DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filled on 11/19/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1,3,7-9,12-14,16-17,21 are amended.
Claims 6,15 are cancelled.
Claims 1-5,7-14,16-18,21,23 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments filed on 11/19/2025 have been fully considered and but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection(s)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5,11,13-14,18,21,23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sha to (US20190281632) in view of KOSKINEN to (US20190174434)
Regarding claims 1,21,Sha teaches a method for accessing a network, performed by a terminal, comprising: ([0008] a base station broadcasts first access parameter information, where the first access parameter information is configured based on a UE power class and is configured to enable the UE to select an access parameter according to the UE power class) determining a terminal parameter; ([0011] the UE selects in the first access parameter information an access parameter corresponding to the UE power class of the UE) wherein the terminal parameter comprises a terminal type ([0085] In a NB-IoT system, the maximum transmit power of a conventional NB-IoT terminal is 20 dBm or 23 dBm. A UE maximum transmit power is represented by a UE power class. For example, The UE maximum transmit power is 20 dBm, corresponding to UE power class 3; and the UE maximum transmit power is 23 dBm, corresponding to UE power class 5. In the M2M application field of the NB-IoT, the UE maximum transmit power may be as low as 14 dbm [0051] discloses UE received the first access parameter information to select, according to the UE power class, an access parameter, so that low power class UE can acquire the access parameter, providing the basic guarantee for communication in the network for the low power class UE) and determining a signal threshold value corresponding to the terminal parameter, based on the terminal parameter([0101],[0111] a default value of the RSRQ threshold defined for the low power class UE to access the cell is set to a default value of an RSRQ threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell)
Sha does not explicitly teach wherein determining the signal threshold value corresponding to the terminal parameter comprises: determining a first signal threshold value and at least one candidate signal threshold bias value; and determining the signal threshold value corresponding to the terminal parameter, based on the terminal parameter, the first signal threshold value, and the at least one candidate signal threshold bias value
However, KOSKINEN teaches wherein determining the signal threshold value corresponding to the terminal parameter comprises: determining a first signal threshold value ([0115] CE level thresholds for CE level 1=−100 dBm[0116] CE level thresholds for CE level 2=−130 dBm
[0117] CE level thresholds for CE level 3=−150 dBm) and at least one candidate signal threshold bias value;( [0142] Offsets and variables above may be calculated based in the UE power class e.g.: [0143] power−UE available power [0144] power+UE available power [0145] variable * UE available power [0146] variable/UE available power [0149] discloses UE would autonomously determine the offset based on its actual maximum transmit power in relation to the assumed TX power) and determining the signal threshold value corresponding to the terminal parameter,([0152] discloses optimizing the NB-IOT UE random access for lower power NB-IoT UE, e.g., 14 dBm. A power class of the UE is taken into account in PRACH resource selection for CE level determination, and RSRP threshold for selecting the CE/repetition level is adjusted by UE power class specific parameter(s)) based on the terminal parameter, the first signal threshold value, and the at least one candidate signal threshold bias value([0174] discloses based on whether the transmit power is higher or lower than the target, offsetting at least one reference signal received power threshold. Then as shown in step 440 there is using the offset at least one reference signal received power threshold to adjust the coverage enhancement level for the network device)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Sha include wherein determining the signal threshold value corresponding to the terminal parameter comprises: determining a first signal threshold value and at least one candidate signal threshold bias value; and determining the signal threshold value corresponding to the terminal parameter, based on the terminal parameter, the first signal threshold value, and the at least one candidate signal threshold bias value, as suggested by KOSKINEN. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently utilize available network resource.
