Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-8, 12-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Postescu et al., US20140174093 in view of Wang, Foreign Patent Document, CN203903209.
Regarding independent claim 1, Postescu et al. discloses a turbomachinery assembly (100, Fig. 1), comprising: a turbomachinery (200, Fig. 2) comprising a skid (50, Fig. 1) an outlet oil pipe (731, 732, 733, Fig. 2 and 734, 735, Fig. 3; "bearing drain lines return the lube oil from the bearing assemblies" Paragraph [0021], lines 2-3), and a collection manifold (741, Fig. 4) coupled to the outlet oil pipe (collection manifold 741, Fig. 3 is coupled to oil outlet pipe 732 by element 751, Fig. 3); a main oil collection tank (748, Fig. 4) disposed on the skid (50, Fig. 2), coupled to the collection manifold (748 is coupled to 741 by 760, 761, Fig. 4); and an oil flood retention tank (750, 751 Fig. 3) disposed on the skid (50, Fig. 2) the oil flood retention tank comprising a top (751 is shown having a top, Fig. 3), a bottom (Figure 4 shows bottom of 750), and sides (Figure 3 shows 751/750 as a rectangular prism, having top, bottom and sides), the combination of which forms a containment volume therein (“the lengths of the tubes 751 may be determined by the available space within base frame 50 and the volume of lube oil needed for the lube oil system 700” Paragraph [0027], lines 4-6) the oil flood retention tank further comprising: an inlet port (732, 733, Fig. 3) disposed in the top and connected to the outlet oil pipe (“second bearing drain 732 and third bearing drain 733 connect to first elongated compartment 751” Paragraph [0030], lines 6-8); and an outlet port (753, Fig. 3) disposed in the sides (outlet port disposed in side of rectangular prism 751, Fig. 3) and connected to the collection manifold (“the inlet area 741 is connected to first open end 753” Paragraph [0029], lines 2-3); wherein the inlet port (732, 733, Fig. 3) is at a higher position with respect to the outlet port (753, Fig. 3; is lower than 732, 733), so that some lube oil flowing through the collection manifold accumulates in the retention tank when the turbomachine assembly tilts (inlets 732, 733 being above outlet 753 would allow for accumulation of oil in the retention tank 751 when the assembly tilts) wherein the collection manifold is disposed between the oil flood retention tank and the main oil collection tank (See Annotated Figure 4 of Postescu et al. below, showing the collection manifold 741 is between the flood retention tank 750, 751, and the main oil collection tank 748 in the direction of lubricant flow which is indicated by arrows 781-789) and wherein the oil flood retention tank is located in a position on the skid that is as far away as possible from the main oil collection tank (the oil flood retention tank 750, 751 is located as far away as possible from the main oil collection tank 748 due to skid and piping constraints, see Annotated Figure 4 of Postescu et al. below).
Annotated Figure 4 of Postescu et al.
Postescu et al. does not disclose an anti-wave baffle that is tilted, the anti-wave baffle comprising a first edge proximate the bottom of the oil flood retention tank and a second edge proximate one of the sides; and an elongate opening penetrating through the anti-wave baffle, the elongate opening extending from the first edge toward the second edge.
Wang, teaches a tank having an anti-wave baffle (1, Fig. 14) that is tilted (Fig. 14) the anti-wave baffle comprising a first edge proximate the bottom of the oil flood retention tank (edge of 1 near bottom of tank, Fig. 15) and a second edge proximate one of the sides (edge of 1 near 32 is near the left side of the tank, Fig. 14); and an elongate opening penetrating through the anti-wave baffle (space between 1 is an elongate opening in the baffle 1, Fig. 15), the elongate opening extending from the first edge toward the second edge (elongate opening between 1 extends from bottom, first edge of 1 towards second edge at 4, Fig. 15, and 32, Fig. 14) the elongate opening comprising an open end formed in the first edge (open end between 1 opposite to end 4, Fig. 15) and a terminating end formed within material of the anti-wave baffle (terminating end of opening between 1, at end 4, within material of baffle, 3, 4, Fig. 15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the oil flood retention tank of Postescu et al. to add an anti-wave baffle that is tilted as taught by Wang to reduce “the impact of medium fluctuation on the container” (Paragraph [0004], lines 7-8). One would have been motivated to make this modification as it would reduce the force of the fluid during movement of the tank (Paragraph [0077], lines 21-25).
