The amendment filed 1/8/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Claims 1-30 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 9, 15-16, 18, 23 and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nory et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230188306 A1) in view of Suzuki et al. (Pub No.: US 20150263773 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Nory and Suzuki.
In regard to Claim 1, Nory teaches A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (The UE, Para. 84), comprising: transmitting a UE capability message that indicates a UE capability (A NW node that receives and processes the UE capability signaling can configure the UE, Para. 125) to support both a first uplink switching period (The UE can indicate a first capability (e.g., time duration T1) based on which additional PUSCH preparation time for UL Tx switching, Para. 84) for switching between a first pair of transmit chain configurations (In EN-DC, the first carrier (or serving cell, or set of carriers) can belong to a first cell group (a master cell group, e.g. LTE), and a second carrier (or serving cell, or set of carriers) can belong to a second cell group (or secondary cell group e.g. NR), Para. 86. The UE can be configured with a first mode or a second mode for UL transmit chain switching, Para. 127) and a second uplink switching period (and a second capability (Tgap) based on which switching gap/guard duration is required for UL Tx switching, Para. 84) for switching (support fast-switched UL Tx CA scenarios, and based on the contents of the DCI determine whether to switch the hardware or tx chain (from one carrier to another), Para. 69),
Nory teaches wherein the first uplink switching period and the second uplink switching period each correspond to different switching periods (Tgap and T1 can be different, Para. 84).
Nory teaches transmitting an uplink data message (PUSCH, Para. 71, FIG. 7) after a preparation time (The UE PUSCH preparation time for uplink transmission on a first serving cell is based on its PUSCH processing capability and additionally based on a first time duration (T1, shown in FIG. 7), Para. 71, FIG. 7) that is based at least in part on an uplink switching period comprising one of the first uplink switching period (additionally based on a first time duration (T1, shown in FIG. 7), Para. 71, FIG. 7. The UE can indicate a first capability (e.g., time duration T1) based on which additional PUSCH preparation time for UL Tx switching, Para. 84) or the second uplink switching period in accordance with a first transmit chain configuration of the UE (A NW node that receives and processes the UE capability signaling can configure the UE with multiple serving cells and fast-switched UL Tx mode, determine the overall processing time including the additional processing time duration (T1), Para. 125).
Although Nory teaches a second uplink switching period for switching, Nory fails to teach a second uplink switching period for switching between a second pair of transmit chain configurations, wherein each transmit chain configuration of the first pair and the second pair of transmit chain configurations corresponds to a respective configuration of each of a first transmit chain of the UE and a second transmit chain of the UE on respective component carriers for communications.
Suzuki teaches a second uplink switching period for switching between a second pair of transmit chain configurations (The hopping control unit 112 input, according to the retained hopping sequences, frequency channel numbers to the RF unit 142 at fixed time intervals (switching cycles of frequency channels), Para. 33, FIGS. 2, 3), wherein each transmit chain configuration of the first pair (The hopping control unit 111 input, according to the retained hopping sequences, frequency channel numbers to the RF unit 141 at fixed time intervals (switching cycles of frequency channels), Para. 33, FIGS. 2, 3) and the second pair of transmit chain configurations (The hopping control unit 112 input, according to the retained hopping sequences, frequency channel numbers to the RF unit 142 at fixed time intervals (switching cycles of frequency channels), Para. 33, FIGS. 2, 3) corresponds to a respective configuration of each of a first transmit chain (hopping control unit 111 input, RF unit 141, Para. 33, FIGS. 2, 3) of the UE (radio communication apparatus 10, Para. 22, FIG. 2) and a second transmit chain (hopping control unit 112 input, RF unit 142, Para. 33, FIGS. 2, 3) of the UE (radio communication apparatus 10, Para. 22, FIG. 2) on respective component carriers for communications (In FIG. 3, slot 1, slot 2, and the like indicate numbers of transmission slots (switching cycles of frequency channels). As shown in FIG. 3, in the antennas at the same hour, transmission is performed using different frequency channels. The hoping control units 111, 112, retain different hopping sequences, Para. 31, FIGS. 2, 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Nory, since Suzuki provides a technique for utilizing two transceiver units that each hop between different channels for different times, which can be introduced into the system of Nory to permit two transceiver circuitries to be utilized and that transmit on different channels for different times to increase data rates and security without self-interference.
In regard to Claim 2, Nory teaches transmitting the UE capability message (A NW node that receives and processes the UE capability signaling can configure the UE, Para. 125) comprising a first uplink switching period parameter (T1 is indicated via UE capability signaling, Para. 83) configured to indicate the UE capability to support the first uplink switching period (The UE can indicate a first capability (e.g., time duration T1) based on which additional PUSCH preparation time for UL Tx switching, Para. 84) and a second uplink switching period parameter (Tgap can be indicated by the UE using UE capability parameter signaling, Para. 84) configured to indicate the UE capability to support the second uplink switching period (and a second capability (Tgap) based on which switching gap/guard duration is required for UL Tx switching, Para. 74).
In regard to Claim 4, Nory teaches determining a physical uplink shared channel preparation time (The UE PUSCH preparation time for uplink transmission on a first serving cell, Para. 71, FIG. 7) in accordance with the uplink switching period (additionally based on a first time duration (T1, shown in FIG. 7), Para. 71, FIG. 7. The UE can indicate a first capability (e.g., time duration T1) based on which additional PUSCH preparation time for UL Tx switching, Para. 84), wherein the physical uplink shared channel preparation time (The UE PUSCH preparation time for uplink transmission on a first serving cell, Para. 71, FIG. 7) comprises the uplink switching period (additionally based on a first time duration (T1, shown in FIG. 7), Para. 71, FIG. 7. The UE can indicate a first capability (e.g., time duration T1) based on which additional PUSCH preparation time for UL Tx switching, Para. 84), and wherein the preparation time is based at least in part on the physical uplink shared channel preparation time (The UE PUSCH preparation time for uplink transmission on a first serving cell is based on its PUSCH processing capability and additionally based on a first time duration (T1, shown in FIG. 7), Para. 71, FIG. 7).
In regard to Claim 9, Nory teaches receiving a control signal that schedules transmission of the uplink data message (a UE needs to decode the PDCCH, parse the DCI (Downlink Control Information), prepare uplink data and start the transmission, Para. 60. Reception of the last symbol of the PDCCH carrying the DCI scheduling the PUSCH, Para. 61) according to the first transmit chain configuration (In EN-DC, the first carrier (or serving cell, or set of carriers) can belong to a first cell group (a master cell group, e.g. LTE), and a second carrier (or serving cell, or set of carriers) can belong to a second cell group (or secondary cell group e.g. NR), Para. 86. The UE can be configured with a first mode or a second mode for UL transmit chain switching, Para. 127), wherein the uplink switching period corresponds to a switching period associated with a configuration switch between the first transmit chain configuration and a second transmit chain configuration of the UE (To support fast-switched UL Tx CA scenarios, the network NW must provision gaps, and since the NW can schedule PUSCHs on the two carriers dynamically, the UE would need to be provisioned with sufficient preparation time so that it can decode a DCI, and based on the contents of the DCI determine whether to switch the hardware or tx chain (from one carrier to another), and then prepare PUSCH accordingly. Thus, additional time can be needed to reflect the extra step of switching of Tx in the PUSCH preparation time, Para. 69).
