DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 2, 7, 8, 10, 14, 20, 24, and 25 were previously cancelled. Claims 1, 3-6, 9, 11-13, 15-19, 21-23, and 26 are pending. Claims 21-23 stand withdrawn without traverse.
Claims 1, 3-6, 9, 11-13, 15-19, and 26 are under current examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 9, 11-13, 15-17, 19, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al (CN104255743; publication date: 01/07/2015; citing the English machine translation; cited in the IDS filed 08/15/2023) in view of Pfeiffer et al. (US 2007/0191227; publication date: 08/16/2007; cited in the IDS filed 08/15/2023).
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 17, Hou discloses a bactericidal composition comprising kasugamycin and Thiodiazole-copper, and the ratio of quality and the number of copies of these substances is 10:1-1:100 (Hou: claim 1).
Hou does not disclose copper glycinate.
Pfeiffer discloses that copper glycinate (0011) is a copper salt useful for controlling pathogenic fungi (abstract) and that copper has been used in agriculture for controlling phytopathogenic fungi (0002).
It would have been prima facie obvious to use copper glycinate as the copper salt in Hou’s invention because one having ordinary skill would have recognized that it also served the same purpose of microbial control (see MPEP 2144.06).
With regard to the limitations of instant claims 5 and 17 requiring the composition to be “agricultural” the composition disclosed by Hou is considered to fall within the scope of “agricultural composition because it is for treatment of crops.
With regard to claims 1, 4, 6, 17, and 19, as noted above Hou discloses a range in ratio of kasugamycin and a different copper containing substance of from 10:1 to 1:100. This would have given one of ordinary skill a starting point to optimize the proportions of kasugamycin to copper glycinate to achieve optimal control over phytopathogenic fungi. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A): Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With regard to instant claims 9 and 17, the composition disclosed by Hou may be an aqueous emulsion (i.e. a liquid).
With regard to claims 5, 11, and 17, Pfeiffer discloses that surfactants, herbicides, fungicides, other pesticides (0206). It would have been obvious to add these classes of active agents to Hou’s composition. One having ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to provide additional agricultural benefits to the composition and would have had reasonable expectation of success because these were routinely used categories of ingredient in the art.
With regard to claims 12 and 13, as noted above, Pfeiffer teaches adding surfactants to the composition. Pfeiffer discloses further that alkylphenyl polyglycol ethers are suitable examples of surfactants for such compositions (0042). It would have been prima facie obvious to add a alkylphenyl polyglycol ethers to the composition because one having ordinary skill would have recognized this as a suitable and routine excipient in agricultural compositions. See MPEP 2144.07.
With regard to claims 15 and 16, the formulations in general contain between 1-80% by mass of both agents combined. Thus, Hou provides a suitable range in weight ratio for kasugamycin to copper salt. The examiner does not consider the limitations on percentage of kasugamycin and copper glycinate to patentably define over the cited prior art because optimizing amount of active substance to achieve antimicrobial effect would have been merely routine for one of ordinary skill as of the instant effective filing date. See MPEP 2144.05, as noted supra.
With regard to claim 26, Pfeiffer teaches adjuvants which are suitable for the formulation are generally understood as meaning the following classes of substances: Surfactants such as wetters, stickers or dispersants, antifoams, thickeners, carriers, antifreeze agents and bactericides (0033, 0034) and usually, 0.1 to 99% by weight of carriers are present in solid formulations. Other adjuvants usually amount to 0.1 to 30% by weight (0035). Thus, one having ordinary skill would have understood that surfactants such as those alkylphenyl polyglycol ethers can be used in a range of 0.1 – 30% by weight of the formulation. This range overlaps with the range required by the instant claims. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al (CN104255743; publication date: 01/07/2015; citing the English machine translation; cited in the IDS filed 08/15/2023) in view of Pfeiffer et al. (US 2007/0191227; publication date: 08/16/2007; cited in the IDS filed 08/15/2023) as applied to claims 1, 4-6, 9, 11-13, 15-17, 19, and 26 above, and further in view of Verbruggen et al. (US 20040167144; publication date: 08/26/2004).
