DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the torque setpoint" in lines 11-12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura et al. (hereinafter Nomura, US 2007/0052382 A1) in view of Suhama et al. (hereinafter Suhama, US 2013/0169206 A1).
For claim 1, Nomura discloses a method for selecting a chopping frequency for application thereof to an inverter controlling a rotating electric machine (Figs. 1-3 of Nomura discloses a method for selecting a chopping frequency for application thereof to an inverter 104 controlling a rotating electric machine 110 – see Nomura, Figs. 1-3, paragraphs [0032]-[0040] and [0042]-[0043]),
wherein the chopping frequency is chosen from among multiple predetermined frequencies depending on the position, in a map, of a current operating point of the assembly formed by the electric machine and the inverter, the map having at least the rotational speed of the electric machine or the frequency of the electric current applied thereto as parameter (Figs. 1-3 of Nomura discloses the chopping frequency is chosen from among multiple predetermined frequencies (2kHz -12kHz) depending on the position, in a map (Fig. 3), of a current operating point of the assembly formed by the electric machine 110 and the inverter 104, the map having at least the rotational speed of the electric machine (Fig. 3, motor speed) or the frequency of the electric current applied thereto as parameter – see Nomura, Figs. 1-3, paragraphs [0032], [0039]-[0040], and [0044]),
wherein in at least part of the map, the chopping frequency is furthermore chosen based on a parameter representative of a thermal condition of the electronic switches contained in the inverter (see Nomura, Figs. 1-3, paragraphs [0040] and [0043]-[0044]).
Nomura is silent for disclosing
in a nominal operation area of the assembly formed by the electric machine and the inverter, the chopping frequency is chosen from among three different chopping frequencies, namely a first chopping frequency, a second chopping frequency, and a third chopping frequency, and
wherein the map defines three parts in the nominal operation area, namely a first part, a second part and a third part, and wherein:
- when the current operating point of the assembly formed by the electric machine and the inverter is positioned in the first part, the first chopping frequency is chosen,
- when the current operating point of the assembly formed by the electric machine and the inverter is positioned in the second part, the second chopping frequency is chosen or the third chopping frequency is chosen, depending on the parameter representative of the thermal condition of the electronic switches contained in the inverter, and
- when the current operating point of the assembly formed by the electric machine and the inverter is positioned in a third part, the third chopping frequency is chosen.
However, Suhama discloses
in a nominal operation area of the assembly formed by the electric machine and the inverter, the chopping frequency is chosen from among three different chopping frequencies, namely a first chopping frequency, a second chopping frequency, and a third chopping frequency (Figs. 1-4 of Suhama disclose, in a nominal operation area of the assembly formed by the electric machine M1 and the inverter 14, the chopping frequency fs is chosen from among three different chopping frequencies, namely a first chopping frequency fs1, a second chopping frequency fs2, and a third chopping frequency fs3 – see Suhama, Figs. 1-4, paragraphs [0047], [0051] and [0061]-[0064]),
wherein the map defines three parts in the nominal operation area, namely a first part, a second part and a third part (Fig. 4 of Suhama discloses the map defines three parts in the nominal operation area, namely a first part (Fig. 4, region 0<N< N1 and T>T1), a second part (Fig. 4, region N1<N<N2) and a third part (Fig. 4, region 0<N<N1 and T<T1 in combining region N1<N<N2 and T<T2), and wherein:
- when the current operating point of the assembly formed by the electric machine and the inverter is positioned in the first part, the first chopping frequency is chosen (Figs. 3-4 of Suhama disclose the current operating point of the assembly formed by the electric machine M1 and the inverter 14 is positioned in the first part (Fig. 4, region: 0<N< N1 and T>T1), the first chopping frequency fs1 is chosen -- see Suhama, Fig. 4, paragraph [0061]-[0062]),
- when the current operating point of the assembly formed by the electric machine and the inverter is positioned in the second part, the second chopping frequency is chosen or the third chopping frequency is chosen, depending on the parameter representative of the thermal condition of the electronic switches contained in the inverter (Figs. 3-4 of Suhama disclose the current operating point of the assembly formed by the electric machine M1 and the inverter 14 is positioned in the second part (Fig. 4, region N1<N<N)), the second chopping frequency fs2 is chosen if T>T2 or the third chopping frequency fs3 is chosen if T<T2, depending on the parameter representative of the thermal condition T of the electronic switches contained in the inverter 14 -- see Suhama, Fig. 4, paragraph [0061]-[0062]), and
- when the current operating point of the assembly formed by the electric machine and the inverter is positioned in a third part, the third chopping frequency is chosen (Figs. 3-4 of Suhama disclose the current operating point of the assembly formed by the electric machine M1 and the inverter 14 is positioned in a third part (Fig. 4, region 0<N<N1 and T<T1 in combining region N1<N<N2 and T<T2), the third chopping frequency fs3 is chosen -- see Suhama, Fig. 4, paragraph [0061]-[0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Nomura to incorporate teaching of Suhama for purpose of reducing both noise in the power control system and loss in motor.
