DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) have been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 recites, “monitoring for functionality the primary ane secondary electric motor”. It appears this is a typographical error meant to read “and”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nilsson (U.S. 2008/0296106).
Regarding claims 9 and 13, Nilsson discloses (figs. 1-2A) An electromechanical brake system (10) for a motor vehicle (abstract at least), and a method for operating the system, the system comprising:
four wheel brake devices (
24
1
-
24
4
)
; four primary electric motors (first motor 30); four secondary electric motors (second motor 30’); four control devices (40); and
a backup control device (18’), wherein the control devices and/or the backup control device are configured to acquire and/or evaluate sensor data from sensors (e.g. 44, 44’) assigned to the wheel brake devices and/or the motor vehicle (see pgh. 0054),
wherein each respective wheel brake device of the wheel brake devices is respectively assigned one of the primary electric motors and one of the secondary electric motors for operating the respective wheel brake device (fig. 2A as shown), and
wherein, for actuating the primary and secondary electric motors, each of the control devices is respectively assigned to one of the primary electric motors of one of the wheel brake devices (fig. 2A as shown, 40 assigned to 30) and the backup control device is assigned to the four secondary electric motors of the wheel brake devices (figs 1 and 2A as shown, 18’ assigned to 40’ and 30’);
the method comprising the following steps:
monitoring for functionality the primary and secondary electric motors (pgh. 0055 at least), the control devices (pgh. 0055 at least), and the backup control device (pgh. 0043 at least) of the brake system; and
based on a failure of one of the primary and secondary electric motors, of one of the control devices, or of the backup control device, triggering a replacement response (fail-safe operations, e.g. pgh. 0017, providing brake actuator control during failure of another portion of the actuator).
Regarding claim 10, Nilsson discloses (figs. 1-2A) the sensors are rotor position sensors (e.g. “position sensors”), and/or rotational speed sensors (e.g. “wheel speed sensors”), and/or air bag sensors, and/or distance sensors.
Regarding claim 12, Nilsson discloses (figs. 1-2A) each of the control devices is arranged directly on the wheel brake device to whose primary electric motor the control device are assigned (fig. 2A as shown, 40 arranged on 24).
Regarding claim 14, Nilsson discloses (figs. 1-2A) based on a failure of one of the primary electric motors, the secondary electric motor assigned to the same wheel brake device is actuated as the replacement response (pgh. 0024, first and second actuation mechanisms are operable independently of one another in case of failure of one of them. Pgh. 0048, “actuation mechanism” is the motor 30 and 30’).
Regarding claim 15, Nilsson discloses (figs. 1-2A) based on a failure of one of the control devices, the backup control device is actuated as the replacement response (pgh. 0053-0055 at least, fail silent operation, if one controller 40 or 40’ fails, the other can operate).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson (U.S. 2008/0296106) in view of Weiberle (DE 102009046238 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Nilsson does not appear to disclose the type of electric motors presently claimed. In the same field of endeavor of redundant brake systems, Weiberle teaches (figs. 1-2) electric motors for each wheel (25,26,29,30), where the motors are electronically commutated electric motors (see page 10 pgh. 3 of the provided copy and translation).
In order to arrive at the claimed invention, the motors of Nilsson would be provided as electronically commutated as suggested by Weiberle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided electronically commutated motors to actuate the brakes to provide a motor design that has high reliability and efficiency, thereby minimizing failures and power consumption. Note that providing a reliable motor design does not negate the need for redundancy, as failure could still occur since no system is 100% reliable.
Regarding claim 16, Nilsson does not appear to disclose outputting a warning. In the same field of endeavor of redundant brake systems, Weiberle teaches as the replacement response, a warning is output on a display device (24) assigned to a driver of the motor vehicle (see page 12 first paragraph, “displays warning messages” that are “depending on the operating condition of the brake system”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a warning to a driver to alert the driver that there is a problem in the brake control system, so that the problem can be investigated/repaired.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. Documents listed on the PTO-892 disclose various brake control systems and redundancies thereof.
Conclusion
/DAVID R MORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616