In regard to Claim 15, Nory teaches A method for wireless communication at a base station (A NW node, Para. 125), comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a UE capability message that indicates a UE capability (A NW node that receives and processes the UE capability signaling can configure the UE, Para. 125) to support both a first uplink switching period (The UE can indicate a first capability (e.g., time duration T1) based on which additional PUSCH preparation time for UL Tx switching, Para. 84) for switching between a first pair of transmit chain configurations (In EN-DC, the first carrier (or serving cell, or set of carriers) can belong to a first cell group (a master cell group, e.g. LTE), and a second carrier (or serving cell, or set of carriers) can belong to a second cell group (or secondary cell group e.g. NR), Para. 86. The UE can be configured with a first mode or a second mode for UL transmit chain switching, Para. 127) and a second uplink switching period (and a second capability (Tgap) based on which switching gap/guard duration is required for UL Tx switching, Para. 84) for switching (support fast-switched UL Tx CA scenarios, and based on the contents of the DCI determine whether to switch the hardware or tx chain (from one carrier to another), Para. 69).
Nory teaches wherein the first uplink switching period and the second uplink switching period each correspond to different switching periods (Tgap and T1 can be different, Para. 84).
Nory teaches receiving, from the UE, an uplink data message (PUSCH, Para. 71, FIG. 7) after a preparation time (The UE PUSCH preparation time for uplink transmission on a first serving cell is based on its PUSCH processing capability and additionally based on a first time duration (T1, shown in FIG. 7), Para. 71, FIG. 7) that is based at least in part on the uplink switching period comprising one of the first uplink switching period (additionally based on a first time duration (T1, shown in FIG. 7), Para. 71, FIG. 7. The UE can indicate a first capability (e.g., time duration T1) based on which additional PUSCH preparation time for UL Tx switching, Para. 84) or the second uplink switching period in accordance with a first transmit chain configuration of the UE (A NW node that receives and processes the UE capability signaling can configure the UE with multiple serving cells and fast-switched UL Tx mode, determine the overall processing time including the additional processing time duration (T1), Para. 125).
Although Nory teaches a second uplink switching period for switching, Nory fails to teach a second uplink switching period for switching between a second pair of transmit chain configurations, wherein each transmit chain configuration of the first pair and the second pair of transmit chain configurations corresponds to a respective configuration of each of a first transmit chain of the UE and a second transmit chain of the UE on respective component carriers for communications.
Suzuki teaches a second uplink switching period for switching between a second pair of transmit chain configurations (The hopping control unit 112 input, according to the retained hopping sequences, frequency channel numbers to the RF unit 142 at fixed time intervals (switching cycles of frequency channels), Para. 33, FIGS. 2, 3), wherein each transmit chain configuration of the first pair (The hopping control unit 111 input, according to the retained hopping sequences, frequency channel numbers to the RF unit 141 at fixed time intervals (switching cycles of frequency channels), Para. 33, FIGS. 2, 3) and the second pair of transmit chain configurations (The hopping control unit 112 input, according to the retained hopping sequences, frequency channel numbers to the RF unit 142 at fixed time intervals (switching cycles of frequency channels), Para. 33, FIGS. 2, 3) corresponds to a respective configuration of each of a first transmit chain (hopping control unit 111 input, RF unit 141, Para. 33, FIGS. 2, 3) of the UE (radio communication apparatus 10, Para. 22, FIG. 2) and a second transmit chain (hopping control unit 112 input, RF unit 142, Para. 33, FIGS. 2, 3) of the UE (radio communication apparatus 10, Para. 22, FIG. 2) on respective component carriers for communications (In FIG. 3, slot 1, slot 2, and the like indicate numbers of transmission slots (switching cycles of frequency channels). As shown in FIG. 3, in the antennas at the same hour, transmission is performed using different frequency channels. The hoping control units 111, 112, retain different hopping sequences, Para. 31, FIGS. 2, 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Nory, since Suzuki provides a technique for utilizing two transceiver units that each hop between different channels for different times, which can be introduced into the system of Nory to permit two transceiver circuitries to be utilized and that transmit on different channels for different times to increase data rates and security without self-interference.
In regard to Claim 16, Nory teaches receiving the UE capability message (A NW node that receives and processes the UE capability signaling can configure the UE, Para. 125) comprising a first uplink switching period parameter (T1 is indicated via UE capability signaling, Para. 83) configured to indicate the UE capability to support the first uplink switching period (The UE can indicate a first capability (e.g., time duration T1) based on which additional PUSCH preparation time for UL Tx switching, Para. 84) and a second uplink switching period parameter (Tgap can be indicated by the UE using UE capability parameter signaling, Para. 84) configured to indicate the UE capability to support the second uplink switching period (and a second capability (Tgap) based on which switching gap/guard duration is required for UL Tx switching, Para. 74).
In regard to Claim 18, Nory teaches determining a physical uplink shared channel preparation time (The UE PUSCH preparation time for uplink transmission on a first serving cell, Para. 71, FIG. 7) in accordance with the uplink switching period (additionally based on a first time duration (T1, shown in FIG. 7), Para. 71, FIG. 7. The UE can indicate a first capability (e.g., time duration T1) based on which additional PUSCH preparation time for UL Tx switching, Para. 84), wherein the physical uplink shared channel preparation time (The UE PUSCH preparation time for uplink transmission on a first serving cell, Para. 71, FIG. 7) comprises the uplink switching period (additionally based on a first time duration (T1, shown in FIG. 7), Para. 71, FIG. 7. The UE can indicate a first capability (e.g., time duration T1) based on which additional PUSCH preparation time for UL Tx switching, Para. 84), and wherein the preparation time is based at least in part on the physical uplink shared channel preparation time (The UE PUSCH preparation time for uplink transmission on a first serving cell is based on its PUSCH processing capability and additionally based on a first time duration (T1, shown in FIG. 7), Para. 71, FIG. 7).
