DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 42 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 42 refers to Claims 1-16 which are cancelled. A claim cannot refer to cancelled claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26-35 and 39-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green et al. [US 2010/0277277] in view of Nissen et al. (WO 2014127779).
Per claim 26. Green discloses a product distribution system [see Figs. 4 and 7] comprising:
a product storage area (e.g. storage bins 104 and shelves 102) [Figs. 8-10 and para. 48-49];
an RFID portal (40) to identify product taken from the product storage area [Figs. 5A-5B and para. 29-30] ;
an RFID reader (60) [para. 38] to identify product in the product return area, [para. 55]
a shield (88) to shield the RFID portal from the product storage area [Figs.7-8 and para. 44-47], however Green fails to explicitly disclose a product return area separate from the product storage area, the RFID reader being separate from the RFID portal and the RFID portal comprises an exit area, and a door allowing movement between the product storage area and the exit area.
In an analogous art, Nissen et al. discloses a product return area separate from the product storage area (Fig. 1 shows return unit 39 across the hall from the clean cloths depot, Page 7, Lines 3-6), the RFID reader being separate from the RFID portal (Soiled garment RFID reader separate from clean cloths depot reader, Page 7, Lines 23-27, Fig. 1 and 6) and the RFID portal comprises an exit area, and a door allowing movement between the product storage area and the exit area (Page 8, Lines 28- Page 9 Line 15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have separate areas for product return with separate RFID readers and a door to keep clean and dirty items separate as taught by Nissen (Page 9, Lines 21-23).
Per claim 27. Green and Nissen et al. made obvious above, Green further teaches the shield 88 comprises a metallic wall [para. 46].
Per claim 28. Green and Nissen et al. made obvious above, Green further teaches a transportable unit (e.g. trailer 20), wherein the transportable unit comprises the product storage area, and a reader of the RFID portal [Figs. 5-10, para. 46].
Per claim 30. Green and Nissen et al. made obvious above, Nissen et al. further teaches a wall separating the product return area from the product storage area (Fig. 1 shows return area 39 separated from depot item 3 by walls).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have a separate wall between storage area and return area as taught by Nissen et al. to keep apart clean and dirty objects (Nissen et al. , Page 9, Lines 21-23).
.
Per claim 31. Green and Nissen et al. made obvious above, Green further teaches a RF-identifiable products (82, 84) in the product storage area [Figs. 6A-6B and para. 43-44].
Per claim 33. Green and Nissen et al. made obvious above, Green further teaches a user identification system [para. 27 and 32].
Per claim 34. Green and Nissen et al. made obvious above, Green further teaches The RFID reader system identifies the RFID tags that have been affixed or embedded within each item (block 178). The software system then updates the required inventory and employee records (block 180). The items are issued to the employee and adjustments are made to inventory levels to account for transactions. [0055] Some items retrieved from the mobile tool facility may be disposable items and not necessarily assigned to the employee or contractor. The software system may simply update inventory levels when these items are removed. [para. 54-55]. That constitutes a database configured to log product taken from the product storage area by each user.
Per claim 35. Green and Nissen et al. made obvious above, Green further teaches a locking system configured to grant access to the product distribution system based on user identity [para. 53].
Per claims 39-40. Green and Nissen et al. made obvious above, Green further teaches the product storage area is adapted to store RF-identifiable items (e.g. 82, 84) [para. 43], except for not explicitly mention the items in storage area and return area are for laundering product including linens and/or clothing.
In an analogous art, Nissen et al. discloses the product storage area is adapted to store RF-identifiable laundered product including linens and/or clothing, which are identified by the RFID portal when taken from the product storage area (Page 7, Lines 30- Page 8, Line 7, Page 8, Line 32- Page 9, Line 6) and the product return area is adapted to receive RF-identifiable linen and/or clothing items in need of laundering, which are identified by the RFID reader when entering the product return area (Page 9, Lines 16-31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a product storage area and product return area each with RF readers to keep the clean and soiled items separate and to keep track of items in an unattended manner as taught by Nissen et al. (Page 3, Lines 15-29 and Page 9, Line 21-23).
