DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/18/2025. Claims 1-12 are currently pending examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a wet cleaning module configured to clean at least a part of the operation surface by means of wet cleaning disclosed as element 400 and equivalents thereof;
a cleaning liquid module for providing cleaning liquid for the wet cleaning module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 limitation “cleaning liquid module for providing cleaning liquid for the wet cleaning module” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification does not clearly link the module to any element
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 limitation “cleaning liquid module for providing cleaning liquid for the wet cleaning module” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification does not clearly link the module to any element. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 112690713 A
Re claim , 1, Li discloses an automatic cleaning apparatus, comprising:
a mobile platform 100 configured to automatically move on an operating surface;
a cleaning module 150 disposed on the mobile platform and comprising:
a wet cleaning module 400 configured to clean at least a part of the operation surface by means of wet cleaning;
a lifting and lowering structure connected with the wet cleaning module and configured to enable the wet cleaning module to move vertically relative to the mobile platform [“the cleaning module 150 and the mobile platform 100 is provided with a lifting module”];
a cleaning liquid module 4212 for providing cleaning liquid for the wet cleaning module;
a driving mechanism [figs. 11, 17-18] comprising a first driving component [4212] and a second driving component [4212’, fig. 13], wherein:
the first driving component [4212] is configured to be capable of providing power for at least one of the wet cleaning module, the lifting and lowering structure and the cleaning liquid module[the term “providing power” can be construed under BRI as transferring power from a motor to another component, in this case, transferring power from motor 4211 to the lifting structure];
the second driving component 4212’ is configured to be capable of providing power [i.e., transferring power from the motor 4211 to the module 400] for at least one of the wet cleaning module 400.
Re claim 12, Li further teaches wherein the driving mechanism comprises a third driving component 4219, and the first driving component, the second driving component and the third driving component are connected with the wet cleaning module, the lifting and lowering structure and the cleaning liquid module, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li CN 112690713 A in view of Espin Franco US 2022/0061610.
Re claim 2, Li further teaches wherein the driving mechanism comprises at least one power structures 4211, connected with the first driving component. Li does not disclose a second power structure connected to the second driving component for providing driving force.
However, Espin Franco teaches it was known to use one or two motors for the same gear system [¶14, “the brushes B rotate. They may rotate in a continuous rotation. Alternatively, they may regularly reverse the rotation direction. Adjacent brushes B may have opposite rotation directions. While each brush B may be driven by a separate motor, it is alternatively possible that only one or two motors are used for driving the brush unit BU, while the other brushes B are driven by gears, e.g. as shown in FIG. 3, which shows adjacent brushes B having gear-shaped elements G”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the two motor/same gear set system of Espin Franco with the cleaning apparatus of Li, in order to yield the predictable result of rotating the gear set in well-known mechanical arrangements.
Re claim 3, Li further teaches wherein the driving mechanism further comprises: a gear set [fig. 11], connected to the power structure 4211 and configured to output driving force for the first driving component and/or the second driving component.
Re claim 8, Li further teaches wherein the power structure is a motor configured to provide driving force for forward rotation and reverse rotation [“the motor 4211 comprises a forward output mode and a reverse output mode”].
Re claim 9, Li further teaches wherein the power structure is a clean water pump 4219, configured to provide power for the cleaning liquid module and provide cleaning liquid for the wet cleaning module.
Re claims 10-11, Li further teaches wherein the clean water pump is a peristaltic pump [“clean water pump can be…a peristaltic pump”], is meshed with the gear set to provide power for the cleaning liquid module under the driving of the gear set, and provides cleaning liquid for the wet cleaning module. Li does not specifically teach an air pump, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an air pump since it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, in this case, a water pump, support a conclusion of obviousness.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The best prior art of Li teaches a motor and clutch system used for forward and reverse direction to operate different elements of the cleaning apparatus. However, the prior art of record does not show or fairly render obvious wherein [the] clutch…provides driving force when the clutch is in reverse-direction engagement with the gear set, and provides no driving force when the clutch is in forward-direction non-engagement with the gear set in combination with the other claim limitations.
Correspondence
C. A. R.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/C. A. RIVERA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723