In regard to Claim 23, Nory teaches transmitting a control signal that schedules transmission of the uplink data message (a UE needs to decode the PDCCH, parse the DCI (Downlink Control Information), prepare uplink data and start the transmission, Para. 60. Reception of the last symbol of the PDCCH carrying the DCI scheduling the PUSCH, Para. 61) according to the first transmit chain configuration (In EN-DC, the first carrier (or serving cell, or set of carriers) can belong to a first cell group (a master cell group, e.g. LTE), and a second carrier (or serving cell, or set of carriers) can belong to a second cell group (or secondary cell group e.g. NR), Para. 86. The UE can be configured with a first mode or a second mode for UL transmit chain switching, Para. 127), wherein the uplink switching period corresponds to a switching period associated with a configuration switch between the first transmit chain configuration and a second transmit chain configuration of the UE (To support fast-switched UL Tx CA scenarios, the network NW must provision gaps, and since the NW can schedule PUSCHs on the two carriers dynamically, the UE would need to be provisioned with sufficient preparation time so that it can decode a DCI, and based on the contents of the DCI determine whether to switch the hardware or tx chain (from one carrier to another), and then prepare PUSCH accordingly. Thus, additional time can be needed to reflect the extra step of switching of Tx in the PUSCH preparation time, Para. 69).
In regard to Claim 29, Nory teaches A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (The UE, Para. 84), comprising: a processor (processing circuitry 1003, Para. 39, FIG. 10); memory coupled with the processor (memory circuitry 1005, Para. 39, FIG. 10); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (memory circuitry 1005 may include computer readable program code that when executed by the processing circuitry 1003 causes the processing circuitry to perform operations, Para. 39, FIG. 10) to cause the UE to: transmit a UE capability message that indicates a UE capability (A NW node that receives and processes the UE capability signaling can configure the UE, Para. 125) to support both a first uplink switching period (The UE can indicate a first capability (e.g., time duration T1) based on which additional PUSCH preparation time for UL Tx switching, Para. 84) for switching between a first pair of transmit chain configurations (In EN-DC, the first carrier (or serving cell, or set of carriers) can belong to a first cell group (a master cell group, e.g. LTE), and a second carrier (or serving cell, or set of carriers) can belong to a second cell group (or secondary cell group e.g. NR), Para. 86. The UE can be configured with a first mode or a second mode for UL transmit chain switching, Para. 127) and a second uplink switching period (and a second capability (Tgap) based on which switching gap/guard duration is required for UL Tx switching, Para. 84) for switching (support fast-switched UL Tx CA scenarios, and based on the contents of the DCI determine whether to switch the hardware or tx chain (from one carrier to another), Para. 69).
Nory teaches wherein the first uplink switching period and the second uplink switching period each correspond to different switching periods (Tgap and T1 can be different, Para. 84).
Nory teaches transmit an uplink data message (PUSCH, Para. 71, FIG. 7) after a preparation time (The UE PUSCH preparation time for uplink transmission on a first serving cell is based on its PUSCH processing capability and additionally based on a first time duration (T1, shown in FIG. 7), Para. 71, FIG. 7) that is based at least in part on an uplink switching period comprising one of the first uplink switching period (additionally based on a first time duration (T1, shown in FIG. 7), Para. 71, FIG. 7. The UE can indicate a first capability (e.g., time duration T1) based on which additional PUSCH preparation time for UL Tx switching, Para. 84) or the second uplink switching period in accordance with a first transmit chain configuration of the UE (A NW node that receives and processes the UE capability signaling can configure the UE with multiple serving cells and fast-switched UL Tx mode, determine the overall processing time including the additional processing time duration (T1), Para. 125).
Although Nory teaches a second uplink switching period for switching, Nory fails to teach a second uplink switching period for switching between a second pair of transmit chain configurations, wherein each transmit chain configuration of the first pair and the second pair of transmit chain configurations corresponds to a respective configuration of each of a first transmit chain of the UE and a second transmit chain of the UE on respective component carriers for communications.
Suzuki teaches a second uplink switching period for switching between a second pair of transmit chain configurations (The hopping control unit 112 input, according to the retained hopping sequences, frequency channel numbers to the RF unit 142 at fixed time intervals (switching cycles of frequency channels), Para. 33, FIGS. 2, 3), wherein each transmit chain configuration of the first pair (The hopping control unit 111 input, according to the retained hopping sequences, frequency channel numbers to the RF unit 141 at fixed time intervals (switching cycles of frequency channels), Para. 33, FIGS. 2, 3) and the second pair of transmit chain configurations (The hopping control unit 112 input, according to the retained hopping sequences, frequency channel numbers to the RF unit 142 at fixed time intervals (switching cycles of frequency channels), Para. 33, FIGS. 2, 3) corresponds to a respective configuration of each of a first transmit chain (hopping control unit 111 input, RF unit 141, Para. 33, FIGS. 2, 3) of the UE (radio communication apparatus 10, Para. 22, FIG. 2) and a second transmit chain (hopping control unit 112 input, RF unit 142, Para. 33, FIGS. 2, 3) of the UE (radio communication apparatus 10, Para. 22, FIG. 2) on respective component carriers for communications (In FIG. 3, slot 1, slot 2, and the like indicate numbers of transmission slots (switching cycles of frequency channels). As shown in FIG. 3, in the antennas at the same hour, transmission is performed using different frequency channels. The hoping control units 111, 112, retain different hopping sequences, Para. 31, FIGS. 2, 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Nory, since Suzuki provides a technique for utilizing two transceiver units that each hop between different channels for different times, which can be introduced into the system of Nory to permit two transceiver circuitries to be utilized and that transmit on different channels for different times to increase data rates and security without self-interference.
In regard to Claim 30, Nory teaches An apparatus for wireless communication (A NW node that receives and processes the UE capability signaling can configure the UE, Para. 125), comprising: a processor (processing circuitry 1103, Para. 41, FIG. 11); memory coupled with the processor (memory circuitry 1105, Para. 41, FIG. 11); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (The memory circuitry 1105 may include computer readable program code that when executed by the processing circuitry 1103 causes the processing circuitry to perform operations, Para. 41, FIG. 11) to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a user equipment (UE), a UE capability message that indicates a UE capability (A NW node that receives and processes the UE capability signaling can configure the UE, Para. 125) to support both a first uplink switching period (The UE can indicate a first capability (e.g., time duration T1) based on which additional PUSCH preparation time for UL Tx switching, Para. 84) for switching between a first pair of transmit chain configurations (In EN-DC, the first carrier (or serving cell, or set of carriers) can belong to a first cell group (a master cell group, e.g. LTE), and a second carrier (or serving cell, or set of carriers) can belong to a second cell group (or secondary cell group e.g. NR), Para. 86. The UE can be configured with a first mode or a second mode for UL transmit chain switching, Para. 127) and a second uplink switching period (and a second capability (Tgap) based on which switching gap/guard duration is required for UL Tx switching, Para. 84) for switching (support fast-switched UL Tx CA scenarios, and based on the contents of the DCI determine whether to switch the hardware or tx chain (from one carrier to another), Para. 69).
Nory teaches wherein the first uplink switching period and the second uplink switching period each correspond to different switching periods (Tgap and T1 can be different, Para. 84).
