DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 11/16/2023 and 11/18/2023 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin et al (US 20200198478 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Shin teaches a charging socket installed or installable in an electric vehicle for receiving a charging plug for charging a traction energy store of the electric vehicle with an electrical charging current, (¶0051 “[FIG 4] electric vehicle charging device 100 according to one embodiment of the present disclosure includes a charging inlet 110, a control module 120, and a charger 130, and is connected to a battery 300”)
the charging socket comprising: power contacts configured to contact corresponding power contacts of the charging plug in a state in the charging socket for electrically conducting the charging current; (¶0070 “FIG. 8, the charging inlet 110 of the charging device 100 for the EV 10 includes a control pilot (CP) port, a proximity detection (PD) port, a protective earth (PE) port, and a power input port”)
charging technology-specific signal contacts configured to contact corresponding signal contacts of the charging plug in a state received in the charging socket for controlling the charging current; (¶0065 “[FIG 6] charging inlet 110 is connected to the EVSE 20 and collects the charging information from the EVSE 20. In this case, the collected charging information may be transmitted to the selector 122 through a detection line”, ¶0074 “[FIG 8] charging controller 140 controls charging of the battery 300. Although it is not illustrated, the charging controller 140 may be included in the control module 120, and connected to at least one of the selector 122, the switching section 124, and the task section 126 in the control module 120”)
a signal converter configured to transmit and/or receive control signals for controlling the charging current at the charging technology-specific signal contacts of the charging socket; (¶0052 “[FIG 4] control module 120 receives the EVSE information from the charging inlet 110, outputs a control signal corresponding to the EVSE information…. control module 120 may transmit the control signal to the charger 130 and/or the charging inlet 110”, ¶0078 “[FIG 9] a signal is transmitted and received between the EVSE 20 and the charging controller 140 through the first communication channel 142 and the second communication channel 144”, please see below for further detail)
and a bus node comprising a connection to a data bus, (¶0065 “[FIG 6] The switching section 124 and the charging inlet 110 may be connected by a charging communication line”, the point where 110 connects with 124 functions as a bus node connecting the inlet to the communication bus)
and the bus node being configured to communicate via the data bus with a vehicle controller of the electric vehicle (¶0078 “[FIG 8] first communication channel 142 may be based on a protocol of supporting power line communication (PLC), pulse width modulation (PWM), or both the PLC and the PWM, and the second communication channel 144 may be based on a protocol of supporting the controller area network (CAN)”, ¶0046 “charging device 100 is included in the EV 10 and connected to an electronic control unit (ECU) 200 inside the EV 10”)
and to control the signal converter to: transmit the control signals as transmitted control signals, the transmitted control signals corresponding to the communication via the data bus, and/or to receive the control signals as received control signals, wherein the communication via the data bus corresponding to the received control signals. (¶0076 “charging controller 140 receives a signal through the CP port and a signal through the PD port, the charging controller 140 controls the charger 130 connected to the power input port so that the battery 300 may receive charging power from the EVSE 20”)
Charging inlet 110, as disclosed by Shin ¶0052, is shown in FIG 6 to be able to communicate bidirectionally between control module 120 and EVSE 20. This is further supported in ¶0052 which discloses “control module 120 may include one or more task sections 126, select a task section 126 corresponding to the EVSE information received from the charging inlet 110… control module 120 may transmit the control signal to the charger 130 and/or the charging inlet 110”. The plain definition of a signal converter is a component which translates a signal between equipment with different signals, and Shin’s charging inlet 110 is able to either receive or transmit signals thereby functioning as a signal converter.
