DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species 1 (figures 1-4, claims 1-11 and 14-15) in the reply filed on 05/28/26 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a board including a circuit unit formed thereon; a first module disposed on the board; and a second module disposed on the board adjacent to the first module and configured to be electrically connected to the first module via the circuit unit, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1 Claims 1-3, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakazawa et al.(US 2015/0357923) in view of Zhou et al.(US 20220172876).
Regarding claim 1, Nakazawa et al. (figures 1-14 and para 0026-0114) discloses a board (240a) including a circuit unit formed thereon (see para 0048); a first module disposed on the board(see figures 3-11); and a second module disposed on the board adjacent to the first module and configured to be electrically connected to the first module via the circuit unit (see figures 3-11), wherein the first module includes: a transformer (250) including a first core and a first coil disposed in the first core and including primary and secondary coils configured to convert power on an input side and to transmit the converted power to an output side (see figures 4-6 and para 0048-0061); and a ZVS inductor (203) disposed adjacent to the transformer (see para 0040-0045), the ZVS inductor including a second core and a second coil disposed in the second core (see figure 3) and configured to return a residual current to the input side transformer (see para 0040-0045), wherein the second module includes: an output inductor (206) including a third core and a third coil disposed in the third core and configured to remove ripple components included in a current on the output side transformer (see para 0040-0045 and figure 2); and an EMI inductor (207) disposed adjacent to the output inductor (see figures 2-5); the EMI inductor including a fourth core and a fourth coil disposed in the fourth core and configured to reduce electrical noise included in the current on the output side(see para 0040-0045 and figures 2-5); wherein the first coil and the second coil are configured to be electrically connected to each other (see figure 2); and at least partially overlap each other in a first direction from the first core toward the second core(see figure 9), wherein the third coil and the fourth coil are configured to be electrically connected to each other via the circuit unit(see figure 2), and the third core and the fourth core at least partially overlap each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction(see figures 3, 9 and 14),
Nakazawa et al. does not expressly discloses wherein the first core includes a material identical to a material of the second core, and the second core includes a material different from a material of at least one of the third core and the fourth core.
Zhou et al. (para 0042-0050/0057) discloses a teaching wherein cores can be made of different materials.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention wherein the first core includes a material identical to a material of the second core, and the second core includes a material different from a material of at least one of the third core and the fourth core
as taught by Zhou et al. to the inductive device of Nakazawa et al so as to prevents the formation of localized eddy currents and minimizes energy losses while also generating significantly less heat during operation, improving overall efficiency and lifespan.
Regarding claim 2, Nakazawa et al. (figures 1-14 and para 0026-0114) discloses all the limitations as noted above but does not expressly disclose wherein the first and second cores include ferrite, and wherein the third and fourth cores include iron (Fe) and silicon (Si).
Zhou et al. (para 0042-0050/0057) discloses a teaching wherein cores can be made of different materials.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention wherein the first and second cores include ferrite, and wherein the third and fourth cores include iron (Fe) and silicon (Si) as taught by Zhou et al. to the inductive device of Nakazawa et al so as to prevents the formation of localized eddy currents and minimizes energy losses while also generating significantly less heat during operation, improving overall efficiency and lifespan.
Regarding claim 3, Nakazawa et al. (figures 4-7) discloses wherein second base is configured to receive the fourth core. Also, the core structure 250 can be provided with a bobbin structure inside the core. Designing wherein a first base at least partially disposed in the third core, the first base being configured to receive the third coil would have been an obvious design consideration based on intended application/environment use. So as to optimizes magnetic coupling, stabilizes inductance, and reduces electromagnetic interference.
Regarding claim 11, designing wherein the first base and the second base are integrally formed with each other would have been an obvious design consideration based on intended application/environment use. So as to improve manufacturing efficiency and electrical performance. It also, eliminates the need for manual alignment and assembly of multiple components, reduces part counts, minimizes electromagnetic interference (EMI), and enhances structural stability against vibrations.
Regarding claim 15, Nakazawa et al. (figures 1-14 and para 0026-0114) discloses all the limitations as noted above but does not expressly disclose wherein the third core includes nickel (Ni), and wherein the fourth core further includes boron (B).
Zhou et al. (para 0042-0050/0057) discloses a teaching wherein cores can be made of different materials.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention wherein the third core includes nickel (Ni), and wherein the fourth core further includes boron (B) as taught by Zhou et al. to the inductive device of Nakazawa et al so as to prevents the formation of localized eddy currents and minimizes energy losses while also allowing for significantly higher magnetic flux densities without saturating, allowing for smaller, lighter inductor profiles.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RONALD HINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837