DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the support rotation axis, spindle axis, and carousel rotation axis must be labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A “feeding device” as recited in claim 1 (first, “device” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “for”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., there is no language defining the structure of the resilient element in claim 1). The claim states “for feeding capsules” but does not designate any structure to carry out said function.
A “cutting arrangement” as recited in claim 1 (first, “arrangement” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “for”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., there is no language defining the structure of the resilient element in claim 1). The claim does not include any structure for the cutting arrangement and only refers to its function of “making a guarantee band on each capsule fed by said feeding device”.
A “actuator device” as recited in claim 1 (first, “device” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “for”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., there is no language defining the structure of the resilient element in claim 1). The claim does not include any structure for the actuator device and only refers to its function of “varying an orientation of each capsule”.
A “control device” as recited in claim 1 (first, “device” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “configured to”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., there is no language defining the structure of the resilient element in claim 1). The claim does not include any structure and just refers to the functions of “controlling the actuator device and varying the orientation of each capsule”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-17, 24-25 and 28-30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, the claim requires a cutting arrangement and a guarantee band which are both previously claimed in claim 1 from which claim 14 depends. It is unclear if claim 14 requires separate and distinct structures from claim 1 or if these structures are the same structures as claimed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, the claim requires a capsule and an actuator device which are both previously claimed in claim 1 from which claim 15 depends. It is unclear if claim 15 requires separate and distinct structures from claim 1 or if these structures are the same structures as claimed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, the claim states “the step of uncoupling”. This step lacks proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 24, the claim requires a feeding device, a cutting arrangement, actuator device, a control device which are all previously claimed in claim 1 from which claim 24 depends. It is unclear if claim 24 requires separate and distinct structures from claim 1 or if these structures are the same structures as claimed in claim 1. For examination purposes, the examiner considers claim 24 as referring to the same structures already introduced in claim 1 such that no additional interpretations under 35 USC 112(f) are required by claim 24.
Further, the claim states “said support and said spindle being configured so that the capsule is first engaged by said support and is subsequently engaged between said support and said spindle which is configured to engage the capsule while the capsule rotates on said cutting arrangement”. It is unclear from the claim how the capsule rotates on the cutting arrangement as the claim requires the capsule to be engaged between the support and spindle which are rotated by the actuator unit and the motor unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albonetti (US 2005/0223867 A1) in view of Sain (US 2016/0354946 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Albonetti teaches a cutting apparatus (Albonetti, Fig. 1-4, 1), including:
a feeding device (Albonetti, Fig. 2, 10) for feeding capsules (Albonetti, Fig. 2, 2);
a cutting arrangement (Albonetti, Fig. 3, 15) for making a guarantee bank on each capsules fed by said feeding device (Albonetti, P. 0009);
Albonetti does not teach a sensor unit for detecting an orientation of each capsule; an actuator device for varying an orientation of each capsule, and a control device configured to control said actuator device based on a detection of said sensor unit; wherein said control device is configured so as to vary the orientation of each capsule before the capsules reaches said cutting arrangement so that the capsules reach said cutting arrangement with a desired orientation with respect to said cutting arrangement.
Sain teaches a cutting apparatus (Sain, Fig. 1-8) comprising a sensor unit (Sain, P. 0039) for detecting an orientation of each capsule; an actuator device (Sain, Fig. 1-8, 20) for varying an orientation of each capsule, and a control device (Sain, P. 0024) configured to control said actuator device based on a detection of said sensor unit; wherein said control device is configured so as to vary the orientation of each capsule before the capsules reaches said cutting arrangement so that the capsules reach said cutting arrangement with a desired orientation with respect to said cutting arrangement (Sain, P. 0024). Such a configuration allows the capsule to be orientated in a desired orientation before cutting which ensures the guarantee band is formed by cutting into the proper sections of the capsule.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the cutting apparatus as taught by Albonetti with the sensor unit, actuator device, and control device taught by Sain as the inclusion of these features ensures that a guarantee band is properly formed by cutting in each capsule by changing the orientation of each capsule to be in a desired orientation before cutting.
Regarding claim 14, Albonetti in view of Sain teaches a cutting method, in particular implemented by a cutting apparatus according to claim 1, said method including the steps of:
- feeding capsules to a cutting means arrangement to make a guarantee band on each capsule (Albonetti, P. 0034);
- detecting an orientation of each capsule (Sain, P. 0039); and
- varying an orientation of each capsule on the basis of said detection (Sain, P. 0039);
characterized in that wherein said varying is performed before the capsules reaches said cutting arrangement so that the capsules reach said cutting arrangement with a desired orientation with respect to said cutting arrangement (Sain, P. 0039).
Regarding claim 15, Albonetti in view of Sain teaches the cutting method according to claim 14, said cutting method including the following steps:
- placing a capsule on a support (Albonetti, P. 0034);
- rotating said support around a support rotation axis by an actuator device to rotate said capsule on itself (Albonetti, P. 0035);
- rotating a spindle around a spindle rotation axis by a motor unit distinct from said actuator device (Albonetti, P. 0035);
- bringing said support and said spindle closer together so that said capsule engages between said support and said spindle (Albonetti, P. 0034);
- actuating said actuator device and said motor unit so that, when said capsule begins to engage between said support and said spindle, said capsule has a rotation speed around said support rotation axis equal to the rotation speed of said spindle around said spindle rotation axis (Albonetti, P. 0034);
- bringing said capsule into rolling contact with a cutting arrangement to form a guarantee band on said capsule (Albonetti, P. 0035).
EXAMINER’S NOTE
Due to the issues with 35 U.S.C. 112b and 112f the allowability of claims 16-17, 24-25 and 28-30 currently cannot be determined.
Conclusion
/ROBERT D CORNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/EVAN H MACFARLANE/Examiner, Art Unit 3724