For claim 2, Nomura in view of Suhama disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein
- the first part of the map corresponds to the part of the nominal operation area positioned up to a first threshold of the rotational speed of the electric machine or of the frequency of the electric current applied thereto (Fig. 4 of Suhama discloses the first part (Fig. 4, region 0<N< N1 and T>T1) of the map corresponds to the part of the nominal operation area positioned up to a first threshold N1 of the rotational speed of the electric machine M1 or of the frequency fs1 of the electric current applied thereto -- see Suhama, Fig. 4, paragraph [0061]-[0062]),
- the second part of the map corresponds to the part of the nominal operation area positioned above the first threshold of the rotational speed of the electric machine or of the frequency of the electric current applied thereto and which extends up to a second threshold of the rotational speed of the electric machine or of the frequency of the electric current applied thereto (Fig. 4 of Suhama discloses the second part (Fig. 4, region N1<N<N2) of the map corresponds to the part of the nominal operation area positioned above the first threshold N1 of the rotational speed of the electric machine M1 or of the frequency fs2 of the electric current applied thereto and which extends up to a second threshold N2 of the rotational speed of the electric machine M1 or of the frequency (fs2/fs3) of the electric current applied thereto -- see Suhama, Fig. 4, paragraph [0061]-[0062]),
- the third part of the map corresponds to the part of the nominal operation area positioned above the second threshold of the rotational speed of the electric machine or of the frequency of the electric current applied thereto (Fig. 4 of Suhama discloses the third part (Fig. 4, region 0<N<N1 and T<T1 in combining region N1<N<N2 and T<T2) of the map corresponds to the part of the nominal operation area positioned above the second threshold N2 of the rotational speed of the electric machine M1 or of the frequency fs3 of the electric current applied thereto -- see Suhama, Fig. 4, paragraph [0061]-[0062]).
For claim 3, Nomura in view of Suhama disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein
- the first part of the map corresponds to the part of the nominal operation area positioned up to a first threshold of the rotational speed of the electric machine or of the frequency of the electric current applied thereto (Fig. 4 of Suhama discloses the first part (Fig. 4, region 0<N< N1 and T>T1) of the map corresponds to the part of the nominal operation area positioned up to a first threshold N1 of the rotational speed of the electric machine M1 or of the frequency fs1 of the electric current applied thereto -- see Suhama, Fig. 4, paragraph [0061]-[0062]),
- the second part of the map corresponds to the part of the nominal operation area positioned above the first threshold of the rotational speed of the electric machine or of the frequency of the electric current applied thereto and above a threshold of an intensity setpoint of the current to be applied to the electric machine or of a torque setpoint (Fig. 4 of Suhama discloses the second part (Fig. 4, region N1<N<N2) of the map corresponds to the part of the nominal operation area positioned above the first threshold N1 of the rotational speed of the electric machine M1 or of the frequency fs2 of the electric current applied thereto and above a threshold of an intensity setpoint of the current to be applied to the electric machine M1 or of a torque setpoint T2 -- see Suhama, Fig. 4, paragraph [0061]-[0062]. It is noted that torque is proportional to current in an electric machine. Thus, the threshold of intensity setpoint of the current is considered obviously as threshold of torque),
- the third part of the map corresponds to the part of the nominal operation area positioned above the first threshold of the rotational speed of the electric machine or of the frequency of the electric current applied thereto and which extends up to the threshold of the intensity setpoint of the current to be applied to the electric machine or of the torque setpoint (Fig. 4 of Suhama discloses the third part (Fig. 4, region 0<N<N1 and T<T1 in combining region N1<N<N2 and T<T2) of the map corresponds to the part of the nominal operation area positioned above the first threshold N1 of the rotational speed of the electric machine M1 or of the frequency fs3 of the electric current applied thereto and which extends up to the threshold of the intensity setpoint of the current to be applied to the electric machine or of the torque setpoint T1/T2 -- see Suhama, Fig. 4, paragraph [0061]-[0062]).
