DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges and thanks applicant for submission of certified translations of foreign priority documents.
Response to Arguments
Regarding first argument:
Applicant argues in substance that amended independent claims overcome previously cited prior art.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The previously cited prior art disclosure of Li discloses the aspects present in the amended claim language as cited below. The clarification of steps taken by a first and second UE in the amended claim language, as well as the incorporated aspects of now cancelled claims, is present in the paragraphs previously cited, as well as the paragraphs preceding and following the previously cited [¶0076] as evidenced below in updated rationale for rejection. For at least these reasons the amended claim language, as currently written, stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3-13,21,23 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (US 20230309016 A1) Hereafter Li.
Regarding Claim 1:
Li discloses:
A method ([¶0028] Aspects of the present disclosure provide apparatus, methods, processing systems, and computer readable mediums for sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (SL DRX)) comprising: transmitting, by a first device to a second device, a first radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration sidelink message including information related to a first sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration; ([¶0074] The UE 802 may determine an SL DRX configuration based on SL DRX information or candidate SL DRX configuration(s) received from a higher layer or the paired UE (e.g., UE 804 as exemplified at operation 9B with SL DRX information or preferred SL DRX configuration) and then transmit the SL DRX configuration for the unicast communication from UE 802 to UE 804 during or after establishing a PC5 RRC connection with UE 804. [¶0078] In some aspects, UE 802 may start another application using the PC5 link established with associated SL DRX info or SL DRX configuration(s), or may be triggered by the higher layer or by a UE's request (e.g., a PC5 RRC message to indicate a (re-)configuration request from UE 804, for example, using UE Assistance Information Sidelink message optionally with preferred SL DRX information or a preferred SL DRX configuration(s) such as sl-drx-config3, or sl-drx-config-id3 or sl-drx-config-index3 of sl-drx-config-list3 or codepoint3 or with one or more preferred SL DRX parameters such as SL DRX cycle length, SL DRX Offset, SL DRX On timer value, SL DRX Inactivity timer value, SL DRX HARQ RTT timer, SL DRX HARQ Retransmission timer, etc. carried on PC5 RRC message at operation 9B)) receiving, by the first device from the second device, failure information for the information related to the first SL DRX configuration;([¶0075] In some aspects, instead of UE 804 confirming the configuration (e.g., as in operation 4), UE 804 may reject the configuration via a RRC reconfiguration failure sidelink message ) transmitting, by the first device to the second device, request information for assistance information including information related to a second SL DRX configuration preferred or non-preferred by the second device, ([¶0072] UE 802 may consider the preferred SL DRX configuration (e.g., sl-drx-config2, or sl-drx-config-id2 or sl-drx-config-index2 of sl-drx-config-list2 or codepoint2) received from UE 804 and may reconfigure based on the preferred SL DRX configuration via the RRC reconfiguration sidelink message [¶0076] UE 804 may use UE Assistance Information Sidelink message with the preferred SL DRX configuration after the RRC reconfiguration failure sidelink message) based on the failure information; and receiving, by the first device from the second device, the assistance information, based on the request information. ([¶0075] UE 804 may reject the configuration with reasons such as SL DRX cycle length to be increased or decreased (e.g., a preferred SL DRX cycle length) to align with its other SL DRX configuration(s) [¶0076] UE 804 may use UE Assistance Information Sidelink message with the preferred SL DRX configuration after the RRC reconfiguration failure sidelink message (e.g., RRCReconfigurationFailureSidelink), and UE 802 may reconfigure the SL DRX configuration with the preferred SL DRX configuration received (e.g., transmit RRCReconfigurationSidelink with the preferred SL DRX). [¶0078] UE 802 may start another application using the PC5 link established with associated SL DRX info or SL DRX configuration(s), or may be triggered by the higher layer or by a UE's request (e.g., a PC5 RRC message to indicate a (re-)configuration request from UE 804, )
Regarding Claim 3:
Li discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Li discloses:
wherein the failure information is an RRC reconfiguration failure sidelink message. ([¶0076] UE 804 may use UE Assistance Information Sidelink message with the preferred SL DRX configuration after the RRC reconfiguration failure sidelink message (e.g., RRCReconfigurationFailureSidelink), and UE 802 may reconfigure the SL DRX configuration with the preferred SL DRX configuration received (e.g., transmit RRCReconfigurationSidelink with the preferred SL DRX).)