Similarly for claim 16 as applied to a vehicle controller. (¶0052 “control module 120 receives the EVSE information from the charging inlet 110, outputs a control signal corresponding to the EVSE information, and controls the charger 130 to perform charging”)
Regarding claim 4, Shin teaches the charging socket of claim 1. Shin further teaches wherein a signal protocol of the transmitted and/or received control signals at the signal contacts is charging technology-specific. (¶0067 “communication between the EVSE 20 and the charging device 100 in the case of CCS standards, but a controller area network (CAN) is used for communication between the EVSE 20 and the charging device 100 in the case of CHAdeMo standards and China EV charging standards”)
Regarding claim 5, Shin teaches the charging socket of claim 1. Shin further teaches wherein the data bus, is configured as: a Controller Area Network (CAN). (¶0067 “communication between the EVSE 20 and the charging device 100 in the case of CCS standards, but a controller area network (CAN) is used for communication between the EVSE 20 and the charging device 100”)
Regarding claim 6, Shin teaches the charging socket of claim 5. Shin wherein the data bus comprises only one line pair. (¶0078 “signal is transmitted and received between the EVSE 20 and the charging controller 140 through the first communication channel 142 and the second communication channel 144”)
A charging line pair is well known in the art as a power line communication which comprises two signal wires twisted together for vehicle-charger communications. Shin uses a first communication channel 142 and a second communication channel 144 which form a charging line pair for sending and receiving information between the charger and the electric vehicle.
Regarding claim 8, Shin teaches the charging socket of claim 1. Shin wherein the bus node is configured to output an identifier of a charging technology of the charging socket to the vehicle controller via the data bus. (¶0075 “charging controller 140 may include pilot function (PF) logic for processing a pilot function received through the CP port, and proximity detection (PD) logic for detecting whether the connector of the EVSE 20 is inserted or not using a signal received through the PD port”)
Regarding claim 9, Shin teaches the charging socket of claim 1. Shin further teaches wherein the vehicle controller of the electric vehicle comprises a charging controller (¶0046 “charging device 100 is included in the EV 10 and connected to an electronic control unit (ECU) 200 inside the EV 10”)
configured to control the charging current when charging the traction energy store and/or a battery management system of the traction energy store. (¶0086 “control unit 148 is connected to the third communication channel 146, and a signal generated by the control unit 148 to control the charging of the battery is transmitted to the ECU 200 through the third communication channel 146”)
Regarding claim 10, Shin teaches the charging socket of claim 1. Shin wherein the control signals of the charging technology-specific signal contacts comprise pilot signals for controlling the charging current and/or a proximity pilot signal (PP) or a connection check (CS), for determining a state of the charging plug received in the charging socket. (¶0075 “charging controller 140 may include pilot function (PF) logic for processing a pilot function received through the CP port, and proximity detection (PD) logic for detecting whether the connector of the EVSE 20 is inserted or not using a signal received through the PD port”)
Regarding claim 11, Shin teaches the charging socket of claim 1. Shin wherein the control signals of the charging technology-specific signal contacts comprise data bus signals. (¶0067 “communication between the EVSE 20 and the charging device 100 in the case of CCS standards, but a controller area network (CAN) is used for communication between the EVSE 20 and the charging device 100 in the case of CHAdeMo standards and China EV charging standards”)
Regarding claim 12, Shin teaches the charging socket of claim 1. Shin further teaches wherein the charging socket comprises a plurality of functions and the bus node is configured to, in accordance with the communication via the data bus, control the functions and/or to query each function of the functions and to communicate the results of the query via the data bus. (¶0052 “control module 120 may transmit the control signal to the charger 130 and/or the charging inlet 110”, ¶0066 “FIG. 7 is a flowchart of a method of charging an EV according to one embodiment of the present disclosure”)
Regarding claim 13, Shin teaches the charging socket of claim 12. Shin further teaches wherein the charging socket comprises functions within the charging socket. (¶0057 “FIG. 5, the task section 126 may include a first charging mode task section 126a, a second charging mode task section 126b, and a third charging mode task section 126c, but is not limited thereto”)
Regarding claim 14, Shin teaches the charging socket of claim 12. Shin wherein the charging socket comprises functions at the charging socket. (¶0051 “FIG. 4, the electric vehicle charging device 100 according to one embodiment of the present disclosure includes a charging inlet 110, a control module 120, and a charger 130, and is connected to a battery 300.”)