For claim 4, Nomura discloses a method for selecting a chopping frequency for application thereof to an inverter controlling a rotating electric machine (Figs. 1-3 of Nomura discloses a method for selecting a chopping frequency for application thereof to an inverter 104 controlling a rotating electric machine 110 – see Nomura, Figs. 1-3, paragraphs [0032]-[0040] and [0042]-[0043]),
wherein the chopping frequency is chosen from among multiple predetermined frequencies depending on the position, in a map, of a current operating point of the assembly formed by the electric machine and the inverter, the map having at least the rotational speed of the electric machine or the frequency of the electric current applied thereto as parameter (Figs. 1-3 of Nomura discloses the chopping frequency is chosen from among multiple predetermined frequencies (2kHz -12kHz) depending on the position, in a map (Fig. 3), of a current operating point of the assembly formed by the electric machine 110 and the inverter 104, the map having at least the rotational speed of the electric machine (Fig. 3, motor speed) or the frequency of the electric current applied thereto as parameter – see Nomura, Figs. 1-3, paragraphs [0032], [0039]-[0040], and [0044]),
wherein in at least part of the map, the chopping frequency is furthermore chosen based on a parameter representative of a thermal condition of the electronic switches contained in the inverter (see Nomura, Figs. 1-3, paragraphs [0040] and [0043]-[0044]).
Nomura is silent for disclosing the map further includes, as parameter, the torque setpoint to be applied to the electric machine or the intensity setpoint of the current to be applied to the electric machine by the inverter.
However, Suhama discloses the map further includes, as parameter, the torque setpoint to be applied to the electric machine or the intensity setpoint of the current to be applied to the electric machine by the inverter (Figs. 3-4 of Suhama disclose the map further includes, as parameter, the torque setpoint Trq to be applied to the electric machine M1 or the intensity setpoint of the current to be applied to the electric machine M1 by the inverter 14 – see Suhama, Figs. 3-4, paragraphs [0060]-[0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Nomura to incorporate teaching of Suhama for purpose of reducing both noise in the power control system and loss in motor.
For claim 5, Nomura in view of Suhama disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the parameter representative of the thermal condition of the switches of the inverter is a measured temperature of the switches or estimated temperature of the switches based on the operating parameters of the inverter over time (Figs. 1-3 of Nomura discloses the parameter representative of the thermal condition of the switches 111-116 of the inverter 104 is a measured temperature of the switches or estimated temperature of the switches based on the operating parameters of the inverter over time – see Nomura, Figs. 1-3, paragraphs [0040] and [0043]-[0044]).
For claim 8, Nomura in view of Suhama disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the first chopping frequency is less than the second chopping frequency, and the second chopping frequency is less than the third chopping frequency (see Suhama, Fig. 4, paragraph [0063]).
For claim 9, Nomura in view of Suhama disclose the method according to claim 8, wherein:
- the first chopping frequency (Fig. 4 of Suhama, fs1) is comprised between 4 kHz and 6 kHz (Nomura in view of Suhama is silent for disclosing the specific first chopping frequency which is comprised between 4 kHz and 6 kHz. However, Fig. 3 of Nomura disclose the chopping frequency between 2 kHz and 12kHz; and Suhama discloses frequency fs fluctuates within the range of a large region from the low frequency region (see Suhama, Fig. 4, paragraphs [0063]-[0064]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Nomura in view of Suhama to have specific first chopping frequency between 4 kHz and 6 kHz for purpose of performing specific functions of a particular application);
- the second chopping frequency (Fig. 4 of Suhama, fs2) is comprised between 6 kHz and 9 kHz (Similarly, Nomura in view of Suhama is silent for disclosing the specific second chopping frequency which is comprised between 6 kHz and 9 kHz. However, Fig. 3 of Nomura disclose the chopping frequency between 2 kHz and 12kHz; and Suhama discloses frequency fs fluctuates within the range of a large region from the low frequency region (see Suhama, Fig. 4, paragraphs [0063]-[0064]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Nomura in view of Suhama to have specific second chopping frequency between 6 kHz and 9 kHz for purpose of performing specific functions of a particular application);
- the third chopping frequency (Fig. 4 of Suhama, fs3) is comprised between 9 kHz and 12 kHz (Similarly, Nomura in view of Suhama is silent for disclosing the specific third chopping frequency which is comprised between 9 kHz and 12 kHz. However, Fig. 3 of Nomura disclose the chopping frequency between 2 kHz and 12kHz; and Suhama discloses frequency fs fluctuates within the range of a large region from the low frequency region (see Suhama, Fig. 4, paragraphs [0063]-[0064]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Nomura in view of Suhama to have specific second chopping frequency between 9 kHz and 12 kHz for purpose of performing specific functions of a particular application).
