DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rivers (5347004) in view of Wu et al (20050084474).
Rivers, example 2, teaches ten grams of the reaction product of Example 2 was diluted to 100 g with deionized water. This sample was placed in a 1.25 in. column and sparged with a test gas mixture at a rate of 5.5 SCFFI and 20 psig. The composition of the test gas was 2000 ppm H2 S, 1% CO.sub.2 and the balance methane. H2S readings were taken by Gas Tech.RTM. stain tubes. Test data are shown in the FIG. 1 graph. As can be seen, essentially complete removal (99.995%) of H2 S occurred during the first 50 minutes of the continuous test.
Rivers, example 3, teaches the reaction product is Methylamine 40-50 wt%, Paraformaldehyde 20-24 wt%, Methoxypropylamine 5-20 wt% and Glyoxal 0-20 wt%.
Although Rivers teaches a reaction product, Rivers does not teach the reaction product comprising nanoparticles.
Wu, abstract, teaches a method comprises forming a coordination complex between a transition metal and a polydentate compound, and contacting the coordinated complex with an odorous compound.
Wu, paragraph 16 of the PGPUB, teaches the transition metal may be effective in removing odorous compounds, such as sulfides (e.g., hydrogen sulfide, dimethyl disulfide (DMDS), etc.).
Wu, paragraph 37 of the PGPUB, teaches although the coordination complex of the present invention is capable of achieving high levels of odor reduction, it is sometimes desired to further enhance the level of odor reduction through the use of high-surface area particles as a carrier for the complex. When utilized, the high surface area of such particles may provide a further method of reducing odor. The particles may be formed from a variety of materials, including, but not limited to, silica, alumina, zirconia, magnesium oxide, titanium dioxide, iron oxide, zinc oxide, copper oxide, organic compounds such as polystyrene, and combinations thereof.
Wu, paragraph 38 of the PGPUB, teaches the average size of the particles is generally from about 4 to about 20 nanometers.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to add the coordination complex supported on a mixture of silica and alumina nanoparticles as taught by Wu into the reaction product as taught by Rivers to achieve high levels of odor reduction.
Regarding claim 2, Rivers, col. 5, teaches it is additionally anticipated that a dialdehyde, such as those described above, may be advantageously blended and/or reacted with known triazine H2 S scavengers to give improved results.
Regarding claim 3, Wu teaches the particles may be formed from a variety of materials, including, but not limited to, silica, alumina and combinations thereof.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20080099375 teaches a process for adsorption of sulfur compounds from hydrocarbon streams.
/STEFANIE J COHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1732 1/21/26