the entire system can move with the user. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to mount the pump on the wheelchair instead of in the garment of the user (as shown in Easter) so that the pump can move around with a wheelchair-bound user but the weight of the pump would not be causing discomfort to the user.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glasroe, Blott and Easter as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Hama (US 2007/0106177).
Re Claims 18-19, Glasroe, Blott and Easter combine to disclose claim 11, but they do not disclose a sensor coupled to the fluid collection container configured to indicate at least one property relating to the fluid collection system, and wherein the sensor is configured to detect a characteristic indicative of a volume of the fluid in the fluid collection container. Hama discloses a medical monitoring system comprising a sensor (33, [0032]) that detects the volume of fluid collected in collection bag (35). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify further with Hama such that the user of the fluid collection pad or a caretaker can more easily monitor if the collection bladder is full and needs changing.
Re Claim 20, Glasroe, Blott and Easter combine to disclose claim 11, but they do not disclose an indicator panel, wherein the indicator panel includes at least one of an alarm, a display, a fluid collection container saturation or volume status, or a pump operating status. Hama discloses a medical monitoring system comprising a display panel (49, [0032], [0051]) that displays the volume of fluid ([0051]) collected in the container (35). It would have been obvious to incorporate Hama’s teaching for an easy visual assessment of how full the collection bladder/container is and if it needs changing.
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glasroe, Marinas, Blott and Easter.
Re Claim 21, Glasroe discloses a method of assembling a portable fluid collection system, the method comprising:
providing a fluid collection pad (Fig. 1) to at least one of a chair, a wheelchair, or a bed;
positioning a fluid collection device ([0061] “catheter”) at least proximate to a urethra of a user;
fluidly coupling the fluid collection device to the fluid collection pad ([0061]), wherein the fluid collection pad includes:
a cushion (envelope 3, [0059] & [0066]);
a fluid collection container (bladder 5) including an absorbent portion ([0059]) disposed therein, wherein the fluid collection container is configured to be disposed within the cushion ([0059]); and
a tube having a first portion (connector 26) configured to couple to a fluid collection device and a second portion (manifold 6) disposed within the fluid collection container, wherein the second portion of the tube is perforated (exit holes 6a).
Glasroe does not teach that the fluid collection pad is “detachably secured” to the chair/wheelchair/bed. Marinas discloses a wheelchair configured to allow a patient to discharge bodily waste while seated on the wheelchair, wherein a cushion can be detachably secured via straps ([0022]) to the wheelchair. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to add straps to the Glasroe cushion such that it would not shift around on a wheelchair while in use.
Glasroe does not disclose wherein the second portion of the tube is disposed in a serpentine arrangement throughout the fluid collection container. Blott discloses a would treatment system configured to deliver therapeutic liquid to a wound and remove liquid from the wound, the system comprising a fluid delivery tube (46 or 101, see Figs. 8A-8C) with one end portion disposed in a serpentine arrangement under the wound cover, said end portion also includes fluid exit holes (orifices 103 or 104, [0508]) such that fluid can be delivered evenly across a wide area through the holes. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Glasroe with Blott because this allows fluid to be more evenly distributed across a greater area within the fluid collection container, thus making full use of the absorbent material in the fluid collection container.
Glasroe also does not teach coupling a pump to the first portion of the tube, wherein the pump is configured to draw fluid from the fluid collection device through the tube and into the fluid collection container. Easter discloses a urine-removal system for use by a person who may be wheelchair-bound ([0019]), the system comprises a peristaltic pump (110, [0037]) that directs urine collected from a person to a collection receptacle (containment bag 150). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Glasroe with Easter to quickly drain urine away from the user.
Re Claim 22, Glasroe, Marinas, Blott & Easter combine to disclose claim 21, and Glasroe further discloses wherein detachably securing a fluid collection system to at least one of a chair, a wheelchair, or a bed includes positioning the fluid collection container within the cushion ([0059]) and placing the cushion within a cushion cover (cover 2); and
removing and replacing the fluid collection pad when a volume of the fluid in the fluid collection container has reached or exceeded a predetermined volume (implied since bladder 5 can be inserted and removed from a slit in envelope 3, and one skilled in the art would naturally remove the bladder/receptacle if it is full and replace with an empty one so that a patient can continue to drain urine into the bladder/receptacle).
Glasroe does not explicitly disclose wherein the cushion cover encloses the fluid collection pad inside a pocket. However, even though the Glasroe cushion cover is only on one side and therefore not designed to enclose the fluid collection pad, merely duplicating the material would only require routine skills in the art. One skilled in the art may be motivated to do so such that there’s a comfortable cover on the backside of the fluid collection pad in case the pad is flipped over. Alternatively, a covering layer on the backside may also make the pad more discreet or aesthetically appealing. After the modification, the cover would also form an envelope and can enclose the fluid collection pad (envelope 3 and bladder 5).
Re Claim 23, Glasroe, Marinas, Blott and Easter combine to disclose claim 21, and in the combination, Marinas also discloses wherein detachably securing a fluid collection system to at least one of a chair, a wheelchair, or a bed includes securing one or more straps (see e.g., [0022]) coupled to the cushion cover to one or more structural components of a chair, a wheelchair, or a bed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re Claim 4, no prior art is found to disclose the structures recited in this claim. JP 2017-522924 discloses a sweat sensor device that comprises an outer absorbent layer covering a sensor and a layer of hydrophobic beads forming a layer in contact with skin, the hydrophobic beads being separated from the sensor by a mesh layer (see e.g., Fig. 6A). This structure is different from that recited in Claim 4 and would not be reasonably modified to meet the claimed language or function.
Claim 5 is allowable for being dependent from Claim 4.
Conclusion
/SUSAN S SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781
25 March 2026