DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0030916) taken in view of evidence by Sjoberg (Silica in aqueous environments; Journal of Non-Crystalline Solids 196, 51-57; 1996).
Regarding claim 1, Shen et al. teaches removal of hydrogen sulfide and mercaptans from gaseous hydrocarbon streams, natural gas or obtained in the drilling, removal from the ground, storage, transport, and processing of crude oil which meets the limitation of process to remove H2S from a stream wherein the stream is selected from the group consisting of oil streams, gas streams, CO2 point source purification streams and geothermal energy system streams (paragraphs 15-19). Shen et al. teaches silica particulates, silica (quartz sand), which meets the limitation one or more aqueous acidic silica nanoparticle compositions (paragraph 28). Shen et al. teaches triazine which one or more triazine compounds (paragraphs 37, 38, Table 1). While Shen et al. does not silica being acidic (i.e., acidic silica), given acidic properties of a silica surface have been described by an acidity constant for surface SiOH groups with pKa(intr.) = 6.8 (i.e., acidic), as evidenced by Sjoberg, Abstract, it is clear that silica taught by Shen et al. would necessarily be acidic in an aqueous environment (paragraph 36) (i.e., acidic silica).”
Regarding claim 2, Shen et al. teaches 1,3,5-tris(2-hydroxyethyl)-hexahydro-s-triazine (paragraph 37).
Regarding claims 3-6, Shen et al. teaches removal of hydrogen sulfide and mercaptans from gaseous hydrocarbon streams, natural gas or obtained in the drilling, removal from the ground, storage, transport, and processing of crude oil (paragraphs 15-19).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-13 of copending Application No. 18/546,755 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the pending application and copending Application No. 18/546,755 claim removal of H2S from a stream comprising silica and triazine.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/546,759 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the pending application and copending Application No. 18/546,759 claim removal of H2S from a stream comprising silica and triazine.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of copending Application No. 18/546,662 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the pending application and Application No. 18/546,662 claim removal of H2S from a stream comprising colloidal dispersion which is defined by the specification as silica nanoparticles and triazine.
.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 18/546,674 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the pending application and Application No. 18/546,674 claim removal of H2S from a stream comprising colloidal dispersion which is defined by the specification as silica nanoparticles and triazine.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/GUINEVER S GREGORIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 01/22/2026