Regarding Claim 4:
Li discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Li discloses:
wherein, based on the failure information, a third SL DRX configuration including information related to a third SL DRX cycle and information related to a third active time is applied between the first device and the second device. ([¶0076] UE 804 may use UE Assistance Information Sidelink message with the preferred SL DRX configuration after the RRC reconfiguration failure sidelink message … At operation 8, the UEs 802, 804 start a SL DRX cycle with the SL DRX configuration negotiated for the unicast communication from UE 802 to UE 804.)
Regarding Claim 5:
Li discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Li discloses:
further comprising: transmitting, by the first device to the second device, first sidelink control channel (SCI) for scheduling of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) and second SCI through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) within the third active time; and transmitting, by the first device to the second device, the second SCI or data through the PSSCH within the third active time. ([¶0048] Various sidelink channels may be used for sidelink communications, including a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), and a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH). The PSSCH may also carry discovery expressions that enable proximal devices to discover each other. The PSCCH may carry control signaling such as sidelink resource configurations and other parameters used for data transmissions, and the PSSCH may carry the data transmissions. The PSFCH may carry feedback such as acknowledgement (ACK) or negative acknowledgement (NACK) for hybrid automatic repeat request HARQ feedback. The PSSCH may also carry MAC CE for channel state information (CSI) related to a sidelink channel quality.)
Regarding Claim 6:
Li discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Li discloses:
wherein the third SL DRX configuration is a common DRX configuration or a default DRX configuration. ([¶0068] A pre-configured SL DRX configuration(s) may be reconfigured or coordinated between a UE pair with a PC5 connection via a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration sidelink (RRCReconfigurationSidelink) message for sidelink unicast; reconfigured or coordinated by a group lead or cluster lead via PC5-groupcast (G) (e.g., a group common PC5 RRC) on an SL signaling radio bearer of a group (SRBg) for sidelink connection based groupcast;)
Regarding Claim 7:
Li discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Li discloses:
wherein the third SL DRX configuration is a SL DRX configuration used for transmitting the first RRC reconfiguration sidelink message to the second device. ([¶0068] A pre-configured SL DRX configuration(s) may be reconfigured or coordinated between a UE pair with a PC5 connection via a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration sidelink (RRCReconfigurationSidelink) message for sidelink unicast; reconfigured or coordinated by a group lead or cluster lead via PC5-groupcast (G) (e.g., a group common PC5 RRC) on an SL signaling radio bearer of a group (SRBg) for sidelink connection based groupcast; [¶0076] At operation 8, the UEs 802, 804 start a SL DRX cycle with the SL DRX configuration negotiated for the unicast communication from UE 802 to UE 804.)
Regarding Claim 8:
Li discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Li discloses:
further comprising: transmitting, by the first device to the second device, information representing that the third SL DRX configuration is applied. ([¶0068] A pre-configured SL DRX configuration(s) may be reconfigured or coordinated between a UE pair with a PC5 connection via a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration sidelink (RRCReconfigurationSidelink) message for sidelink unicast; reconfigured or coordinated by a group lead or cluster lead via PC5-groupcast (G) (e.g., a group common PC5 RRC) on an SL signaling radio bearer of a group (SRBg) for sidelink connection based groupcast; or reconfigured or coordinated by a roadside unit (RSU), a group lead or cluster lead, a scheduling UE or a Tx UE via SL system information (SI) or sidelink common PC5 RRC on a common SL signaling radio bearer (SRB) (e.g., SRBO like) for broadcast or connectionless groupcast, as described in more detail herein with respect to FIGS. 8A, 8B, 8C.)
Regarding Claim 9:
Li discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Li discloses:
further comprising: transmitting, by the first device to a base station, the failure information for the information related to the first SL DRX configuration; ([¶0094] At operation 6, UEs 902, 904 start a SL DRX cycle per the SL DRX configuration (e.g., sl-drx-config1) for sidelink unicast communication from UE 902 to UE 904. In some aspects, the UE 904 may reject the SL DRX configuration received from UE 902 (e.g., using RRCReconfigurationFailureSidelink message as described for FIG. 8A), and then UE 902 may send, for example, RRCReconfigurationFailure message to BS 906, for rejecting accordingly the SL DRX configuration received from BS 906. In some aspects, the UE 902 may send, for example, RRCReconfigurationFailure message to BS 906, for rejecting the SL DRX configuration received from BS 906, and may not forward the SL DRX configuration to its paired UE 904.) receiving, by the first device from the base station, a fourth SL DRX configuration including information related to a fourth SL DRX cycle and information related to a fourth active time, based on the failure information; and transmitting, by the first device to the second device, a second RRC reconfiguration sidelink message including the fourth SL DRX configuration. ([¶0095] Similarly, UE 904 may received an SL DRX configuration from the associated base station (e.g. gNB) based on the SL DRX information or preferred SL DRX configuration(s) contained in sidelink UE information message or UE assistance information for sidelink message from UE 904, forward the received SL DRX configuration to UE 902, and start a SL DRX cycle per the SL DRX configuration for the sidelink unicast communication from UE 904 to UE 902.)
