DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 2, 4, 6 – 7 and 9 – 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kataoka et al. US 20180227147 A1, hereinafter Kataoka.
Regarding claim 1, Kataoka teaches a method for transmitting a signal from a first electronic component (Kataoka: Fig. 1 ECU 11 of first network 100) of a vehicle to at least one second electronic component (Kataoka: Fig. 1 ECU 21-23 of second network 200) of the vehicle (Kataoka: Fig. 1 vehicle para. [0022]), said signal being formed from a frame of a low-level network protocol and being transmitted via transceivers of a packet-switching protocol, the method comprising the following steps:
(Kataoka: Summary and Abstract - receive low-level data that is transmitted and received to and from the low-level networks; a storage unit that stores each of the plurality of communication ports and a source identifier in association with each other; and a control unit that generates high-level data and transmits the high-level data to the high-level network, in which the payload of the high-level data that is generated by the control unit includes at least a part of the low-level data that is received by the communication ports, and in which the header of the high-level data that is generated by the control unit includes the source identifier which is associated with the communication ports)
receiving the signal on a physical input port of a network switch;
(Kataoka: para. [0072] gateway device 1 (corresponds to claim limitation “network switch”) is connected to the respective low-level networks, and includes a plurality of communication ports (corresponds to claim limitation “physical input port”) that receive low-level data transmitted and received to and from the low-level network)
redirecting the frame of the low-level network protocol extracted from the received signal to an output port of the network switch
(Kataoka: para. [0072-0076 & 0081] gateway device 1 (corresponds to claim limitation “network switch”) is connected to the respective low-level networks, and includes a plurality of communication ports that receive low-level data transmitted and received to and from the low-level network, that is, the controllers 3 to 7, the storage unit 2 a that stores the transmission source table 9 defining by associating each of the plurality of communication ports with source identifiers, and the control unit 2 that generates the high-level data and transmits the data to the high-level network (corresponds to claim limitation “redirecting the frame”), through their respective communication ports (output port of the gateway device 1, which corresponds to claim limitation “to an output port of the network switch”), para. [0081]. A payload of the high-level data generated by the control unit 2 includes the low-level data received by the communication port. A header of the high-level data generated by the control unit 2 includes a source identifier associated with the communication port)
based on a destination address extracted from said low-level network protocol frame (Kataoka: para. [0077-0081] gateway device 1 can transfer the received low-level data to an ECU having a specified IP address associated with the destination identifier (corresponds to claim limitation “destination address extracted”) in the destination table 8);
transmitting a signal, generated from the frame of the low-level network protocol, to the electronic component identified by the extracted destination address via said output port of the network switch to which said electronic component is connected.
(Kataoka: para. [0072 & 0081] gateway device 1 is connected to the respective low-level networks, and includes a plurality of communication ports that receive low-level data transmitted and received to and from the low-level network, that is, the controllers 3 to 7, the storage unit 2 a that stores the transmission source table 9 defining by associating each of the plurality of communication ports with source identifiers, and the control unit 2 that generates the high-level data (corresponds to claim limitation “generated from the frame of the low-level network protocol”) and transmits the data to the high-level network, through their respective communication ports (corresponds to claim limitation “via said output port of the network switch”), para. [0081 & 0072-0080])
Regarding claim 2, Kataoka teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the frame of the low-level network protocol is redirected to an output port (Kataoka: para. [0072-0076 & 0081] gateway device 1 is connected to the respective low-level networks, and includes a plurality of communication ports that receive low-level data transmitted and received to and from the low-level network, that is, the controllers 3 to 7, the storage unit 2 a that stores the transmission source table 9 defining by associating each of the plurality of communication ports with source identifiers, and the control unit 2 that generates the high-level data and transmits the data to the high-level network, through their respective communication ports (corresponds to claim limitation “to an output port of the network switch”), para. [0081]. A payload of the high-level data generated by the control unit 2 includes the low-level data received by the communication port. A header of the high-level data generated by the control unit 2 includes a source identifier associated with the communication port)
whose number is stored in an addressing table in association with a destination address identical to the destination address