Regarding claim 15, Shin teaches the charging socket of claim 1. Shin a set of charging sockets, comprising: at least one charging socket, wherein the charging technology-specific signal contacts and/or a signal protocol of the control signals at the charging technology-specific signal contacts correspond to a first charging technology; (¶0067 “communication between the EVSE 20 and the charging device 100 in the case of CCS standards, but a controller area network (CAN) is used for communication between the EVSE 20 and the charging device 100 in the case of CHAdeMo standards and China EV charging standards”)
and at least one charging socket, wherein the charging technology-specific signal contacts and/or a signal protocol of the control signals at the charging technology-specific signal contacts correspond to a second charging technology different from the first charging technology. (¶0067 “communication between the EVSE 20 and the charging device 100 in the case of CCS standards, but a controller area network (CAN) is used for communication between the EVSE 20 and the charging device 100 in the case of CHAdeMo standards and China EV charging standards”)
Applicant specification ¶0052 describes the set of charging sockets to be multiple embodiments of a charging socket installed in an electric vehicle. The combined charging system (CCS) standards is an international electric vehicle charging standard that uses a standardized connector, primarily used in the United States and Europe. Similarly, CHAdeMo standards are the fast-charging standards for Japan using a standardized connector.
Regarding claim 17, Shin teaches the charging socket of claim 5. Shin further teaches wherein the data frame and/or the communication protocol of the communication on the data bus is configured as: the CAN, the LIN, or the local data network. (¶0067 “communication between the EVSE 20 and the charging device 100 in the case of CCS standards, but a controller area network (CAN) is used for communication between the EVSE 20 and the charging device 100 in the case of CHAdeMo standards and China EV charging standards”)
Regarding claim 20, Shin teaches the charging socket of claim 10. Shin further teaches wherein the pilot signals comprise at least one control pilot signal (CP). (¶0070 “FIG. 8, the charging inlet 110 of the charging device 100 for the EV 10 includes a control pilot (CP) port, a proximity detection (PD) port, a protective earth (PE) port, and a power input port”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin modified by Cui et al (US 20130132635 A1)
Regarding claim 2, Shin teaches the charging socket of claim 1. Shin does not explicitly disclose wherein the transmitted and/or received control signals correspond to data in a data frame of the communication via the data bus.
Cui teaches wherein the transmitted and/or received control signals correspond to data in a data frame of the communication via the data bus. (¶0011 “FIG. 4 shows a format of an example of payload in a data frame for a UART interface applied in a digital signal transceiver system”, ¶0023 “The TRANSMITTER ADDRESS and RECEIVER ADDRESS in the payload are used to identify a transmitter that transmits the data frame and a receiver that receives the data frame. Table 1 illustrates a mapping relationship between an address and a device in an EV system”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the charging socket as taught by Shin wherein the transmitted and/or received control signals correspond to data in a data frame of the communication via the data bus as taught by Cui. Shin does not explicitly disclose transmitting a data frame across the CAN bus; however, data frames are the most common way of sending data across a CAN bus and would likely be used. It would be obvious to incorporate the data frame disclosed by Cui as the data frame for communicating between Shin’s control module 120 and charging inlet 110. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide real-time charging parameters to minimize charging costs and optimize battery health.
Regarding claim 3, Shin modified by Cui teaches the charging socket of claim 2. Shin modified by Cui wherein the bus node is configured to receive the data frame of the communication via the data bus from the vehicle controller (Shin ¶0071 “[FIG 8, charging inlet 110] CP port is a port for receiving a CP signal through the charging cable connected to the EVSE”, Cui ¶0011 “FIG. 4 shows a format of an example of payload in a data frame for a UART interface applied in a digital signal transceiver system”)
and, in response to the received data frame, to control the signal converter to send the control signals, and/or wherein the signal converter is configured to receive the control signals at the signal contacts, (Shin ¶0071 “[FIG 8] CP port is a port for receiving a CP signal through the charging cable connected to the EVSE” , Cui ¶0011 “FIG. 4 shows a format of an example of payload in a data frame for a UART interface applied in a digital signal transceiver system”)
and, in response to receiving the control signals the bus node, to send the data frame of the communication to the vehicle controller via the data bus. (Shin ¶0081 “control unit 148 is connected to the third communication channel 146, and a signal generated by the control unit 148 to control the charging of the battery is transmitted to the ECU 200 through the third communication channel 146. In this case, the third communication channel 146 may be based on the protocol of supporting the CAN” , Cui ¶0011 “FIG. 4 shows a format of an example of payload in a data frame for a UART interface applied in a digital signal transceiver system”)
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin modified by McKenzie et al (US 20210255633 A1)
Regarding claim 18, Shin teaches the charging socket of claim 17. Shin does not teach wherein CAN comprises a CAN with a flexible data rate (CAN-FD), and wherein the local data network comprises automotive Ethernet.