For claim 10, Nomura in view of Suhama disclose tyhe method according to claim 1, wherein when the rotational speed of the electric machine exceeds a maximum rotational speed such that the operating point of the assembly exits the nominal operation area, a fourth chopping frequency is chosen, the fourth chopping frequency being greater than the third chopping frequency (Fig. 4 of Suhama discloses when the rotational speed N of the electric machine M1 exceeds a maximum rotational speed N2 such that the operating point of the assembly exits the nominal operation area, a fourth chopping frequency fs4 is chosen, the fourth chopping frequency fs4 being greater than the third chopping frequency fs3 – see Suhama, Figs. 3-4, paragraphs [0062]-[0063]).
For claim 11, Nomura in view of Suhama disclose a method for controlling an inverter controlling a rotating electric machine, the control method including the steps of:
- implementing a method for selecting a chopping frequency according to claim 1 (see explanation in claim 1 above),
- applying the chosen chopping frequency to the inverter (see Nomura, Figs. 1-3, paragraphs [0032]-[0041]).
Claims 12 is an apparatus claim which is either same or similar to combination of “a method” claim 1 and claim 11. The explanation is omitted.
For claim 13, Nomura in view of Suhama disclose an electric motor vehicle (Suhama discloses an electric motor vehicle – see Suhama, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0002], [0030] and [0045]-[0046]) including a device according to claim 12 (see explanation in claim 12 above).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura et al. (hereinafter Nomura, US 2007/0052382 A1) in view of Suhama et al. (hereinafter Suhama, US 2013/0169206 A1), further in view of Youn et al. (hereinafter Youn, US 2018/0054153 A1).
For claim 6, Nomura in view of Suhama disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the parameter representative of the thermal condition of the switches is a function of the current voltage of a battery for powering the inverter and the electric machine (Fig. 1 of Nomura discloses the parameter representative of the thermal condition of the switches 111-116 via temperature measuring section 106 – see Nomura, Fig. 1, paragraph [0039]. Nomura discloses power source 101 and a rectifier 103 which supply a DC voltage for powering the inverter 104 and the electric machine 110 – see Nomura, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0034]-[0035]. It is well-known in art that power source 101 and a rectifier 103 can be replaced by a battery for powering the inverter and the electric machine. Also, the thermal condition of the switches is directly proportional to voltage. Thus, thermal condition of the switches is a function of the current voltage of the battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Nomura to include a battery instead of power source and a rectifier, and thermal condition of the switches is a function of the current voltage of the battery to meet the design criteria of a particular application).
Nomura and Suhama are silent for disclosing the parameter representative of a temperature of a coolant present in a coolant circuit of the inverter.
However, Youn discloses the parameter representative of a temperature of a coolant present in a coolant circuit of the inverter (see Youn, Figs. 1-3 and 5, paragraphs [0026]-[0031] and [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Nomura in view of Suhama to incorporate teaching of Youn for purpose of reducing loss of a switching frequency of the inverter.
For claim 7, Nomura in view of Suhama, further in view of Youn disclose the method according to claim 6, wherein when the current operating point of the assembly formed by the electric machine and the inverter is positioned in the second part of the map, wherein the second chopping frequency is chosen if the temperature of the coolant at the inlet of the inverter is above a predefined value positioned between 50 °C and 90 °C, and if the voltage of the battery is greater than a predefined voltage comprised between 300 V and 380 V, and the third chopping frequency is chosen if these conditions are not met (Nomura, Suhama and Youn do not disclose specific second chopping frequency is chosen if the temperature of the coolant at the inlet of the inverter is above a predefined value positioned between 50 °C and 90 °C, and if the voltage of the battery is greater than a specific predefined voltage comprised between 300 V and 380 V, and the third chopping frequency is chosen if these conditions are not met. However, Nomura obviously discloses thermal condition of the switches is a function of the current voltage of the battery (see explanation in claim 6 above); Suhama discloses second and third chopping frequencies (see Suhama, Fig. 4); and Youn discloses switching frequency of inverter which is adjusted based on the monitored temperature of the coolant (see Youn, Figs. 1-3 and 5, abstract, paragraphs [0030]-[0031] and [0033]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Nomura in view of Suhama, further in view of Youn to include when the current operating point of the assembly formed by the electric machine and the inverter is positioned in the second part of the map, wherein the second chopping frequency is chosen if the temperature of the coolant at the inlet of the inverter is above a predefined value positioned between 50 °C and 90 °C, and if the voltage of the battery is greater than a predefined voltage comprised between 300 V and 380 V, and the third chopping frequency is chosen if these conditions are not met to meet the design criteria of a particular application).
Conclusion
/THAI T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846
Nov 1, 2025