Per claim 41. Green and Nissen et al. made obvious above, Green further teaches the product includes an RFID tag (80) [Figs. 6A-6B and para. 43].
Per claim 42. Green and Nissen et al. made obvious in claim 1 above, the limitations of the method steps would be obviously included in the product distribution system above. Nissen et al. discloses collecting used product in a product return area of a product distribution system according to claim 26, to form collected product (Page 9, Lines 16-32) ;transporting the collected product externally to the product distribution system, and servicing the collected product to form serviced product; transporting the serviced product to a product storage area of the product distribution system (Return facility of any kind for soiled garments for laundry provided and Service personnel maintain the stock of garments in the stock by replenishing with garments received from a laundry thus product was transported, Page 3, Lines 8-9, Page 7, Lines 30-32), and allowing users to take the serviced product from the product distribution system (Page 8, Lines 24- Page 9, Line 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have collect, transport, and allow users to take serviced product to allow for a unattended system for delivery and control of work wear to avoid loss of garments (Nissen et al. , Page 1, Lines 11-16).
Per claim 43. Green and Nissen et al. made obvious above, Green further teaches collecting used product, the used product is collected by the product distribution system (e.g. return item) [para. 7], which means the used product is collected and updated by the RFID portal.
Per claim 45. Green and Nissen et al. made obvious in claim 1 above, Nissen further teaches the servicing comprises laundering (Laundry provided, Page 3, Lines 8-9, Page 7, Lines 30-32).
Claim(s) 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green et al. in view of Nissen et al., and further in view of Sunkara et al. (US 9162001)
Per claim 44. Green and Nissen et al. made obvious above, Green further teaches step of transporting comprises road transporting [e.g. trailer 22, Fig. 8 and para. 26] , however Green fails to explicitly disclose the transporting the collected product externally to the product distribution system or transporting the serviced product to a product storage area of the product distribution system.
In an analogous art, Sunkara et al. discloses the transporting the collected product externally to the product distribution system or transporting the serviced product to a product storage area of the product distribution system (off site laundry for uniforms, Col. 1, Lines 59-64).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have transport the collected product or transport the serviced product to perform the laundry off site for processing the laundry at the central point for efficiency.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green et al. in view of Nissen et al., and further in view of Myers [US 7,059,488].
Per claim 29. Green and Nissen et al. made obvious above, except for not mention the mounting points by which the transportable unit is mountable in place of a shipping container.
Myers teaches shipping container comprising mounting points (208) [Fig. 2 and col. 5, lines 45-55]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, to employ the mounting points to the transportable unit of the shipping container as taught by Myers to the combination above, for the benefit of easy to attach and detach to container, because the mounting points are removable fittings and standardized for transportation on boat and truck.
Claim(s) 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green et al. in view of Nissen et al., and further in view of Breed [US 6,919,803].
Per claims 36-37. Green and Nissen et al. made obvious above, except for not explicitly mention a source of electricity to operate off-mains-supply, such as one or more electricity- producing solar devices. Breed teaches a transport container 10 includes a solar panel 88 configured to supply power to the [Fig. 1, col. 14, lines 36-57]. It have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the off-mains supply power such as solar panel as taught by Breed to the combination above, for the benefit of convenience and safety, because main power supply may not be available at any remote location, so that monitoring system is powered at lack of main power supply.
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green et al. in view of Nissen et al., and further in view of Ellis et al [US 2008/0119957]
Per claim 38. Green and Nissen et al. made obvious above, except for not explicitly mention the RFID portal is a UHF RFID portal. Ellis teaches RFID readers and the reader can be an UHF RFID reader [para. 34 and 95]. It have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the UHF RFID portal as taught by Ellis to the combination above, for the benefit of faster reading the RFID tags.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 26-31, 33-42, and 44-45 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN LIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2688