(Kataoka: para. [0080 & 0072-0081] destination table 8, an association between a transmission destination IP address and a destination identifier is defined for each communication port, that is, each of the controllers 3 to 7. A transmission destination IP address storage region is set in a header of an IP packet. The control unit 2 stores the transmission destination IP address associated with the destination identifier in the transmission destination IP address storage region, in the communication port which receives low-level data. Para. [0062] In step S303, a transmission destination IP address associated with the destination identifier determined to be included in the header in step S302 is acquired with reference to the destination table 8. For example, in a case where “C2” is included in the header, “192.168.1.2” is acquired as the transmission destination IP address)
extracted from the frame of the low-level network protocol. (Kataoka: para. [0077-0081] gateway device 1 can transfer the received low-level data to an ECU having a specified IP address associated with the destination identifier (corresponds to claim limitation “destination address extracted”) in the destination table 8)
Regarding claim 4, Kataoka teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the frame of the low-level network protocol is redirected to an output port whose number is stored in the addressing table in association with a destination address of the packet-switching protocol obtained from a destination address identical to the destination address extracted from the frame of the low-level network protocol.
(Kataoka: para. [0080 & 0072-0081] destination table 8, an association between a transmission destination IP address and a destination identifier is defined for each communication port, that is, each of the controllers 3 to 7. A transmission destination IP address storage region is set in a header of an IP packet. The control unit 2 stores the transmission destination IP address associated with the destination identifier in the transmission destination IP address storage region, in the communication port which receives low-level data. Para. [0062] In step S303, a transmission destination IP address associated with the destination identifier determined to be included in the header in step S302 is acquired with reference to the destination table 8. For example, in a case where “C2” is included in the header, “192.168.1.2” is acquired as the transmission destination IP address)
Regarding claim 6, Kataoka teaches the method according to claim 1, which further comprises a step of extracting a source address of the frame of the low-level network protocol and of storing said source address in an addressing table in association with the number of the input port of the network switch on which the frame of the low-level network protocol is received.
(Kataoka: para. [0072 & 0050-0051] gateway device 1 is connected to the respective low-level networks, and includes a plurality of communication ports that receive low-level data transmitted and received to and from the low-level network, that is, the controllers 3 to 7, the storage unit 2 a that stores the transmission source table 9 defining by associating each of the plurality of communication ports with source identifiers, and the control unit 2 that generates the high-level data and transmits the data to the high-level network. A payload of the high-level data generated by the control unit 2 includes the low-level data received by the communication port. A header of the high-level data generated by the control unit 2 includes a source identifier associated with the communication port)
Regarding claim 7, Kataoka teaches the method according to claim 1, which further comprises a step of extracting a source address of the frame of the low-level network protocol and of storing said source address of the packet-switching protocol obtained from said extracted source address, in an addressing table in association with the number of the input port of the network switch on which the frame of the low-level network protocol is received.
(Kataoka: para. [0072 & 0050-0051] gateway device 1 is connected to the respective low-level networks, and includes a plurality of communication ports that receive low-level data transmitted and received to and from the low-level network, that is, the controllers 3 to 7, the storage unit 2 a that stores the transmission source table 9 defining by associating each of the plurality of communication ports with source identifiers, and the control unit 2 that generates the high-level data and transmits the data to the high-level network. A payload of the high-level data generated by the control unit 2 includes the low-level data received by the communication port. A header of the high-level data generated by the control unit 2 includes a source identifier associated with the communication port)
Regarding claim 9, Kataoka teaches a network switch comprising a memory associated with at least one processor configured to implement the steps of the method according to claim 1. (Kataoka: para. [0029-0030] gateway device 1 includes a control unit 2 and para. [0030] control unit 2 includes a CPU, a RAM, and a ROM that stores a program. Para. [0059] and FIG. 5 operation of the data transfer program. An execution subject of the following steps is the CPU of the control unit 2)
Regarding claim 10, Kataoka teaches a vehicle comprising the device according to claim 9. (Kataoka: para. [0169] gateway device 1 is mounted on a vehicle)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka in view of Singh et al. US 20210281440 A1, hereinafter Singh.
