Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinz (DE102014100199B3 attached NPL, English Machine translation) in view of Otto (WO2009083005A1 attached NPL, English Machine translation), Dong (CN111266292A) and Wedag (DE202009014079U1 attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 8-9, Heinz discloses a high-pressure roller press for comminuting brittle material for grinding, the high-pressure roller press comprising:
at least two grinding rollers (fig.1: (1) and (2)) arranged next to one another and configured to rotate in opposite directions and form a roller gap (fig.3: (3)) between them, and
a respective lateral wall (fig.1: (6) and (7)) at two ends of the roller gap,
Heinz does not disclose wherein a first grinding roller of the at least two grinding rollers is a fixed roller and a second grinding roller of the at least two grinding rollers is a floating roller; and wherein the respective lateral wall has a vibration device which makes the respective lateral wall mechanically oscillate with a vibration frequency between 10 Hz and 150 Hz and to introduce mechanical energy into the brittle material for grinding within the roller gap.
Otto discloses a high-pressure roller press for comminuting brittle material for grinding (paragraphs 0001-0002 and 0037-0040), the high-pressure roller press comprising:
at least two grinding rollers arranged next to one another and configured to rotate in opposite directions and form a roller gap (fig.2: (18)) between them, wherein a first grinding roller of the at least two grinding rollers is a fixed roller (fig.2: (14)) and a
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least two grinding rollers of the apparatus of Heinz to be wherein a first grinding roller of the at least two grinding rollers is a fixed roller and a second grinding roller of the at least two grinding rollers is a floating roller as taught by Otto, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Heinz in view of Otto does not disclose wherein the respective lateral wall has a vibration device which makes the respective lateral wall mechanically oscillate with a vibration frequency between 10 Hz and 150 Hz and to introduce mechanical energy into the brittle material for grinding within the roller gap.
Dong teaches a material processing device comprising:
walls have a vibration device which makes the walls mechanically oscillate (paragraphs 0037 and 0046-0047);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the respective lateral wall of the apparatus of Heinz in view of Otto to have a vibration device which makes the respective lateral wall mechanically oscillate as taught by Dong, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Regarding claim 8-9, Heinz over in view of Otto and Dong does not disclose a vibration frequency between 10 Hz and 150 Hz and to introduce mechanical energy into the brittle material for grinding within the roller gap; wherein the vibration device introduces an input of energy between 0.1 kJ/m3 and 10 kJ/m3 into the material for grinding (M).
Wedag teaches a high-pressure roller press for comminuting brittle material for grinding (paragraphs 0001 and 0018), the high-pressure roller press comprising:
at least two grinding rollers (fig.1: (14) and (14’)) arranged next to one another and configured to rotate in opposite directions and form a roller gap between them (fig.1: the gap between (14) and (14’)), and
a vibration device operates with a frequency, and introduces an input of energy into the material for grinding (paragraph 0010).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to substitute the configuration of the vibrating device of the apparatus of Heinz over in view of Otto and Dong by the configuration of the vibrating device, the vibration device operates with a frequency, and introduces an input of energy into the material for grinding as taught by Wedag; since it has been held the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). (MPEP 2143).
Heinz over in view of Otto, Dong and Wedag does not disclose a frequency between 10 Hz and 150 Hz, and introduces an input of energy between 0.1 kJ/m3 and 10 kJ/m3;
However, Wedag discloses controlling the vibration device in order to have the grinding material density can be derived (paragraph 0010);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select the frequency and the input energy as desired, including a frequency between 10 Hz and 150 Hz, and introduces an input of energy between 0.1 kJ/m3 and 10 kJ/m3, in order to have the grinding material density can be derived (Wedag; paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 10, Wedag teaches wherein the vibration device has a regulating device configured to regulate a vibration intensity in accordance with an energy consumed by the vibration device for operation, wherein an increased energy consumption results in a reduction of the vibration intensity and a reduced energy consumption results in an increase in the vibration intensity (paragraph 0010).
Therefore, the modification of Heinz over in view of Otto, Dong and Wedag teaches the limitations of claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, Wedag teaches wherein the regulating device is further configured to perform regulation in accordance with an energy consumption of a roller drive, wherein an increased energy consumption of the roller drive results in the reduction in the vibration intensity and a reduced energy consumption results in the increase in the vibration intensity (paragraphs 0010-0011).
Therefore, the modification of Heinz over in view of Otto, Dong and Wedag teaches the limitations of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Wedag teaches wherein the vibration device is further configured to be regulated in accordance with a width of the roller gap, wherein a larger gap width results in the increase in the vibration intensity and a smaller gap width results in the reduction in the vibration intensity (paragraphs 0010-0011: the control loop is capable to perfume the vibration intensity with respect to the gap).
Therefore, the modification of Heinz over in view of Otto, Dong and Wedag teaches the limitations of claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Otto discloses wherein the vibration device is further configured to be regulated in accordance with a tendency of the floating roller to rotate about a vertical axis (A), wherein the vibration intensity is increased as a rotary oscillation frequency of the floating roller increases, and the vibration intensity is decreased as the rotary oscillation frequency of the floating roller decreases (paragraphs 0024-0026 and 0038).
Therefore, the modification of Heinz over in view of Otto, Dong and Wedag teaches the limitations of claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Wedag teaches further comprising: a manual triggering device for the vibration device (paragraph 0013).
Therefore, the modification of Heinz over in view of Otto, Dong and Wedag teaches the limitations of claim 14.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725