DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The preliminary amendment filed on 8/16/2023 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13-14 and 16-21 are currently pending and under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 4/30/2025 and 5/28/2025 have been considered except where lined through.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 4 recites “… the hypertension-linked disease comprises hypertension-induced nephropathy.” In the instant case, it is unclear how to interpret “comprise” since this is open language. It is suggested that Applicants amend the claim to replace “comprise” with “is”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites the phrase “hypertension-linked disease”. A review of the specification does not appear to provide a definition as to what this encompasses. While it is recognized that there needs to be some type of correlation with hypertension, it is unclear of whether hypertension induces the disease or whether hypertension can be a risk factor for the disease. For example, a review of the state of the art indicates that hypertension is a risk factor for renal cancer (see as evidenced by article below). As such, while hypertension does not appear to induce renal cancer, one of skill in the art could interpret that hypertension and renal cancer are linked. As such, a “hypertension-linked disease” will be interpreted as both a hypertension induced disease, as well as, one in which hypertension has been shown to be a risk factor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13-14 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Benbrook, Dennis (US20060281806A1, 2006-12-14) referred to herein as Benbrook 1 as evidenced by Colt et al. (Epidemiology 2011; 22(6): 797-804) and Takagi et al. (Annals of Vascular Surgery 2017; 39: 74-89).
Benbrook 1 teach a method of treating tumor growth or development in a subject comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a flexible heteroarotinoid, wherein the tumor growth is related to renal cancer (Claim 1). In addition to inhibition of tumor growth, Benbrook 1 teaches a method of inhibiting or regulating angiogenesis in a subject an effective amount of a flexible heteroarotinoid (Claim 5). With regards to the inhibition or regulation of angiogenesis, Benbrook 1 teaches that conditions in need of regulation or inhibition of angiogenesis include, but are not limited to, aneurysms (paragraph 0089). With regards to the flexible heteroarotinoid, Benbrook 1 teaches flexible heteroarotinoids include, but are not limited to SHetA2 (paragraph 0094, for example). Thus, while the prior art does not specifically teach that renal cancer is a “hypertension-linked disease”, hypertension is a risk factor for renal cancer among both blacks and whites as evidenced by Colt et al. (conclusions). Moreover, while the prior art does not specifically teach that an aneurysm is a “hypertension-linked or induced disease”, hypertension is positively associated with abdominal aortic aneurysm (AAA) presence as evidenced by Takagi et al. (see background). Regarding the limitations of claims 3, 5-6, 10-11, 13-14, 16-17, the limitations appear to be a result of following the method which contains the active step of administering the SHetA2. Accordingly, since the prior art teaches the same patient population and administering the same compound, the “results” would appear to be necessarily present. Applicants are reminded that the office does not have the facility and resources to determine whether the claim results actually occur. The burden is on applicants to provide evidence that the result of following the same active steps to the same patient population would not necessarily be present. Note: The claims recite “prevention” which encompasses any subject including those which do not yet have the disease or condition yet. Accordingly, the prior art reads on 1(a)-1(e), since the recitation of “prevention” in the claims do not specifically require that the subject have the disease.
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13-14 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Benbrook and Hays (US20130184323A1, 2013-07-18) referred to herein as Benbrook and Hays.
Benbrook and Hays teach a method of treating a disease or condition involving defective protein folding, in particular those associated with endoplasmic reticulum stress (ERS), by administering to a subject having such disease or condition, one or more flexible heteroarotinoids, wherein the disease or condition include, but are not limited to, cancer (renal cancer), kidney disease, ischemia, heart diseases and inflammation (paragraph 0084). With regards to the inflammatory condition, Benbrook and Hays teach non-infectious inflammatory condition include, but are not limited to, diabetic nephropathy (paragraph 0088). With regards to the flexible heteroarotinoid, Benbrook and Hays teach that flexible heteroarotinoids include, but are not limited to, SHetA2 (paragraph 0061). Regarding the limitations of claims 3, 5-6, 10-11, 13-14, 16-17, the limitations appear to be a result of following the method which contains the active step of administering the SHetA2. Accordingly, since the prior art teaches the same patient population and administering the same compound, the “results” would appear to be necessarily present. Applicants are reminded that the office does not have the facility and resources to determine whether the claim results actually occur. The burden is on applicants to provide evidence that the result of following the same active steps to the same patient population would not necessarily be present. Note: The claims recite “prevention” which encompasses any subject including those which do not yet have the disease or condition yet. Accordingly, the prior art reads on 1(a)-1(e), since the recitation of “prevention” in the claims do not specifically require that the subject have the disease.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benbrook and Hays (US20130184323A1, 2013-07-18) referred to herein as Benbrook and Hays, as applied to claims 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13-14 and 16-17 above, in view of Ajay Gupta (US20100249081A1, 2010-09-30).