Nory teaches receive, from the UE, an uplink data message (PUSCH, Para. 71, FIG. 7) after a preparation time (The UE PUSCH preparation time for uplink transmission on a first serving cell is based on its PUSCH processing capability and additionally based on a first time duration (T1, shown in FIG. 7), Para. 71, FIG. 7) that is based at least in part on an uplink switching period comprising one of the first uplink switching period (additionally based on a first time duration (T1, shown in FIG. 7), Para. 71, FIG. 7. The UE can indicate a first capability (e.g., time duration T1) based on which additional PUSCH preparation time for UL Tx switching, Para. 84) or the second uplink switching period in accordance with a first transmit chain configuration of the UE (A NW node that receives and processes the UE capability signaling can configure the UE with multiple serving cells and fast-switched UL Tx mode, determine the overall processing time including the additional processing time duration (T1), Para. 125).
Although Nory teaches a second uplink switching period for switching, Nory fails to teach a second uplink switching period for switching between a second pair of transmit chain configurations, wherein each transmit chain configuration of the first pair and the second pair of transmit chain configurations corresponds to a respective configuration of each of a first transmit chain of the UE and a second transmit chain of the UE on respective component carriers for communications.
Suzuki teaches a second uplink switching period for switching between a second pair of transmit chain configurations (The hopping control unit 112 input, according to the retained hopping sequences, frequency channel numbers to the RF unit 142 at fixed time intervals (switching cycles of frequency channels), Para. 33, FIGS. 2, 3), wherein each transmit chain configuration of the first pair (The hopping control unit 111 input, according to the retained hopping sequences, frequency channel numbers to the RF unit 141 at fixed time intervals (switching cycles of frequency channels), Para. 33, FIGS. 2, 3) and the second pair of transmit chain configurations (The hopping control unit 112 input, according to the retained hopping sequences, frequency channel numbers to the RF unit 142 at fixed time intervals (switching cycles of frequency channels), Para. 33, FIGS. 2, 3) corresponds to a respective configuration of each of a first transmit chain (hopping control unit 111 input, RF unit 141, Para. 33, FIGS. 2, 3) of the UE (radio communication apparatus 10, Para. 22, FIG. 2) and a second transmit chain (hopping control unit 112 input, RF unit 142, Para. 33, FIGS. 2, 3) of the UE (radio communication apparatus 10, Para. 22, FIG. 2) on respective component carriers for communications (In FIG. 3, slot 1, slot 2, and the like indicate numbers of transmission slots (switching cycles of frequency channels). As shown in FIG. 3, in the antennas at the same hour, transmission is performed using different frequency channels. The hoping control units 111, 112, retain different hopping sequences, Para. 31, FIGS. 2, 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Nory, since Suzuki provides a technique for utilizing two transceiver units that each hop between different channels for different times, which can be introduced into the system of Nory to permit two transceiver circuitries to be utilized and that transmit on different channels for different times to increase data rates and security without self-interference.
Claim(s) 3 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nory in view of Suzuki, and further in view of Mu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240179693 A1), hereafter referred to as Mu.
In regard to Claim 3, Nory teaches selecting the first uplink switching period supported by the UE (A NW node that receives and processes the UE capability signaling can configure the UE with multiple serving cells and fast-switched UL Tx mode, determine the overall processing time including the additional processing time duration (T1), Para. 125); and selecting the second uplink switching period supported by the UE (the UE indicates the switching gap Tgap capability (and optionally the additional PUSCH preparation time capability) for fast switching between two carriers, Para. 85).
Nory in view of Suzuki fails to teach selecting the first uplink switching period supported by the UE from a first set of configured uplink switching periods corresponding to the first uplink switching period parameter; and selecting the second uplink switching period supported by the UE from a second set of configured uplink switching periods corresponding to the second uplink switching period parameter.
Mu teaches selecting the first uplink switching period supported by the UE from a first set of configured uplink switching periods corresponding to the first uplink switching period parameter (the first switching delay set includes a first number of delay values, Para. 43. According to the capability of the terminal, a delay value for uplink and downlink switching is determined in the first switching delay set associated with the first BWP pair, Para. 52, FIG. 4).
Mu teaches selecting the second uplink switching period supported by the UE from a second set of configured uplink switching periods corresponding to the second uplink switching period parameter (the second switching delay set includes a second number of delay values, Para. 43. According to the capability of the terminal, a subset corresponding to the capability of the terminal is determined in the second switching delay set associated with the second BWP pair, and the delay value for uplink and downlink switching is determined in the subset, Para. 57, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mu with the teachings of Nory in view of Suzuki, since Mu provides a technique for utilizing sets of switching delays in managing switching between configurations, which can be introduced into the system of Nory in view of Suzuki to permit multiple values to be utilized through a set of delay values for optimal management of time for UL transmit chain switching.
In regard to Claim 17, Nory teaches the first uplink switching period supported by the UE is selected (A NW node that receives and processes the UE capability signaling can configure the UE with multiple serving cells and fast-switched UL Tx mode, determine the overall processing time including the additional processing time duration (T1), Para. 125); and the second uplink switching period supported by the UE is selected (the UE indicates the switching gap Tgap capability (and optionally the additional PUSCH preparation time capability) for fast switching between two carriers, Para. 85).
Nory in view of Suzuki fails to teach the first uplink switching period supported by the UE is selected from a first set of configured uplink switching periods corresponding to the first uplink switching period parameter; and the second uplink switching period supported by the UE is selected from a second set of configured uplink switching periods corresponding to the second uplink switching period parameter.
Mu teaches the first uplink switching period supported by the UE is selected from a first set of configured uplink switching periods corresponding to the first uplink switching period parameter (the first switching delay set includes a first number of delay values, Para. 43. According to the capability of the terminal, a delay value for uplink and downlink switching is determined in the first switching delay set associated with the first BWP pair, Para. 52, FIG. 4).
Mu teaches the second uplink switching period supported by the UE is selected from a second set of configured uplink switching periods corresponding to the second uplink switching period parameter (the second switching delay set includes a second number of delay values, Para. 43. According to the capability of the terminal, a subset corresponding to the capability of the terminal is determined in the second switching delay set associated with the second BWP pair, and the delay value for uplink and downlink switching is determined in the subset, Para. 57, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mu with the teachings of Nory in view of Suzuki, since Mu provides a technique for utilizing sets of switching delays in managing switching between configurations, which can be introduced into the system of Nory in view of Suzuki to permit multiple values to be utilized through a set of delay values for optimal management of time for UL transmit chain switching.
Claim(s) 5 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nory in view of Suzuki, and further in view of Wei et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220191880 A1), hereafter referred to as Wei.
In regard to Claim 5, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Nory in view of Suzuki teaches selecting the uplink switching period.