Regarding claim 3, modified Postescu et al. teaches the oil flood retention tank (750, 751, Figs. 3 and 4) has a shape of a parallelepiped (751 is a parallelepiped, Fig. 3) so as to adapt to irregular spaces ("other cross-sections for the tubes may also be used. The lengths of the tubes may be determined by the available space within base frame 50 and the volume of lube oil needed for the lube oil system 700" Paragraph [0027], line 3-6).
Regarding claim 4, modified Postescu et al. teaches a skid (50, Fig. 3) arranged below the turbomachinery (50 is below 200, Fig. 2), wherein the oil flood retention tank is fixed on the skid ("All or a portion of first passage 750…fixed within base frame 50" Paragraph [0027], line 12-14).
Regarding claim 7, modified Postescu et al. teaches the oil retention tank has a volume that is calculated considering oil that accumulates in the collection manifold and oil that drains from bearings of the turbomachinery ("the lengths of the tubes maybe determined by the available space within base frame 50 and the volume of lube oil needed for the lube oil system 700" Paragraph [0027], lines 4-6) and is sized so that during a time interval approximately equal to half of a typical wave period oil in the oil flood retention tank reaches a level that allows air flow from the bearings ("the down and back oil path from first passage 750 to second passage 760 may provide the retention time needed for the air to migrate out of the lube oil...In one embodiment, lube oil is retained in lube oil tank 740 for an average of three minutes" Paragraph [0038], lines 2-12).
Regarding claim 8, modified Postescu et al. teaches the main oil collection tank (748, Fig. 3) is part of or integral with the skid (tank 748 is integral with skid 50, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, modified Postescu et al. teaches the turbomachinery (100, Fig. 1) is a gas turbine ("gas turbine engine lube oil system" Abstract, line 1).
Regarding independent claim 13, Postescu et al. discloses, turbomachinery (200, Fig. 2) comprising a skid (50, Fig. 2) an outlet oil pipe (731, 732, 733, Fig. 2 and 734, 735, Fig. 3) for collecting the lubricating exhaust oil; ("bearing drain lines return the lube oil from the bearing assemblies" Paragraph [0021], lines 2-3), and a main collection manifold (741, Fig. Fig. 4) disposed on the skid (50, Fig. 2), connected to the outlet oil pipe ("second bearing drain 732 and third bearing drain 733 connect to first elongated compartment 751" Paragraph [0030], lines 6-7, which connects to main collection manifold 741, Fig. 4); an oil flood retention tank (750, 751, Fig. 4) disposed on the skid (50, Fig. 2) and connected to the outlet oil pipe (732, Fig. 3 shows connection to 751) and the main oil collection manifold (751, 750 is connected to main collection manifold 741, via 753, Fig. 4) and disposed upstream of the main oil collection manifold (750, and 741 are disposed upstream of the main collection tank 748 as shown in Annotated Figure 4 of Postescu et al. above), the retention tank comprising: a top (751 is shown having a top, Fig. 3), a bottom (Figure 4 shows bottom of 750), and sides (Figure 3 shows 751/750 as a rectangular prism, having top, bottom and sides), the combination of which forms a containment volume (“the lengths of the tubes 751 may be determined by the available space within base frame 50 and the volume of lube oil needed for the lube oil system 700” Paragraph [0027], lines 4-6); an inlet port (732, 733, Fig. 3) disposed in the top and connected to the outlet oil pipe (“second bearing drain 732 and third bearing drain 733 connect to first elongated compartment 751” Paragraph [0030], lines 6-8); and an outlet port (753, Fig. 3) disposed in the sides (outlet port disposed in side of rectangular prism 751, Fig. 3) and connected to the collection manifold (“the inlet area 741 is connected to first open end 753” Paragraph [0029], lines 2-3), wherein the oil flood retention tank is located in a position on the skid that is as far away as possible from the main oil collection tank (the oil flood retention tank 750, 751 is located as far away as possible from the main oil collection tank 748 due to skid and piping constraints, see Annotated Figure 4 of Postescu et al. above).