Regarding claim 3, Kataoka teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the destination address extracted from the frame of the low-level network protocol (Kataoka: para. [0077-0081] gateway device 1 can transfer the received low-level data to an ECU having a specified IP address associated with the destination identifier (corresponds to claim limitation “destination address extracted”) in the destination table 8)
is stored in the addressing table in association with the number of the input port (Kataoka: para. [0074] control unit 2 stores the IP address associated with the communication port that receives the low-level data in a transmission source IP address storage region provided in a header of the IP packet to be generated. Para. [0076] storage unit 2 a further stores the destination table 8 that defines association between a destination identifier and a transmission destination IP address which are included in low-level data. If receiving the low-level data from a low-level network, the control unit 2 specifies the transmission destination IP address associated with the destination identifier included in the low-level data, and stores the specified transmission destination IP address in a transmission destination IP address storage region provided in a header of an IP packet to be generated)
It is noted that Kataoka does not explicitly disclose: if this association is not already stored in the addressing table.
However, Singh from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: the destination address extracted from the frame is stored in the addressing table if this association is not already stored in the addressing table.
(Singh: para. [0031] The DMM 206 receives and parses the update packet 300 and recognizes that the value of the address field 308 maps to an address of an entry in the table 216 for a particular virtual channel. The virtual channel used to send the update packet 300 may be different from the virtual channel associated with the table entry in the address field 308. For example, an update packet 300 sent via VCO may be used to update a table entry for VC1. The value in the data field 310 of the update packet 300 represents the new address (corresponds to claim limitation “if this association is not already stored”) to be stored in the table entry. Thus, the DMM 206 may provide the value in the data field 310 back to the CSI-2 interface for writing in the table 216 at the entry indicated by the value in the address field 308. In this way, subsequent data received via the virtual channel associated with the address field 308 of the update packet 300 is written to the address specified in the data field 310 of the update packet 300) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Singh in method of Kataoka. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for DMM 206 may provide access to the complete address space of MCU 104, and may direct data to the appropriate address (Singh: para. [0029]).
Regarding claim 5, Kataoka teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the destination address of the packet-switching protocol is stored in the addressing table in association with the number of the input port (Kataoka: para. [0080] control unit 2 stores the transmission destination IP address associated with the destination identifier in the transmission destination IP address storage region, in the communication port which receives low-level data).
It is noted that Kataoka does not explicitly disclose: if this association is not already stored in the addressing table.
However, Singh from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: the destination address extracted from the frame is stored in the addressing table if this association is not already stored in the addressing table. (Singh: para. [0031] The DMM 206 receives and parses the update packet 300 and recognizes that the value of the address field 308 maps to an address of an entry in the table 216 for a particular virtual channel. The virtual channel used to send the update packet 300 may be different from the virtual channel associated with the table entry in the address field 308. For example, an update packet 300 sent via VCO may be used to update a table entry for VC1. The value in the data field 310 of the update packet 300 represents the new address (corresponds to claim limitation “if this association is not already stored”) to be stored in the table entry. Thus, the DMM 206 may provide the value in the data field 310 back to the CSI-2 interface for writing in the table 216 at the entry indicated by the value in the address field 308. In this way, subsequent data received via the virtual channel associated with the address field 308 of the update packet 300 is written to the address specified in the data field 310 of the update packet 300) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Singh in method of Kataoka. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for DMM 206 may provide access to the complete address space of MCU 104, and may direct data to the appropriate address (Singh: para. [0029]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka in view of Acharya et al. US 20190268420 A1, hereinafter Acharya.