Nory in view of Suzuki fails to teach selecting a maximum duration from among a first duration corresponding to the first uplink switching period and a second duration corresponding to the second uplink switching period, wherein the uplink switching period comprises the maximum duration.
Wei teaches selecting a maximum duration from among a first duration corresponding to the first uplink switching period and a second duration corresponding to the second uplink switching period, wherein the uplink switching period comprises the maximum duration (a UE type is determined according to the capability reported by the UE, Para. 50. K2 corresponds to a switch delay greater than or equal to the maximum value of the required switch delays for uplink BWP by the UE capability (or the UE type) in respective subcarrier spacing types: K2 corresponds to a switch delay≥max {the required uplink switch delay 1, the required uplink switch delay 2 . . . the required uplink switch delay n}, Para. 54-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wei with the teachings of Nory in view of Suzuki, since Wei provides a technique for managing wireless resources of a UE by utilizing delay values to determine a maximum switch delay, which can be introduced into the system of Nory in view of Suzuki to permit an optimal switch uplink switching duration for determination of an uplink preparation time.
In regard to Claim 19, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Nory in view of Suzuki teaches selecting the uplink switching period.
Nory in view of Suzuki fails to teach selecting a maximum duration from among a first duration corresponding to the first uplink switching period and a second duration corresponding to the second uplink switching period, wherein the uplink switching period comprises the maximum duration.
Wei teaches selecting a maximum duration from among a first duration corresponding to the first uplink switching period and a second duration corresponding to the second uplink switching period, wherein the uplink switching period comprises the maximum duration (a UE type is determined according to the capability reported by the UE, Para. 50. K2 corresponds to a switch delay greater than or equal to the maximum value of the required switch delays for uplink BWP by the UE capability (or the UE type) in respective subcarrier spacing types: K2 corresponds to a switch delay≥max {the required uplink switch delay 1, the required uplink switch delay 2 . . . the required uplink switch delay n}, Para. 54-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wei with the teachings of Nory in view of Suzuki, since Wei provides a technique for managing wireless resources of a UE by utilizing delay values to determine a maximum switch delay, which can be introduced into the system of Nory in view of Suzuki to permit an optimal switch uplink switching duration for determination of an uplink preparation time.
Claim(s) 6-8 and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nory in view of Suzuki, and further in view of Zhang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230155655 A1), hereafter referred to as Zhang.
In regard to Claim 6, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Nory in view of Suzuki teaches the UE.
Nory in view of Suzuki fails to teach transmitting a second UE capability indicating that the UE supports a maximum of either one antenna port transmission or two antenna port transmissions on a frequency band of a frequency band combination configured for transmit chain switching.
Zhang teaches transmitting a second UE capability indicating that the UE supports a maximum of either one antenna port transmission or two antenna port transmissions on a frequency band of a frequency band combination configured for transmit chain switching (applicable in various different frequency ranges, e.g., the Frequency Range 2 (FR2) high frequency band defined in 5G/NR. However, they may also have usefulness in other frequency bands, such as the so-called FR1 and/or FR4 bands in 5G/NR, Para. 9. Switch 570 may be switched to a first state that allows the first modem 510 to transmit signals according to the first RAT (e.g., via a transmit chain that includes transmit circuitry 534 and UL front end 572), Para. 88, FIG. 5. It may be beneficial for the antenna panel selected for UL transmissions by UE 705 to change over time, e.g., based on the capabilities and/or signal conditions that are being reported by the various antenna panels of the UE 705, Para. 98, FIG. 7. With regard to different numbers of RF chains and antenna architectures used in different UE antenna panels, the UE may report the following information for each antenna panel: a maximum number of ports per SRS resource, Para. 102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the teachings of Nory in view of Suzuki, since Zhang provides a technique for a UE to report various information related to switching of transmit chain and a related maximum number of ports, which can be introduced into the system of Nory in view of Suzuki to permit UE capability signaling to further indicate a maximum number of ports with respect to preparation time for UL Tx switching.
In regard to Claim 7, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Nory in view of Suzuki teaches selecting the uplink switching period.
Nory in view of Suzuki fails to teach selecting the uplink switching period based at least in part on the second UE capability, wherein the first uplink switching period is associated with a one antenna port transmission on the frequency band of the frequency band combination and the second uplink switching period is associated with a two antenna port transmission on the frequency band of the frequency band combination.
Zhang teaches selecting the uplink switching period based at least in part on the second UE capability, wherein the first uplink switching period is associated with a one antenna port transmission on the frequency band of the frequency band combination and the second uplink switching period is associated with a two antenna port transmission on the frequency band of the frequency band combination (applicable in various different frequency ranges, e.g., the Frequency Range 2 (FR2) high frequency band defined in 5G/NR. However, they may also have usefulness in other frequency bands, such as the so-called FR1 and/or FR4 bands in 5G/NR, Para. 9. Switch 570 may be switched to a first state that allows the first modem 510 to transmit signals according to the first RAT (e.g., via a transmit chain that includes transmit circuitry 534 and UL front end 572), Para. 88, FIG. 5. It may be beneficial for the antenna panel selected for UL transmissions by UE 705 to change over time, e.g., based on the capabilities and/or signal conditions that are being reported by the various antenna panels of the UE 705, Para. 98, FIG. 7. With regard to different numbers of RF chains and antenna architectures used in different UE antenna panels, the UE may report the following information for each antenna panel: a maximum number of ports per SRS resource, Para. 102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the teachings of Nory in view of Suzuki, since Zhang provides a technique for a UE to report various information related to switching of transmit chain and a related maximum number of ports, which can be introduced into the system of Nory in view of Suzuki to permit UE capability signaling to further indicate a maximum number of ports with respect to preparation time for UL Tx switching.
In regard to Claim 8, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Nory in view of Suzuki teaches the first uplink switching period.
Nory in view of Suzuki fails to teach receiving a control signal indicating the first uplink switching period or the second uplink switching period, wherein selecting the uplink switching period is based at least in part on the control signal.
Zhang teaches receiving a control signal indicating the first uplink switching period or the second uplink switching period, wherein selecting the uplink switching period is based at least in part on the control signal (applicable in various different frequency ranges, e.g., the Frequency Range 2 (FR2) high frequency band defined in 5G/NR. However, they may also have usefulness in other frequency bands, such as the so-called FR1 and/or FR4 bands in 5G/NR, Para. 9. Switch 570 may be switched to a first state that allows the first modem 510 to transmit signals according to the first RAT (e.g., via a transmit chain that includes transmit circuitry 534 and UL front end 572), Para. 88, FIG. 5. It may be beneficial for the antenna panel selected for UL transmissions by UE 705 to change over time, e.g., based on the capabilities and/or signal conditions that are being reported by the various antenna panels of the UE 705, Para. 98, FIG. 7. With regard to different numbers of RF chains and antenna architectures used in different UE antenna panels, the UE may report the following information for each antenna panel: a maximum number of ports per SRS resource, Para. 102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the teachings of Nory in view of Suzuki, since Zhang provides a technique for a UE to report various information related to switching of transmit chain and a related maximum number of ports, which can be introduced into the system of Nory in view of Suzuki to permit UE capability signaling to further indicate a maximum number of ports with respect to preparation time for UL Tx switching.
