DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 9, 12, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-6697874-B2, in view of JP-2916136-B1.
Regarding claim 1
The ‘874 patent discloses a composition comprising a molded product and a method of making (abstract).
The ‘874 patent discloses that the composition comprises 60 wt % softwood pulp and 40 wt % carboxymethyl cellulose sodium salt(Experimental Example 1).
The ‘874 patent discloses that 25 wt % of the of the carboxymethyl cellulose salt is replaced by polyvinyl alcohol to leave 30 wt % carboxymethyl cellulose salt and 10 wt % polyvinyl alcohol (Experimental Example 8).
Although the ‘874 patent doesn’t disclose the use of starch with carboxymethyl cellulose salt, the ‘874 patent discloses the remaining limitations of the claim. However, the ‘136 patent discloses similar molding compositions and discloses that starch and polyvinyl alcohol are functional equivalents (para 0022). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add to the teachings of the ‘874 patent by replacing the polyvinyl alcohol with starch, with a reasonable expectation of success, as suggested by the ‘136 patent.
With respect to the molded article not being an applicator for intravaginal insertion, neither reference discloses such an article.
Regarding claim 5
The’874 patent discloses that the water content of the molding material is 30 to 65 % by mass (para 0041).
Regarding claim 9
The ‘874 patent discloses the use of 0.3 to 2.0 parts by mass of a long chain fatty acid of a non-alkali metal (para 0031).
Regarding claims 12, 17
The ‘874 patent discloses injection or compression molded products is made by adding water to the binder material and kneading (para 0002).
Regarding claim 19
The ‘136 patent discloses the kneading operation is carried out at 70 C (para 0039).
Claims 2-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-6697874-B2, in view of JP-2916136-B1, as applied to claims 1, 5, 9, 12, 17 and 19 above, in view of Weerawarna (US 20090325800).
Regarding claims 2, 4, 6 and 8
The ‘874 patent does not discloses the use of a mixture of hardwoods and softwoods. However, Weerawarna discloses similar compositions and methods and discloses that both softwoods and hardwoods may be used (para 0012). As such it would have been prima facie obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to add to the teachings of the ‘874 patent by using hardwoods, soft woods or a mixture of the two woods. Further, combining two or more materials disclosed by the prior art for the same purpose to form a third material that is to be used for the same purpose has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Kerkhoven, 205 U.S.P.Q. 1069.
Regarding claims 3 and 7
Although Weerawarna does not disclose the ratio of hardwood to softwood, without more the most obvious mixture is 50:50.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
Claims 10-11, 21 and 26-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art fairly teaches or suggest the limitations of these claims..
Conclusion
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734