Regarding claim 8, Kataoka teaches the method according to claim 1, Kataoka does not explicitly teaches: wherein information is stored to identify whether an input port of the network switch accepts low-level protocol frames or packets of the packet-switching protocol.
However, Acharya from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein information is stored (Acharya: para. [0269] broker may have a collection of certificates (corresponds to claim limitation “information is stored”) from peers) to identify whether an input port of the network switch accepts low-level protocol frames or packets of the packet-switching protocol. (Acharya: para. [0269] when a peer intends to send a message to another peer, the peer validates the certificate, then encrypts the message with a symmetric key, encrypts the key with the public key of the validated recipient(s), and then transmits the message, as discussed above. Thus, in this case, the SSL may no longer be necessary, as the application protocol takes care of the encryption as well as authentication and authorization (though it may still use X.509) (corresponds to claim limitation “accepts packets of the packet-switching protocol”)) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Acharya in the method of Kataoka. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for eSync bus protocol may comprise uniform and secure communication functionality between various devices, such as different ECUs, across one, some, or all in-vehicle networks. In this regard, the eSync bus protocol enables inter-device (such as inter-ECU or ECU to eSync Client Module) communication across buses of different types (e.g., one or more devices sitting on the CAN bus communicating with one or more devices sitting on the Ethernet bus) (Acharya: para. [0047 & 0050 & 0054]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regard to applicant’s remark on claim 1 on pages 1-3, applicant submits:
In the rejection of claim 1, it is contended the Kataoka reference discloses "receive low-level data that is transmitted and received to and from the low-level networks", but there is no disclosure of the data being a "signal being formed from a frame of a low-level network protocol and being transmitted". As recited in claim 1. (page 1)
As cited in the rejection, Kataoka in Summary and Abstract and para. [0072-0076 & 0081] teaches receive low-level data that is transmitted and received (corresponds to claim limitation “from a frame of a low-level network protocol”) to and from the low-level networks; a storage unit that stores each of the plurality of communication ports and a source identifier in association with each other; and a control unit that generates high-level data and transmits the high-level data to the high-level network (corresponds to claim limitation “a signal being formed from a frame of a low-level network protocol and being transmitted”), in which the payload of the high-level data that is generated by the control unit includes at least a part of the low-level data that is received by the communication ports, and in which the header of the high-level data that is generated by the control unit includes the source identifier which is associated with the communication ports. Therefore, the cited portion(s) of Kataoka teaches the claim limitation.
Applicant's arguments filed 03/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regard to applicant’s remark on claim 1 on pages 1-3, applicant submits:
In the rejection of claim 1 it is contended the Kataoka reference discloses this claimed subject matter in paragraph [0072], lines 10 - 18 of the reference. It is also contended the Kataoka reference discloses "through their respective communication ports", which corresponds to the claim limitation "to an output port of the network switch". However, "through their respective communication ports" does not appear in this portion of the Kataoka reference. Therefore, the reference does not disclose the claimed "redirecting the frame of the low-level network protocol extracted from the received signal to an output port of the network switch based on a destination address extracted from said low-level network protocol frame". For this further reason the Kataoka reference does not anticipate claim 1. Claim 1 is therefore allowable over the Kataoka reference, and claims 2 - 10 that depend from claim 1 are allowable over the Kataoka reference. (page 2)
As cited in the rejection, Kataoka in para. [0072-0076 & 0081] teaches gateway device 1 (corresponds to claim limitation “network switch”) is connected to the respective low-level networks, and includes a plurality of communication ports that receive low-level data transmitted and received to and from the low-level network, that is, the controllers 3 to 7, the storage unit 2 a that stores the transmission source table 9 defining by associating each of the plurality of communication ports with source identifiers, and the control unit 2 that generates the high-level data and transmits the data to the high-level network (corresponds to claim limitation “redirecting the frame”), through their respective communication ports (output port of the gateway device 1, which corresponds to claim limitation “to an output port of the network switch”). Therefore, the cited portion(s) of Kataoka teaches the claim limitation and rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418