DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 78-91, 94-96, and 98 are pending in the application. Claims 78-79, and 96 are currently amended. Claims 1-77, 92-93, and 97 have been canceled. Claim 98 is new.
Response to Arguments
With regard to Applicant’s remarks dated February 26, 2026:
Regarding the rejection of claims 78-91 and 94-97 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2), Applicant’s amendment and arguments have been fully considered. Applicants argue that “Tusch never discusses a user-specific movement. for example, gait. The sections of Tusch cited against this element when it was in claim 79 discuss the user's trajectory, that is, where she is headed, rather than her gait which is how she walks. Further, those references of Tusch, unlike the current claims, are not directed toward determining an identity of a user but rather toward deciphering her possible intentions”. Examiner agrees to the extent that Tusch is relying on user-specific movements to decipher user’s intention, but does not teach identifying the user solely based on the unique user’s movement such as gait. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, new grounds of rejection are made in view of the newly discovered references.
As to any arguments not specifically addressed, they are the same as those discussed above.
Claim Objections
Claims 78 and 96 are objected to because of the following informalities: in the newly added limitation the word “serious” was likely intended to say “series”.
Appropriate correction or explanation is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 78-91, 94-96, and 98 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tusch et al. (US 2021/0279475 A1) in view of Hwang et al. (US 2022/0210341 A1).
As to claim 78, Tusch teaches a method for external behavior recognition for control of an environment of a facility [smart home automation] (par. [0118]-[0121], [0391]), the method comprising:
training a behavior learning module with unique external behavior exhibited by known users [training ART platform by creating person’s own digital avatar that is programmed with a specific person’s gesture but not someone else’s to be recognized in operation] (par. [0315]-[0316], [0391], [0442], [1010]);
capturing, with an imaging system of the facility, a plurality of successive images of a user of the facility (Figs. 9, 11, 18, 60, par. [0344], [0349], [0431]);
obtaining, from the plurality of successive images, external behavior data of the user, wherein the external behavior data is representative of one or more physical actions taken by the user during the capturing of the plurality of successive images [people trajectory, pose, gesture, identity generation] (Fig. 18, par. [0289], [0356], [0357]);
determining an identity of the user as one of the known users based at least in part on the external behavior data of the user by the behavior learning module trained with the unique external behavior exhibited by the known users [identity+gesture=control. Performing identification of a known user and what they are trying to do that is specific to that known user] (par. [0421]-[0422], [0441]-[0442]); and
implementing environment customizations associated with the identity of the user [creating ART events such as customized temperature control for the detected individual or allowing an adult to turn on/off smoke alarm, but not kids] (Fig. 43, par. [0421]-[0422], [0738]).
Tusch fails to expressly teach that the unique external behavior exhibited by the known users includes a user-specific movement pattern determined from a series of physical actions performed by each respective known user.
Hwang is directed to performing a user-specific customization associated with the user identifier based on determining multiple biometric characteristics of the person and associating the characteristics with a user identifier unique to the person (abstract). In particular, Hwang teaches a unique external behavior exhibited by the known users includes a user-specific movement pattern determined from a series of physical actions performed by each respective known user [typical gaits, poses, gestures, and other movements that can be used to identify particular persons in order to apply appropriate customizations] (par. [0006], [0022], [0040], [0047], [0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system of Tusch by having the unique external behavior exhibited by the known users includes a user-specific movement pattern determined from a series of physical actions performed by each respective known user in order to recognize and track the person within the environment based on biometric characteristics other than a facial recognition result (par. [0040] in Hwang).
As to claim 79, Tusch in view of Hwang teaches that the user-specific movement pattern comprises a gait (par. [0022], [0040], [0047], [0095] in Hwang).
As to claim 80, Tusch teaches that the imaging system comprises a camera, an infrared (IR) camera, a lidar sensor, or an imaging radar system (Fig. 7).
As to claim 81, Tusch teaches that obtaining the external behavior data of the user comprises extracting a respective pose of the user from each image of the plurality of successive images [extracting a pose of the individual] (par. [0413], [0431]).
As to claim 82, Tusch teaches that determining the identity of the user based at least in part on the external behavior data of the user comprises determining a unique identifier associated with the user [unique identity] (par. [0093]).
As to claim 83, Tusch teaches that implementing environment customizations comprises controlling an environmental aspect using one or more building systems (Fig. 43, par. [0738]).
As to claim 84, Tusch teaches that the one or more building systems comprise a tintable window [non-functional descriptive material. It is well known for a home to have windows that can be tinted. The claim does not require any action with respect to a window] (par. [0478]).
As to claim 85, Tusch teaches that implementing the environment customizations comprises adjusting a temperature, window tint, and/or lighting within the facility (Fig. 43, par. [0738]).
As to claim 86, Tusch teaches that capturing the plurality of successive images of the user is responsive to a triggering event [event trigger basis] (par. [0945]).
As to claim 87, Tusch teaches that the triggering event comprises detection of the user at a location of the facility (par. [0945]).
As to claim 88, Tusch teaches that determining the identity of the user is further based on sensor information regarding the user [face or iris recognition using a sensor] (par. [0346], [1022]).
As to claim 89, Tusch teaches that the sensor information comprises information indicative of a sound made by the user, dimensions of the user, and/or biometric information regarding the user [face or iris recognition using a sensor] (par. [0346], [1022]).
As to claim 90, Tusch teaches that determining the identity of the user is further based on one or more device inputs received from the user [voice recognition] (par. [1018]-[1020]).
As to claim 91, Tusch teaches that the one or more device inputs comprise a temperature setting, a window tint setting, and/or a lighting setting [voice control system within the home] (par. [0186], [0194]).
As to claim 94, Tusch teaches that training the behavior learning module comprises using previously-obtained sets of images of the known users taking the one or more physical actions as a positive dataset [the system is trained using a large dataset of normal behavior of users and uses it to flag abnormal behavior in operation] (par. [1014], [1035]).
As to claim 95, Tusch teaches that the previously-obtained sets of images are obtained by the imaging system (par. [1011]-[1013]).
As to claim 96, Tusch in view of Hwang teaches an apparatus for external behavior recognition for control of an environment of a facility [computer-vision system] (par. [1057] in Tusch), the apparatus comprising one or more controllers comprising circuitry (par. [0323]-[0325] in Tusch), which one or more controllers are configured to perform the method steps as discussed per claim 78, above.
As to claim 98, Tusch in view of Hwang teaches all the elements as discussed per corresponding method claim 79, above.
Conclusion
/OLEG SURVILLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457