In regard to Claim 20, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Nory in view of Suzuki teaches the UE.
Nory in view of Suzuki fails to teach receiving a second UE capability indicating that the UE supports a maximum of either one antenna port transmission or two antenna port transmissions on a frequency band of a frequency band combination configured for transmit chain switching.
Zhang teaches receiving a second UE capability indicating that the UE supports a maximum of either one antenna port transmission or two antenna port transmissions on a frequency band of a frequency band combination configured for transmit chain switching (applicable in various different frequency ranges, e.g., the Frequency Range 2 (FR2) high frequency band defined in 5G/NR. However, they may also have usefulness in other frequency bands, such as the so-called FR1 and/or FR4 bands in 5G/NR, Para. 9. Switch 570 may be switched to a first state that allows the first modem 510 to transmit signals according to the first RAT (e.g., via a transmit chain that includes transmit circuitry 534 and UL front end 572), Para. 88, FIG. 5. It may be beneficial for the antenna panel selected for UL transmissions by UE 705 to change over time, e.g., based on the capabilities and/or signal conditions that are being reported by the various antenna panels of the UE 705, Para. 98, FIG. 7. With regard to different numbers of RF chains and antenna architectures used in different UE antenna panels, the UE may report the following information for each antenna panel: a maximum number of ports per SRS resource, Para. 102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the teachings of Nory in view of Suzuki, since Zhang provides a technique for a UE to report various information related to switching of transmit chain and a related maximum number of ports, which can be introduced into the system of Nory in view of Suzuki to permit UE capability signaling to further indicate a maximum number of ports with respect to preparation time for UL Tx switching.
In regard to Claim 21, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Nory in view of Suzuki teaches selecting the uplink switching period.
Nory in view of Suzuki fails to teach selecting the uplink switching period further comprises: selecting the uplink switching period based at least in part on the second UE capability, wherein the first uplink switching period is associated with a one antenna port transmission on the frequency band of the frequency band combination and the second uplink switching period is associated with a two antenna port transmission on the frequency band of the frequency band combination.
Zhang teaches selecting the uplink switching period further comprises: selecting the uplink switching period based at least in part on the second UE capability, wherein the first uplink switching period is associated with a one antenna port transmission on the frequency band of the frequency band combination and the second uplink switching period is associated with a two antenna port transmission on the frequency band of the frequency band combination (applicable in various different frequency ranges, e.g., the Frequency Range 2 (FR2) high frequency band defined in 5G/NR. However, they may also have usefulness in other frequency bands, such as the so-called FR1 and/or FR4 bands in 5G/NR, Para. 9. Switch 570 may be switched to a first state that allows the first modem 510 to transmit signals according to the first RAT (e.g., via a transmit chain that includes transmit circuitry 534 and UL front end 572), Para. 88, FIG. 5. It may be beneficial for the antenna panel selected for UL transmissions by UE 705 to change over time, e.g., based on the capabilities and/or signal conditions that are being reported by the various antenna panels of the UE 705, Para. 98, FIG. 7. With regard to different numbers of RF chains and antenna architectures used in different UE antenna panels, the UE may report the following information for each antenna panel: a maximum number of ports per SRS resource, Para. 102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the teachings of Nory in view of Suzuki, since Zhang provides a technique for a UE to report various information related to switching of transmit chain and a related maximum number of ports, which can be introduced into the system of Nory in view of Suzuki to permit UE capability signaling to further indicate a maximum number of ports with respect to preparation time for UL Tx switching.
In regard to Claim 22, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Nory in view of Suzuki teaches the first uplink switching period.
Nory in view of Suzuki fails to teach transmitting a control signal indicating the first uplink switching period or the second uplink switching period, wherein selecting the uplink switching period is based at least in part on the control signal.
Zhang teaches transmitting a control signal indicating the first uplink switching period or the second uplink switching period, wherein selecting the uplink switching period is based at least in part on the control signal (applicable in various different frequency ranges, e.g., the Frequency Range 2 (FR2) high frequency band defined in 5G/NR. However, they may also have usefulness in other frequency bands, such as the so-called FR1 and/or FR4 bands in 5G/NR, Para. 9. Switch 570 may be switched to a first state that allows the first modem 510 to transmit signals according to the first RAT (e.g., via a transmit chain that includes transmit circuitry 534 and UL front end 572), Para. 88, FIG. 5. It may be beneficial for the antenna panel selected for UL transmissions by UE 705 to change over time, e.g., based on the capabilities and/or signal conditions that are being reported by the various antenna panels of the UE 705, Para. 98, FIG. 7. With regard to different numbers of RF chains and antenna architectures used in different UE antenna panels, the UE may report the following information for each antenna panel: a maximum number of ports per SRS resource, Para. 102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the teachings of Nory in view of Suzuki, since Zhang provides a technique for a UE to report various information related to switching of transmit chain and a related maximum number of ports, which can be introduced into the system of Nory in view of Suzuki to permit UE capability signaling to further indicate a maximum number of ports with respect to preparation time for UL Tx switching.
Claim(s) 10-13 and 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nory in view of Suzuki, and further in view of Park et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230156608 A1), hereafter referred to as Park.
In regard to Claim 10, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Nory in view of Suzuki teaches the UE.
Nory in view of Suzuki fails to teach determining that the UE supports the first transmit chain and the second transmit chain changeably configured for a one-port transmission, a two-port transmission, or no transmission on each of a first carrier and a second carrier, wherein transmitting the UE capability message is based at least in part on the determining.
Park teaches determining that the UE supports the first transmit chain and the second transmit chain changeably configured for a one-port transmission, a two-port transmission, or no transmission on each of a first carrier and a second carrier, wherein transmitting the UE capability message is based at least in part on the determining (a UL switching cycle may be configured via RRC in the case of Inter-band UL CA. The switching cycle may be applicable between the 1-Tx port transmission of a first carrier (carrier 1) and the 2-Tx port transmission of a second carrier (carrier 2), Para. 128. The UE may report the corresponding information to the BS through a capability report (or the UE may report the capability for the number of Tx chains to be assumed for each carrier (CC)) and may receive a reply confirming application of the reported capability from the BS, Para. 151).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Nory in view of Suzuki, since Park provides a technique for utilizing information of transmission ports in relation to carrier for managing transmission chains, which can be introduced into the system of Nory in view of Suzuki to permit uplink transmission switching to determine preparation time that takes into account appropriate transmission ports utilized with carriers that are most suited for certain transmissions.