Benbrook and Hays teach a method of treating a disease or condition involving defective protein folding, in particular those associated with endoplasmic reticulum stress (ERS), by administering to a subject having such disease or condition, one or more flexible heteroarotinoids, wherein the disease or condition include, but are not limited to, cancer (renal cancer), kidney disease, ischemia, heart diseases and inflammation (paragraph 0084). With regards to the inflammatory condition, Benbrook and Hays teach non-infectious inflammatory condition include, but are not limited to, diabetic nephropathy (paragraph 0088). With regards to the flexible heteroarotinoid, Benbrook and Hays teach that flexible heteroarotinoids include, but are not limited to, SHetA2 (paragraph 0061).
Benbrook and Hays do not specifically teach that the SHetA2 is in a kit, wherein the kit further comprises an additional drug such as an aldosterone agonist.
Ajay Gupta teaches a method and compositions for the treatment of proteinuria and/or hypertension secondary to other conditions such as diabetic nephropathy, wherein the method and compositions involve a combination of an indoline and an anti-aldosterone agent (Abstract). In particular, Ajay Gupta teaches that the combination therapy can be packaged into a kit with instructions for administering said compounds to the subject (paragraph 0043).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to package SHetA2 taught by Benbrook and Hays into a kit and further include another agent for the treatment of diabetic neuropathy in view of the teachings of Ajay Gupta. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Anjay Gupta teaches that combination therapies can be packaged as a kit with instructions for administering said compounds to the subject.
Moreover, "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted).
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13-14 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benbrook and Hays (US20130184323A1, 2013-07-18) referred to herein as Benbrook and Hays, as applied to claims 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13-14 and 16-17 above, in view of Wang et al. (Hypertension 2017; 69:879-891). (Please note: The instant rejection addresses a subject in need).
Benbrook and Hays teach a method of treating a disease or condition involving defective protein folding, in particular those associated with endoplasmic reticulum stress (ERS), by administering to a subject having such disease or condition, one or more flexible heteroarotinoids, wherein the disease or condition include, but are not limited to, cancer (renal cancer), kidney disease, ischemia, heart diseases and inflammation (paragraph 0084). With regards to the inflammatory condition, Benbrook and Hays teach non-infectious inflammatory condition include, but are not limited to, diabetic nephropathy (paragraph 0088). With regards to the flexible heteroarotinoid, Benbrook and Hays teach that flexible heteroarotinoids include, but are not limited to, SHetA2 (paragraph 0061).
Benbrook and Hays do not specifically teach that the disease or condition associated with endoplasmic reticulum stress (ERS) is hypertension induced nephropathy.
Wang et al. teach that diabetes mellitus and hypertension interact synergistically to promote kidney dysfunction and injury via endoplasmic reticulum (ER) stress (abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the method taught by Benbrook and Hays to treat a patient suffering from hypertension induced nephropathy in view of the teachings of Wang et al.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- Wang et al. teach that diabetes mellitus and hypertension interact synergistically to promote kidney dysfunction and injury via endoplasmic reticulum (ER) stress (abstract).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13-14 and 16-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 7,612,107B2 as evidenced by the Kennefick et al. (Kidney International, 1999; 56(6): 2181-2190). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting patent claims a method of treating or inhibiting polycystic fibrosis in a subject comprising administering a composition comprising SHetA2. While the prior art does not specifically teach that polycystic fibrosis is a hypertension linked disease, as evidenced by Kennefick et al., hypertension accelerates renal failure in autosomal dominant polycystic kidney disease (Background). As such, the claimed patient populations appear to be the same.
Claims 18-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 7,612,107B2 in view of Ajay Gupta (US20100249081A1, 2010-09-30).
The conflicting patent claims a method of treating or inhibiting polycystic fibrosis in a subject comprising administering a composition comprising SHetA2.
The conflicting patent does not specifically claim that the SHetA2 is in a kit, wherein the kit further comprises an additional drug such as an aldosterone agonist.
Ajay Gupta teaches a method and compositions for the treatment of proteinuria and/or hypertension secondary to other conditions such as diabetic nephropathy, wherein the method and compositions involve a combination of an indoline and an anti-aldosterone agent (Abstract). In particular, Ajay Gupta teaches that the combination therapy can be packaged into a kit with instructions for administering said compounds to the subject (paragraph 0043).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to package SHetA2 as claimed by the conflicting patent into a kit and further include another agent for the treatment of polycystic fibrosis in view of the teachings of Ajay Gupta. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Anjay Gupta teaches that combination therapies can be packaged as a kit with instructions for administering said compounds to the subject.
Moreover, "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted).
Conclusion
Therefore, No claim is allowed.
BRANDON J. FETTEROLF
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1626
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626