Postescu et al. does not disclose an anti-wave baffle that is tilted, the anti-wave baffle comprising a first edge proximate the bottom of the oil flood retention tank and a second edge proximate one of the sides; and an elongate opening penetrating through the anti-wave baffle, the elongate opening extending from the first edge toward the second edge.
Wang, teaches a tank having an anti-wave baffle (1, Fig. 14) that is tilted (Fig. 14), the anti-wave baffle comprising a first edge proximate the bottom of the oil flood retention tank (edge of 1 near bottom of tank, Fig. 15) and a second edge proximate one of the sides (edge of 1 near 32 is near the left side of the tank, Fig. 14); and an elongate opening penetrating through the anti-wave baffle (space between 1 is an elongate opening in the baffle 1, Fig. 15), the elongate opening extending from the first edge toward the second edge (elongate opening between 1 extends from bottom, first edge of 1 towards second edge at 4, Fig. 15, and 32, Fig. 14) the elongate opening comprising an open end formed in the first edge (open end between 1 opposite to end 4, Fig. 15) and a terminating end formed within material of the anti-wave baffle (terminating end of opening between 1, at end 4, within material of baffle, 3, 4, Fig. 15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the oil flood retention tank of Postescu et al. to add an anti-wave baffle that is tilted as taught by Wang to reduce “the impact of medium fluctuation on the container” (Paragraph [0004], lines 7-8). One would have been motivated to make this modification as it would reduce the force of the fluid during movement of the tank (Paragraph [0077], lines 21-25).
Regarding claim 14, modified Postescu et al. teaches the oil flood retention tank (751, Fig. 3) has an upper surface (surface shown in Figure 3 is upper surface of 751) and a lateral surface (surface perpendicular to 751, and parallel and coincident to 753, in Figure 3), wherein the inlet port (732, 733, Fig. 3) is located, or obtained on the upper surface (751, Fig. 3), and wherein the outlet port is located or obtained on the lateral surface (outlet port 753 is located on lateral surface perpendicular to upper surface 751, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, modified Postescu et al. teaches the retention tank (750, 751, Figs. 3 and 4) has the shape of a parallelepiped (751 is a parallelepiped, Fig. 3) so as to adapt to irregular spaces ("other cross-sections for the tubes may also be used. The lengths of the tubes may be determined by the available space within base frame 50 and the volume of lube oil needed for the lube oil system 700" Paragraph [0027], line 3-6).
Regarding claim 17, modified Postescu et al. teaches the oil retention tank has a volume that is calculated considering the oil that accumulates in the collection manifold and oil that drains from the bearings of the turbomachinery ("the lengths of the tubes maybe determined by the available space within base frame 50 and the volume of lube oil needed for the lube oil system 700" Paragraph [0027], lines 4-6) and is sized so that during a time interval approximately equal to half of a typical wave period oil in the oil flood retention tank reaches a level that allows air flow from the bearings ("the down and back oil path from first passage 750 to second passage 760 may provide the retention time needed for the air to migrate out of the lube oil...In one embodiment, lube oil is retained in lube oil tank 740 for an average of three minutes" Paragraph [0038], lines 2-12).