The relevant disclosures of Hou and Pfeiffer are set forth above. Neither reference discloses kasugamycin hydrochloride hydrate.
Verbruggen teaches that both kasugamycin and kasugamycin hydrochloride hydrate were known to serve the same purpose as fungicides as of the instant effective filing date (0066).
It would have been prima facie obvious to use kasugamycin hydrochloride hydrate as the source of kasugamycin in Hou’s invention because this substance was known to serve the same purpose as of the instant effective filing date. See MPEP 2144.06.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 6, Applicant argues that Hou is not cited for teaching a generic copper salt system with kasugamycin and that one having ordinary skill would not have extrapolated the amount of the specific copper-containing substance disclosed by Hou to a different copper-containing substance, copper glycinate, copper monoglycinate, or copper diglycinate and expect the same level of performance. Applicant argues that Pfeiffer does not supply the missing motivation and reasonable expectation of success or that the substitution would have been predictable in terms of performance. Applicant argues further that the reasoning in the rejection does not provide an explanation as to why one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to substitute copper containing substances, as proposed by the examiner. On page 7, Applicant argues that one having ordinary skill would have lacked expectation of success in optimizing the amount of each active using the ratio disclosed in the prior art.
With regard to Applicant’s arguments that there was no motivation to combine the cited references, the examiner refers Applicant to MPEP 2145(X)(A) which states: Applicants may also argue that the combination of two or more references is “hindsight” because “express” motivation to combine the references is lacking. However, there is no requirement that an “express, written motivation to combine must appear in prior art references before a finding of obviousness.” See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 1276, 69 USPQ2d 1686, 1690 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See MPEP § 2141 and § 2143 for guidance regarding establishment of a prima facie case of obviousness. (Emphasis added.) In the instant case, as explained in the rejection, it would have been prima facie obvious to use copper glycinate as the copper salt in Hou’s invention because one having ordinary skill would have recognized that it also served the same purpose of microbial control (see MPEP 2144.06).
With regard to the argument that one having ordinary skill could not have inferred a starting point for optimization of the ratio of copper glycinate to kasugamycin, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The artisan of ordinary skill would have been an individual with an advanced degree, e.g. a Ph.D. in agrochemistry. "A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle." Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d 1397. Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also In re Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."). See MPEP 2141.03 and 2144.05(II)(A). In the instant case, the ordinary artisan is a highly skilled and well-trained individual who would have had the understanding and resources to test multiple concentrations of each active to determine optimal working ranges.
With regard to Applicant’s argument that one having ordinary skill would have lacked expectation of success, the examiner reminds Applicant that “Obviousness does not require absolute predictability of success.” Id. at 903, 7 USPQ2d at 1681." In the instant case, expectation of success is derived from the fact that both copper-containing substances contain the copper ion, and both were already recognized as having antimicrobial activity.
On page 7, Applicant points to experiments in the instant specification as showing an unexpectedly superior performance of the claimed composition over each active individually.
Please refer to MPEP 716.02(b) which details the burden on Applicant to establish that results in a side-by-side comparison to the closest prior art are unexpected and significant. Specifically, Applicant must establish that differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and are of both practical and statistical significance. Additionally, evidence of unexpected properties must be commensurate in scope with the claims.
In the instant case, no side-by-side comparison to the closest prior art has been presented, specifically the combination of copper and kasugamycin taught in the cited prior art. As such, Applicant has not met the burden to overcome an obviousness rejection with a persuasive showing of unexpected results.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-6, 9, 11-13, 15-17, 19, and 26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
claims 1-20, 22, and 23 of copending Application No. 18729576; and
claims 1-9, 11,14, 16, and 17 of copending Application No. 18548122
in view of Pfeiffer et al. (US 2007/0191227; publication date: 08/16/2007; cited in the IDS filed 08/15/2023).
