DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 13-27 were withdrawn in the previous Office action from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/18/2025.
Claims 2, 12 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3-11 are currently pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the recitation of “at least two power structure, connected with the first driving component, the second driving component, and the third driving component respectively” is unclear as one cannot have two power structure respectively connected to three components. The components and the power structures should have the same number, to be respectively connected.
Claims 3, 8-9 recite the limitation "the power structure". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
In claim 9 the recitation of “wherein the power structure is the clean water pump” is unclear as the clean water pump was already mentioned as part of the cleaning liquid supplier in claim 1.
Claims 4-7, 10-11 are rejected by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chao TW I603700B in view of Zhou CN 106974595 A.
Re claim 1, Chao discloses an automatic cleaning apparatus, figs. 1-2, 9-10, comprising:
a mobile platform 100 configured to automatically move on an operating surface;
a cleaning module disposed on the mobile platform and comprising:
a wet cleaning module [130, 140] configured to clean at least a part of the operation surface by means of wet cleaning;
a cleaning liquid supplier [700, 710, 720, 730] comprising a clean water pump 720 and a water tank 700, wherein the clean water pump 720 is configured to pump cleaning liquid from the water tank 700 and supply the cleaning liquid to the wet cleaning module;
a driving mechanism comprising a first driving component [110 or 120], a second driving component [400 or 430], and a third driving component 720, wherein:
the first driving component, and the third driving component are connected with the wet cleaning module [120-140], and the cleaning liquid supplier 700, respectively,
wherein the driving mechanism comprises:
at least two power structures [motor 110, pulley 120, motor 430, wheel set 400, and/or water pump 720], connected with the first driving component 110, the second driving component 430, and the third driving component 720 respectively for providing driving force.
Chao does not teach the second driving component is a lifting and lowering structure connected with the wet cleaning module and configured to enable the wet cleaning module to move vertically relative to the mobile platform and connected to one of the power structures for providing driving force.
However, Zhou teaches an automatic cleaning apparatus, fig. 1, comprising multiple driving components, i.e., wheels, mop, cleaner, including a lifting and lowering structure, fig. 9, connected with a wet cleaning module 25 and configured to enable the wet cleaning module to move vertically relative to the mobile platform, and connected to one [27] of multiple power structures [7, 23, 50] for providing driving force.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the lifting and lowering structure of Zhou with the cleaning apparatus of Chao, in order to yield the predictable result of having a mop that can lift, when not in used, and lower, when in used, for efficient wet cleaning.
Re claim 8, Chao and Zhou teach the invention as claimed above. Zhou further teaches wherein the power structure 27 is a motor configured to provide driving force for forward rotation and reverse rotation [in order to lift and lower the mop].
Re claim 9, Chao and Zhou teach the invention as claimed above Li further teaches wherein the power structure 720 is a clean water pump 720, configured to provide power for the cleaning liquid module and provide cleaning liquid for the wet cleaning module.
Claim(s) 3, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chao TW I603700B in view of Han WO 00/78198 A1 and in further view of Li CN 112690713 A.
Re claim 3, Chao and Zhou teach the invention as claimed above but fail to teach wherein the driving mechanism further comprises: a gear set connected to the power structure and configured to output driving force for the first driving component and/or the second driving component
Li further teaches wherein the driving mechanism further comprises: a gear set [fig. 11], connected to the power structure 4211 and configured to output driving force for the first driving component and/or the second driving component.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the gear set of Li with the cleaner of Chao, in order to yield the predictable result of changing the torque/speed of the gear and/or add other components to the same motor.
Re claims 10-11, Chao and Zhou teach the invention as claimed above but fail to teach the clean water pump is a peristaltic pump or an air pump.
However, Li further teaches wherein the clean water pump is a peristaltic pump [“clean water pump can be…a peristaltic pump”], is meshed with the gear set to provide power for the cleaning liquid module under the driving of the gear set, and provides cleaning liquid for the wet cleaning module. Li does not specifically teach an air pump, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an air pump or a peristaltic pump in the cleaner of Chao, since it has been held that a simple substitution of known elements for another to obtain predictable results, in this case, a water pump, support a conclusion of obviousness.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not show nor fairly render obvious the combination set forth in the independent claims. In particular, the prior art does not teach a clutch that provides driving force when the clutch is in reverse-direction engagement with the gear set, and provides no driving force when the clutch is in forward-direction non-engagement with the gear set in combination with the other claim limitations.
Correspondence
C. A. R.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/C. A. RIVERA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723