Regarding claims 12,23 Sha teaches A method for accessing a network, performed by a network side device, ([0008] a base station broadcasts first access parameter information, where the first access parameter information is configured based on a UE power class and is configured to enable the UE to select an access parameter according to the UE power class) comprising: determining at least one candidate signal threshold value, ([0011] the UE selects in the first access parameter information an access parameter corresponding to the UE power class of the UE) wherein the at least one at least one candidate signal threshold value is associated with a terminal parameter([0101],[0111] a default value of the RSRQ threshold defined for the low power class UE to access the cell is set to a default value of an RSRQ threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell) wherein the terminal parameter comprises a terminal type ([0085] In a NB-IoT system, the maximum transmit power of a conventional NB-IoT terminal is 20 dBm or 23 dBm. A UE maximum transmit power is represented by a UE power class. For example, The UE maximum transmit power is 20 dBm, corresponding to UE power class 3; and the UE maximum transmit power is 23 dBm, corresponding to UE power class 5. In the M2M application field of the NB-IoT, the UE maximum transmit power may be as low as 14 dbm [0051] discloses UE received the first access parameter information to select, according to the UE power class, an access parameter, so that low power class UE can acquire the access parameter, providing the basic guarantee for communication in the network for the low power class UE)
Sha does not explicitly teach determining a first signal threshold value and at least one candidate signal threshold bias value, wherein the at least one candidate signal threshold bias value is
determined based on the terminal type; and determining the at least one candidate signal threshold value based on an operation value of the first signal threshold value and each of the at least one candidate signal threshold bias value
However, KOSKINEN teaches determining a first signal threshold value ([0115] CE level thresholds for CE level 1=−100 dBm[0116] CE level thresholds for CE level 2=−130 dBm
[0117] CE level thresholds for CE level 3=−150 dBm)and at least one candidate signal threshold bias value, wherein the at least one candidate signal threshold bias value is determined based on the terminal type([0142] Offsets and variables above may be calculated based in the UE power class e.g.: [0143] power−UE available power [0144] power+UE available power [0145] variable * UE available power [0146] variable/UE available power [0149] discloses UE would autonomously determine the offset based on its actual maximum transmit power in relation to the assumed TX power,[0152] discloses optimizing the NB-IOT UE random access for lower power NB-IoT UE, e.g., 14 dBm. A power class of the UE is taken into account in PRACH resource selection for CE level determination, and RSRP threshold for selecting the CE/repetition level is adjusted by UE power class specific parameter(s)) determining the at least one candidate signal threshold value based on an operation value of the first signal threshold value and each of the at least one candidate signal threshold bias value ([0174] discloses based on whether the transmit power is higher or lower than the target, offsetting at least one reference signal received power threshold. Then as shown in step 440 there is using the offset at least one reference signal received power threshold to adjust the coverage enhancement level for the network device)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Sha include determining a first signal threshold value and at least one candidate signal threshold bias value, wherein the at least one candidate signal threshold bias value is determined based on the terminal type; and determining the at least one candidate signal threshold value based on an operation value of the first signal threshold value and each of the at least one candidate signal threshold bias value, as suggested by KOSKINEN. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently utilize available network resource.
Regarding claims 2,13 Sha teaches determining a measured value of a measurement signal of the terminal; ([0115] the minimum receiving level value of the cell configured for UE power class is used for acquiring a minimum receiving level value of the cell to have the UE to reside according to the UE power class of the UE, and the minimum receiving level value of the cell to have the UE to reside is used for determining whether the S criterion for cell selection is met) and determining that accessing is performed based on a resource corresponding to the terminal parameter in response to the measured value being greater than or equal to the signal threshold value([0115] the minimum receiving level value of the cell configured for UE power class is used for acquiring a minimum receiving level value of the cell to have the UE to reside according to the UE power class of the UE, and the minimum receiving level value of the cell to have the UE to reside is used for determining whether the S criterion for cell selection is met).
Regarding claim 3, Sha teaches wherein the terminal parameter comprises at least one of: a terminal type; or a terminal coverage enhancement capability([0161] the low power class UE firstly selects a cell in which the cell quality is greater than or equal to the RSRP threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell to reside; if there is no other cells in which the cell quality is greater than or equal to the RSRP threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell, the cell in which the cell quality is less than the RSRP threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell is selected to resid).