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘576 and ‘122 applications embrace an agrochemical composition for application to plants comprising kasugamycin and a copper salt.
The claims of the ‘576 and ‘122 applications do not mention copper glycinate.
Pfeiffer discloses that copper glycinate (0011) is a copper salt useful for controlling pathogenic fungi (abstract) and that copper has been used in agriculture for controlling phytopathogenic fungi (0002).
It would have been prima facie obvious to use copper glycinate as the copper salt in the invention of the ‘576 and ‘122 applications because one having ordinary skill would have recognized that it also served the same purpose of microbial control (see MPEP 2144.06).
With regard to the limitations of instant claims 5 and 17 requiring the composition to be “agricultural” the composition disclosed by Hou is considered to fall within the scope of “agricultural composition because it is for treatment of plants.
With regard to the ratio of kasugamycin to copper glycinate as well as the percentages of kasugamycin and of copper glycinate required by the instant claims, the examiner considers it a matter of routine to optimize fungicidal effect of the composition by adjusting doses of the active fungicides contained therein. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A): Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With regard to instant claims 9, 17, and 18, Pfeiffer discloses such compositions may be aqueous and emulsified (0203). It would have been prima facie obvious to formulate the composition of the ‘576 and ‘122 applications as such because this was a routinely used general formulation type as of the instant effective filing date (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
With regard to claim 11, Pfeiffer discloses that surfactants, herbicides, fungicides, other pesticides (0206). It would have been obvious to add these classes of active agents to the composition of the ‘576 and ‘122 applications. One having ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to provide additional agricultural benefits to the composition and would have had reasonable expectation of success because these were routinely used categories of ingredient in the art.
With regard to claims 12 and 13, as noted above, Pfeiffer teaches adding surfactants to the composition. Pfeiffer discloses further that alkylphenyl polyglycol ethers are suitable examples of surfactants for such compositions (0042). It would have been prima facie obvious to add a alkylphenyl polyglycol ethers to the composition because one having ordinary skill would have recognized this as a suitable and routine excipient in agricultural compositions. See MPEP 2144.07.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 3 and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
claims 1-20, 22, and 23 of copending Application No. 18729576; and
claims 1-9, 11,14, 16, and 17 of copending Application No. 18548122
in view of Pfeiffer et al. (US 2007/0191227; publication date: 08/16/2007; cited in the IDS filed 08/15/2023) as applied to claims 1, 4-6, 9, 11-13, 15-17, 19, and 26 above, and further in view of Verbruggen et al. (US 20040167144; publication date: 08/26/2004).
The relevant limitations of the cited applications and disclosure of Pfeiffer are set forth above. None discloses kasugamycin hydrochloride hydrate.
Verbruggen teaches that both kasugamycin and kasugamycin hydrochloride hydrate were known to serve the same purpose as fungicides as of the instant effective filing date (0066).
It would have been prima facie obvious to use kasugamycin hydrochloride hydrate as the source of kasugamycin in the invention claimed in the cited applications because this substance was known to serve the same purpose as of the instant effective filing date. See MPEP 2144.06.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 7-8, Applicant argues that the present application and those of the copending applications are not in condition for allowance, a double patenting rejection cannot be properly determined and requests that the provisional rejections be held in abeyance until patentable subject matter is identified in two patent properties.
Regarding Applicant's argument that the double patenting rejections should be held in abeyance, the double patenting rejections apply to the claims as they are currently written, therefore these double patenting rejections are maintained. Further, Applicants’ request to hold the rejection in abeyance is not a proper response to a rejection. Rather, a request to hold a matter in abeyance may only be made in response to an objection or requirements as to form (see MPEP 37 CFR 1.111(b) and 714.02). Thus, the rejection is maintained in the absence of a terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE PEEBLES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617