In regard to Claim 11, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Nory in view of Suzuki teaches the first uplink switching period.
Nory in view of Suzuki fails to teach the first uplink switching period supports a switching period associated with a configuration switch between the first transmit chain configuration that supports the one-port transmission on the first carrier and a second transmit chain configuration that supports the two-port transmission on the second carrier.
Park teaches the first uplink switching period supports a switching period associated with a configuration switch between the first transmit chain configuration that supports the one-port transmission on the first carrier and a second transmit chain configuration that supports the two-port transmission on the second carrier (a UL switching cycle may be configured via RRC in the case of Inter-band UL CA. The switching cycle may be applicable between the 1-Tx port transmission of a first carrier (carrier 1) and the 2-Tx port transmission of a second carrier (carrier 2), Para. 128. The UE may report the corresponding information to the BS through a capability report (or the UE may report the capability for the number of Tx chains to be assumed for each carrier (CC)) and may receive a reply confirming application of the reported capability from the BS, Para. 151).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Nory in view of Suzuki, since Park provides a technique for utilizing information of transmission ports in relation to carrier for managing transmission chains, which can be introduced into the system of Nory in view of Suzuki to permit uplink transmission switching to determine preparation time that takes into account appropriate transmission ports utilized with carriers that are most suited for certain transmissions.
In regard to Claim 12, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Nory in view of Suzuki teaches the first uplink switching period.
Nory in view of Suzuki fails to teach the first uplink switching period supports a switching period associated with a configuration switch between the first transmit chain configuration that supports the two-port transmission on the first carrier and a second transmit chain configuration that supports the one-port transmission on the second carrier.
Park teaches the first uplink switching period supports a switching period associated with a configuration switch between the first transmit chain configuration that supports the two-port transmission on the first carrier and a second transmit chain configuration that supports the one-port transmission on the second carrier (a UL switching cycle may be configured via RRC in the case of Inter-band UL CA. The switching cycle may be applicable between the 1-Tx port transmission of a first carrier (carrier 1) and the 2-Tx port transmission of a second carrier (carrier 2), Para. 128. The UE may report the corresponding information to the BS through a capability report (or the UE may report the capability for the number of Tx chains to be assumed for each carrier (CC)) and may receive a reply confirming application of the reported capability from the BS, Para. 151).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Nory in view of Suzuki, since Park provides a technique for utilizing information of transmission ports in relation to carrier for managing transmission chains, which can be introduced into the system of Nory in view of Suzuki to permit uplink transmission switching to determine preparation time that takes into account appropriate transmission ports utilized with carriers that are most suited for certain transmissions.
In regard to Claim 13, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Nory in view of Suzuki teaches the second uplink switching period.
Nory in view of Suzuki fails to teach the second uplink switching period supports a switching period associated with a configuration switch between the first transmit chain configuration that supports the two-port transmission on the first carrier and a second transmit chain configuration that supports the two-port transmission on the second carrier.
Park teaches the second uplink switching period supports a switching period associated with a configuration switch between the first transmit chain configuration that supports the two-port transmission on the first carrier and a second transmit chain configuration that supports the two-port transmission on the second carrier (a UL switching cycle may be configured via RRC in the case of Inter-band UL CA. The switching cycle may be applicable between the 1-Tx port transmission of a first carrier (carrier 1) and the 2-Tx port transmission of a second carrier (carrier 2), Para. 128. The UE may report the corresponding information to the BS through a capability report (or the UE may report the capability for the number of Tx chains to be assumed for each carrier (CC)) and may receive a reply confirming application of the reported capability from the BS, Para. 151).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Nory in view of Suzuki, since Park provides a technique for utilizing information of transmission ports in relation to carrier for managing transmission chains, which can be introduced into the system of Nory in view of Suzuki to permit uplink transmission switching to determine preparation time that takes into account appropriate transmission ports utilized with carriers that are most suited for certain transmissions.
In regard to Claim 24, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Nory in view of Suzuki teaches the UE.
Nory in view of Suzuki fails to teach determining that the UE supports the first transmit chain and the second transmit chain changeably configured for a one-port transmission, a two-port transmission, or no transmission on each of a first carrier and a second carrier, wherein receiving the UE capability message is based at least in part on the determining.
Park teaches determining that the UE supports the first transmit chain and the second transmit chain changeably configured for a one-port transmission, a two-port transmission, or no transmission on each of a first carrier and a second carrier, wherein receiving the UE capability message is based at least in part on the determining (a UL switching cycle may be configured via RRC in the case of Inter-band UL CA. The switching cycle may be applicable between the 1-Tx port transmission of a first carrier (carrier 1) and the 2-Tx port transmission of a second carrier (carrier 2), Para. 128. The UE may report the corresponding information to the BS through a capability report (or the UE may report the capability for the number of Tx chains to be assumed for each carrier (CC)) and may receive a reply confirming application of the reported capability from the BS, Para. 151).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Nory in view of Suzuki, since Park provides a technique for utilizing information of transmission ports in relation to carrier for managing transmission chains, which can be introduced into the system of Nory in view of Suzuki to permit uplink transmission switching to determine preparation time that takes into account appropriate transmission ports utilized with carriers that are most suited for certain transmissions.
In regard to Claim 25, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Nory in view of Suzuki teaches the first uplink switching period.
Nory in view of Suzuki fails to teach the first uplink switching period supports a switching period associated with a configuration switch between the first transmit chain configuration that supports the one-port transmission on the first carrier and a second transmit chain configuration that supports the two-port transmission on the second carrier.
Park teaches the first uplink switching period supports a switching period associated with a configuration switch between the first transmit chain configuration that supports the one-port transmission on the first carrier and a second transmit chain configuration that supports the two-port transmission on the second carrier (a UL switching cycle may be configured via RRC in the case of Inter-band UL CA. The switching cycle may be applicable between the 1-Tx port transmission of a first carrier (carrier 1) and the 2-Tx port transmission of a second carrier (carrier 2), Para. 128. The UE may report the corresponding information to the BS through a capability report (or the UE may report the capability for the number of Tx chains to be assumed for each carrier (CC)) and may receive a reply confirming application of the reported capability from the BS, Para. 151).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Nory in view of Suzuki, since Park provides a technique for utilizing information of transmission ports in relation to carrier for managing transmission chains, which can be introduced into the system of Nory in view of Suzuki to permit uplink transmission switching to determine preparation time that takes into account appropriate transmission ports utilized with carriers that are most suited for certain transmissions.
In regard to Claim 26, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Nory in view of Suzuki teaches the first uplink switching period.
Nory in view of Suzuki fails to teach the first uplink switching period supports a switching period associated with a configuration switch between the first transmit chain configuration that supports the two-port transmission on the first carrier and a second transmit chain configuration that supports the one-port transmission on the second carrier.