Regarding claim 4, Sha teaches wherein determining the signal threshold value corresponding to the terminal parameter comprises: determining at least one candidate signal threshold value, ([0162] the low power class UE firstly selects the cell in which the cell quality is greater than or equal to the RSRQ threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell to reside; if there is no other cells in which the cell quality is greater than or equal to the RSRQ threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell, the cell in which the cell quality is less than the RSRQ threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell is selected to reside) wherein each of the at least one candidate signal threshold value corresponds to a different terminal parameter; ([0162] the low power class UE firstly selects the cell in which the cell quality is greater than or equal to the RSRQ threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell to reside; if there is no other cells in which the cell quality is greater than or equal to the RSRQ threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell, the cell in which the cell quality is less than the RSRQ threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell is selected to reside) and determining the signal threshold value corresponding to the terminal parameter from the at least one candidate signal threshold value, based on the terminal parameter([0162] the low power class UE firstly selects the cell in which the cell quality is greater than or equal to the RSRQ threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell to reside; if there is no other cells in which the cell quality is greater than or equal to the RSRQ threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell, the cell in which the cell quality is less than the RSRQ threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell is selected to reside).
Regarding claim 5, Sha teaches wherein determining the signal threshold value corresponding to the terminal parameter from the at least one candidate signal threshold value comprises: ([0170] discloses the UE determines whether the cell quality is currently greater than or equal to the RSRP threshold, or the RSRQ threshold, or the RSRP threshold and the RSRQ threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell. If yes, the process goes into S406. If not, the process goes into S407. For example, when the low power class UE determines the RSRP threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell is included in the cell broadcast, the UE determines whether the cell quality is currently greater than or equal to the RSRP threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell) determining the signal threshold value corresponding to the terminal parameter from the at least one candidate signal threshold value based on one of: a correspondence between each candidate signal threshold value and a terminal type; ([0170] discloses the UE determines whether the cell quality is currently greater than or equal to the RSRP threshold, or the RSRQ threshold, or the RSRP threshold and the RSRQ threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell. If yes, the process goes into S406. If not, the process goes into S407. For example, when the low power class UE determines the RSRP threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell is included in the cell broadcast, the UE determines whether the cell quality is currently greater than or equal to the RSRP threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell) a correspondence between each candidate signal threshold value and a terminal coverage enhancement function; or a correspondence between each candidate signal threshold value and both of a terminal type and a terminal coverage enhancement function([0170] discloses When the low power class UE determines the RSRQ threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell is included in the cell broadcast, the UE determines whether the cell quality is currently greater than or equal to the RSRQ threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell. If yes, the process goes into S406. If not, the process goes into S407. When the low power class UE determines the RSRP threshold and the RSRQ threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell are included in the cell broadcast, the UE determines whether the cell quality is currently greater than or equal to the RSRP threshold and the RSRQ threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell. If yes, the process goes into S406).
Regarding claims 11,18 Sha teaches wherein the signal is a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) ([0162] the low power class UE firstly selects the cell in which the cell quality is greater than or equal to the RSRQ threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell to reside; if there is no other cells in which the cell quality is greater than or equal to the RSRQ threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell, the cell in which the cell quality is less than the RSRQ threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell is selected to reside).
Regarding claim 14, Sha teaches wherein determining the at least one candidate signal threshold value comprises: determining the at least one candidate signal threshold value based on at least one of the terminal type and/or or the terminal coverage enhancement capability, wherein
each candidate signal threshold value corresponds to a different terminal parameter([0161] the low power class UE firstly selects a cell in which the cell quality is greater than or equal to the RSRP threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell to reside; if there is no other cells in which the cell quality is greater than or equal to the RSRP threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell, the cell in which the cell quality is less than the RSRP threshold of the low power class UE to access the cell is selected to resid).