Regarding Claim 10:
Li discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Li discloses:
further comprising: generating, by the first device based on the assistance information, a fifth SL DRX configuration including information related to a fifth SL DRX cycle and information related to a fifth active time; and transmitting, to the second device, a third RRC reconfiguration sidelink message including the fifth SL DRX configuration. ([¶0084] In some cases, UE 822 may start another application with associated SL DRX info or SL DRX configuration(s), or may be triggered by the higher layer or by a UE's request (e.g., an indication for (re-)configuration from one of UEs 824, for example, using UE Assistance Information Sidelink as a PC5 RRC unicast message or as a PC5-RRC-common broadcast message optionally with preferred SL DRX information or preferred SL DRX configuration such as sl-drx-config2, or sl-drx-config-id2 or sl-drx-config-index2 of sl-drx-config-list2 or sl-drx-config-codepoint2 carried on PCS RRC common at operation 5B) for reconfiguring the SL DRX due to the reasons described with respect to FIGS. 8A and 8B. For example, at operation 6, SL DRX configuration may be reconfigured via SL SI or PC5-RRC common on SL SRBO or SRBO-like (e.g. reconfigured to sl-drx-config2, sl-drx-config-id2 or sl-drx-config-index2 or sl-drx-config-codepoint2), as illustrated, At operation 7, SL DRX cycle may begin with the updated SL DRX configuration.)
Regarding Claim 11:
Li discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Li discloses:
wherein the failure information is received from the second device by being included in an RRC reconfiguration failure sidelink message. ([¶0094] the UE 904 may reject the SL DRX configuration received from UE 902 (e.g., using RRCReconfigurationFailureSidelink message as described for FIG. 8A),)
Regarding Claim 12:
Li discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Li discloses:
wherein the RRC reconfiguration failure sidelink message includes information related to a third SL DRX configuration preferred by the second device. ([¶0076] As another example, at operation 5B, the UE 804 rejects the configuration, and at operation 6B, UE 804 transmits an RRC reconfiguration sidelink message indicating the preferred SL DRX configuration (e.g., RRCReconfigurationSidelink with sl-drx-config2, or sl-drx-config-id2 or sl-drx-config-index2 of sl-drx-config-list2 or codepoint2).)
Regarding Claim 13:
Li discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Li discloses:
wherein, based on expiration of a timer related to SL DRX, a common SL DRX configuration including information related to a common SL DRX cycle and information related to a common active time is applied between the first device and the second device. ([¶0078] In some aspects, UE 802 may start another application using the PC5 link established with associated SL DRX info or SL DRX configuration(s), or may be triggered by the higher layer or by a UE's request (e.g., a PC5 RRC message to indicate a (re-)configuration request from UE 804, for example, using UE Assistance Information Sidelink message optionally with preferred SL DRX information or a preferred SL DRX configuration(s) such as sl-drx-config3, or sl-drx-config-id3 or sl-drx-config-index3 of sl-drx-config-list3 or codepoint3 or with one or more preferred SL DRX parameters such as SL DRX cycle length, SL DRX Offset, SL DRX On timer value, SL DRX Inactivity timer value, SL DRX HARQ RTT timer, SL DRX HARQ Retransmission timer, etc. carried on PC5 RRC message at operation 9B))
Regarding Claim 21:
Li discloses:
A first device ([¶0105] FIG. 10 illustrates a communications device) comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; ([¶0105] includes a processing system 1002 coupled to a transceiver) and at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed, cause the first device to perform operations([¶0106] The processing system 1002 includes a processor 1004 coupled to a computer-readable medium/memory 1012 via a bus 1006. In certain aspects, the computer-readable medium/memory 1012 is configured to store instructions (e.g., computer-executable code) that when executed by the processor 1004, cause the processor 1004 to perform comprising: transmitting, to a second device, a first radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration sidelink message including information related a first sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration, the first SL DRX configuration including information related to a SL DRX cycle and information related to a first active time; ([¶0074] The UE 802 may determine an SL DRX configuration based on SL DRX information or candidate SL DRX configuration(s) received from a higher layer or the paired UE (e.g., UE 804 as exemplified at operation 9B with SL DRX information or preferred SL DRX configuration) and then transmit the SL DRX configuration for the unicast communication from UE 802 to UE 804 during or after establishing a PC5 RRC connection with UE 804. [¶0078] In some aspects, UE 802 may start another application using the PC5 link established with associated SL DRX info or SL DRX configuration(s), or