McKenzie teaches wherein CAN comprises a CAN with a flexible data rate (CAN-FD), (¶0037 “bus 180 may be or include a high speed CAN (which may have bit speeds up to 1 Mb/s on CAN, 5 Mb/s on CAN Flexible Data Rate (CAN FD))”)
and wherein the local data network comprises automotive Ethernet. (¶0037 “bus 180 may also be accomplished using other communication protocol solutions, such as Media Oriented Systems Transport (MOST) or Ethernet”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the charging socket as taught by Shin wherein CAN comprises a CAN with a flexible data rate (CAN-FD), and wherein the local data network comprises automotive Ethernet as taught by McKenzie. McKenzie uses bus 180 to communicate with ECUs 117 onboard electric vehicle 105, it would be obvious to use the CAN-FD bus 180 as taught by McKenzie to communicate via either first communication channel 142 or second communication channel 144 with Shin’s charging controller 140. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide real-time charging parameters to minimize charging costs and optimize battery health.
Regarding claim 19, Shin teaches the charging socket of claim 6. Shin further teaches wherein the only one line pair (Shin ¶0078 “signal is transmitted and received between the EVSE 20 and the charging controller 140 through the first communication channel 142 and the second communication channel 144”).
A charging line pair is well known in the art as a power line communication which comprises two signal wires twisted together for vehicle-charger communications. Shin uses a first communication channel 142 and a second communication channel 144 which form a charging line pair for sending and receiving information between the charger and the electric vehicle.
Shin does not teach [the only one line pair] comprises single-pair Ethernet, automotive Ethernet, CAN, or a CAN with a flexible data rate (CAN-FD).
McKenzie teaches [the only one line pair] comprises single-pair Ethernet, automotive Ethernet, CAN, or a CAN with a flexible data rate (CAN-FD). (¶0037 “bus 180 may also be accomplished using other communication protocol solutions, such as Media Oriented Systems Transport (MOST) or Ethernet”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the charging socket as taught by Shin wherein [the only one line pair] comprises single-pair Ethernet, automotive Ethernet, CAN, or a CAN with a flexible data rate (CAN-FD) as taught by McKenzie. McKenzie uses bus 180 to communicate with ECUs 117 onboard electric vehicle 105, it would be obvious to use the CAN-FD bus 180 as taught by McKenzie to communicate via either first communication channel 142 or second communication channel 144 with Shin’s charging controller 140. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide real-time charging parameters to minimize charging costs and optimize battery health.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected as being recursive. Claim 11 recites the limitation “wherein the control signals of the charging technology-specific signal contacts comprise data bus signals”, which does not narrow or add functionality to the claimed invention.
Claim 13 is objected as being recursive. Claim 13 recites the limitation “wherein the charging socket comprises functions within the charging socket”, which does not narrow or add functionality to the claimed invention.
Claim 14 is objected as being recursive. Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the charging socket comprises functions at the charging socket”, which does not narrow or add functionality to the claimed invention.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Rudolph et al (US 20160288658 A1) discloses a vehicle-side plug-in charging system which comprises multiple contacts including a communication bus connected to the electric vehicle’s charge controller.
Chen et al (US 20130214738 A1) discloses a multi-standard compatible electric vehicle charger which communicates with the electric vehicle’s controller using a communication bus.
Conclusion
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859