Park teaches the first uplink switching period supports a switching period associated with a configuration switch between the first transmit chain configuration that supports the two-port transmission on the first carrier and a second transmit chain configuration that supports the one-port transmission on the second carrier (a UL switching cycle may be configured via RRC in the case of Inter-band UL CA. The switching cycle may be applicable between the 1-Tx port transmission of a first carrier (carrier 1) and the 2-Tx port transmission of a second carrier (carrier 2), Para. 128. The UE may report the corresponding information to the BS through a capability report (or the UE may report the capability for the number of Tx chains to be assumed for each carrier (CC)) and may receive a reply confirming application of the reported capability from the BS, Para. 151).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Nory in view of Suzuki, since Park provides a technique for utilizing information of transmission ports in relation to carrier for managing transmission chains, which can be introduced into the system of Nory in view of Suzuki to permit uplink transmission switching to determine preparation time that takes into account appropriate transmission ports utilized with carriers that are most suited for certain transmissions.
In regard to Claim 27, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Nory in view of Suzuki teaches the second uplink switching period.
Nory in view of Suzuki fails to teach the second uplink switching period supports a switching period associated with a configuration switch between the first transmit chain configuration that supports the two-port transmission on the first carrier and a second transmit chain configuration that supports the two-port transmission on the second carrier.
Park teaches the second uplink switching period supports a switching period associated with a configuration switch between the first transmit chain configuration that supports the two-port transmission on the first carrier and a second transmit chain configuration that supports the two-port transmission on the second carrier (a UL switching cycle may be configured via RRC in the case of Inter-band UL CA. The switching cycle may be applicable between the 1-Tx port transmission of a first carrier (carrier 1) and the 2-Tx port transmission of a second carrier (carrier 2), Para. 128. The UE may report the corresponding information to the BS through a capability report (or the UE may report the capability for the number of Tx chains to be assumed for each carrier (CC)) and may receive a reply confirming application of the reported capability from the BS, Para. 151).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Nory in view of Suzuki, since Park provides a technique for utilizing information of transmission ports in relation to carrier for managing transmission chains, which can be introduced into the system of Nory in view of Suzuki to permit uplink transmission switching to determine preparation time that takes into account appropriate transmission ports utilized with carriers that are most suited for certain transmissions.
Claim(s) 14 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nory in view of Suzuki, and further in view of Amizur et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200053508 A1), hereafter referred to as Amizur.
In regard to Claim 14, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Nory in view of Suzuki teaches the uplink data message.
Nory in view of Suzuki fails to teach transmitting a first uplink data message on a first carrier of the respective component carriers for communications; switching at least one of the first transmit chain or the second transmit chain between the first carrier and a second carrier of the respective component carriers for communications during the preparation time; and transmitting the uplink data message on the second carrier in accordance with the switching.
Amizur teaches transmitting a first uplink data message on a first carrier of the respective component carriers for communications; switching at least one of the first transmit chain or the second transmit chain between the first carrier and a second carrier of the respective component carriers for communications during the preparation time; and transmitting the uplink data message on the second carrier in accordance with the switching (a few or even a single transmit chain may be used for multiple antenna, allowing the signals to be transmitted at different times by switching the AP transmit chains between all available antennas, Para. 77. The transmitter may transmit the same symbol from a predefined antenna before and after each switching process, Para. 83).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Amizur with the teachings of Nory in view of Suzuki, since Amizur provides a technique for transmitting the same symbol before and after a switching process, which can be introduced into the system of Nory in view of Suzuki to permit a UE to transmit the same PUSCH before and after uplink transmission switching to ensure reception of the PUSCH despite changes in conditions relative to time of the switching.
In regard to Claim 28, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Nory in view of Suzuki teaches the uplink data message.
Nory in view of Suzuki fails to teach receiving a first uplink data message on a first carrier of the respective component carriers for communications; and receiving the uplink data message on a second carrier of the respective component carriers for communications after the preparation time.
Amizur teaches receiving a first uplink data message on a first carrier of the respective component carriers for communications; and receiving the uplink data message on a second carrier of the respective component carriers for communications after the preparation time (a few or even a single transmit chain may be used for multiple antenna, allowing the signals to be transmitted at different times by switching the AP transmit chains between all available antennas, Para. 77. The transmitter may transmit the same symbol from a predefined antenna before and after each switching process, Para. 83).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Amizur with the teachings of Nory in view of Suzuki, since Amizur provides a technique for transmitting the same symbol before and after a switching process, which can be introduced into the system of Nory in view of Suzuki to permit a UE to transmit the same PUSCH before and after uplink transmission switching to ensure reception of the PUSCH despite changes in conditions relative to time of the switching.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 102
Applicant's arguments filed 1/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 14 of the Remarks presents the argument that However, a switching gap for switching a single transmission chain between carriers, as described by Nory, is not the same as, and cannot be construed to be, "a first uplink switching period for switching between a first pair of transmit chain configurations and a second uplink switching period for switching between a second pair of transmit chain configurations," where "each transmit chain configuration of the first pair and the second pair of transmit chain configurations corresponds to a respective configuration of each of a first transmit chain of the UE and a second transmit chain of the UE on respective component carriers for communications," as recited in amended independent claim 1. This argument is not persuasive. The limitations introduced by the amendment of Claim 1, which are not taught by Nory, are taught by Suzuki et al. (Pub No.: US 20150263773 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ho et al. (Pub. No.: US 20120281777 A1) teaches a second uplink switching period for switching between a second pair of transmit chain configurations, wherein each transmit chain configuration of the first pair and the second pair of transmit chain configurations corresponds to a respective configuration of each of a first transmit chain of the UE and a second transmit chain of the UE on respective component carriers for communications (a commutation controller configured to provide an adaptation time for each of the transmit chains, during which adaptation time an output of a respective transmit chain is coupled to the shared feedback receiver which generates a feedback signal that is used to vary pre-distortion for the respective transmit chain, wherein at least one of: (a) an amount of the adaptation time for a transmit chain and (b) an order in which each of the transmit chains receives the adaptation time is varied over time, Para. 28, FIGS. 2, 3, 5, 9).
Dayal et al. (Pub. No.: US 20140341125 A1) teaches a second uplink switching period for switching between a second pair of transmit chain configurations, wherein each transmit chain configuration of the first pair and the second pair of transmit chain configurations corresponds to a respective configuration of each of a first transmit chain of the UE and a second transmit chain of the UE on respective component carriers for communications (the settling time may include a transition time during which the hardware switch itself settles to its new position, as well as a settling time for each of the Tx chain's transmitter loops or the Rx chain's receiver loops (e.g., in the case of a Rx chain, a Rx automatic gain control (AGC) loop, a frequency/time correction loop, Para. 32, FIG. 3).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
3-18-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477