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 16 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Postescu et al. US20140174093 and Wang, Foreign Patent Document, CN203903209, as applied to claims 4 and 13 above, and further in view of Csanady Jr. et al., US3759347.
Regarding claim 5, modified Postescu et al. teaches the oil flood retention tank (751, Fig. 4) and a skid (50, Fig. 3). However, Postescu et al. as modified, does not disclose a plurality of supporting legs, each one equipped with a flange, to be fixed to the surface of the skid.
Csanady Jr. et al. teaches an oil flood retention tank (29, Fig. 1) comprises a plurality of supporting legs (31, Fig. 1), each one equipped with a flange (32, Fig. 1) to be fixed to a surface of the skid (16, Fig. 1; flange 32 integral to 15 allows tank 29 to be fixed to skid 16, Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the flood retention tank as taught by modified Postescu et al. to add the plurality of supporting legs and flanges, as taught by Csanady Jr. et al., to the flood retention tank. One would have been motivated to make this modification to secure the flood retention tank to the surface of the skid for easier adjustment.
Regarding claim 6, modified Postescu et al. teaches the oil flood retention tank (751, Fig. 4;
Postescu et al.) has a bottom plate (bottom of 751, Fig. 4; Postescu et al.) and supporting legs (31, Fig. 1;
Csanady Jr. et al.). However, Postescu et al. as modified, does not disclose the oil flood retention tank comprises a plurality of supporting legs have different heights so that the bottom plate slopes at an angle that is the same as the collection manifold.
Csanady Jr. et al. teaches an oil flood retention tank (29, Fig. 1) comprises a plurality of supporting legs (31, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the invention to modify the flood retention tank as taught by modified Postescu et al. to add the plurality of supporting legs and flanges, as taught by Csanady Jr. et al., to the flood retention tank. One would have been motivated to make this modification to secure the flood retention tank to the surface of the skid for easier adjustment.
Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well-known to have supporting legs of different heights
to adjust the height of an object relative to uneven ground, or to position an object having a slope
relative to the ground.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the invention to modify the tank of modified Postescu et al., to make the supporting leg heights different so that the bottom plate has the same slope of the collection manifold. One would have been motivated to make the legs different heights to ensure proper oil flow and operation of the lubrication system.
Regarding claim 16, modified Postescu et al. teaches the oil flood retention tank (751, Fig. 4) has a bottom plate (bottom of 751, Fig. 4). However, modified Postescu et al. does not disclose a plurality of supporting legs, each one equipped with a flange, for fixing the retention tank on a surface and wherein the supporting legs have different heights so that the bottom plate slopes at an angle that is the same as the collection manifold.
Csanady Jr. et al. teaches wherein the oil flood retention tank (29, Fig. 1) comprises also a
plurality of supporting legs (31, Fig. 1), each one equipped with a flange (32, Fig. 1) for fixing the retention tank on a surface (16, Fig. 1; flange 32 integral to 15 allows tank 29 to be fixed to skid 16, Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the invention to modify the flood retention tank as taught by modified Postescu et al. to add the plurality of supporting legs and flanges, as taught by Csanady Jr. et al., to the flood retention tank. One would have been motivated to make this modification to secure the flood retention tank to the surface of the skid for easier adjustment.
Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well-known to have supporting legs of different heights
to adjust the height of an object relative to uneven ground, or to position an object having a slope
relative to the ground. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the tank of modified Postescu et al., to make the supporting leg heights different so that the bottom plate has the same slope of the collection manifold. One would have been motivated to make the legs different heights to ensure proper oil flow and operation of the lubrication system.
Response to Arguments
With respect to applicant’s arguments on pages 8-9 of Remarks, filed 2/9/2026, it is noted that Wang does teach the amended features because Figure 15 of Wang shows that there is an open end at the first edge between 1 opposite to end 4, fluid can pass through between 1, and a terminating end of opening between 1, at end 4, within material of baffle, 3, 4. Thus, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.R.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619