may be triggered by the higher layer or by a UE's request (e.g., a PC5 RRC message to indicate a (re-)configuration request from UE 804, for example, using UE Assistance Information Sidelink message optionally with preferred SL DRX information or a preferred SL DRX configuration(s) such as sl-drx-config3, or sl-drx-config-id3 or sl-drx-config-index3 of sl-drx-config-list3 or codepoint3 or with one or more preferred SL DRX parameters such as SL DRX cycle length, SL DRX Offset, SL DRX On timer value, SL DRX Inactivity timer value, SL DRX HARQ RTT timer, SL DRX HARQ Retransmission timer, etc. carried on PC5 RRC message at operation 9B)) receiving, from the second device, failure information for the first SL DRX configuration;([¶0075] In some aspects, instead of UE 804 confirming the configuration (e.g., as in operation 4), UE 804 may reject the configuration via a RRC reconfiguration failure sidelink message ) transmitting, to the second device, request information for assistance information including information related to a second SL DRX configuration preferred or non-preferred by the second device, based on the failure information; and receiving, from the second device, the assistance information, based on the request information. ([¶0076] UE 804 may use UE Assistance Information Sidelink message with the preferred SL DRX configuration after the RRC reconfiguration failure sidelink message (e.g., RRCReconfigurationFailureSidelink), and UE 802 may reconfigure the SL DRX configuration with the preferred SL DRX configuration received (e.g., transmit RRCReconfigurationSidelink with the preferred SL DRX).)
Regarding Claim 23:
Li discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Li discloses:
wherein the failure information is an RRC reconfiguration failure sidelink message. ([¶0076] UE 804 may use UE Assistance Information Sidelink message with the preferred SL DRX configuration after the RRC reconfiguration failure sidelink message (e.g., RRCReconfigurationFailureSidelink), and UE 802 may reconfigure the SL DRX configuration with the preferred SL DRX configuration received (e.g., transmit RRCReconfigurationSidelink with the preferred SL DRX).)
Regarding Claim 25:
Li discloses:
A processing device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed, cause a first device to perform operations comprising: transmitting, to a second device, a first radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration sidelink message including information related to a first sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration, ([¶0074] The UE 802 may determine an SL DRX configuration based on SL DRX information or candidate SL DRX configuration(s) received from a higher layer or the paired UE (e.g., UE 804 as exemplified at operation 9B with SL DRX information or preferred SL DRX configuration) and then transmit the SL DRX configuration for the unicast communication from UE 802 to UE 804 during or after establishing a PC5 RRC connection with UE 804. [¶0078] In some aspects, UE 802 may start another application using the PC5 link established with associated SL DRX info or SL DRX configuration(s), or may be triggered by the higher layer or by a UE's request (e.g., a PC5 RRC message to indicate a (re-)configuration request from UE 804, for example, using UE Assistance Information Sidelink message optionally with preferred SL DRX information or a preferred SL DRX configuration(s) such as sl-drx-config3, or sl-drx-config-id3 or sl-drx-config-index3 of sl-drx-config-list3 or codepoint3 or with one or more preferred SL DRX parameters such as SL DRX cycle length, SL DRX Offset, SL DRX On timer value, SL DRX Inactivity timer value, SL DRX HARQ RTT timer, SL DRX HARQ Retransmission timer, etc. carried on PC5 RRC message at operation 9B)) receiving, from the second device, failure information for the information related to the first SL DRX configuration;([¶0075] In some aspects, instead of UE 804 confirming the configuration (e.g., as in operation 4), UE 804 may reject the configuration via a RRC reconfiguration failure sidelink message ) transmitting, to the second device, request information for assistance information including information related to a second SL DRX configuration preferred or non-preferred by the second device, based on the failure information; and receiving, from the second device, the assistance information, based on the request information. ([¶0076] UE 804 may use UE Assistance Information Sidelink message with the preferred SL DRX configuration after the RRC reconfiguration failure sidelink message (e.g., RRCReconfigurationFailureSidelink), and UE 802 may reconfigure the SL DRX configuration with the preferred SL DRX configuration received (e.g., transmit RRCReconfigurationSidelink with the preferred SL DRX). [¶0078] UE 802 may start another application using the PC5 link established with associated SL DRX info or SL DRX configuration(s), or may be triggered by the higher layer or by a UE's request (e.g., a PC5 RRC message to indicate a (re-)configuration request from UE 804,)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUGH MARK ASHLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463