Claim(s) 7-9,16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sha to (US20190281632) in view of KOSKINEN to (US20190174434) further in view of Ioffe to (WO 2018144936) from IDS
Regarding claims 7,15 Sha does not explicitly teach wherein determining the signal threshold value corresponding to the terminal parameter comprises: determining a signal threshold bias value corresponding to the terminal parameter from the at least one candidate signal threshold bias value, based on the terminal parameter; and determining an operation value of the first signal threshold value and the signal threshold bias value corresponding to the terminal parameter as the signal threshold value corresponding to the terminal parameter
However, Ioffe teaches wherein determining the signal threshold value corresponding to the terminal parameter comprises: determining a signal threshold bias value corresponding to the terminal parameter from the at least one candidate signal threshold bias value, based on the terminal parameter; (Ioffe page 3, lines .19-25 discloses User Equipment (UE) by incorporating the power class of the UE in the PRACH profile selection process. For example, a UE may include an offset value based on the power class of the UE. The UE may receive the offset value from the RAN node (e.g., as part of the system information) since the RAN node may be configured to manage which PRACH resources are allocated to UEs of different power classes) and determining an operation value of the first signal threshold value and the signal threshold bias value corresponding to the terminal parameter as the signal threshold value corresponding to the terminal parameter(Ioffe page 3, lines .19-25 discloses User Equipment (UE) by incorporating the power class of the UE in the PRACH profile selection process. For example, a UE may include an offset value based on the power class of the UE. The UE may receive the offset value from the RAN node (e.g., as part of the system information) since the RAN node may be configured to manage which PRACH resources are allocated to UEs of different power classes)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Sha include wherein determining the signal threshold value corresponding to the terminal parameter comprises: determining a signal threshold bias value corresponding to the terminal parameter from the at least one candidate signal threshold bias value, based on the terminal parameter; and determining an operation value of the first signal threshold value and the signal threshold bias value corresponding to the terminal parameter as the signal threshold value corresponding to the terminal parameter, as suggested by Ioffe. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently utilize available network resource.
Regarding claim 8, Sha and KOSKINEN and Ioffe teach wherein determining the signal threshold value corresponding to the terminal parameter comprises: determining at least one candidate signal threshold value based on an operation value of the first signal threshold value and each of the at least one candidate signal threshold bias value; (Ioffe page 3, lines .19-25 discloses User Equipment (UE) by incorporating the power class of the UE in the PRACH profile selection process. For example, a UE may include an offset value based on the power class of the UE. The UE may receive the offset value from the RAN node (e.g., as part of the system information) since the RAN node may be configured to manage which PRACH resources are allocated to UEs of different power classes) and determining the signal threshold value corresponding to the terminal parameter from the at least one candidate signal threshold value, based on the terminal parameter(Ioffe page 3, lines .19-25 discloses User Equipment (UE) by incorporating the power class of the UE in the PRACH profile selection process. For example, a UE may include an offset value based on the power class of the UE. The UE may receive the offset value from the RAN node (e.g., as part of the system information) since the RAN node may be configured to manage which PRACH resources are allocated to UEs of different power classes).
Regarding claims 9,16 Sha teaches wherein the at least one candidate signal threshold bias value is determined based on at least one of a terminal type or a terminal coverage enhancement function([0008] a base station broadcasts first access parameter information, where the first access parameter information is configured based on a UE power class and is configured to enable the UE to select an access parameter according to the UE power class).
Claim(s) 10,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sha to (US20190281632) in view of KOSKINEN to (US20190174434) further in view of Xiong to (US 20220038935 A1)
Regarding claims 10,17 Sha does not explicitly teach receiving remaining minimum system information (RMSI), wherein the RMSI is configured to carry at least one of a candidate signal threshold value or a candidate signal threshold bias value
However, Xiong teaches receiving remaining minimum system information (RMSI), wherein the RMSI is configured to carry at least one of a candidate signal threshold value or a candidate signal threshold bias value ([0178] discloses wherein when measured Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) is less than or equal to a threshold which is configured by higher layers via MSI, RMSI (SIB1), OSI or RRC signalling)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Sha include receiving remaining minimum system information (RMSI), wherein the RMSI is configured to carry at least one of a candidate signal threshold value or a candidate signal threshold bias value, as suggested by Xiong. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently utilize available network resource.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461