DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment dated August 15, 2023 is entered. Claims 8-27, 29, 30, 32, and 33 were amended. Claims 1-33 are pending. The amendments of the specification and abstract dated August 15, 2023 are acknowledged. The second preliminary amendment of the specification dated August 28, 2023 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities:
It is suggested the phrase “first hole transporting layer, the second hole transporting layer” be changed to “first hole transporting layer or the second hole transporting layer” for improved clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16-19, and 22-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Uno (US 2022/0416174 A1).
Uno teaches hole transporting polycyclic compounds having a Formula 1 (see par. 6) where A7 may be Formula 2-1 (see par. 9) and X is oxygen:
.
Uno discloses at least the following Formula 1 example compound “A112” for a light emitting device (see page 26):
.
The compound is within claim 1 formula (1) and is identical to Compound 20 of claim 25. Also the compound is within the instant formula of claim 2 having a naphthyl group. The compound is also within at least claim 6, 8, 16, 22, and 26 requirements.
Further regarding claim 1 and per instant claims 3, 13, and 17, example compounds “A109” and “A110” are also taught (see page 26):
.
Also the following example “F178” is further taught per instant claims 1, 3, 9, 17, and 23 (see page 232):
.
Further regarding claim 1 and claims 4, 10, and 18, example compound “F184” is taught (see page 233):
.
Regarding claim 1 and claims 5, 11, and 19, the following example “E184” is taught (see page 198):
.
Regarding claim 1 and at least claim 12, the following example compound “F182” is taught (see page 232):
.
Regarding claim 1 and at least claims 14 and 24, the following example compound “F197” (see page 235):
.
Regarding device claims 27-29, an example device 12 (see Table 1, page 273, see par. 340, 341, 345) was made including the following example compound “E190” in a hole transporting layer:
.
Regarding claims 30 and 31, a layer of 1-TNATA per instant “first hole transporting layer” was formed between an anode of ITO and the hole transport layer comprising “E190” (see par. 340) per instant “second hole transporting layer”. Regarding claim 32, the layer comprising “E190” is adjacent the emission layer (see par. 340-341). Regarding claim 33, the organic electroluminescent device displaying light is considered to be an electronic device (see par. 340-341).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, 15, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uno (US 2022/0416174 A1).
Uno is relied upon as set forth above.
Uno teaches hole transporting polycyclic compounds having a Formula 1 (see par. 6) where A7 may be Formula 2-1 (see par. 9):
.
L1 and L2 may be direct linkage or arylene of 6 to 30 carbon atoms and m and n are 0 to 2 (see par. 10). One of Ar1-1 or Ar2-1 is substituted or unsubstituted aryl of 10 to 40 carbon atoms (see par. 10). More specifically Ar2-1 to Ar2-3 may be substituted phenyl, biphenyl group, or terphenyl (see par. 32) and the term “substituted” may include aryl group (see par. 58), which may be phenyl (see par. 64). While it is not seen where a specifically phenyl-substituted biphenyl or terphenyl group is shown in an example compound taught by Uno per specific biphenyl or terphenyl-containing groups of compounds in claims 6, 7, 15, 20, and 21, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included phenyl substituents upon a biphenyl or terphenyl group for an Ar2-1 group of a compound according to Uno, because Uno teaches an aryl group may include the substitution. Given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to form compounds as described above, wherein the resultant compounds and devices comprising the compounds would also meet the limitations of the instant claims. One would expect to achieve functional compounds within the disclosure of Uno with a predictable result and a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Shahnawaz, et al. "Hole-transporting materials for organic light-emitting diodes: an overview." Journal of Materials Chemistry C 7.24 (2019): 7144-7158.
The reference provides an overview of hole transporting material and is considered relevant to the field of the endeavor.
Kato et al. US 2012/0248426 A1 teaches monoamine compounds specifically including the following substituted terphenyl groups (see page 10):
.
The above known substituted terphenyl groups are relevant to instant 1-e and 1-f groups.
/DAWN L GARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786