DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: 1-3 and 8-17 in the reply filed on 3/6/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/6/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatake et al. (JP 2001-89830), hereinafter “Hatake,” wherein an English machine translation is used and cited herein.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Hatake teaches a cold forgeable (i.e., cold-workable) steel wire bar steel (i.e., mechanical structural steel) comprising, in mass%, C: 0.2-0.6%, Si: 0.5% or less, Mn: 0.2-1%, P: 0.02% or less, S: 0.02% or less, Cr: 2% or less, Al: 0.01-0.06%, and a balance of Fe and inevitable impurities (Abstract, [0001], [0007]-[0008]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed chemical composition ranges. Hatake further teaches wherein the steel has a bainite structure in which pro-eutectoid ferrite fraction is 5-30 area% (Abstract, [0008]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed pro-eutectoid ferrite area percentage. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05.
Hatake is silent as to the dislocation density of the steel and the average crystal grain size of the pro-eutectoid ferrite.
However, Hatake teaches an overlapping chemical composition and an overlapping microstructure, as detailed above, and further teaches a method of manufacturing its steel comprising steps of hot rolling at a finishing temperature of 780-925⁰C from a thickness of 50 mm to 13 mm, cooling the steel to 701-710⁰C at a cooling rate of 6.1⁰C/s or higher, cooling the steel to 674-685⁰C at a cooling rate of 0.13-0.19⁰C/s, cooling the steel to 520-550⁰C at a cooling rate of 6.1⁰C/s or higher ([0038], Tables 2 and 4: experiment nos. 3 and 11-14), which is substantially similar to the method described in paragraph [0014] of the instant specification. Thus, as Hatake teaches a steel with an overlapping chemical composition, overlapping microstructure, and a substantially similar process of manufacturing, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the steel of Hatake to have a dislocation density and pro-eutectoid ferrite average crystal grain size that are the same or overlapping with that recited in claim 1. In the case where “the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of anticipation or obviousness has been established.” See MPEP §2112.01.
Regarding claims 3 and 15-17, Hatake teaches wherein the steel further comprises, in mass%, Ni: 3% or less, Mo: 1% or less, Ti: 0.1% or less, V: 0.5% or less, and N: 0.01% or less, ([0008], [0010], [0022], [0028]-[0030]), which satisfies or overlaps with the instantly claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claims 8, 10, and 12, Hatake teaches wherein the steel has a bainite structure in which pro-eutectoid ferrite fraction is 5-30 area% and a balance of 25 area% or less which may include pearlite (Abstract, [0008], [0025]).
As to claims 9, 11, and 13-14, Hatake teaches wherein the steel has a bainite structure in which pro-eutectoid ferrite fraction is 5-30 area% and a balance of a trace amount of 25 area% or less which may include pearlite (Abstract, [0008], [0025]). Hatake does not explicitly teach wherein the balance may contain trace martensite.
However, Hatake teaches an overlapping chemical composition, as detailed above regarding claim 1, and further teaches a method of manufacturing its steel comprising steps of hot rolling at a finishing temperature of 780-925⁰C from a thickness of 50 mm to 13 mm, cooling the steel to 701-710⁰C at a cooling rate of 6.1⁰C/s or higher, cooling the steel to 674-685⁰C at a cooling rate of 0.13-0.19⁰C/s, cooling the steel to 520-550⁰C at a cooling rate of 6.1⁰C/s or higher ([0038], Tables 2 and 4: experiment nos. 3 and 11-14), which is substantially similar to the method described in paragraph [0014] of the instant specification. Thus, as Hatake teaches a steel with an overlapping chemical composition and a substantially similar process of manufacturing, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the steel of Hatake to have trace martensite, which would read on the limitations of claims 9, 11, and 13-14. In the case where “the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of anticipation or obviousness has been established.” See MPEP §2112.01.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY M LIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734